Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Thread: Another GURU 2cent prediction...

Quote Originally Posted by East Lover
    i'm confused... $1200 psf 2 bedder rent at $3800, consided good yield? OCR new 2 bedder is this range of rental but lower psf leh.... for rental yield, die die need to be CCR/RCR FH??
    Sis, lovelle got good price for rcr....

he said no more liao now everyone is asking 1500psf and 4k abv hahaha

will you buy a unit for investment where rental only cover installments?

Quote Originally Posted by newbie11
    if instalment at 5% interest rate, and can afford to plonk 40% downpayment, yes

40% downpayment, u can have + cashflow

At 5%, I doubt there is decent units at todays sale prices that can cover rental, assuming rental stay at today's rates

yah, that's what i mean. so answer: no lor.
    too risky.

Bro, rental rate always higher than mortgage interest rate...
    Look at Singapore, Malaysia,Indonesia, Bangkok, Australia,...

Can name me a few countries that is not like this?

Serious... It willbe an interesting... So far, only have stats for the above few countries.

Bro, rental rate always higher than mortgage interest rate...
    Look at Singapore, Malaysia,Indonesia, Bangkok, Australia,...

Can name me a few countries that is not like this?

Serious... It willbe an interesting... So far, only have stats for the above few countries.
    bro u talking about good times, or bad times? or average times?

everybody has been asking when interest rate will go to 5% for upmteen times...

must remember, it must go to 2% first, 3 % ....then 5%

everybody has been asking when interest rate will go to 5% for upmteen times...

must remember, it must go to 2% first, 3 % ....then 5%
    For as long as I can remember in my working life, interest rates have never hit 5%.

Not saying it won't but just an observation.
    树大必有枯枝,人多必有白痴。
    树无皮必死无疑,人不要脸天下无敌!

bro u talking about good times, or bad times? or average times?
    Ave times...

Good times, don't even border about yield, look at cap gains enough. Bad time, pray to god u can service the loan w/o tenant.

Always prepare for worst case scenario.

If not, don't go in.... Expect the unexpected.

Quote Originally Posted by leftfield
    For as long as I can remember in my working life, interest rates have never hit 5%.

Bro, it did in the 90s... I was involved... But my rental still can cover mortgage... Only during recession, than I folk out cash because rental cannot cover...

1987 to 2012 (SIBOR Yearly)

END OF PERIOD INTERBANK 3-MONTH
    1987 3.13
    1988 5.38
    1989 5.63
    1990 4.81
    1991 3.00
    1992 2.31
    1993 3.31
    1994 4.38
    1995 2.56
    1996 3.13
    1997 6.75
    1998 1.88
    1999 2.75
    2000 2.81
    2001 1.25
    2002 0.81
    2003 0.75
    2004 1.44
    2005 3.25
    2006 3.44
    2007 2.38
    2008 1.00
    2009 0.69
    2010 0.44
    2011 0.38

Average of the above: 2.7%

So i guess my 5% abit too high. use 3% enuff.

Add spread will be 4-5%

my spread is about 0.8%. not sure long term wise, what is the average spread.

how old are u ?

my spread is about 0.8%. not sure long term wise, what is the average spread.
    i mean after adding spread to avg sibor 2.7%, it will be 4-5% eventually. home loan spreads is increasing. now spread for yr4 onwards is abt 1 to 1.25%.. assuming sibor jumped double, int rate will be 2% in 2016. i suppose still consider low?

how old are u ?
    Wow, that was to the point. Not young anymore lah.
    树大必有枯枝,人多必有白痴。
    树无皮必死无疑,人不要脸天下无敌!

i mean after adding spread to avg sibor 2.7%, it will be 4-5% eventually. home loan spreads is increasing. now spread for yr4 onwards is abt 1 to 1.25%.. assuming sibor jumped double, int rate will be 2% in 2016. i suppose still consider low?
    My spread is 0.8%.. So all in is about 1.1%. We have transparent historical sibor info, but i tink no such info on historical spread. If we have that, then basically we can for sure know what is the "correct" average interest rate to flex for in our calculations.

Wow, that was to the point. Not young anymore lah.
    who knows you are in 30s

Haha, let's just say still have > 20 productive working years!

Far away from retirement like many gurus here!!!
    树大必有枯枝,人多必有白痴。
    树无皮必死无疑,人不要脸天下无敌!

Why need to cool them if there is demand? Garment always like to leave it to market forces. Just like Pinnacle.
    Gahmen just wants to prevent any market crash from causing the ordinary Singaporeans financial distress and public unhappiness

Big boys can afford to take the risk - they got holding power