Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Will East Coast property prices plunge?

Default Will East Coast property prices plunge?

MND just release a document on land use. I looks like government is going to do some really major land reclamation along the entire stretch of east coast, which mean the current coast line could be push out by one km.

that's depicting land use BEYOND 2030

http://www.mnd.gov.sg/landuseplan/e-...x.html#/14-15/

furthermore, all it says is reserve site and possible reclaimation. this will cause a price drop? that's as about the same likelihood of having a third IR at JLD

MND just release a document on land use. I looks like government is going to do some really major land reclamation along the entire stretch of east coast, which mean the current coast line could be push out by one km.

No surprising..
    Our east sea boundary still have a few km out.. and west side not possible with reclamation for Jurong island & PSA port.. no more space

Just look at the map.. only can reclaim east coast for more residential..

No surprising..
    Our east sea boundary still have a few km out.. and west side not possible with reclamation for Jurong island & PSA port.. no more space

Just look at the map.. only can reclaim east coast for more residential..
    another alternative would be to build upwards. add ten storeys to each current HDB flat and viola.

furthermore, all it says is reserve site and possible reclaimation. this will cause a price drop? that's as about the same likelihood of having a third IR at JLD
    only the small section indicated with dotted lines is not confirmed. the rest of the coast line, which stretches from Fort Road to Still Road will be reclaimed. It is pretty obvious that the reclamation will eventually be stretch to changi airport. And the reason why the leave out one small section in the middle is basically to facilitate the transition. Perhaps only after new beaches are been created on those reclaim land.

So those holding on to FREEHOLD seaview property around that area will eventually be Freehold facing highway.

on a positive note, the plot ratio of east coast properties might increase, so do you think prices will fall?

I live in the East Coast (but already don't have a sea view anyway). With reclamation and new developments along the coast, it is inevitable that existing owners will be affected.

However, insofar as 'perks' such as sea views may be lost, there will also be positive, tangible, more directly beneficial changes, such as the completion of the ERL and the upcoming park connector linking East Coast Park to Gardens by the Bay, which will improve accessibility greatly. Not to mention the benefit of having newer, higher-priced GLS developments in the area to support values of the older freeholds in the vicinity. Those will certainly create buzz in the area.

I am not afraid of values falling drastically, and in fact, have sanguine expectations of the changes to come

Quote Originally Posted by electron
    I live in the East Coast (but already don't have a sea view anyway). With reclamation and new developments along the coast, it is inevitable that existing owners will be affected.

However, insofar as 'perks' such as sea views may be lost, there will also be positive, tangible, more directly beneficial changes, such as the completion of the ERL and the upcoming park connector linking East Coast Park to Gardens by the Bay, which will improve accessibility greatly. Not to mention the benefit of having newer, higher-priced GLS developments in the area to support values of the older freeholds in the vicinity. Those will certainly create buzz in the area.

I am not afraid of values falling drastically, and in fact, have sanguine expectations of the changes to come
    i agree. In any case, most housing there are freehold, so dont really bother lah.

IR in JLD?? again I see this twice within these 2 days....where is the concrete news?
    Disney land is it?? hahaha...

IR in JLD?? again I see this twice within these 2 days....where is the concrete news?
    Disney land is it?? hahaha...
    pardon my too-subtle sarcasm. there's only one guy who is purporting that.

Mai kan cheong!
    last time siglap oso face sea now face building
    but still so expensive! so no worries.

I don't know why you guys are seeing it that way ... but I see that this will actually mean the plot ratio can be brought higher immediately since the coast line is further out now ... by pushing out the line, the only likely and beneficial use are really CBD or commercial use rather than residential use ...
    It only make more sense to build townships further out into the corners of the islands and leave the most exciting southern centre part of the island for the most exciting part of the island

GOOD GOOD news east coast properties will huat...more people more business...erl coming up but feel sorry for those who going to loose their beautiful sea view especially million dollar marine parade hdb...just hang a picture of a ship on the wall...wahahaha...

*keeping fingers cross* wooohooo..... Huat Ah!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by ichigo55
    I don't know why you guys are seeing it that way ... but I see that this will actually mean the plot ratio can be brought higher immediately since the coast line is further out now ... by pushing out the line, the only likely and beneficial use are really CBD or commercial use rather than residential use ...
    It only make more sense to build townships further out into the corners of the islands and leave the most exciting southern centre part of the island for the most exciting part of the island
    What is the relationship between coast line distant and plot ratio?

I can assure you tat CBd will not move to east coast it will move south and towards Keppel.

What is the relationship between coast line distant and plot ratio?

I can assure you tat CBd will not move to east coast it will move south and towards Keppel.
    cbd please dont come to east coast we want girls in bikinis NOT mini skirt

Yeah we dont need the hustle and bustle of the city... but busty gals are most welcomed

I suppose sea viewing condos like Laguna Park, Mandarin, Bayshore etc can kiss good bye to enbloc, because in future sea views kenna block?

http://forums.condosingapore.com/sho...t=9306&page=73

please read at govt's plan to develop east coast - does the proposal look like a dampener on property prices??

Quote Originally Posted by VS
    I suppose sea viewing condos like Laguna Park, Mandarin, Bayshore etc can kiss good bye to enbloc, because in future sea views kenna block?
    do you have any idea how spacious laguna and bayshore are??

Quote Originally Posted by VS
    By 2030, these projects should be more than 50yr old.... existing owners probably have already made enough from rentals or not around anymore..

anyway not vested

why worry? is 2030 and beyond.

http://forums.condosingapore.com/sho...t=9306&page=73

please read at govt's plan to develop east coast - does the proposal look like a dampener on property prices??
    Which part of ths proposal actually excite you? Nothing more than having park connectors linking exiting township to east coast park.

There will be more coastal reclamation at east coast beach looking at the map.

Which part of ths proposal actually excite you? Nothing more than having park connectors linking exiting township to east coast park.

Most coastal area will be reclaimed, not only east coast. Places like pasir ris, punggol, tuas, etc. price up or down? more housing, more ammenities, more huat.

East coast usp is its beach and sea view thats why people are willing to pay more live next to expressway. Once you lose that you value proposition will drop for sure.

Well, east coast living is more than the beach lah...

One easy gauge to look at those development that is blocked by new developmenets (e.g. Silversea) Does it drop?

The other possibility is that the 'new' sea view land will be sold at a much higher price to earn back the relaimation cost. Since new lauches at the 'new' sea view sites are at recors new prices, the vicinity price also will trend upwards.

Anywau, no point argue who rite or wrong lah, lets come back to this thread in 2030 and see if east coast sea view (current) are still below $2000psf. Lets see.

Well, east coast living is more than the beach lah...

One easy gauge to look at those development that is blocked by new developmenets (e.g. Silversea) Does it drop?

The other possibility is that the 'new' sea view land will be sold at a much higher price to earn back the relaimation cost. Since new lauches at the 'new' sea view sites are at recors new prices, the vicinity price also will trend upwards.

Anywau, no point argue who rite or wrong lah, lets come back to this thread in 2030 and see if east coast sea view (current) are still below $2000psf. Lets see.

The most prized units along east coast are those sea facing ones. Once they lose their usp, rental will drop follow by resale price.

How to position yourself with this piece of information?

Avoid overpriced units because they have sea views. Sea views are going to disappear soon. instead of sea facing, they are going to be highway facing (eg silversea). FH or LH both kenna

Look for FH units without sea views provided they are already at discount to sea view units. The newer LH developments on reclaimed land will pull up the prices....

err...may not even happen. If you watch the latest news , the priority is Tekong and Tuas first. BEYOND 2030, they will then look at Marina East, Changi East and Pasir Ris. Dunno when (if ever) they will even get to East Coast park:

quote from CNA news article

Most of the reclamation will be done at Tekong -- an offshore island located on the north eastern part of Singapore, used for military training -- and Tuas, in the south western part of the island.

Beyond 2030, potential reclamation areas include Marina East, Changi East and Pasir Ris. These are also marked as reserve sites that can support future needs such as housing and industries.
    Last edited by proper-t; 31-01-13 at 20:53.