Thread: Sell=Suicide

Default Sell=Suicide

I think in todays property mkt if u sell ur property just for HAPPY HAPPY its suicide of course if u need money to pay debts ahlong children study got no choice but to SELL

But my take is that ONE should not sell but just continue to build ur empire small property nevermind as long u can afford DONT sell its like suicide cos u want to buy another one must pay a lot of $$$$ ABSD sell pay SSD etc assuming u got more than 1 property

I think in todays property mkt if u sell ur property just for HAPPY HAPPY its suicide of course if u need money to pay debts ahlong children study got no choice but to SELL

But my take is that ONE should not sell but just continue to build ur empire small property nevermind as long u can afford DONT sell its like suicide cos u want to buy another one must pay a lot of $$$$ ABSD sell pay SSD etc assuming u got more than 1 property
    Well said.

Those who sell are the ones who think price is going to crash and buy on the cheap. Its like placing their bets at MBS (for those who got one unit and renting) By then ABSD and whatever Ds will be removed. Not sell because "pigu" itchy. 5 years not drop knock walls. One year later drop 30% celebrate.

SEll at the right Time ..at the right price $$$ .... most importantly for the right purpose (eg. to fimance kids medical education ) eg to retire oversea (renounce citizenship) ... to get all your CPF $$$$ before you are dead ... ARE NEVER WRONG RESAONS to sell ..you don't live forever ..if you don't unlock real $$ value gained it is forever paper $$$ gain never real $$ gain :so do you want to sell that's the question ??? D
    Last edited by The_Way_I_See_It; 21-04-13 at 17:30.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Way_I_See_It
    SEll at the right Time ..at the right price $$$ .... most importantly for the right purpose (eg. to fimance kids medical education ) eg to retire oversea (renounce citizenship) ... to get all your CPF $$$$ before you are dead ... ARE NEVER WRONG RESAONS to sell ..you don't live forever ..if you don't unlock real $$ value gained it is forever paper $$$ gain never real $$ gain :so do you want to sell that's the question ??? D
    correct the way i see it also like that thats what i mean have a game plan and hope ur game plan dont screw up dont sell your property end up buy gold or go casino or play share LOOSE money

U sell one BIG property like landed buy a few PC i say u smart

Remember money in the pocket to MOST people is like PAPER will just
    fly away if u dont know how to use wisely happen to me so i know

bro radha so witty, the Sail becomes the Sell

I agree with the title .... b4 u sell, tell yourself this:

1. Singapore has 2m middle class
    2. US has 100m middle class
    3. India has 300m middle class
    4. China has 300m middle class but could be 600m when I retire
    5. ABSD is required to control demand for Singapore properties
    6. Valuation of GLS can only go one way - UP, so is cost of construction in the long run
    7. Risk of bubble is minimum, due to all the CMs in China, Hong Kong and Singapore
    8. Sell is easy, buy back might be impossible

bro radha so witty, the Sail becomes the Sell

I agree with the title .... b4 u sell, tell yourself this:

1. Singapore has 2m middle class
    2. US has 100m middle class
    3. India has 300m middle class
    4. China has 300m middle class but could be 600m when I retire
    5. ABSD is required to control demand for Singapore properties
    6. Valuation of GLS can only go one way - UP, so is cost of construction in the long run
    7. Risk of bubble is minimum, due to all the CMs in China, Hong Kong and Singapore
    8. Sell is easy, buy back might be impossible

Bottomline singapore property market=u can checkout anytime u like but
    you can never leave

If I have two properties, one own stay and one collecting rent, I will not sell any of them.

If I have three or more properties, I will sell at least one to unlock profit and reinvest in other instrunments. I will be in better position if property prices correct few years down the road. However, I will only gain less if property prices continue to rise few years down the road. If I do not unlock profit while prices are high, I will not be able to invest more if opportunity rises.

Quote Originally Posted by Amber Woods
    If I have two properties, one own stay and one collecting rent, I will not sell any of them.

If I have three or more properties, I will sell at least one to unlock profit and reinvest in other instrunments. I will be in better position if property prices correct few years down the road. However, I will only gain less if property prices continue to rise few years down the road. If I do not unlock profit while prices are high, I will not be able to invest more if opportunity rises.
    Thats if you have the proper know how how other
    Instruments work...for eg dabbling with shares
    Can be very dangerous...and most small time
    Investors end up loosing...but then again you
    Got a valid point all depends on the individual s
    Risk appetite and direction in life..

By my own saying, the rich should be selling some of their properties (some selling them quietly) which is the case now as reported.
    Last edited by Amber Woods; 21-04-13 at 21:05.

By my own saying, the rich should be selling some of their properties (some selling them quietly) which is the case now as reported.
    then who is the buyer? I will bet on BRICS

Some late comers ........ that is how the game plays.

u are the bear bear that is taking over Mr Basic ... u are assuming that we are at the peak and a correction of 20% is imminent don't u?

frankly speaking if project like D'Nest 950psf down another 10% ...u will see q until TAmpines

u are the bear bear that is taking over Mr Basic ... u are assuming that we are at the peak and a correction of 20% is imminent don't u?

frankly speaking if project like D'Nest 950psf down another 10% ...u will see q until TAmpines
    Please do not make personal assumptions about others if you want to enjoy and engage others in this forum.

Base on reported facts, prices will not rise much going forward. That is why the rich are selling some of their properties as reported.

Please do not make personal assumptions about others if you want to enjoy and engage others in this forum.

Base on reported facts, prices will not rise much going forward. That is why the rich are selling some of their properties as reported.
    agree i also feel prices will not rise much...BUT personally moving forward for people like MYSELF who have tried a lot of ventures in life...like gambling,shares,unit trusts,business....and lastly property mkt...i realise that property is the BEST form of investment...basically because i CANNOT sell or do anything the minute i buy..unlike shares unit trust casino etc etc...my nature is such that i constantly keep monitoring and doing stupid things like selling at the smallest dip...ned up KENA BURN...so my conclusion is property property property....even if i dont make millions...rental alone is enough ...and if a 1million dollar condo today is worth 1million in 30 years time and you only put 20% DP...rest paid by rental effectively..u earned 800k on a 200k investment over 30 years...NOT the greatest or best achievement i know but good enough for me...

Greed. My dear bro. When i had my first property in 2006, one year later when i see neighbour sold, at that price i can earn 100k, i said why not. So i also put up for sale.

Greed. Was what got me selling my roof over my head.

Greed. Without it, i would never have gotten to where i am today.

So sometimes Sin is a good thing if executed at the right time.

I had been lucky. And the learning that started since then by hands on execution of Sin will never be reproducible nor such that one can derive from attending seminars and talks.

So bottomline I Love SINgapore. SINcity.

You just have to run faster.

Remember the movie Catch Me If You Can.

Greed. My dear bro. When i had my first property in 2006, one year later when i see neighbour sold, at that price i can earn 100k, i said why not. So i also put up for sale.

Greed. Was what got me selling my roof over my head.

Greed. Without it, i would never have gotten to where i am today.

So sometimes Sin is a good thing if executed at the right time.

I had been lucky. And the learning that started since then by hands on execution of Sin will never be reproducible nor such that one can derive from attending seminars and talks.

So bottomline I Love SINgapore. SINcity.

You just have to run faster.

Remember the movie Catch Me If You Can.
    bro 2006 to 2013 the BULL was charging

2013 to 2020 the BULL will be relaxing

2020 to 2030 i will be retiring

everything else NA

agree i also feel prices will not rise much...BUT personally moving forward for people like MYSELF who have tried a lot of ventures in life...like gambling,shares,unit trusts,business....and lastly property mkt...i realise that property is the BEST form of investment...basically because i CANNOT sell or do anything the minute i buy..unlike shares unit trust casino etc etc...my nature is such that i constantly keep monitoring and doing stupid things like selling at the smallest dip...ned up KENA BURN...so my conclusion is property property property....even if i dont make millions...rental alone is enough ...and if a 1million dollar condo today is worth 1million in 30 years time and you only put 20% DP...rest paid by rental effectively..u earned 800k on a 200k investment over 30 years...NOT the greatest or best achievement i know but good enough for me...
    good point. I din think of this.

that's like having a 4.5K savings a month

200K earn 800K

tried many other investments. property still works better for me. Just make sure it's giving rental returns good enough to cover installations, them dump it aside.... no more itchy fingers/backside. Take out the emotions....

no offence but need to discount your assumption a little bit. it is not as simple and smooth sailing as you described about turning 200k into 800k through rental. not every condo can stay rented for the whole of 30 years. and there are times when the cost of carry is higher than your rental income (if any). and in the most extreme case the bank may do a margin call which can wipe out your entire equity if you are caught without liquidity.

we can apply the same logic you have onto shares and other forms of legit investments (casino and lotteries are not investments!) as long as u take a long term view and keep accumulating into stocks, 30 years later you would have build up a substantial nest egg as well. shot gunning in the stock market is not investing, it is just a higher class of gambling.

please dont get me wrong, i am a firm believer of accumulating wealth through property. mainly for it's ability to leverage 5 times without too much cost and volatility.

tht's why generally, the most important requirement i look for in my property investment portfolio is its "rentability".. if rentability is secured, no need worry already... only in times like 1997 and 2008 i try to find "capital gain potential"

Quote Originally Posted by Condo Kaiser
    no offence but need to discount your assumption a little bit. it is not as simple and smooth sailing as you described about turning 200k into 800k through rental. not every condo can stay rented for the whole of 30 years. and there are times when the cost of carry is higher than your rental income (if any). and in the most extreme case the bank may do a margin call which can wipe out your entire equity if you are caught without liquidity.

we can apply the same logic you have onto shares and other forms of legit investments (casino and lotteries are not investments!) as long as u take a long term view and keep accumulating into stocks, 30 years later you would have build up a substantial nest egg as well. shot gunning in the stock market is not investing, it is just a higher class of gambling.

please dont get me wrong, i am a firm believer of accumulating wealth through property. mainly for it's ability to leverage 5 times without too much cost and volatility.

tht's why generally, the most important requirement i look for in my property investment portfolio is its "rentability".. if rentability is secured, no need worry already... only in times like 1997 and 2008 i try to find "capital gain potential"
    totally agree LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION the saying goesfor property and ur pretty assured of consistent rental

for shares i really dont know blue chip s-shares clobpennyCFD
    all i kena burnt whether i short or long all i kena burnt

Quote Originally Posted by Condo Kaiser

Did you set up Property Kaiser?

Let Office Boy share with you some things I learnt about retirement lately.

Upon your retirement (whichever age), you would want a certain amount of cash say $500K-$1.5mil and some properties which will generate say $10-$20K a month.

How do people do that ?

With properties on hand of course! And many of these people how too few properties on hand to generate the inflation-hedged rental income!

After I learnt all these, I aspire to retire in a few years' time and do my own things everyday !

With this formula, you will realised that property demand is never dying. With a population with many reaching retirement age within the next 10 years, you can imagine the number of properties people would want to own!

Upon your retirement (whichever age), you would want a certain amount of cash say $500K-$1.5mil and some properties which will generate say $10-$20K a month.

How do people do that ?

With properties on hand of course! And many of these people how too few properties on hand to generate the inflation-hedged rental income!

After I learnt all these, I aspire to retire in a few years' time and do my own things everyday !

With this formula, you will realised that property demand is never dying. With a population with many reaching retirement age within the next 10 years, you can imagine the number of properties people would want to own!

How do people do that ?

Hypothetical calculation, If one can cash out from property investment from a peak cycle (now or near future) about $3M hard cash and with own stay paid up=financial independence. That should be able to last about 25 years@$120k pa expenses. If one is 50s or near, this option should be viable if single or small family with adult children working soon. Believe there are quite a few here already there, just not liquidated. Of course, keeping one for rental is a safer bet.

what DKSG/Reisor said is easier say than done especially for the current generation just coming out from uni

assuming two graduates get married at 30, apply BTO 400k near Sengkang, downpayment 100k reno 50k will almost use up all saving / CPF OA

must wait 4y to get key, 34y old with one kid liao
    must wait another 5y MOP, 39y old liao, with two kids one car liao

say HDB now worth 800k, a 2br condo probably is 1.5m

with income growth trailing inflation ... it will be "chuan" to buy another condo at 1.5m and still keep the HDB by then

so at age 50, possible to have 1.5m cash and two properties fully paid up ready to retire... I seriously doubt so .. now your 2 kids in uni liao

Like I said previously, the current batch of graduate is different from last time lo!

Last time graduate is considered top 10-15% of the country, so buying 1-2-3 properties shouldnt be difficult.

But now, gradudate is probably at about top 35%, so there is likely half of grads who will end up in HDB permanently.

This is the Hard Truth which is hard to tell the newbies.

Quote Originally Posted by Reisor
    Hypothetical calculation, If one can cash out from property investment from a peak cycle (now or near future) about $3M hard cash and with own stay paid up=financial independence. That should be able to last about 25 years@$120k pa expenses. If one is 50s or near, this option should be viable if single or small family with adult children working soon. Believe there are quite a few here already there, just not liquidated. Of course, keeping one for rental is a safer bet.
    My Father says using hard cash to see yourself through retirement is not the way to go. Have u done that before ?

I have gone through periods of my life relying on property proceeds. Though the proceeds (like you say) can last for tens of years, seeing it declining by the day is not something many people can take it.

So I convert the money back to properties and earn more rental income - makes me feel much better even though mathematically its about the same.

Any secret for you all la ... Office Boy is not a normal office boy. Hahahaaa!

Like I said previously, the current batch of graduate is different from last time lo!

Last time graduate is considered top 10-15% of the country, so buying 1-2-3 properties shouldnt be difficult.

But now, gradudate is probably at about top 35%, so there is likely half of grads who will end up in HDB permanently.

This is the Hard Truth which is hard to tell the newbies.

isn't younger gen supposed to be better than the older gen under Papa lol

My Father says using hard cash to see yourself through retirement is not the way to go. Have u done that before ?

I have gone through periods of my life relying on property proceeds. Though the proceeds (like you say) can last for tens of years, seeing it declining by the day is not something many people can take it.

So I convert the money back to properties and earn more rental income - makes me feel much better even though mathematically its about the same.

Any secret for you all la ... Office Boy is not a normal office boy. Hahahaaa!

easier to live of OPM. heh.