Page 1 of 8 123456 ... LastLast

Thread: More Cooling Measures

Default More Cooling Measures

For Investors
    1) HDB upgraders must sell their flat before buying private property
    2) Seller stamp duties for commercial property

For developers
    1) DC for PES and Roof Terrace

Is this a probability or already announced?

For Investors

For developers
    or is this going to be announced soon?

Quite a fair one. But the last one will result in price increase.

Current cases of hdb and pte property owners will ultimately revert to owning either one when hdb is due for SERS.

Quote Originally Posted by silver023
    Is this a probability or already announced?

TS is just proposing.

If it were announced, it would be in the headlines and breaking news and this whole place would be flooded with discussion.

u cannot force HDB upgraders to sell HDB when buying new ... you can only force to sell 6m after TOP ... make sense??

then how about those who already own HDB and PCs they will hold their HDB tight tight and NEVER SELL LIAO

this will create an extremely unhealthy market where the only HDB sellers in the market are those moving into new PCs ... COV will be 200k??

u cannot force HDB upgraders to sell HDB when buying new ... you can only force to sell 6m after TOP ... make sense??

then how about those who already own HDB and PCs they will hold their HDB tight tight and NEVER SELL LIAO

this will create an extremely unhealthy market where the only HDB sellers in the market are those moving into new PCs ... COV will be 200k??
    And HDB rentals will shoot up.

[QUOTE=phantom_opera]

QUOTE]

If they kenna SERS, they are not allowed to apply new HDB unless they sell PC.

How frequent is SERS?? I can tell u if Temasek / GIC return is 4%pa for next 20y, no more SERS

For Investors

For developers
    *like* as this is likely to work in my interest.

And HDB rentals will shoot up.
    Better still.... very few HDB for rental, so PC rental shoot up as well!
    Extrapolate further - the prices of houses with old lease will increase as employers may buy these to house workers.......

u
    cant hold forever, tats the beauty of SERS and LH.

Better still.... very few HDB for rental, so PC rental shoot up as well!
    Extrapolate further - the prices of houses with old lease will increase as employers may buy these to house workers.......
    Yes, all huat!

This CM may not have the results desired by govt. It is politically sensitive as joint ownership of HDB/private enables many young citizens to upgrade comfortably. It will not be a popular move to disallow this. If they anyhow knee-jerk reaction and apply CM to this based on a few articles in the press and a few (possibly envious) people complaining about joint HDB/private ownership, my respect for MIW will go down.

i heard MOM is rejecting lots of EP renewals ... that is the secret CM .... very soon you will see EP # down 10-20%

my take is simple - apart from ramping up flat supply, stop pegging new BTOs to resale prices in the same vicinity.

i heard MOM is rejecting lots of EP renewals ... that is the secret CM .... very soon you will see EP # down 10-20%
    This may only be until the tsunami wave of TOP HDBs and PCs hits us in some years time. And new transport infrastructure is put in place.

The service industry is very short of workers. I see restaurants only opening to half of their capacity due to staff shortages. Rejecting EPs can stunt S'pore's growth.

For Investors
    this one is fair, cos currently private owners who buy hdb must sell off their private within 6 mth. The reverse shld apply too.

Yes, all huat!

This CM may not have the results desired by govt. It is politically sensitive as joint ownership of HDB/private enables many young citizens to upgrade comfortably. It will not be a popular move to disallow this. If they anyhow knee-jerk reaction and apply CM to this based on a few articles in the press and a few (possibly envious) people complaining about joint HDB/private ownership, my respect for MIW will go down.
    then will be mis-AIMed, faces blowback
    revolt against irrational policy

well in the first place they set the bar for EP too low, so it is good to be now more discerning in the approval.

This may only be until the tsunami wave of TOP HDBs and PCs hits us in some years time. And new transport infrastructure is put in place.

The service industry is very short of workers. I see restaurants only opening to half of their capacity due to staff shortages. Rejecting EPs can stunt S'pore's growth.
    i dont see how waiters or waitresses can even qualify for the lowest rung EP in the first place.

this one is fair, cos currently private owners who buy hdb must sell off their private within 6 mth. The reverse shld apply too.
    it isn't practical. unless the families buy resale PCs, they wouldn't have a roof over their heads over the next 3-4 years. new developments don't sprout up overnight

this happen before...they release it and if they do it again, its like a joke...
    releasing more HDBs for sales thru this mean will only creating another problem on HDB rental. Again, this will destablise the rental market.

in my opinion, hdb rental is part of the big picture. they are trying to let those citz have these passive income and make u happy but those who did not want to keep it and instead wanted to sell for a profit cannot blame anyone. the choice is yours. but unfortunately there are ppl who sell their hdb now coming back with all these unfair statements about those who keep it. bear in mind, all these HDB are paid for by own pockets. they deserve to have a choice just like when you decide to sell it...

2nd ppty as passive income has always been the hidden agenda of the govt for the longest time, to help the middle class. u can see all policies shaped around this principle (sgporean no CM for 2nd ppty, but kenah CM for 3rd). sgp planning has been done extremely well in the past (can't say for now). lower class govt help. middle class self help. of coz higher class no need to say. to overturn this planning principle would mean a huge paradigm shift for the govt.

so those who were daft and sold their hdb for quick profit without a roof over the head. only have themselves to blame.

Your so-called "sandwich" class will have a lot of these HDB/joint private owners. So many people complaining about "sandwich" class. If this CM comes about the "sandwich" will turn into toast liao.

What happen if the PC owner refuse to sell their HDB? What is Govt action on those ppl. Take away their HDB?

Quote Originally Posted by joelx
    What happen if the PC owner refuse to sell their HDB? What is Govt action on those ppl. Take away their HDB?
    Their hdb will be part of the "sale of balance flats" exercise next time.

Your so-called "sandwich" class will have a lot of these HDB/joint private owners. So many people complaining about "sandwich" class. If this CM comes about the "sandwich" will turn into toast liao.
    not everybody can qualify as sandwiched class owning 2 pptys leh. esp in today's context with 60% dp for 2nd ppty. that's easily 400k for a normal condo. assuming HDB use CPF to pay, assuming save 10 years, you need to save $3,300/month for 10 years to reach 400k (ignore interest or investment return). how many middle class families with car and kid can do that?

Quote Originally Posted by joelx
    apply the same/similar rule that if the couple did not ROM within X months after getting a new HDB flat... that it will be sold back to the govt at the same price (+ interest) they purchased at?

not everybody can qualify as sandwiched class owning 2 pptys leh. esp in today's context with 60% dp for 2nd ppty. that's easily 400k for a normal condo. assuming HDB use CPF to pay, assuming save 10 years, you need to save $3,300/month for 10 years to reach 400k (ignore interest or investment return). how many middle class families with car and kid can do that?
    Why not? Their HDB mostly funded by CPF. Why must they have a car? The $$$ saved from having a car can go towards their next property. Car is a depreciating asset.

it is self-inflicted problem, for many years we rely on cheap labor from SEA by importing so many S-Pass / EP holders to grow our GDP without increasing productivity ... suddenly now garmen realize big problem in housing .. then trying to U-turn to reduce dependence on cheap labor and increase productivity

our GDP growth in past few years generated high inflation

where got so easy