Thread: 4rm HDB flat vs 1-2 bedded PC

Default 4rm HDB flat vs 1-2 bedded PC

Lets say I have a fully paid 4rm HDB flat for rental, the location is not so ideal. Should I sell it to buy a 1-2 bedded PC where is better location for rental?

Quote Originally Posted by DMCK
    Lets say I have a fully paid 4rm HDB flat for rental, the location is not so ideal. Should I sell it to buy a 1-2 bedded PC where is better location for rental?
    MM Lee always said NEVER sell your hdb...

if you have no $$ to fund downpayment for second one, yes, sell. if you have $$ for the downpayment, then dont sell.

solely from yield perspective, HDB will always be better. furthermore, unlikely you can get a 1-2 BR PC without having to top up. that means you will be exposed to one additional loan. consider that as a risk (while the HDB is virtually risk-free)

got one question here....

if you suay-suay gone into bankruptcy for whatever reasons...
    - you still can own a hdb flat,... right??... (hdb=public housing)
    - creditors cannot recover their debt by force selling off/liquidate your hdb (through court order).... right ??... (unless the HDB is mortgaged with a private bank)

yea.. HDB should always be your 'base'..

If you are eligible to buy EC as second timer, then it is a good option. Your 4-room may be able to fully cover the new 1-2 bedder without loan.

Else calculating the rental % yield difference between HDB and PC may easily give you the answer.

Quote Originally Posted by bsslang
    If you are eligible to buy EC as second timer, then it is a good option. Your 4-room may be able to fully cover the new 1-2 bedder without loan.

Else calculating the rental % yield difference between HDB and PC may easily give you the answer.
    but no passive income. one should always strive for that as the end result.

- creditors cannot recover their debt by force selling off/liquidate your hdb (through court order).... right ??... (unless the HDB is mortgaged with a private bank)

Just one question also...

If the money made from selling your HDB can avoid bankruptcy, would you do it?

Why u sound so much like chestnut?

Quote Originally Posted by zeamybro
    Why u sound so much like chestnut?
    Bro, u mean I sound like this?
    I think I not so pro leh.

Bro, u mean I sound like this?
    I think I not so pro leh.
    small fish's post does sound like chestnut..

instead of giving direct answer... it is best field questions to make one think..

maybe 'small fish' kena influence by chestnut, somehow..

small fish and chestnut both are nice to eat when roasted

Agreeable, and not much carb. Uncle understand.

Hahahaha

Agreeable, and not much carb. Uncle understand.

Hahahaha
    please dont say UNDER-STAND...u might turn him ON...

HAHAHAHAHA!!!

Just one question also...

If the money made from selling your HDB can avoid bankruptcy, would you do it?
    Umm... hey,..actually for previous post i was asking a question, and not try telling people something...

anyway,.... heehee.... i don't know....
    - if 1 day i suay suay gone bankruptcy then i will decide what to do....
    - i had been voluntary contributing cpf all the time, and cpf pays my hdb loan => less cash, creditors see that also sian...
    - i'm still on old old hdb loan. never switch to private bank eventhough hdb loan is 3+%. old system is like 1st charge cpf, 2nd charge hdb mortgage...

when 1 day i suay suay need go bankruptcy,
    - likely it will be a severe recession or depression,...
    - likely hdb price crashed by 60-70%... my property holding values all gone,...
    - likely whatever biz i'm running will be dead, no way to recover or restart another 1
    - likely i willl owe >500K,... hdb proceed cannot cover
    - likely the economy is in big shxt...

If the money made from selling HDB can avoid bankruptcy (say 200K-300K), but say if i'm too old and economy no sight of recovering.... may be i will decide go bankruptcy lah....

Ok, I thrust the above is in order then.

Oops, I think my iPad is functioning very weirdly... I keep typing thrust, see... Let me try again, trust... Now it works...

Ok, I trust the above is in order.

Ok, I thrust the above is in order then.

Oops, I think my iPad is functioning very weirdly... I keep typing thrust, see... Let me try again, trust... Now it works...

Ok, I trust the above is in order.

lol!!