Thread: Everything you need is in Spore. Gurus have spoken

Default Everything you need is in Spore. Gurus have spoken

Everything you need can be found in Singapore
    The view from his new 2,700 sq ft Marina Bay Suites apartment is priceless.

Pull aside the curtains and you'll get a splendid and unobstructed view of Marina Bay.

Yet Malaysian Desmond Teo isn't ready to live in the $8 million apartment he bought two years ago.

Well, perhaps not just yet.

Says Mr Teo, 52, a businessman: "I get worried about the place because it's too close to the casino. I feel nervous for my family, especially my eldest son, who may be tempted to try his luck (at the casino)."

So Mr Teo prefers to rent out his Marina Bay condo for the time being.

The family of five - he has two sons and a daughter - has another apartment in Singapore, a $2.5 million, 2,500 sq ft penthouse at The Gardens at Bishan.

Mr Teo is typical of the "mobile millionaires" that a recent study by RBC Wealth Management and The Economist Group has identified, say property agents, financial consultants and bankers The New Paper on Sunday spoke to.

According to the study released earlier this week, mobile millionaires across the region have made Singapore their top choice of country to live in.

Hong Kong is second on the list.

"I think the term is very apt because these people fly into Singapore at a drop of a hat," says a manager with a local developer here.

She requests not to be named as she has no permission to speak to the media.

"The wife can just fly in for a day or two, stay in their apartment and fly back. This is how mobile they are."

The developer offers high-end multi-million-dollar homes specifically targeting rich Asians, who typically come from China, Indonesia and India - in that order.

They usually have properties throughout Asia, the manager reveals.

Besides property agents, there is an entire mini industry working to keep these customers happy and coming back to Singapore.

The reasons the rich choose Singapore?

Security, both physical and financial.

And a favourable tax regime which does not tax capital gains, adds the manager.

In Mr Teo's case, Singapore is a safe bet to park his money and investments. He cites low crime rates, which pave the way for a safe and secure living.

Mr Teo, who has other landed properties all over Malaysia, chose Singapore because he is confident of its stability.

"It's one of the safest places to invest," says Mr Teo, who previously owned a golf resort in Malaysia.

"Singapore is a hub with strong financial institutions and shows promising returns in the property sector for those looking to invest."

Granted, the Singapore Government has introduced cooling-down measures against the fear of a property bubble and this technically makes it harder for foreigners to own property.

But it was all "within his budget", says Mr Teo, despite property prices soaring.

Another consideration for Mr Teo is the education system here.

His youngest son, who is in Primary 5, studies at Maris Stella High School, while his only daughter, age 16, is in Methodist Girls' School.

His eldest son, 21, is serving national service.

Adds Mr Teo: "I'm happy with the education system here. Both my children in school are doing well.

"As for my eldest son, I wanted him to learn something which he couldn't have received from anywhere else - learning to live life as a man through national service. He didn't have to serve NS, yet I encouraged him to do so."

The self-made millionaire says that from his previous experience with business in Singapore, he expects the economy to grow.

When he was 14, Mr Teo had already gone into business.

He was among the few in Malaysia who had supplied door and window frames in the late 70s and early 80s to the Housing Board.

It was hard work, but it started him on the right footing in business.

"Making your first million is always the toughest," says Mr Teo.

"After that, it gets easy... It then becomes a matter of choosing the right investments to multiply your wealth."

Despite the rising cost of living, he still believes that more foreigners with deep pockets will choose to come here.

The crumbling European economy and the fact that many multinational corporation have chosen Singapore as a base are some of the reasons.

"Everything you need is here," maintains Mr Teo.

"As businessmen, we decide on what kinds of risks to take when deciding to invest or live in Singapore.

"Over here, most of us can

Everything you need can be found in Singapore
    The view from his new 2,700 sq ft Marina Bay Suites apartment is priceless.

Pull aside the curtains and you'll get a splendid and unobstructed view of Marina Bay.

not blocked by The Sail?

respect this guy, he even asked his son to go NS ...

His father can pay him 10k/mth to take his time to serve NS.. even come out also no worry will lose out or have to compete with others searching for job

Then GO STAY IN GEYLANG LAH

KNN scare here and there. PUA CHEE BYE

Quote Originally Posted by wendytan

Sound like you cannot tahan rental liao hah..
    Blame your husband MR B loh

wa..so vulgar!

you must be fake girl!

Sound like you cannot tahan rental liao hah..
    Blame your husband MR B loh
    MR A ask me to ask you go suck bangalah COCK lah

LOL

What is this penny rental fee

wa..so vulgar!

you must be fake girl!
    I Ah Lian, cannot huh ?

PUA CHEE BYE YOU NOSY PARKER !

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2...23-391270.html

another HNWI from Malaysia ....

spent 100k for Christmas @ Nassim

Agreed, must respect this guy.we need more of such Singaporeans here. Those complainer Singaporeans who only know how to scold his own country, please migrate to other countries.

It's true but some of us just not the strong in mental and financial

If one goes around other countries, one will know just how much the difference is, even places like Paris, beggars everywhere....

Quote Originally Posted by smpeh
    It's true but some of us just not the strong in mental and financial

If one goes around other countries, one will know just how much the difference is, even places like Paris, beggars everywhere....

Yes especially those complainers complaining about those 1cents/2cent things. I really like to see how these complainers will fare in other countries since they say other countries are so good.

I Ah Lian, cannot huh ?

PUA CHEE BYE YOU NOSY PARKER !
    but your email address say is guy leh...

reincarnation of Mr B vulgar style

Dont waste time on such woman cum man la!

Back to the topic, I think such high profile display of wealth should be discouraged. Singapore should start controlling the tap for rich foreigners.

Government must bear in mind this : This is our country for our people. It is possible to replace EVERY SINGAPOREAN with a multi millionnaire from China, India, Malaysia, everywhere else. People are all trying to get into Singapore because of their problems in their own countries ?

Do we accept everyone/everything lock-stock-barrel ?

I think its time to tax fly by night people "dropping by" Singapore and hoping to rip our people off by jacking up property prices.

Trust me ... in the long run, everyone of us only need ONE property...

Brudder, paiseh.... Can change your avatar, your avatar seem to be sala leh.... I not stupid 3 not out yet leh....

Hahahaha

Brudder, you have foresight..... Very far sighted leh.... I super duper impressed.... Bring more "rich" will widen the gap between "rich and poor"... Brudder, I respect you.... But (you must be thinking - wa lau, everytime got this BUT) hor, what is govt doing??? Why are they doing this???? Brudder, they dropped so many hints already.... It's a matter of time... What is the next phase of Singapore????? I tell you, brudder BJ21 knows.... He also hinted here and there... But mabe did not articulate... Maybe he abit know??? We will know, when he speaks... Wa lau, what is happening to me on the eve of Christmas????

Brudder DKSG, you are surely one smart Alec (must spell correctly this one - if not carbuncle will come in and correct).... But in years to come, if you have no money, life in Singapore will be tough... Sad but true...

Brudder, all this are already taking shape.... Work for the future brudder... Yours is already set.... Many are not.... This time, I not giving hints... I telling everyone.... Please prepare yourselves.... I am but a small voice that nags at you to "WAKE UP" and prepare yourselves for financial freedom.... No I am no freedom fighter... But financial freedom fighter... My dear brudders and sisters, this is my NS duty here... Please prepare for the future.... I have done mine, have you???? With this words, I would wish each and everyone of you here 2 messages

1. No hard feelings
    2. A Very Merry Christmas

Dont waste time on such woman cum man la!

Back to the topic, I think such high profile display of wealth should be discouraged. Singapore should start controlling the tap for rich foreigners.

Government must bear in mind this : This is our country for our people. It is possible to replace EVERY SINGAPOREAN with a multi millionnaire from China, India, Malaysia, everywhere else. People are all trying to get into Singapore because of their problems in their own countries ?

Do we accept everyone/everything lock-stock-barrel ?

I think its time to tax fly by night people "dropping by" Singapore and hoping to rip our people off by jacking up property prices.

Trust me ... in the long run, everyone of us only need ONE property...

Merry Christmas big brothers!

Does "financial freedom" mean one can fully pay the home loan for own stay house, despite the interest is super low for even 2-3 more years? I remember u ever mentioned before that u did fully pay several houses. Will u do it so if it was today with 1% interest rate?

Brudder, you have foresight..... Very far sighted leh.... I super duper impressed.... Bring more "rich" will widen the gap between "rich and poor"... Brudder, I respect you.... But (you must be thinking - wa lau, everytime got this BUT) hor, what is govt doing??? Why are they doing this???? Brudder, they dropped so many hints already.... It's a matter of time... What is the next phase of Singapore????? I tell you, brudder BJ21 knows.... He also hinted here and there... But mabe did not articulate... Maybe he abit know??? We will know, when he speaks... Wa lau, what is happening to me on the eve of Christmas????

Brudder DKSG, you are surely one smart Alec (must spell correctly this one - if not carbuncle will come in and correct).... But in years to come, if you have no money, life in Singapore will be tough... Sad but true...

Brudder, all this are already taking shape.... Work for the future brudder... Yours is already set.... Many are not.... This time, I not giving hints... I telling everyone.... Please prepare yourselves.... I am but a small voice that nags at you to "WAKE UP" and prepare yourselves for financial freedom.... No I am no freedom fighter... But financial freedom fighter... My dear brudders and sisters, this is my NS duty here... Please prepare for the future.... I have done mine, have you???? With this words, I would wish each and everyone of you here 2 messages

1. No hard feelings
    2. A Very Merry Christmas

Sis, today I Christmas mood.... I just woke up... Hahahaha

1. If you have 2 million with you today, what will you do with it????
    - If u anyhow spend, I tell you to repay your loan....
    - if u don't know how to invest??? You may wind up losing your money by the bankers (relation or private)... Then u keep in deposit and wait for opportunities - but if you still cannot spot opportunities, pay up your house...
    - if you are savvy investor, please keep the money, you can invest part and hold part in cash to wait for opportunities....
    So far, so good????? Even if u have paid up the house fully, u can still unlock its potential... Are u savvy to know how???? Reverse mortgage.

Sis, my only sharing with you... Please call the RM of your bank and listen to her talk.... Discuss 1 topic at a time... But don't get anything from her/him unless u 100% know what u are doing. Another way is after talking with her/him, come back to this forum and tickle the minds of the genius in this forum....

There are many ways to skin a cat, sis... And it depends on how u want it cooked as well... Sis, a Very Merry Christmas....

Quote Originally Posted by East Lover

Does "financial freedom" mean one can fully pay the home loan for own stay house, despite the interest is super low for even 2-3 more years? I remember u ever mentioned before that u did fully pay several houses. Will u do it so if it was today with 1% interest rate?

Oh sis, did not answer your first question... U damn greedy... Sk so many questions... Hahahahahaha... But u got chemi with me....

Ok.... Financial freedom means

You don't even need to work to continue your current lifestyle from other income...

I add in "current lifestyle" on my own.... Because I need it... Hahahahaha

Oh sis, did not answer your first question... U damn greedy... Sk so many questions... Hahahahahaha... But u got chemi with me....

Ok.... Financial freedom means

You don't even need to work to continue your current lifestyle from other income...

I add in "current lifestyle" on my own.... Because I need it... Hahahahaha
    I think financial freedom is house car fully paid.
    Monthly income stream of $7K pm. Or hard cash of $2 million.

Office Boy like me, easy to live.

Eat hawker, now and then eat restaurant when feel like. Go holiday when feel like (where got so many places to go - after u have been to most?)

This can be achieved with 2-3 extra properties each bringing in 2-3K a month (net profit, cashflow).

Above is my humble definition, I believe others have more grand plans.

BUT this is your own life lor! U choose what you want, how long u want to work and what kind of "luxuries" you want to own. Just dont live a life dictated by others, marketing folks or con men out there, who try to dictate to you what you SHOULD have.

Most importantly, do good things in your life, use your monies to do good things. Thats what life is about, not the Porche, Mati or BMW you are driving

PS : Above my Xmas message to all also.

Eat hawker, now and then eat restaurant when feel like. Go holiday when feel like (where got so many places to go - after u have been to most?)

This can be achieved with 2-3 extra properties each bringing in 2-3K a month (net profit, cashflow).

BUT this is your own life lor! U choose what you want, how long u want to work and what kind of "luxuries" you want to own. Just dont live a life dictated by others, marketing folks or con men out there, who try to dictate to you what you SHOULD have.

Most importantly, do good things in your life, use your monies to do good things. Thats what life is about, not the Porche, Mati or BMW you are driving

Yeah, i agree with u! Esp the last part. Knowing when is enuff is the key. Ultimately health is impt too. Over worked, health become terok, all money go to feed dr. So know when to stop when one knows enuff is enuff.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=_o0oeyCtoFA

+3

I want to add:

Do you refer to monthly $7k passive income?

Thanks bro! Merry Christmas to you !

Sis, today I Christmas mood.... I just woke up... Hahahaha

1. If you have 2 million with you today, what will you do with it????
    - If u anyhow spend, I tell you to repay your loan....
    - if u don't know how to invest??? You may wind up losing your money by the bankers (relation or private)... Then u keep in deposit and wait for opportunities - but if you still cannot spot opportunities, pay up your house...
    - if you are savvy investor, please keep the money, you can invest part and hold part in cash to wait for opportunities....
    So far, so good????? Even if u have paid up the house fully, u can still unlock its potential... Are u savvy to know how???? Reverse mortgage.

Sis, my only sharing with you... Please call the RM of your bank and listen to her talk.... Discuss 1 topic at a time... But don't get anything from her/him unless u 100% know what u are doing. Another way is after talking with her/him, come back to this forum and tickle the minds of the genius in this forum....

There are many ways to skin a cat, sis... And it depends on how u want it cooked as well... Sis, a Very Merry Christmas....

Merry Christmas to you! I like ur style

Xie Xie !

Office Boy appreciates all your greetings ...
    Just hope that Singapore doesnt become another of the Gangnam Style ... where people blindly worship money and sell themselves away ...

Merry Xmas to all !

PS : Do visit some showflats to check out the current sentiments ... 2013 will see prices inching up some more ...

Xie Xie !

Office Boy appreciates all your greetings ...
    Just hope that Singapore doesnt become another of the Gangnam Style ... where people blindly worship money and sell themselves away ...

Merry Xmas to all !

PS : Do visit some showflats to check out the current sentiments ... 2013 will see prices inching up some more ...

Brudder, today I will share some interesting old news for you to digest :

Singapore has the world's highest percentage of millionaires, with one out of every six households having at least one million US dollars in disposable wealth. This excludes property, businesses, and luxury goods, which if included would further increase the number of millionaires, especially as property in Singapore is among the world's most expensive.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore#Economy

Singapore had 188,000 millionaire households in 2011 – or slightly more than 17% of its resident households

http://blogs.wsj.com/searealtime/201...onaires-again/

Note that
    1. the millionaires status do not include property they are staying in...
    2. This does not take into account the top 20% top earners who can buy condo...

Brudder, I hate to disappoint you... We are already heading there... Then why you think I doing NS here????

Office boy, since you work in MNC, you should be able to see what is happening Liao.......

Brudder, today I will share some interesting old news for you to digest :

Singapore has the world's highest percentage of millionaires, with one out of every six households having at least one million US dollars in disposable wealth. This excludes property, businesses, and luxury goods, which if included would further increase the number of millionaires, especially as property in Singapore is among the world's most expensive.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore#Economy

Singapore had 188,000 millionaire households in 2011 – or slightly more than 17% of its resident households

http://blogs.wsj.com/searealtime/201...onaires-again/

Note that
    1. the millionaires status do not include property they are staying in...
    2. This does not take into account the top 20% top earners who can buy condo...

Brudder, I hate to disappoint you... We are already heading there... Then why you think I doing NS here????

Office boy, since you work in MNC, you should be able to see what is happening Liao.......

Shrinking middle class