Thread: $300m too pricey for bungalow with pool, tennis court?

Default $300m too pricey for bungalow with pool, tennis court?

http://www.straitstimes.com/archive/...court-20130411

$300m too pricey for bungalow with pool, tennis court?

Experts say it could be on market for a while despite rarity of 85,000 sq ft plot

Published on Apr 11, 2013

The asking price for the Nassim Road bungalow is about 50 per cent above the record per sq ft price in the area, say experts. -- ST PHOTO: MARK CHEONG

By Esther Teo Property Correspondent

THE eye-popping asking price of up to $300 million for a bungalow in the posh Nassim Road enclave has set tongues wagging.

But experts doubt a buyer can easily be found willing to part with such a vast sum for the large 85,000 sq ft plot and lavish home that comes with a tennis court and swimming pool.

A sloping driveway leads to the two-storey house built on elevated ground. The bungalow sits in the centre of the plot with a large grassy field occupying about a third of the site.

The asking figure, if secured, would smash previous records.

And as well as the sky-high total figure, the asking price is also about 50 per cent above the record per sq ft (psf) price in the area, say industry watchers.

They suspect it could be on the market for some time despite the rarity of such a large plum site.

The owner, developer Wing Tai Holdings' chairman Cheng Wai Keung has held the home since the mid-1980s. He is asking for $250 million to $300 million - or $2,947 psf to $3,536 psf of land area.

This psf price dwarfs the most expensive good-class bungalow sold to date - a 15,640 sq ft Leedon Park property for $2,110 psf.

It would also easily eclipse the priciest home ever sold on the Nassim Road stretch - a $47.8 million sale of a 23,922 sq ft site that worked out to $2,000 psf. And it would easily become Singapore's most expensive home ever sold.

The tenant, who moved out yesterday, a lawyer, is believed to be the Honorary Consul to Singapore for Barbados.

A marketing agent specialising in good-class bungalows said the sellers are "unlikely to get the price they are asking for".

"The market is not great now (with the cooling measures). Why would a buyer want to pay so much more?" he added.

And even if an investor wanted to carve up the plot into five smaller parcels, he might have to wait four years before selling the units or pay a hefty seller's stamp duty of up to 16 per cent.

But Mr Karamjit Singh, head of investments and residential at Jones Lang LaSalle (JLL), the sole marketing agent for the site, said the owners had received unsolicited offers for the plot. He did not disclose the offers.

"There are buyers who have told us they have been waiting for the right plot with the Nassim Road address to come on the market. Such is the unique appeal of Nassim Road," he said.

However, it is unclear why Mr Cheng is selling the house now or why he is not developing the plot.

There have been six good-class bungalow deals inked in areas such as Yarwood Avenue, Windsor Park Hill and Camden Park so far this year, CBRE said. These six transactions total $136 million.

CBRE's director of luxury homes, Mr Douglas Wong, said first-quarter volumes were thin with buyers not much interested in negotiating.

But interest has picked up since last month with quite a few inquiries, he added.

Some investors have made handsome profits by flipping good-class bungalows, the highest-end homes here that are typically at least 15,000 sq ft in size. A 24,187 sq ft bungalow along Nassim Road sold in April 2010 for $43.53 million netted the seller a profit of $19.35 million after he paid $24.18 million in 2007.

GONG SIMI ? ( what talking you ? )

$300million for something so rare is considered dirt cheap.

You know how many blocks of apartments can be built on 85000sqft?

If i ask, I will ask for $500million instead.

Quote Originally Posted by Leo.Cheng
    GONG SIMI ? ( what talking you ? )

$300million for something so rare is considered dirt cheap.

You know how many blocks of apartments can be built on 85000sqft?

If i ask, I will ask for $500million instead.

NEi Wan Bi wei arh ? ( who you looking for ? )

SANTA CLAUS ISIT?

$300million for this diamond is like giving it away !

looks very eerie cant imagine how it is at night

What talking you ? I always tok good brother is a
    very wise one. Never tok your eyes got stamps.

You did not realise the shape of the house looks like a guarding lion ?

This is the best fengshui house on Planet Earth.

Nuff Said.

WAHHHHHHHH this house is such a beauty.

I think the fengshui energy complement the owner to become one of the richest man in the World. ( Top 40 Forbes to be exact, now should be ranked even higher ! Angmo now also dun dare to rank liao )

Better grab before he changes his mind leh.
    The Dark Fallen Angel
    www.sglion.com

Totally awesome !

Unbelievable ! This kinda GCB I think Singapore left less than 50 liao.

Like that is more precious than collectibles or art pieces !

物以稀为贵!

Quote Originally Posted by Leo.Cheng
    Totally awesome !

Unbelievable ! This kinda GCB I think Singapore left less than 50 liao.

Like that is more precious than collectibles or art pieces !

物以稀为贵!
    You are CRAZY LA !

This kinda GCB in Singapore left ONLY 5.

READ MY LIPS IN SLOW MOTION: LESS THAN F-I-V-E.

Tomm you dun need to come in and report for work liao.

What talking you ? I always tok good brother is a
    very wise one. Never tok your eyes got stamps.

You did not realise the shape of the house looks like a guarding lion ?

This is the best fengshui house on Planet Earth.

Nuff Said.
    highly respected brother for $300m you can buy a FEW zoos with many many REAL lions....

You are CRAZY LA !

This kinda GCB in Singapore left ONLY 5.

READ MY LIPS IN SLOW MOTION: LESS THAN F-I-V-E.

Tomm you dun need to come in and report for work liao.

What talking you ?

NI GONG SIMI ?

5 is NOT Less than 50 meh ?

WAHLAUEH.... no wonder u failed your Maths.

highly respected brother for $300m you can buy a FEW zoos with many many REAL lions....
    That is correct. I agree

Good brother, to maintain the zoos, how many additional millions you need ? Not to mention the local rules and regulations and the hassle of finding workers.

I read somewhere before...
    The poor buys a home..
    The rich buys a status (address)..

33 Nassim Road

Grab before brother Tai changes his mind !

Good brother, to maintain the zoos, how many additional millions you need ? Not to mention the local rules and regulations and the hassle of finding workers.
    just buy over never never land that MJ left behind.. zoo and theme park..