Thread: Condo price and rental are going to increase

Default Condo price and rental are going to increase

With so much restrictions on HDB and further possible restrictions, condo is going to benefit.

U can up your rental now, tenants got no choice but to rent your condo. See this:

Cap on foreign tenants may push up private home rents

Rule change may also see foreigners distributed across HDB estates

By Melissa Tan

PRIVATE property rents may go up slightly in some segments as a result of
    the cap on the number of foreign tenants in each Housing Board block,
    analysts said yesterday.

Suburban condominiums and older private apartments in the city fringe and
    suburbs may see rents rise by 5 per cent to 8 per cent.

But since foreign tenants who rent Housing Board flats may be
    price-sensitive, the cap may also just redistribute them across Housing
    Board estates rather than pushing them over to private property, they said.

The aim of the cap on foreign tenants is to prevent the growth of foreigner
    enclaves, National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan said in Parliament
    last Friday. He said implementation details are still being sorted out.

Mr Khaw was responding to Ms Foo Mee Har (West Coast GRC), who proposed a
    cap of 10 per cent on the number of flats in any Housing Board block that
    can be rented out to foreign workers.

He said he thought 10 per cent was "on the low side, but in principle I
    agree that we should impose one". He added that the Housing Board will cap
    approvals for all new HDB tenancy agreements involving non-citizens, and
    those up for renewal.

The tenancy will be capped at 11/2 years with immediate effect, down from
    three years previously.

These changes, however, will not apply to Malaysian tenants, as they face
    fewer integration challenges, Mr Khaw said.

Property consultants said yesterday that rents for lower-end private
    property could rise as a result.

Mr Chris Koh, director of Chris International, said a 5 per cent to 8 per
    cent rise in rents for suburban condos or old apartments "would be a
    no-brainer".

He said there were old private apartments and walk-up apartments housing a
    lot of foreign workers in areas such as Siglap, Telok Kurau, Tanjong Katong,
    East Coast Road and Geylang.

DWG senior manager Lee Sze Teck thinks rents for suburban private apartments
    would probably go up 3 per cent to 5 per cent while the rest of the private
    rental market is likely to be unaffected.

This is because some apartment rents are closer to Housing Board rents, and
    some foreign tenants may want assurance of a longer tenancy contract, he
    said.

But Mr Lee added that many foreign tenants were likely to be on one-year or
    two-year work passes, so the tenancy cap would probably not make a
    difference to most of them.

Housing Board flats are usually rented out for less than $3,000 a month
    while suburban condo rents are at least $3,000.

Given that the difference between Housing Board and private unit rents for
    comparable locations and unit sizes could be about $1,000 a month, many
    foreign tenants are likely to try to continue renting Housing Board units,
    said ERA Realty key executive officer Eugene Lim.

R'ST Research director Ong Kah Seng agreed, saying private units were likely
    still beyond the reach of most foreign tenants renting Housing Board flats.

"A select few who are more affluent may opt for suburban condos but most
    foreign tenants may just redistribute themselves among HDB estates," he
    said.

if u rent to PR is it consider foreigner?

Condo will be red hot. With uncertainty rules on bto hdb such as mop 10yrs, can only sell back to hdb, shortening lease and limit foreign talents on each block of flat most will opt for condo.

Yes, they differentiate by citizen and non citizen.

Quote Originally Posted by star
    With so much restrictions on HDB and further possible restrictions, condo is going to benefit.

U can up your rental now, tenants got no choice but to rent your condo. See this:

Cap on foreign tenants may push up private home rents

Rule change may also see foreigners distributed across HDB estates

By Melissa Tan

PRIVATE property rents may go up slightly in some segments as a result of
    the cap on the number of foreign tenants in each Housing Board block,
    analysts said yesterday.

Suburban condominiums and older private apartments in the city fringe and
    suburbs may see rents rise by 5 per cent to 8 per cent.

But since foreign tenants who rent Housing Board flats may be
    price-sensitive, the cap may also just redistribute them across Housing
    Board estates rather than pushing them over to private property, they said.

The aim of the cap on foreign tenants is to prevent the growth of foreigner
    enclaves, National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan said in Parliament
    last Friday. He said implementation details are still being sorted out.

Mr Khaw was responding to Ms Foo Mee Har (West Coast GRC), who proposed a
    cap of 10 per cent on the number of flats in any Housing Board block that
    can be rented out to foreign workers.

He said he thought 10 per cent was "on the low side, but in principle I
    agree that we should impose one". He added that the Housing Board will cap
    approvals for all new HDB tenancy agreements involving non-citizens, and
    those up for renewal.

The tenancy will be capped at 11/2 years with immediate effect, down from
    three years previously.

These changes, however, will not apply to Malaysian tenants, as they face
    fewer integration challenges, Mr Khaw said.

Property consultants said yesterday that rents for lower-end private
    property could rise as a result.

Mr Chris Koh, director of Chris International, said a 5 per cent to 8 per
    cent rise in rents for suburban condos or old apartments "would be a
    no-brainer".

He said there were old private apartments and walk-up apartments housing a
    lot of foreign workers in areas such as Siglap, Telok Kurau, Tanjong Katong,
    East Coast Road and Geylang.

DWG senior manager Lee Sze Teck thinks rents for suburban private apartments
    would probably go up 3 per cent to 5 per cent while the rest of the private
    rental market is likely to be unaffected.

This is because some apartment rents are closer to Housing Board rents, and
    some foreign tenants may want assurance of a longer tenancy contract, he
    said.

But Mr Lee added that many foreign tenants were likely to be on one-year or
    two-year work passes, so the tenancy cap would probably not make a
    difference to most of them.

Housing Board flats are usually rented out for less than $3,000 a month
    while suburban condo rents are at least $3,000.

Given that the difference between Housing Board and private unit rents for
    comparable locations and unit sizes could be about $1,000 a month, many
    foreign tenants are likely to try to continue renting Housing Board units,
    said ERA Realty key executive officer Eugene Lim.

R'ST Research director Ong Kah Seng agreed, saying private units were likely
    still beyond the reach of most foreign tenants renting Housing Board flats.

"A select few who are more affluent may opt for suburban condos but most
    foreign tenants may just redistribute themselves among HDB estates," he
    said.
    Foreign tenants can still rent HDB lah, just cannot do groupie sessions anymore.

Quote Originally Posted by star
    Condo will be red hot.
    Really? I would have believe you if not for CM 1,2,3,4,5,6, 7 and coming.

Foreign tenants can still rent HDB lah, just cannot do groupie sessions anymore.
    But if 10% of one block can only be rented out to foreigners, then it will be restrictive. Also after 1.5 years, you may not able able to let it out even if the tenant wants to continue as it will subjected to the prevailing quota at that time.

With 80k to 100k of foreigners and PR and new citizens coming here every year 10% for each block of flat is not enough.

Those who want to buy will choose condo. Hdb might be a non appreciation asset in future by khaw.

But if 10% of one block can only be rented out to foreigners, then it will be restrictive. Also after 1.5 years, you may not able able to let it out even if the tenant wants to continue as it will subjected to the prevailing quota at that time.
    this scenario is likely if only a single block has more than 10% of its units being rented out to foreigners.

assuming my unit is rented out to foreigners and the max quota has been reached for my block, any owners that wish to rent it out to foreigners will be turned down by HDB. before the lease is up, i just renew it for another 2 years and viola.

Yes you are right sis. Once HDB landlord got the quota or permission to rent, they will hog onto it and never let go. They might even declare tenant (when don't have tenant) just to keep applying. And HDB rental is going to rise because of this restriction.

On top of that 1.5years is a big turn off for many foreigners. This effectively means that they have to start searching for new home after 1 year stay as the landlord will surely up his price knowing he is in the quota. Imagine having to search for new house every year....headache. So might as well rent condo....2 years or more lease ... Pay more for peace of mind and facilities.

If it is the same tenant, should not be an issue right? Since the tenant is already part of the existing quota.

what did i say a few weeks ago?

http://forums.condosingapore.com/sho...16&postcount=9
    All the idiots here cannot beat one siaolang's prediction.

WOAAHHEHHEHEHEHEH

this scenario is likely if only a single block has more than 10% of its units being rented out to foreigners.

assuming my unit is rented out to foreigners and the max quota has been reached for my block, any owners that wish to rent it out to foreigners will be turned down by HDB. before the lease is up, i just renew it for another 2 years and viola.
    This is exactly what I mean by HDB landlord hogging onto the right to rent and how this will increase price for HDB rents which will make it more worthwhile for FT to rent condo. The application process may turn very ugly as more than $20k is at stake for every HDB landlord every year. It will be interesting to see how HDB will administer this.

From my understanding, PR is not considered as foreigner as they have long term residence pass which can purchase HDB in resale market. It doesn't make senses to restrict rent on this group.

Please check with hdb if you have doubt, I am very certain I am right on this.

Quote Originally Posted by Lemonlaw
    From my understanding, PR is not considered as foreigner as they have long term residence pass which can purchase HDB in resale market. It doesn't make senses to restrict rent on this group.

Please check with hdb if you have doubt, I am very certain I am right on this.
    The words used in some article I read was citizen ans non citizen. It was very precise it seems.

Quote Originally Posted by propertyhans
    This is exactly what I mean by HDB landlord hogging onto the right to rent and how this will increase price for HDB rents which will make it more worthwhile for FT to rent condo. The application process may turn very ugly as more than $20k is at stake for every HDB landlord every year. It will be interesting to see how HDB will administer this.
    no need, there will be HDB wars. rental landlord wannabes will start pouring paint, hanging pig's head out current units rented out to foreigners

The words used in some article I read was citizen ans non citizen. It was very precise it seems.
    Just to make sure we on the same topic, it's on foreigners will be facing restrictions renting on hdb flats which cap at 10% and Malaysian are excluded from this.

Hehe...I am still on hang over.

Just to make sure we on the same topic, it's on foreigners will be facing restrictions renting on hdb flats which cap at 10% and Malaysian are excluded from this.

Hehe...I am still on hang over.
    Yes it was on that topic. Some forummer even pasted a pictorial summary of it.

Hmm...it's time to give HDB a call later to check it out. Damn...my 2yrs tendency agreement is due for renewal end of this month to a foreigner on P1 pass and is due at the wrong market cycle.

just renew the lease and inform HDB.

But he can only renew for 18mths yes?

why only for 18mths? the lease period is determined between the landlord and the leasee.

That was part of the new guidelines issued for leasing of hdbs.

oh ya, forgot about that. just renew before the lease is up, shouldn't be an issue unless your lease lapse and someone else sneaks in before your application to sublet

I think cannot leh. Cos when you apply for subletting approval for renewal, the info on the tenure is required no?

erm....just renew another 1.5 years or shorter lah.....

I will keep you guy posted on this, I think should be 18mth renewal based on new ruling.

18mths it is, on HDB's website

There are nearly 100K HDB landlords. Be careful when you try to tune the HDB segment.

interestingly, most topic and staticstic about Singporean wage and employability includes PR as Singaporean.