Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Why Singapore's health-care system works

Our health care system has been overwhelmed. With the new NTU medical school recently started and new hospitals being built, the system may only start to recover in 6-7 years' time. However real expertise takes many more years to build up and it will take a lot of tax-payers' money to ramp up the training and facilities.

If its not tax payers $ to pay for training and expertise who pay? GOD? or expect $ fall from sky or perhaps u are expecting a horde of people willing to jump into practice for free?

look ard all expertise are invested in some how or rather. from private sector who see commercial value or from government institution . There are pro bono but its small . same as lawyer practice.

our healthcare manpower resources lagged since the day when Lim Hng Kiang became health minister.

doesn't help when the NUS med school selection panels have an unspoken 'reserved' lots for the well-connected

Its a though job with long hours that not many want to do.

well becoz xenophobic pple like u now reject foreigner talents working as nurse. thats why dumbo. did it take u so long to realized that?

So what are you trying to say? Wait 5 hours and pay S$200+ (e.g. Singapore) is better than pay $1 but still wait 5 hours (e.g. Brunei)? Or wait 1-2 hours (more efficient) and everything paid by insurance (e.g. US) is worse than Singapore?

have u tried Brunei wait in public hospital? yes its subsided at $1. but have u tried it? as well as wait?

Have u tried china hospitals or even vietnam?

Yes US hospital are more efficient but A&E wait are also crazy? Have u seen the bill? it take a PHD to decipherer it. And becoz of the insurance model the quality of the health care is crap. An who benefit from this? the lawyers and the docs.

so see for urself experience it before u go thinking we have the worst.

Originally Posted by hyenergix
    Your impressive statistics give little condolence to this poor boy who waited 5 hrs at TTSH and died from dengue. Better to look at ground issues than be a desktop warrior.

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/st...s_at_ttsh.html

have u tried Brunei wait in public hospital? yes its subsided at $1. but have u tried it? as well as wait?

Have u tried china hospitals or even vietnam?

Yes US hospital are more efficient but A&E wait are also crazy? Have u seen the bill? it take a PHD to decipherer it. And becoz of the insurance model the quality of the health care is crap. An who benefit from this? the lawyers and the docs.

so see for urself experience it before u go thinking we have the worst.
    It is rather unusual to peg Singapore's medical standard to a developing countries' standard. I'm more concerned about the actual quality on the ground for the man in the street Just not long ago we have some agency coming out with a whitepaper on Singapore's worldclass land transport system but on the ground we know it is not the case. I tend to take positive news with a pinch of salt nowadays.

If its not tax payers $ to pay for training and expertise who pay? GOD? or expect $ fall from sky or perhaps u are expecting a horde of people willing to jump into practice for free?

look ard all expertise are invested in some how or rather. from private sector who see commercial value or from government institution . There are pro bono but its small . same as lawyer practice.
    You have probably mixed up planned versus urgent development. The latter will usually be done in rush with questionable quality and cost. Singapore could have planned the training of medical personnel (note the highly restrictive quota for medical students) and upgrading of facilities many years ago, but it was only recently that these missing pieces were rushed to put into place (my sense).

So what are you trying to say? Wait 5 hours and pay S$200+ (e.g. Singapore) is better than pay $1 but still wait 5 hours (e.g. Brunei)? Or wait 1-2 hours (more efficient) and everything paid by insurance (e.g. US) is worse than Singapore?

Your impressive statistics give little condolence to this poor boy who waited 5 hrs at TTSH and died from dengue. Better to look at ground issues than be a desktop warrior.

U only focus on the $1. Wat abt the quality ? Duh!

So in US pay $500 n still mortality rate is worst off. So?

Its a though job with long hours that not many want to do.

well becoz xenophobic pple like u now reject foreigner talents working as nurse. thats why dumbo. did it take u so long to realized that?
    eh moron, it's the ex health minister's doing and you pin the blame on commoners who had nothing to do with policies?

wah piang, did your brain degenerated recently? oh wait, there's nothing left to degenerate anyway.

by the way, i'm not even bothering to counter all your crap posting. why don't you look at France, Sweden, Denmark, Switzerland, Germany's healthcare system?

why don't you compare on what the consumers pay out of pocket in different countries?

please don't make a fool of yourself again n again

It is rather unusual to peg Singapore's medical standard to a developing countries' standard. I'm more concerned about the actual quality on the ground for the man in the street Just not long ago we have some agency coming out with a whitepaper on Singapore's worldclass land transport system but on the ground we know it is not the case. I tend to take positive news with a pinch of salt nowadays.

True that's why the arrival I find it reasonable as its comparing us - non developing country. Which us health care is not fantastic too. N it's expensive n laden with high insurance over head.

Similarly in us there are many folks who don't quality for insurance. Plus insurance have the habit to revoke payment on the slightest inconstant in the process of declaring medical history.

So the man in the street there are much worst without insurance n face even more costly system.

As far as I know, the system now only works for (i) doctors, (ii) owners of hospital and clinics, (iii) landlords who rent out their premises, (iv) vendors of medical equipment or drugs etc. Majority of the people in the street don't not really benefit on the ground i.e. better treatment at same or lower cost.

n moron, poor mortality = poor healthcare quality. there are factors like hospital ops, hygiene factor, etc etc.

all of our doctors do their specialist training in US and Europe, before they can be certified. Tons of super-top notch healthcare facilities in US - Kaiser Permanante, Texas-Austin, MSK, Brigham's, Beth Israel, etc etc

so don't BS about poor quality of healthcare in US. want to blame, blame the republicans for letting the insurance system get out of hand. blame politics for muddying healthcare issues.

This shows ur naviness. US system good? Take at look at the cost! N results yield! Mortality rate isv the highest.

The one making the $ are the lawyers n docs n insurance company! The poor dont qualify for insurance or cannot afford the costly insurance!

Have u seen a bill before? The transparency is crap! U need a phd to pieces all the bills together . In the end u payoff insurance?

Good my foot!

This shows ur naviness. US system good? Take at look at the cost! N results yield! Mortality rate isv the highest.

The one making the $ are the lawyers n docs n insurance company! The poor dont qualify for insurance or cannot afford the costly insurance!

Have u seen a bill before? The transparency is crap! U need a phd to pieces all the bills together . In the end u payoff insurance?

Good my foot!
    eh moron, that's why obama is trying to rectify the problem. blame politics, not the healthcare system that is a product of uncalibrated healthcare policies

Well there are positive news. is it in your nature to think that everything is shit? a article in Straits Time pple like you will scream its goverment mouth piece bullshit.

A article from the bbc or international media u will say its ang mor view and start getting xenophobic. ignoring

but when some one publish bullshit bad news u will agree without checking facts.

Well the article is comparing US health care which is now working . If u choose to look at the worst of all things I guess u are really sad. Nothing will truly make u happy but see bad news. and think u are in shit.
    You never answer my question. Are you paid to make posting? I will take it as silence means agree

Quote Originally Posted by agentg
    You never answer my question. Are you paid to make posting? I will take it as silence means agree

Nope. unless u want to pay me? are u paid to ask this question?

eh moron, that's why obama is trying to rectify the problem. blame politics, not the healthcare system that is a product of uncalibrated healthcare policies

oh is it? is it solved? nope! compare it now. I never ask to compare the future without anything being resolved.

Nope. unless u want to pay me? are u paid to ask this question?
    The way u post, you sound like one. . For your question, nope.

Quote Originally Posted by agentg
    The way u post, you sound like one. . For your question, nope.

they way u sound and ask question u sound paranoid. maybe I should post those stupid fake bad news sort. then u will want to believe ?

my only grouse is that all medical examination have to see doctor first.
    i want to be able to have an MRI without getting a doctor's letter first.
    wtf, take blood samples also need doctor's letter.

they way u sound and ask question u sound paranoid. maybe I should post those stupid fake bad news sort. then u will want to believe ?
    We are educated and well read. Don't need you to post. Whatever good or bad, we know in our heart deep inside. Don't need you to propagate. You may cause reverse reaction to your postings.

oh is it? is it solved? nope! compare it now. I never ask to compare the future without anything being resolved.
    so? this doesn't negate the fact that USA's healthcare quality is still the best in the world.

my only grouse is that all medical examination have to see doctor first.
    i want to be able to have an MRI without getting a doctor's letter first.
    wtf, take blood samples also need doctor's letter.
    eh, taking an MRI isn't like buying energizer batteries off the rack in a retail outlet - it needs a doctor's order or else, any tom dick and harry can walk in and request for one. it then clogs up the system

the second death is even worse - diagnosed with skin inflammation and given antibotics, without blood tests being ordered!!!!

the clinical symptoms were fever, shortness of breath, vomitting and rash on the leg. how can these be typical of skin inflammation?!?!?!?!?!?!?

if it's my dad, i would surely sue the hospital for malpractice and misdiagnosis.
    2 possible explanations ? - checked by a kuching kura cheap faster FT doctors and

secondly TTSH A & E overwhelmed by 6 million populations (including rich foreign patients ) already.

Quote Originally Posted by alamak
    2 possible explanations ? - checked by a kuching kura cheap faster FT doctors and

secondly TTSH A & E overwhelmed by 6 million populations (including rich foreign patients ) already.

let's not jump into allegations that FT doctors were negligent. FTs or locals, they have a medical protocol to follow, IF the patient was properly diagnosed.

being overwhelmed doesn't mean you send a 60 year old back home with fever & rash without blood tests, especially during a period of local dengue outbreak.

so? this doesn't negate the fact that USA's healthcare quality is still the best in the world.

best base on wat? more deaths? pay so much result is the worst.

learn to scroll up and read, kam gong

our doctors are all being trained in US and Europe for their specialist program. there are so many top-notched hospitals at the cutting edge of medicine.

told you don't equate the ills of healthcare system as poor healthcare quality. kam gong to the max

learn to scroll up and read, kam gong

our doctors are all being trained in US and Europe for their specialist program. there are so many top-notched hospitals at the cutting edge of medicine.

told you don't equate the ills of healthcare system as poor healthcare quality. kam gong to the max

Can u answer my question? If health care is so good why are their mortality rate so high? Could it be when they see the bill all scared to death ?

Learn to read. I m saying us health care system as a whole no quality health care . Did I compare doc skills? U trying to prata again.

Maybe no GST hor! Cock.

Can u answer my question? If health care is so good why are their mortality rate so high? Could it be when they see the bill all scared to death ?

Learn to read. I m saying us health care system as a whole no quality health care . Did I compare doc skills? U trying to prata again.

Maybe no GST hor! Cock.
    hello, ever thought of the amnesty of hispanic IIs? ever thought of the influx of asianic IIs? ever thought of the underpriviledged africanoids? ever looked at demographics and epidemiological data?

please, your analysis didn't even include the above or analyse the entire chain of healthcare access and consumption. use one single data point and you jump into a stupid conclusion that their healthcare quality is poor. please lah, the healthcare system doesn't equate to healthcare quality. this is as good as saying - i saw one monkey roaming in bukit timah and therefore, all monkeys in mandai zoo has escaped.

our hospitals are emulating them - MD anderson, texas-austin, brigham's, massc. gen, etc etc. our doctors are scrambling to do their specialist programs in those hospitals.

if their healthcare quality is poor, then pleasssssseeeeeee enlighten our healthcare minister. even our public hospitals are following their accreditation.

please lah, kam gong, make your arguments worthy of debate.

hello, ever thought of the amnesty of hispanic IIs? ever thought of the influx of asianic IIs? ever thought of the underpriviledged africanoids? ever looked at demographics and epidemiological data?

please, your analysis didn't even include the above or analyse the entire chain of healthcare access and consumption. use one single data point and you jump into a stupid conclusion that their healthcare quality is poor. please lah, the healthcare system doesn't equate to healthcare quality. this is as good as saying - i saw one monkey roaming in bukit timah and therefore, all monkeys in mandai zoo has escaped.

our hospitals are emulating them - MD anderson, texas-austin, brigham's, massc. gen, etc etc. our doctors are scrambling to do their specialist programs in those hospitals.

if their healthcare quality is poor, then pleasssssseeeeeee enlighten our healthcare minister. even our public hospitals are following their accreditation.

please lah, kam gong, make your arguments worthy of debate.
    oh really pls show me since u so much to say? show me pls proof.

u want to compare hospital CEO etc? U mean US doc never go upgrade specialist course? talk cock sing song.

So u say our doc so unskilled. so why our mortality rate so low? and US do high?

the result show high mortality. pls answer my question why? so good US why high mortality and high cost? dont tell me GST! ...

pls.

So u say our doc so unskilled. so why our mortality rate so low? and US do high?
    the result show high mortality. pls answer my question why? so good US why high mortality and high cost? dont tell me GST! ....
    because 3rd world maids found pregnant send back?
    low class laborers cannot bring wives to singapore?
    if maids not send back, laborers can bring wives, then perhaps will have higher mortality rates?

the foreigners that can deliver here are already pre-selected. rich. so can afford good care
    the poor singaporeans, perhaps have support system? i really dont know much about poor sinkies. sorry.

because 3rd world maids found pregnant send back?
    low class laborers cannot bring wives to singapore?
    if maids not send back, laborers can bring wives, then perhaps will have higher mortality rates?

the foreigners that can deliver here are already pre-selected. rich. so can afford good care
    the poor singaporeans, perhaps have support system? i really dont know much about poor sinkies. sorry.

This is a good story . If u have statistics to share ?

Maybe u say also people bury the dead in back yard so not reported?

Hmm so by wat u are saying Singaporean are not that stresses out after all? Low birth rate is becoz all spend time humping the maid that's why?