Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast

Thread: Landed Property - Going Forward (2013)

cluster housing is perhaps the lousiest form of landed property to own in Singapore because

1) There is no land, you cant even grow a mango tree in yard
    2) High maintenance fee for mostly lousy facilities
    3) too many steps in the house, not elderly of child friendly
    4) Small living and dining area.
    5) No privacy (too close to neighbor)

Dont take my MM too literally, its meant to say each floor is about 500sqft.
    Friend, the above is not very nice....i hate to say this, but i hate staying in a pigeon hole no matter what you called it or how much it costs!

Let me as a owner shed some lights on cluster home:

1) I didn't know my house is build on air or water!! My cluster is sure built on a land....and as for Mango tree...look carefully, just off serangoon...mango trees are generally planted outside the house. The neighbour around me are less ambitious, we only have papaya....but i have a 600sqft roof garden with passion fruits, bamboo,willow tree and etc.

2) High maintenance? When i first bought it, it was cheaper compared to 2 cars shelter parking + conservancy charges of my ex-5hdb add together. it is $400+ now for a >3400sqft unit. Facilties? I dun even want to go there, if 1 tennis court, 1/2 basketball court, badminton court, 2 large pools + 6 smaller ones, Gym with SOA equipment and 4 x 1000sqft function room ....what else do you want? A Stadium?

3) Too many steps, that's true indeed. But if i'm so protective over my kids in using the stairs(as a form of exercise), they will probably not able to use their knees by adulthood. Most families house the grannies in the basement or level 2. As the hokkien saying, "things are dead, human brains are live"...use it la

4) Living and dining bigger than any 4rm condo I've ever come across, and i even need to drop my false ceiling(after dropped, still at 4m) for the aircon sake. Anyway, me ain't no fat ass....I'm contented with my 7 pax sofa lounge + 55" TV 4.5m away.

5) That's very true again. But cluster living is akin to kampong style....that closeness also bring about social cohesion in the estate. E.g. When my maid cooking at the outdoor kitchen, can just shout over for a helping hand(missing ingredients just like that) Oh, about privacy....dun we have curtains?

The above is to de-myth your view on cluster.

My house has appreciated 1.2 times from what i paid 6yrs back, infact I'm buying another unit to rent out at 5-6K a month. There're more reasons i can share with you "...A house is very subjective, as long as you are happy staying there...it is the best house" and I'll never put someone down based on his choice of property and if you're offended by my pigeon hole analogy....that's is exactly what i'm trying to say here.

Quote Originally Posted by nautiboy
    Friend, the above is not very nice....i hate to say this, but i hate staying in a pigeon hole no matter what you called it or how much it costs!

1) I didn't know my house is build on air or water!! My cluster is sure built on a land....and as for Mango tree...look carefully, just off serangoon...mango trees are generally planted outside the house. The neighbour around me are less ambitious, we only have papaya....but i have a 600sqft roof garden with passion fruits, bamboo,willow tree and etc.

2) High maintenance? When i first bought it, it was cheaper compared to 2 cars shelter parking + conservancy charges of my ex-5hdb add together. it is $400+ now for a >3400sqft unit. Facilties? I dun even want to go there, if 1 tennis court, 1/2 basketball court, badminton court, 2 large pools + 6 smaller ones, Gym with SOA equipment and 4 x 1000sqft function room ....what else do you want? A Stadium?

3) Too many steps, that's true indeed. But if i'm so protective over my kids in using the stairs(as a form of exercise), they will probably not able to use their knees by adulthood. Most families house the grannies in the basement or level 2. As the hokkien saying, "things are dead, human brains are live"...use it la

4) Living and dining bigger than any 4rm condo I've ever come across, and i even need to drop my false ceiling(after dropped, still at 4m) for the aircon sake. Anyway, me ain't no fat ass....I'm contented with my 7 pax sofa lounge + 55" TV 4.5m away.

5) That's very true again. But cluster living is akin to kampong style....that closeness also bring about social cohesion in the estate. E.g. When my maid cooking at the outdoor kitchen, can just shout over for a helping hand(missing ingredients just like that) Oh, about privacy....dun we have curtains?

My house has appreciated 1.2 times from what i paid 6yrs back, infact I'm buying another unit to rent out at 5-6K a month. There're more reasons i can share with you "...A house is very subjective, as long as you are happy staying there...it is the best house" and I'll never put someone down based on his choice of property and if you're offended by my pigeon hole analogy....that's is exactly what i'm trying to say here.

I believe you are referring to LH99 cluster project call The Shaughnessy
    which according to squarefoot.com.sg one recent transaction,
    a 3305 sqft unit

Bought 28 Sep 2006 - $938,624 ($284 psf)
    Sold 18 Dec 2012 - $1,768,175 ($535 psf)
    Profit $829,555, 88% over 6 years or 10.7% per year

(about 30 to 40% lower than what you have claim)

And according to URA, the rental rate this project ranges from $4800 to $5500 per month, which is around $1.4 to $1.6 psf, or around 3.2 to 3.7% rental yield.

on 18 Dec 2012 for an annual return of 10.7% per year.

Hi naughtiboy, welcome!
    Your maiden post!
    I have seen some cluster houses which ringo mentioned.
    However I have seen some which are well spaced out.
    I love the concept of Binjai Crest but at that time was not within my budget.

a 3305 sqft unit

And according to URA, the rental rate this project ranges from $4800 to $5500 per month, which is around $1.4 to $1.6 psf, or around 3.2 to 3.7% rental yield.

Good analysis but not detailed enough. U know 1st generation bought direct thru ntuc/orchid country club link at 750K a unit? I aint here to bull anyone or selling my estate but just to clarify his opinions n hopefully share my sentiments. The real bonus is really the family oriented living environment, my kids can be let off in the whole estate to run free n safe. They've friends from all over the world, we celebrate octobertfest with germans, holloween with americans n others, n etc. It is a cultural melting pot that kids will grow up being more socialised n confident. It is this reason that stop me from flipping though I can move in landed anytime, ive seen how kids grow up staying landed.....I would rather stay hdb then.

Hope this clarifies....there is more to figures n money in life!

Hi naughtiboy, welcome!
    Your maiden post!
    I have seen some cluster houses which ringo mentioned.
    However I have seen some which are well spaced out.
    I love the concept of Binjai Crest but at that time was not within my budget.
    Thanks Buttercrap!! Im actually a lurker for a long time...listening, learning amd feeling the market. Have never intended to come in this way but I just needed to clarify.

Binjai (or any owners' stay house)......if u love it (then) just buy...strectch if u have to. It will be worth it and such commitment will force us to work harder

Im glad ive took my gamble in properties in my younger days n im now retired at 40+++. You know what is life out of rat race? Personally, is like a monk in nirvana. ...everything just grind to a halt, you r no longer rushing, u have all the time in your hand, u take time to smell the flowers, u yearn to just have coffee with friends and make new friends......

Well done. Look forward to the day. I know a lawyer who does not practice anymore but travel around the world in late 30s due to the property investment since 2003. Care to share how you make it? Always like to learn from them.
    Thanks Buttercrap!! Im actually a lurker for a long time...listening, learning amd feeling the market. Have never intended to come in this way but I just needed to clarify.

Binjai (or any owners' stay house)......if u love it (then) just buy...strectch if u have to. It will be worth it and such commitment will force us to work harder

Im glad ive took my gamble in properties in my younger days n im now retired at 40+++. You know what is life out of rat race? Personally, is like a monk in nirvana. ...everything just grind to a halt, you r no longer rushing, u have all the time in your hand, u take time to smell the flowers, u yearn to just have coffee with friends and make new friends......

a 3305 sqft unit

Good analysis but not detailed enough. U know 1st generation bought direct thru ntuc/orchid country club link at 750K a unit? I aint here to bull anyone or selling my estate but just to clarify his opinions n hopefully share my sentiments. The real bonus is really the family oriented living environment, my kids can be let off in the whole estate to run free n safe. They've friends from all over the world, we celebrate octobertfest with germans, holloween with americans n others, n etc. It is a cultural melting pot that kids will grow up being more socialised n confident. It is this reason that stop me from flipping though I can move in landed anytime, ive seen how kids grow up staying landed.....I would rather stay hdb then.

How you live your life at where you live, or how and where you bring up your kids has got nothing to do with what we are discussing in this thread. And all these details about your estate is in material as we are not comparing which development in Singapore has got the best neighborhood vibes.

As long as there are no transaction showing 120% profit since 2006 to 2013, it is really pointless to discuss. Any condo owner can also claim that prices of their condo has appreciated by 120% simply by quoting you the cheapest unit and compare it with the record transacted price.

Hi nautiboy... just realized I spelt ur name wrongly in the previous post .
    Btw u also spelt my name wrongly .

So we are quits now .

Back to the controversy on cluster housing......
    If you are a cluster house lover, then it will be advantageous to you if the majority of the population think like ringo, especially if you buy for own stay.

He is trying to tell u staying in cluster is not as bad as what u have mentioned. Each of us got our own preference. His property appreciate 1.2 times nothing wrong with that claim ma....if he buy 700k and now selling 1.6 to 1.7, it's about there. Of course no such transaction la because he haven't sell ma...

How you live your life at where you live, or how and where you bring up your kids has got nothing to do with what we are discussing in this thread. And all these details about your estate is in material as we are not comparing which development in Singapore has got the best neighborhood vibes.

As long as there are no transaction showing 120% profit since 2006 to 2013, it is really pointless to discuss. Any condo owner can also claim that prices of their condo has appreciated by 120% simply by quoting you the cheapest unit and compare it with the record transacted price.

He is trying to tell u staying in cluster is not as bad as what u have mentioned. Each of us got our own preference. His property appreciate 1.2 times nothing wrong with that claim ma....if he buy 700k and now selling 1.6 to 1.7, it's about there. Of course no such transaction la because he haven't sell ma...
    I believe I did mentioned that cluster housing is the lousiest form of landed housing, i didnt say that cluster housing is the the lousiest form of housing.
    Also no point tell me how much you buy or how high you value your own property, those are just your word vs mine.

if want to compare, better to look at actually transaction lah.

ya, there is also no point for you to tell ppl which is the lousiest form of landed...and who is comparing? you are the one who bring up all these nonsense...

I believe I did mentioned that cluster housing is the lousiest form of landed housing, i didnt say that cluster housing is the the lousiest form of housing.
    Also no point tell me how much you buy or how high you value your own property, those are just your word vs mine.

if want to compare, better to look at actually transaction lah.

ya, there is also no point for you to tell ppl which is the lousiest form of landed...and who is comparing? you are the one who bring up all these nonsense...
    actually if you havent notice, even propertyguru doesnt classified cluster house under landed property. They actually put it as condo.

someone spent more than $13m to rebuild the GCB at Margoliouth Road

"Erection of a 2-Storey Detached House with a Basement, an Attic and a Swimming Pool"

http://www.bca.gov.sg/keyconstructio...ee_pjtlist.pdf

If it really cost $350psf to build a GCB, then this GCB will have more than 37,000sqft of build up.

haha...still trying so hard :

28A olive road

Bought in Jan 2009 for $6.8m

Spent $600K for facelift and extension

Sold in Nov 2011 for $16.38m

Gross Profit : $8.98m which is more than 1.2x original cost + facelift cost of $7.4m

From 2009 till 2011, price of that property has gone up by more than 2.21x even after factoring in the cost of facelift.

6.8m for GCB at 450psf? Doesnt sound weird meh?

someone spent more than $13m to rebuild the GCB at Margoliouth Road

"Erection of a 2-Storey Detached House with a Basement, an Attic and a Swimming Pool"

http://www.bca.gov.sg/keyconstructio...ee_pjtlist.pdf

If it really cost $350psf to build a GCB, then this GCB will have more than 37,000sqft of build up.

I know someone in HKG who is spending USD10mio to rebuild his new house .... the new house only about 4500 sqft (built-in) !

6.8m for GCB at 450psf? Doesnt sound weird meh?
    weird only for people who don't do research and have nothing substantive to rebut.

Joan rd (same vicinity) - $490psf in Aug 09 (7 mths later)
    Olive road - 2 other transactions for $500+ psf in Sep/Oct 09 (8/9 mths later)
    Last edited by proper-t; 12-03-13 at 09:24.

weird only for people who don't do research and have nothing substantive to rebut.

Freehold landed in 2009 was going for less than $500psf. My friend bought a freehold detached for $470psf and I bought a freehold semi-d for less than $450 psf.

Quote Originally Posted by thomaspaine
    I know someone in HKG who is spending USD10mio to rebuild his new house .... the new house only about 4500 sqft (built-in) !
    perhaps there is an underground batcave?!

Quote Originally Posted by moneytalk
    Freehold landed in 2009 was going for less than $500psf. My friend bought a freehold detached for $470psf and I bought a freehold semi-d for less than $450 psf.
    Thanks. You and I know that but apparently some people don't.

perhaps there is an underground batcave?!
    How about this? Batcave home theatre..

Book shelves roll aside to reveal batmobile

i am sorry that I dont do research on selective information that are meant for the blinded

May 06 : 25 Olive Road, 15,800sqft $20m
    Oct 09 : 25 Olive Road, 15,800sqft $16.3m

mind telling us what are the unit number of the 2 other olive transaction at $500+psf?

Quote Originally Posted by moneytalk
    alamak, freehold landed in sembawang or cluny or nassim?

@450psf, has anyone ever ask how much the seller made or worst lost?
    Did anyone ever check what was the landed property prices prior to 1997/8 crisis?

Haha, Ringo.....Ringo, what is your motive by stating misleading or wrong data in your posting on 25 Olive Road?

May 06 : 25 Olive Road, 56,700sqft $20m

I think you are the one blinded who is trying to deceive others...

i am sorry that I dont do research on selective information that are meant for the blinded

mind telling us what are the unit number of the 2 other olive transaction at $500+psf?

Did they slice up the land into 25, 25A and 25B?

How about this? Batcave home theatre..

Book shelves roll aside to reveal batmobile

No la ....
    USD10mio is just to build the house .... NO FURNISHINGS YET !

Some people are not only 'weird' but also blind because they can't even view and understand their own research (if you can call it research) properly :

16 Joan Rd 28 Aug 09 $13.3m 27,125sf $490psf
    26 Olive Rd 22 Sep 09 $24.9m 45,273sf $550psf
    23 Olive Rd 7 Oct 09 $ 9.5m 17,029sf $558psf

dun be so mean lah... honest mistake ... let's move on ... u know GCB is a diff class of pty