Thread: A plan to house 2m more people

Default A plan to house 2m more people

http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/...eople-20130222

POPULATION WHITE PAPER DEBATE

A plan to house 2m more people

Veteran architect proposes building up southern coast

Published on Feb 22, 2013

By Leonard Lim

Even as the debate continues over the 6.9 million figure in the population White Paper, veteran architect Tay Kheng Soon said at an industry lecture last night that Singapore can accommodate a population increase of up to two million.

All two million would be housed on a 2,187ha swathe of land along the southern coastline, stretching from Pandan Reservoir in the west to the East Coast Park beach.

Land where the Keppel and Marina Bay golf courses are currently sited would make way for housing, as would the port area once container port functions are consolidated in Tuas in the long term.

Space around the Gardens by the Bay would cater to the super-rich, with homes built on the sea to entice those keen on waterfront living. Some parts of the south would also be for schools, offices and factories.

And while this might mean Singapore loses its biggest beach, he said all other areas, including green and heritage spaces, need not be "disturbed".

Mr Tay's "southern intensification" proposal comes two weeks after an intense parliamentary debate over the population White Paper that projects Singapore's population rising by 1.6 million by 2030.

"What I hear is a lot of grumbling (about the White Paper), so let us as a profession contribute," said the former president of the Singapore Institute of Architects who is known for his outspoken and at times radical views.

The 73-year-old said his ideas came about before the policy document was unveiled, and were several years in the making. "I've been wanting to know the density limit for Singapore."

Unlike the Government Land Use Plan which also proposes reclaiming more land and consolidating military activities onto Tekong Island, his proposal focuses on the single large strip of land, building more densely on it.

Based on an assumption of 50 sq m of floor area per person that is comparable to a region in Virginia on the East Coast of the United States, a gross plot ratio of 4.5 can accommodate 1.968 million, he said. If this ratio is lowered to 4, then about 1.75 million people can be housed in the south.

Gross plot ratio is a measure of the density of building units in a given space. He said that the highest ratio here currently is 3.24, in Punggol.

Meanwhile, he proposed restructuring estates in other parts of Singapore, by having a central corridor in each. Schools, businesses and other amenities would be located along it, to build social cohesion and bonding.

The lecture drew a crowd of about 100 guests, including vice-president of the Economic Society of Singapore Yeoh Lam Keong.

Despite the seemingly controversial nature of the southern intensification plan, no one raised questions about it during a question-and-answer session after the lecture, at the Singapore Institute of Architects' premises in Tanjong Pagar.

Mr Yeoh, who has been following the population White Paper debate, told The Straits Times later: "Physically you might be able to squeeze in another two million... but it doesn't fully measure or avoid the negative impact on social well-being from increase in income and wealth inequality and overcrowding in common facilities."

Responding, Mr Tay said: "That's why I proposed not intensifying land use in other parts of Singapore, so that we can build social cohesion there. It will be like New York in the south of the country, and Bali in the north."

What does this mean? Marine parade will lose it's beach view??

Quote Originally Posted by sgbuyer
    What does this mean? Marine parade will lose it's beach view??
    yes, highend waterfront living. properties continue to rise.

Quote Originally Posted by sunrise
    yes, highend waterfront living. properties continue to rise.

existing marine parade properties will devalue if blocked by entire row of apts.

The super rich south!

existing marine parade properties will devalue if blocked by entire row of apts.
    thats sad...

Paris ris will be the only remaining public beach available

east coast will still have its beach, except it will be further south, after the existing beach is reclaimed for housing. same for pasir ris beach, which will also be reclaimed according to the reclamation plans.

the east coast beach should still be public...

Quote Originally Posted by gav108
    east coast will still have its beach, except it will be further south, after the existing beach is reclaimed for housing. same for pasir ris beach, which will also be reclaimed according to the reclamation plans.

the east coast beach should still be public...

This project will take like 25 years. Reclaimed land is usually not used until decades later. Most people on this forum will be in their mid 50s-70s years old by then.

I guess this is irrelevant to all of us.

This project will take like 25 years. Reclaimed land is usually not used until decades later. Most people on this forum will be in their mid 50s-70s years old by then.

I guess this is irrelevant to all of us.
    You are so young.

25years is not too long. Cash out in your 60s to enjoy your retirement is not a bad idea.

It is actually irrelevant to those >50

You are so young.

25years is not too long. Cash out in your 60s to enjoy your retirement is not a bad idea.

It is actually irrelevant to those >50

Nowadays i see so many people in their 60s and 70s on wheelchairs, with tubes hanging out of their mouths, waists and kidney.

From the way people in their 20s today are eating good food at restaurants, and working, they won't need to wait till 60s to be in that state. Most will be gone by 40s and 50s.
    Last edited by sgbuyer; 23-02-13 at 13:42.

Nowadays i see so many people in their 60s and 70s on wheelchairs, with tubes hanging out of their mouths, waists and kidney.

From the way people in their 20s today are eating good food at restaurants, and working, they won't need to wait till 60s to be in that state.
    That is why i always recommend homecook food.

In future you are lucky to be able to retire before 65.

That is why i always recommend homecook food.

In future you are lucky to be able to retire before 65.

The babyboomers are the lucky ones, they bought property cheap back in the 70s and early 80s, while their children today will slog.

I can envisage a not too distant future in which many parents in their 70s and 80s going to the funerals of their children in their 40s and 50s, burnt out after years of slogging and eating.

It will be an interesting sight.

From the way people in their 20s today are eating good food at restaurants, and working, they won't need to wait till 60s to be in that state.
    agree..

The babyboomers are the lucky ones, they bought property cheap back in the 70s and early 80s, while their children today will slog.

I can envisage a not too distant future in which many parents in their 70s and 80s going to the funerals of their children in their 40s and 50s, burnt out after years of slogging and eating.

their children will not slog, the parents will pass it on.

this is not even a real proposal. just some guy proposing as alternative base on his view.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam88

How many wives can live with their mother in laws?

This is totally not true. Life is real tough for those born in the 40-50s. It is common to have 6-10pax in a 2-3 room flat. Some elder siblings have to work after primary school to support the smaller ones.

Life is so much better for the young now. Many get to complete Uni and almost guaranteed a cushy office job after graduation.

Last time, it is common for newly weds to stay with in laws. Nowadays they have the luxury to have their own roof.

This is totally not true. Life is real tough for those born in the 40-50s. It is common to have 6-10pax in a 2-3 room flat. Some elder siblings have to work after primary school to support the smaller ones.

Life is so much better for the young now. Many get to complete Uni and almost guaranteed a cushy office job after graduation.

Last time, it is common for newly weds to stay with in laws. Nowadays they have the luxury to have their own roof.

Well now a days people expect more for less. Lots of young today feel entitlement are everything. Work? not for them.

u got it wrong.

1. many parents will help in down payment
    2. parent will pass on their property when they kick the bucket.

"Interesting"? Do you have compassion?
    Don't worry, Those children would be blessed with $M properties passed down if their parents bought many properties when in their 30s-50s & they will enjoy life after 40 years old, no sloughing. Only those whose parents kiasi missed the boat & keep complaining will probably die from over work because parents kiasi & didn't pass down any property to them.....

Quote Originally Posted by felicia_sg
    "Interesting"? Do you have compassion?
    Don't worry, Those children would be blessed with $M properties passed down if their parents bought many properties when in their 30s-50s & they will enjoy life after 40 years old, no sloughing. Only those whose parents kiasi missed the boat & keep complaining will probably die from over work because parents kiasi & didn't pass down any property to them.....

How to pass down if the parents will live longer than their children? Have you seen how youngsters today eat and work?

check the life expectancy of the new generation. with modern medicine, life expectancy increases. people are living longer.

look at how many parents are supporting kids with tuition. calculate how much is spent on tuition by the parents. the wave is already here where parents help with downpayment. u can disagree, but it already happening. when u have kids, see if you give your kids tuition.
    http://www.google.com.sg/publicdata/...cy%20singapore

I know many young people will have to over work & eat crazily & unhealty because of stress from work because their parents don't even have enough for own retirement because of kiasi & they may be cursing & swearing at their parents for being kiasi & they still have to help support them than getting properties handed down to them. Like that their parents will not live to 80 years old because of their cursing (negative karma for the person cursing & the one being cursed, all self-inflicted), may be blessing in disguise? ...

on the hand, the rest whose parents boarded the properties boat got more than enough to support at least 3 generations without working & they live life easy, sleep well & eat healthily, every morning go do exercise, sure healthy & no illness, can live happily & longer but not a problem because can afford.

live longer with disabilities, how about that for living in city?

u got it wrong.

1. many parents will help in down payment
    2. parent will pass on their property when they kick the bucket.
    My fren is a single child, his wife is a single child too. They hv only one kid. That kid will inherit three hdb flats. So, those who do not heed garmens call to hv more kids.... Their kids Will benefit most.
    There is no good or bad location. There is only good or bad price.

live longer with disabilities, how about that for living in city?
    that is the fear. the bigger fear is

live longer with disabilities, how about that for living in city w/o sufficient money

My fren is a single child, his wife is a single child too. They hv only one kid. That kid will inherit three hdb flats. So, those who do not heed garmens call to hv more kids.... Their kids Will benefit most.
    how many can hdb can 1 own? any idea? if u own a hdb, can u inherit another hdb?

doesn't really matter to me. after inherit sell lor, then convert into MM.
    There is no good or bad location. There is only good or bad price.

doesn't really matter to me. after inherit sell lor, then convert into MM.
    Bro, will kanna ABSD.

Life is not so simple Liao.