Thread: HDB Sublet

Default HDB Sublet

What if one day a new law states that HDB is no longer allowed to sublet?
    Who will huat and who will suffer?

Quote Originally Posted by COS
    Most people gain.
    Those holding to hdb and pte will either sell hdb and stay in pte, or sell pte and stay in hdb. those used to staying in pte will mostly have gotten used to the comfort. so will sell the hdb as it no longer can generate income. so resale price will drop.

Hence, thos looking to buy HDB to start out will gain.

Thos HDB owner who are staying in HDB no lose even if resale price drop as they are not selling it anyway. In fact, with no sublet, the overall environment may improve as there won't be endless streams of strangers as neighbours.

U got insider??

Taxpayer funded Public housing should never have been allowed to sublet whole unit. It is morally WRONG.

Yup, a responsible citizen whom have the means to upgrade to pte should sell it off to the market.

now 2 x SC or 1 x SC + 1 PR can sublet ...

future only 2 x SC can sublet?

to get more PR converted to SC

To be fair, all should not be allowed to sublet HDB. Isn't this the same old policy that has been removed previously? govt should just restore this policy to avoid further escalation of resale HDB flats!

Resale price escalation is hitting those who want to change to a bigger unit in order to have more babies hard. No wonder many people either don't want to have children or only have 1 child. Can't afford to change to a bigger resale HDB flat (from 3rm to 4 rm or 4rm to 5 rm) how to have more babies?

Quote Originally Posted by wt_know
    now 2 x SC or 1 x SC + 1 PR can sublet ...

future only 2 x SC can sublet?

to get more PR converted to SC

Gov will score point by banning HDB subletting.

This will ensure no hoarding of public housing by the more well to do.

1st, Majority of HDB owners only have 1 properties and like wat heehee has said, escalating resale price prevent them from upgrading to bigger HDB flat, e.g. from 3rm to 5 rm.

2nd, as majority of HDB owner do not have other properties and are jealous (yes, sour grapes) about others having HDB and pte property, whom rent out HDB to finance their pte property (rich get richer). so gov will score point with this bulk with people as the sour grapes are removed, hence less anger about widening rich and poor gap.

3rd. Yes, although gov will anger this group of multiple property owners whom have HDB and may need to offload it if gov ban subletting of HDB, this group will STILL be pro-gov as they have other properties on hand too and won't want to jeopardise their investment portfolio. in other words, LAN LAN.

Hence, yes, gov should relook into. it will prevent escalation of HDB resale, also prevent widening rich and poor gap.
    Quote Originally Posted by heehee
    To be fair, all should not be allowed to sublet HDB. Isn't this the same old policy that has been removed previously? govt should just restore this policy to avoid further escalation of resale HDB flats!

Resale price escalation is hitting those who want to change to a bigger unit in order to have more babies hard. No wonder many people either don't want to have children or only have 1 child. Can't afford to change to a bigger resale HDB flat (from 3rm to 4 rm or 4rm to 5 rm) how to have more babies?

may i ask, in the past, when hdb were not allowed to be sublet... pr/foreigner, those who cant afford condo, stay where huh ?
    or in the past, there were none pr/foreigner who cant afford condo rental ?

Thanks for the replies.
    I mean total no sublet of HDB regardless SC or PR and this will be an issue for foreigners who have difficulty renting private.
    Those holding to HDB and PC will most likely huat because still can stay in HDB and rent out PC.
    For those who bought HDB resale or BTO at high price, they will definitely feel the pinch.

Thanks for the replies.
    I mean total no sublet of HDB regardless SC or PR and this will be an issue for foreigners who have difficulty renting private.
    Those holding to HDB and PC will most likely huat because still can stay in HDB and rent out PC.
    For those who bought HDB resale or BTO at high price, they will definitely feel the pinch.
    Not sure I should huat or feel the pinch, I bought hdb resale becos I am single, I also bought a PC for investment

in the past, it was not allowed. if they did not change this rule, where would Singapore have found accommodation for the employment pass folks?

We should let those have HDB & Private condo, carry on rent out the HDB unit if they got no other income.
    I got few senior after retired , no coy want to employ them ( common nowadays...but said) , CPF & HDB rental income is their only source of income from now 60years old till they pass away.

We should not jealous those got HDB & Private Property as more of them just like us, start with a HDB only. They had contribute enough when they young & government made a right move for them to use HDB to get extra income during Golden Year 👍👍👍👍👍

Quote Originally Posted by TMATT
    We should let those have HDB & Private condo, carry on rent out the HDB unit if they got no other income.
    I got few senior after retired , no coy want to employ them ( common nowadays...but said) , CPF & HDB rental income is their only source of income from now 60years old till they pass away.

We should not jealous those got HDB & Private Property as more of them just like us, start with a HDB only. They had contribute enough when they young & government made a right move for them to use HDB to get extra income during Golden Year 👍👍👍👍👍
    For these group of people, they can move back to hdb and rent out the pte condo. Rite?
    Or if they insist staying in pte, then can cash out the hdb one lump sum and buy some annuity or stocks or shoebox rite that can also generate an income stream? Just thinking out loud.

For these group of people, they can move back to hdb and rent out the pte condo. Rite?
    Or if they insist staying in pte, then can cash out the hdb one lump sum and buy some annuity or stocks or shoebox rite that can also generate an income stream? Just thinking out loud.
    Yes, that is possible. But old folks do not like to move, for a variety of reasons. Some are too sick to bother with the hassle of moving, while some are attached to the place they lived in and the memories their homes hold. Old folks enjoy security with what they already have; no-one wants to make an investment (and incur risk) when they are comfortably retired.

First must understand why the law allow HDB to sublet.

井底之蛙.

singaporeans or PRs who buy the flat by taking a grant should not be allowed to sublet any part of the flat. singaporeans who pay full market value for the flat should not be restricted from subletting. PRs should be restricted from subletting under all circumstances.

Very good question indeed. Firstly, why are you providing housing for the PR/foreigners who can't afford condo rental? Didn't the govt saying that we should only attract and allow those "foreign talents" to come in to work? If these foreigners/PRs can't even afford condo rental, then definitely they can't be foreign talent right? Foreign construction workers the govt already have dormitories for them, don't have to worry for them.

may i ask, in the past, when hdb were not allowed to be sublet... pr/foreigner, those who cant afford condo, stay where huh ?
    or in the past, there were none pr/foreigner who cant afford condo rental ?

If govt seriously want these group of people to have good retirement income, then all the more reason to force them to stay in HDB and sell/rent out Pte condo!

singaporeans or PRs who buy the flat by taking a grant should not be allowed to sublet any part of the flat. singaporeans who pay full market value for the flat should not be restricted from subletting. PRs should be restricted from subletting under all circumstances.
    When they sell, grants have to be repaid. How about those who bought from sale of balance flats at a time when nobody wanted to buy properties?

Quote Originally Posted by Sam88
    in the past, it was not allowed. if they did not change this rule, where would Singapore have found accommodation for the employment pass folks?
    Agreed that one of the reasons is to cater for people on employment pass. What if no sublet of flats allowed and govt takes over the older estates and rent them to foreigners instead? This reduces the price of flats and govt gets to oversee the rental?

Very good question indeed. Firstly, why are you providing housing for the PR/foreigners who can't afford condo rental? Didn't the govt saying that we should only attract and allow those "foreign talents" to come in to work? If these foreigners/PRs can't even afford condo rental, then definitely they can't be foreign talent right? Foreign construction workers the govt already have dormitories for them, don't have to worry for them.
    Private housing numbers too low at the moment. We are talking about condo rental doubling overnight, and even then will not meet the demand.

Agreed that one of the reasons is to cater for people on employment pass. What if no sublet of flats allowed and govt takes over the older estates and rent them to foreigners instead? This reduces the price of flats and govt gets to oversee the rental?
    V hard for a v large department of civil servants managing this. Pretty sure they would not do as good a job as landlords who own the flats.

Hey, what are we asking for? Communism?

Most people gain.
    Those holding to hdb and pte will either sell hdb and stay in pte, or sell pte and stay in hdb. those used to staying in pte will mostly have gotten used to the comfort. so will sell the hdb as it no longer can generate income. so resale price will drop.

Hence, thos looking to buy HDB to start out will gain.

Thos HDB owner who are staying in HDB no lose even if resale price drop as they are not selling it anyway. In fact, with no sublet, the overall environment may improve as there won't be endless streams of strangers as neighbours.

U got insider??
    just a thought nia, no insider

Quote Originally Posted by Kelonguni
    V hard for a v large department of civil servants managing this. Pretty sure they would not do as good a job as landlords who own the flats.

Won't this achieve what we have been screaming all along?
    Now we will have affordable HDB, no strangers as neighbours accordingly to some who posted, and govt gets the rental revenue.

What I mean is not to demolish old estates, get all SC and PR to move to newer flats and rent the whole blocks of old building to employment pass holders.

Then will be encouraging enclaves, another no-no for our multiracial country.

It is already partially happening in some places. But your suggestion is really asking the Govt to stick their neck out. Then there will be people saying no need for ethnic quotas anymore.

Not easy for Govt also.

Then what about dormitories for foreign workers? That must be a NO-NO right since those are really enclaves as well? Yet dormitories are encouraged!

Then will be encouraging enclaves, another no-no for our multiracial country.

It is already partially happening in some places. But your suggestion is really asking the Govt to stick their neck out. Then there will be people saying no need for ethnic quotas anymore.

Not easy for Govt also.

Service sector staff may need housing too

then the issue with this group belongs to the govt. then Singaporeans will ask
    - why their estate managed same like ours
    - why govt rent them so cheap?
    - why govt don't allow us to rent the hdb to them and take our retirement rice bowl?
    - why govt don't provide rental flat to us. I rather rent than buy hdb.
    the list goes on. see how anyone who provides solution, it is so easy to shoot it down? then when u ask me why I don't provide solution. i tell u, THEY EARN MILLION OF DOLLAR WAT, IT'S THEIR JOB.

any govt job also tough. so to solve your own problem, better be rich. all this at least will be not bother you.

happy cny

Quote Originally Posted by Sam88
    then the issue with this group belongs to the govt. then Singaporeans will ask
    - why their estate managed same like ours
    - why govt rent them so cheap?
    - why govt don't allow us to rent the hdb to them and take our retirement rice bowl?
    - why govt don't provide rental flat to us. I rather rent than buy hdb.
    the list goes on. see how anyone who provides solution, it is so easy to shoot it down? then when u ask me why I don't provide solution. i tell u, THEY EARN MILLION OF DOLLAR WAT, IT'S THEIR JOB.

any govt job also tough. so to solve your own problem, better be rich. all this at least will be not bother you.

happy cny
    I learn some thing good with your answer... when those upper echelon throw the qns back at us, we should challenge them back and say hey you're the one with the million bucks salary. Nice try for a free ride!

LOL

SSSSSSSSSssssssssssssssssssssuper ssssssssssssssolid ssssssssssssssssnake year to all!