Page 1 of 8 123456 ... LastLast

Thread: This round of QE will not increase Singapore landed property prices:

Default This round of QE will not increase Singapore landed property prices:

I have been investing in property market for over 20 years. I own my first property at age 23 and my first bungalow when i was 37 years old. I have realised it is a very dangerous thinking to believe that property prices will go up forever.But is that the whole story ? That property prices will never drop ?

This is proof that I have been in the property market since the 1990s:

The property index graph that many agents are showing you: the graph that keeps increasing does not take into account one important factor: REAL terms consideration.

The reason why the property index is a graph that is ever increasing is because of continual inflation in the global system after the first QE by the USA in 1965. You draw any asset class graph (eg. gold ) without considering inflation level for that matter and you will get an ever increasing price index.

The property market has both ups and down cycles. In partcular. the index graph after factoring all these will show you that property prices can decrease up to 40% !!!

In case you still do not understand completely what i m saying here's a simplified example:

One of the key points to note here is affordability: did the middle real income increased in line with property prices after considering the overall economic situation in the system ?

For example:

Case 1:1969, it costs 50cents to buy a bowl of noddle and middle income level was $1000 and property price is $20000.

Case 2:1971, it costs 80cents to buy a bowl of noddle and middle income level was $1000, and if property price is still at $20000, then property prices actually dropped in real terms in case 2.