Thread: Community Service Part IX of X: Property Investment for Dummies

Default Community Service Part IX of X: Property Investment for Dummies

The following was something I recently put together for some friends, meant for someone totally new to the property game. Hope this will be of use to you.

----------

Property Investment for Dummies (3 Part Mini Series)

(c) mcmlxxvi 2012

NOTE: THIS ARTICLE MAY NOT BE CONSTRUED AS ADVICE, PERMISSION TO
    REDISTRIBUTE IS STRICTLY LIMITED. ALL INVESTMENTS SHOULD BE CONSULTED
    WITH A PROFESSIONAL AND THE READER AGREES TO UNDERTAKE ALL INVESTMENTS
    AT THEIR OWN RISK.

A no nonsense guide to starting on the road to property investment from $0.

1. BUILD THE SEED MONEY

First, please don't believe everything you hear! Don't believe my
    tagline above about $0! I trust you are a grown adult, so you can
    differentiate from genuine vs scam. If you can't, that will be a
    discussion for another day. Don't believe those seminars or get rich
    quick schemes that says you can get in the property game for $0. It is
    just not possible. There is no free lunch in this world. If so, there
    is always a catch.

GET THE TIME HORIZON RIGHT

Getting your first property requires a substantial startup or what is
    otherwise known as 'seed' money. Just like any other investment, you
    need to grow or build something from something. However, unlike stocks
    and shares, property is generally considered illiquid. In layman
    terms, it means you can't easily get rid of it in a jiffy to cut
    losses for example. Why not? Obviously, you need to get the word out,
    market your property, conduct viewings for interested buyers, do up
    the documentation, liaise with lawyers, bank, etc etc and then wait
    months for the transaction to complete before the money is in your
    hands. That's why it is illiquid. In today's context, for Singapore,
    due to the restrictions on quick sale (i.e. the 4-year SSD rule,
    whereby first year you sell, subject to 16% stamp duty or commonly
    known as tax, 2nd year is 12%, 3rd year 8%, 4th year 4%), unless your
    sale price is so good that you can cover the above and then some, it's
    usually not a good idea to sell. Therefore, it has become an illiquid
    vehicle for investment with time horizon of AT LEAST 4 years, barring
    a extremely BULL (i.e on the rise) market giving you phenomenal
    capital appreciation that easily covers your SSD. *SSD = Seller Stamp
    Duty

HOW MUCH DO I REALLY NEED?

Ok, so you accept that you won't really make any money within the next
    4 years at least, you are prepared to jump in because you know
    Singapore's fundamentals are strong and in the long term the prices
    will keep on rising. How much do you really need to start off?

Let me share a few new launches in the market.

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listi...-sale-le-regal

The one above is probably one of the cheapest ever you can find in the
    current market in terms of new launch (i.e. brand new, yet to be
    constructed). 366 square feet is really small, yes, but it is a proper
    one bedroom apartment in a location near to city, but I hesitate to
    say 'decent' since it is Geylang afterall, but do mind that the whole
    area is undergoing transformation. These aside, let's look at it
    purely from an investment point of view.

Assuming the sum of $450k, for ease of calculation. How much money do
    you need to get it?When you sign the OTP (Option to Purchase) at the
    showflat, they require you to place immediate payment of 5% in CASH,
    that's $22,500. About 2-3 weeks later, the developer of the project
    will send the S&P (sales & purchase) legal document to you, which you
    should engage a conveyancing lawyer to receive on behalf by then to
    work on it. Oh, also, there is BSD (not some mad cow disease) Buyer
    Stamp Duty which is 3% x 450k - 5400 = $8,100 payable.Roughly about
    4-5 weeks later (give or take) the lawyer will contact you for the full amount.
    By then you should have secured your financing / mortgage loan for 80%.
    The remainder 15% you need to pay via either cash or CPF or a combi
    of both - just tell your lawyer how much of each you want to use.

So in total, you need at least $22,500 in cash plus $67,500 in CPF or
    cash/CPF combi.

That's not all.

Lawyers don't work for free. So they will charge. However, most banks
    will grant a legal subsidy, that is they will cover part of the legal
    fees. Usually 0.5% of the loan amount of up to $2,500 whichever is
    lower. So in this case, if you are borrowing 80% of 450k = $360k, the
    bank can cover up to $1800 of the legal fees. Net net is 2500-1800 =
    $700 you have to pay. Note that the bank will have conditions, if they
    lock you in for the loan for a period of say 3 years, if you fully
    redeem the loan (usually upon a sale), you need to repay the $1800
    subsidized - they call it legal subsidy clawback. With the 4 years
    SSD, it's unlikely you will trigger this so just bear in mind for now.
    How to get a lawyer? If you don't know any, the bank will get one for
    you. Usually it has to be one that is on their panel of preferred
    lawyers. Some lawyers don't work with certain banks and vice versa.

Now, this unit is a new launch, yet to be constructed. Looking at the
    size of the project, typically it will take like 3 years to complete.
    So for now, that's all the money you need. When it TOP 3 years later,
    you will need the following funds prepared:

- survey fees

This is what the developer charge for architect/land authority? (not
    sure which but doesn't really matter; to perform
    valuation/measurements etc on the unit to determine correctness):
    depending on your unit size, it usually amout to a couple of hundreds.

- 6 months' maintenance fees

Now HDB charges conservancy fees, private housing has what you call
    maintenance fees. This is charged for maintenance of the facilities,
    security guard salaries, general repairs and maintenance, utilities
    etc. The amount depends on your 'share value' of your unit in the
    condo. Typically for one-bedroom units, the fee should be around
    150-250. So 6 months will be around $1200 assuming it's $200. It
    varies according to how luxurious the facilities are, whether any
    guards are engaged, whether mechanical car parking system is used, how
    many pools and lifts etc. Why 6 months upfront? This is because the
    MCST (management corporation strata title) or in layman terms the
    managing committee or management agent is not formed or engaged yet,
    so this first 6 months is payable to the developer of the project who
    will be taking care of all those mentioned above during the first 6
    months.

This is notwithstanding your furnishing costs, renovation, designer
    fees if you engage ID etc. Usually if you are buying it to rent out,
    you just need to do up minimally like provide white goods (fridge,
    washer, dryer - some developer throw these in 'free'), curtains and
    basic furniture like bed, sofa, dining set, tv console and tv etc.
    This could cost upwards of $1500-2000.

So now you have an idea of how much money you need to start off? Are
    you still game? If not, can fall out from here. Recruit, dismissed!

Now, if you ask, IF THERE ANYTHING CHEAPER? Short of overseas markets
    (which is out of scope here as I have no experience with those), you
    may want to look at commercial properties.

Take the following as example:
    http://www.commercialguru.com.sg/lis...den-mile-tower

This is really affordable as first glance, plus you are not subject to
    any SSD or what regulation (AT THE MOMENT, IT IS COMING VERY SOON
    cooling measures on commercial sector), so you can easily sell it to
    liquidate or take profit. However the CATCH for such good deals are
    usually:

- leasehold (most commercial properties are 15-30/60 years lease)
    - locality (reputation of the area is unsound)
    - traffic (you need to look at good catchment if it is shop)
    - accessibility (must be easily accessible by public transport if it
    is office, plus convenient amenities like food, coffee shops,
    convenience stores etc nearby)
    - age (if remaining lease is less, the lesser amount of mortgage may be granted)
    - rental yield (how much can it fetch you if it is leased out and not
    for your own business use)

Besides, you need agents who are familiar in the commercial space with
    lots of connections to small/medium business owners etc to help you
    find good tenants fast. The target segment is definitely way smaller
    than normal residential properties. The risk is definitely higher.
    That's probably as much I can share on commercial - I am not really
    familiar with this segment.

2. OPEN YOUR EYES

In the previous installment, we touched on the essential question of
    HOW MUCH MONEY DO I NEED to start off on this journey. Assuming you
    have gone past that stage and are sure you have the means to continue,
    the question now is...

THE SEARCH

Now, everyone has different needs and wants. What is your objective?I
    will make this very simple. More often than not, I come across
    fledging investors who are on fire and keen to join in the fray, only
    to hesitate when asked - ARE YOU BUYING IT FOR OWN STAY OR INVESTMENT?

In a logical science, the word OR means EITHER OR BOTH can be true.
    However, when I ask that, it is usually meant to be XOR, or EXCLUSIVE
    OR, meaning EITHER OR BUT NOT BOTH.

This may differ from what most of you have heard, but it is something
    I feel quite strongly about. I believe, you can never achieve 100%
    efficiency or results if you are sitting on the fence or being greedy
    about your investment objective. EITHER you are buying it for your own
    stay, OR you are buying it for investment (capital gain, passive
    rental income etc).

I'm not saying that finding a property that can help you achieve BOTH
    is impossible - but it is very rare to find one that can give you
    optimised results for both purposes.

Let me state an example.

If you are buying a house for your own usage and stay in comfortable
    enjoyment, I dare say most of us want a place that's peaceful and
    quiet, not too near interchanges and noisy public areas like shopping
    malls, accessible by both public transport and private (if you drive)
    but not right beside a bus stop or the main road, close to greenery
    and perhaps large bodies of water like reservoirs and parks, and one
    that can hold it's value well (most often, freehold, for estate
    planning, i.e. passing on to your future generations and loved ones
    etc purposes).

Now put yourself in the shoes of someone looking to rent a place, what
    are you looking for?

You probably work full-time, maybe near town or major business parks
    or financial centres. You are half dead by the time you knock off from
    work on weekdays, you don't want to waste any more precious time on
    commute. You want your lodge near to MRT, bus routes, the workplace,
    anything but some remote peaceful body of reservoir in the outskirts
    of the city state. Although it has been said by some important people
    that you can cross the whole island under 30 minutes, but you and I on
    the ground know it is practically impossible unless you work the
    graveyard shift and ride a scrambler. So you are now just slightly
    over half dead by the time you get home to your 'near MRT' lodge, do
    you still have energy to prepare dinner and feed the dog? Grab that
    leash and take your dog for a walk and poo at the same time 'tabao'
    some food from the nice Mexican cafe around the corner. Provided your
    dog is ok with you not home for the past say 12 hours and hasn't grown
    agitated and started barking incessantly! Your partner wants to drop
    by. Ok, you still have like 30% energy and sure why not, your lodge is
    just 2 MRT stops away from where he stays. You can quickly spend some
    quality time before he flies off again for work the next day. Oh shit!
    You sprained your ankles going down the steps in your high heels (what
    were you thinking wearing heels and walking your dog while 'tabaoing'
    your dinner!)... now thank god for the clinic that is around the other
    corner. Quickly hop in and get the doc to check on it and get some
    medication. While waiting for your turn, oh well, might as well limp
    next door to get some bread for tomorrow's breakfast.

See the difference? Imagine how your tenant (if you do get one) is
    going to cope, if she actually rented your peaceful outskirt abode
    with ultra relax living environment (far from anything)?

So please do yourself a favour and DECIDE, own stay OR investment?

OWN STAY

You said, hey, you wrote earlier that property price will still go up
    in the long term, no? So I will still enjoy capital gain in the future
    right?

That is correct, assuming you have the HOLDING POWER to ride economic
    ups and down. My personal belief (I'm no economist) is, property will
    STILL move in cycles, however, with the increased transparency and
    technology today, the cycles will come more often, they will be
    shorter, and the delta (magnitude across up and down) will be more
    moderate.

However, until you sell that property, all the supposed gains are mere
    PAPER profits. That is, profits on paper only, not actually realised.
    If it is your main and only home, it is difficult to monetise that
    profit, unless you downgrade to a cheaper and likely smaller
    alternative or migrate. So it is true while you can't get passive
    income from a 'OWN STAY' unit, you can still stand to profit from it
    from capital gain, further down the road.

There are exceptions where you may get income from an OWN STAY unit -
    for example if you have a 3 bedroom condo and you rent out the other
    two rooms. So in a way, the tenants are helping to pay down your
    mortgage actually. Provided you are not a private person and willing
    to deal with housemate issues. Not every day is an episode off
    F.R.I.E.N.D.S you know.

INVESTMENT / PASSIVE INCOME

Now if you have your own place to stay, and this unit is bought purely
    for investment purposes, congratulations. You are able to fully
    maximize the earning potential. You may enjoy good capital gain down
    the road and excellent passive income from rental at the same time.
    Barring the 4 year SSD or any other regulations, you can sell this
    after 4 years for another investment property that may fetch you even
    higher returns (capital gain potential and rental yield).

Gross Rental yield:
    (Monthly rental x 12) divided by Purchase price.

Based on the Le Regal unit in chapter 1, assuming projected rental of
    $2,300 and purchase price $450k, the Gross yield is 6.1%.

I will not label it as HIGH or LOW for you - you may compare this vs
    other investment instruments you are familiar with.

True Rental yield:
    (Monthly rental x 12) divided by Cash outlay.

Assuming you took a 80% loan, your cash outlay was roughly say $100k
    all in (downpayment, legal fees, stamp duty, survey fees, setup cost
    etc), and the maintenance fee is $200 per month, the true rental yield
    (not withstanding bank interest fees etc too complicated to count
    here) is *25.2%.

*Calculation is (2300-200) x 12 / 100,000.

Now compare this again vs other investment instruments. I leave you to
    conclude on the worthiness and feasibility.

3. TAKE THE FIRST STEP

Now that you are armed with adequate knowledge to start off, and you
    know what you want, next question - HOW DO I GET IT?

Now, you could engage an agent to help you, or you could DIY.

I shall touch on the DIY method.

Unless you are living in a cave, by now you would have known that
    there are various online property search engines that you can avail
    of. Property Guru, iProperty, ST Property are just some of the popular
    ones. Agents have also their own internal network with listings that
    otherwise may not be publicized in the other public search engines -
    this could be one of the reason you may want to engage them to help in
    your search. However, if you are expecting them to fish out FIRE SALES
    (euphemism for distressed sales or those sales at below valuation
    prices due to various reasons such as bank foreclosure, suicide,
    murder, fengshui etc etc etc), most likely they would have makan
    (taken) those themselves already.

Those public search engines have filters to narrow down the possible
    listings based on your criteria - so use them. Then you won't need to
    plough thru thousands of property listings to shortlist a few that
    meets your criteria. In today's market, it appears that new launches
    (direct developer sales) units form mostly 80-90% of the listings in
    the search engines. You may notice many units listings advertised for
    even small projects - that is because first, a developer may engage
    multiple agencies to market its projects, then each agency will have
    many agents marketing the same units. For resale units, a seller may
    also engage multiple agents to market them so you may also see
    duplicate or multiple listings of in fact the same unit/s. Thus don't
    be misled into wondering why so and so project has more listings than
    the total number of units in the project.

If you are not that internet savvy, obviously the papers are the other
    source of listings. Developers may also send you flyers and project
    marketing teams may drop leaflets into into your mailbox so you can
    also look out for those. It may also pay to take walks around your
    preferred locality to check out any new launches placards or showflats
    being set up. Or use social media and liink up with project marketing
    teams or property developers and agents. If you particularly like
    certain developer projects, check back on their website regularly for
    new launch information. Some developers like Soilbuild for instance,
    even post photographs on the progress of construction of every one of
    their projects, to save you on the trouble of going down onsite for
    checks on the progress.

THE EXECUTION

When you have shortlisted a few properties, contact the sales agent.
    This could be by phone (for resale) or direct in the showflat (face to
    face indication of interest). Make it clear that you are a direct
    buyer and not an agent - so that they know they are not going to need
    to share their commission with you (if you are an agent) and will give
    you the best price possible. Arrange for a meeting to go over the
    project specifics, or for a viewing if it is a completed resale unit.
    For viewings, arrange two separate ones - one in the day time and one
    in the evening. You want to pay attention to how the sun affects (or
    not) the place in terms of heat and glare, as well as the ambient
    noise level and activity level and traffic conditions around the
    place. Other than the obvious checks on the furnishing, fixtures and
    built in appliances, take a walk in the estate, its immediate
    surroundings and take note of the occupants demographics/behaviour and
    level of maintenance and upkeep of the estate. This is especially
    important for self stay buys.

Once you are totally satisfied and you are sure you like the unit,
    talk to the sales agent or seller to get a sense of what price he is
    looking at. More often than not you will need to negotiate obviously.
    The 'tactics' and strategies used by sellers and agents are many, but
    you should just do the following:

- do your homework prior to contacting the seller, use the URA site
    https://www.ura.gov.sg/realEstateWeb...Controller.jpf
    to check on last transacted similar units in the project, and if not
    available or no such recent transactions, ask the agent for it

- after taking into consideration the state of the unit, set your own
    base and ceiling limits on how much you are willing to pay for it

- make sure you have ready cash (cheque) for 1% if resale unit (and
    another 4% two weeks later) and 5% if direct from developer new launch
    unit

- you or your representative agent should have a OFFER TO PURCHASE
    form ready to submit to seller together with the cheque to lock in
    your offer once you are confirm on getting it (for direct developer
    units, the selling agent will prepare the necessary documentation -
    just bring your cheque book)

Now pray.

Before your offer gets accepted, there might be another round or two
    of to and fro. The seller can of course reject your offer if deemed
    too low. But usually the agent can advise on whether certain offer
    price 'can try' or 'forget it'. Just walk away and say thanks if it is
    out of your defined ceiling and bottom range.

Once your offer is accepted, CONGRATULATIONS! Pop the champagne.

The OTP (Option to Purchase) will be given to you within the day or
    two. With this, the seller cannot rescind his agreement to sell the
    unit to you. You can still pull out, but this will mean forfeiting the
    1% you have placed (or 1.25% for direct developer sales).

The subsequent payment steps may be referenced here -
    http://www.ura.gov.sg/lad/HBG/progressPayments.htm

Your representative lawyer will liaise and collect the cheque payments
    from you at each stage. Depending on the % you are borrowing from the
    bank, the mortgage loan will kick in accordingly.

Good info n Well written.. !

Thanks for selfless sharing!

I vote mcmlxxvi for President!

Quote Originally Posted by iwantgizmos
    I vote mcmlxxvi for President!

President of what, condosingapore ?

Thanks mcm.... I will read it in detail when I get home.

Let Office Boy contribute a little bit to this.

For investment property buying, ALWAYS think of the sell leg BEFORE you buy.

This is how it works :

Assuming the same Regal unit at $1,200 psf for 366sqft ~ $440K.

You MUST convince yourself that in time to come, this unit will be able to fetch $1,450 psf (say 20% profit - thats the bare minimum in Office Boy's view). With current CMs, this will be about 4 years later.

If your reaction to $1,450 psf 4 years later is : CONFIRM ah! DOUBLE CONFIRM also can! Then you can safely say you got a good deal!

But if your reaction to $1,450 psf is : Alamak! It will never reach this kind of price in 4 years' time one la! Then you can look elsewhere.

Always think of sell leg before buying. This is one of the Golden Rules which the agents will ALWAYS try to dissuade you to think about. Coz for many properties, the sell leg really looks ridiculous!

Thats my 2.2 cents contribution.

It seems like quite abrupt ending... But nevertheless, very useful to get the Dummy started on property!

Wow, kudos to you for the sharing! It really helps a newbie like me!

The following was something I recently put together for some friends, meant for someone totally new to the property game. Hope this will be of use to you.

[snip]
    [snip]

Your representative lawyer will liaise and collect the cheque payments
    from you at each stage. Depending on the % you are borrowing from the
    bank, the mortgage loan will kick in accordingly.

thanks for sharing!

Thanks for sharing! Its a good guide..by any chance, can you share about the progressive payments under construction? Will need to set aside cash also right ?

Let Office Boy contribute a little bit to this.

For investment property buying, ALWAYS think of the sell leg BEFORE you buy.

This is how it works :

Assuming the same Regal unit at $1,200 psf for 366sqft ~ $440K.

You MUST convince yourself that in time to come, this unit will be able to fetch $1,450 psf (say 20% profit - thats the bare minimum in Office Boy's view). With current CMs, this will be about 4 years later.

If your reaction to $1,450 psf 4 years later is : CONFIRM ah! DOUBLE CONFIRM also can! Then you can safely say you got a good deal!

But if your reaction to $1,450 psf is : Alamak! It will never reach this kind of price in 4 years' time one la! Then you can look elsewhere.

Always think of sell leg before buying. This is one of the Golden Rules which the agents will ALWAYS try to dissuade you to think about. Coz for many properties, the sell leg really looks ridiculous!

Thats my 2.2 cents contribution.

Thanks, MCM for your generous contribution. You have done a good job, step by step guide, easy to digest. I'll copy and paste it in my file for future reference. Any copyright or not?

How about another article on the procedure of the rental (step by step guide)? Aiyo, asking too much hor.

It seems like quite abrupt ending... But nevertheless, very useful to get the Dummy started on property!
    maybe he fell asleep after writing so much. decide to end it there?

my only advice, leverage is a double edge sword

Quote Originally Posted by Sleepless
    Thanks for sharing! Its a good guide..by any chance, can you share about the progressive payments under construction? Will need to set aside cash also right ?
    Of course!
    But usually the amount is not too huge. A few hundred bucks a month for a $800K property.

The real "set aside money" test is when there are no tenants, so do set aside at least 9 months of instalments in the event you cannot find a tenant.

By the current situation, 6 months is about the max a decent property finds a decent tenant at a decent price.

(a Decent guy)

Of course!
    But usually the amount is not too huge. A few hundred bucks a month for a $800K property.

The real "set aside money" test is when there are no tenants, so do set aside at least 9 months of instalments in the event you cannot find a tenant.

By the current situation, 6 months is about the max a decent property finds a decent tenant at a decent price.

(a Decent guy)
    Hello. Thats how they got rich in the first place.... Squeezing every corner.

Some things cannot anyhow squeeze one la!

You know I know, gahmen knows even better!

Thanks for sharing. Does anyone knows if the bank still provides subsidies for legal fees? Cause i was told by my banker that banks no longer provide subsidies for legal fees. Just want to confirm.

Quote Originally Posted by Night
    Thanks for sharing. Does anyone knows if the bank still provides subsidies for legal fees? Cause i was told by my banker that banks no longer provide subsidies for legal fees. Just want to confirm.
    I also got a letter from housingloansg saying banks have withdrawn subsidies already.

Lucky I got mine in March.

(a Decent guy)

all the while, i thought your nick stands for your initials or a play on the company DKSH.
    suddenly it struck me that it may represent a Decent Kia Su Guy !
    thanks for all your valuable sharings and insights! totally unlike office boy, more like office CEO !

Qn:

For investment would you go for Premium units?
    If yes, what is the treshhold for premium over the cheapest unit in the development? Some development has up to 30 plus % premium for things like view, facing etc.

Consideration: Unless you are like buying 10 units and try to sell them later, would the cheapest unit have better upside since not all buyers are well informed - and might be persuaded with some well presented figures of other units sold...... So if you market based on the highest quantum minus say 5-10%, you could already have gotten 20% leverage.

Quote Originally Posted by lifeline
    all the while, i thought your nick stands for your initials or a play on the company DKSH.
    thanks for all your valuable sharings and insights! totally unlike office boy, more like office CEO !
    Dumb Kana Sai Guy is possible too .... Bleah

When I see office boy's user name, I imagine him wearing the branded clothes of DKNY. But in his case it is DK singapore (SG).

Donkey Kong?

walau eh... dun be lidat... skali he won't share anymore !
    but he surely forgive you wan

When I see office boy's user name, I imagine him wearing the branded clothes of DKNY. But in his case it is DK singapore (SG).

this is a very good imagery... maybe you are right !

Quote Originally Posted by danntbt
    Qn:

For investment would you go for Premium units?
    If yes, what is the treshhold for premium over the cheapest unit in the development? Some development has up to 30 plus % premium for things like view, facing etc.
    Danntbt,
    have you bought your HH or EL unit in Malaysia yet?

Is DKSG a 32yr old guy??

If so.. he might be this guy... http://blog.dk.sg/category/personal/

Quote Originally Posted by lifeline
    DKSG are random alphabets la!

Office Boy cannot be too open posting stuff in the office mah!

Wait people here tekan me ask me send this document here that document there then I siong liao man!

Once again, DKSG is NOT Decent (whatever) Guy ...

But SG certainly comes from the word SinGapore.

Is DKSG a 32yr old guy??

If so.. he might be this guy... http://blog.dk.sg/category/personal/
    32 yo guy ?! No la ...

I dont have any other DKSG anywhere in cyberspace ...

This is the ONE and ONLY DKSG in CondoSingapore.

I am just a normal office boy who delivers documents, reports, etc, stock up office stationeries, and at the beck and call of higher management.

Except, I am interested in property investments! And yes, I am vested. Hehe...

Sad to say, this Office Boy doesnt wear much of branded stuff.
    Using the money to buy more interesting things in life!