Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Why Singapore's health-care system works

how come i got a feeling u guys are sounding more and more like a landlord?

I mean the exchanges here...very good argument put forth by either sides.

For me, my experience with the doctors here are very good. Both in government or private service. They really care for your recovery and concern about your well being. And they take no chances. Wonder how come now the news put them in less than glorious light.

I guess one has to meet the right doctors. And there are really many good ones in Singapore. I met many of them because I have a 100 years old grandma with many problems ( from head to toes ) though all not life threatening.

This is a good story . If u have statistics to share ?

Maybe u say also people bury the dead in back yard so not reported?

Hmm so by wat u are saying Singaporean are not that stresses out after all? Low birth rate is becoz all spend time humping the maid that's why?
    Another story is singaporeans very practical. Anything wrong with foetus, even slight deviation also abort.Hence only most fit foetus equates to lower death. Not like angmo parents who hope against hope that their hopeless case foetus turns out ok.

http://www.healthxchange.com.sg/News...me-a-year.aspx
    100 maids, is that a lot?

Any corelation between TFR and infant mortality rate? Seems to me that countries with higher TFR have higher mortality rate.

I also suggest if you have a more serious and specific illness, ask your doctor for specialist recommendation in private or public sector. Usually these specialists are very alert and experience. For me, I visit a public GP and ask him to recommend 2 very good specialists (one in heart and one in mental health ), both of them are marvellous and I now need very few medication for my age. Only one in the morning for my blood pressure.

Quote Originally Posted by 狮子王
    I also suggest if you have a more serious and specific illness, ask your doctor for specialist recommendation in private or public sector. Usually these specialists are very alert and experience. For me, I visit a public GP and ask him to recommend 2 very good specialists (one in heart and one in mental health ), both of them are marvellous and I now need very few medication for my age. Only one in the morning for my blood pressure.
    some more this GP is much younger than me ( most 38 years old ) . He detected my mental breakdown way ahead of the first symptoms. Otherwise I think now I still staying in IMH

The psychiatrist lagi better. He machiam like got ESP like that. Just by looking at me without talking he can tell whether I am in for another major depression already. He would quickly suggest the proper antidepressant for me

I am now asking the GP to recommend some good plastic surgeon for me so that I can look better than Dawn Yang. In the male terms, of course.

You guys think the "Lion" look good boh, for me ? Hair style very easy, just go perm my hair and dye brown can liao. But the nose and eyes part need some work, methink I will be bringing my avatar photo on the left to this surgeon next week.

Quote Originally Posted by 狮子王
    how come i got a feeling u guys are sounding more and more like a landlord?

I mean the exchanges here...very good argument put forth by either sides.

For me, my experience with the doctors here are very good. Both in government or private service. They really care for your recovery and concern about your well being. And they take no chances. Wonder how come now the news put them in less than glorious light.

I guess one has to meet the right doctors. And there are really many good ones in Singapore. I met many of them because I have a 100 years old grandma with many problems ( from head to toes ) though all not life threatening.
    May I ask how much were the consultation fees for your grandma?

What quality are you talking about when the patient need to wait for more than 5 hours at A&E? In the case of dengue fever patient, the result is DEATH! He could have survived if the wait is 1 hour or less right?

And by the way, US pay US$500 a year and pay nothing thereafter. Are you trying to say US medical service quality worse than Singapore? That really makes me wonder why so many Singapore specialists are US or UK trained! You are saying these doctors in Singapore trained in US & UK are much better than the place that train them?

U only focus on the $1. Wat abt the quality ? Duh!

So in US pay $500 n still mortality rate is worst off. So?

And there are really many good ones in Singapore. I met many of them because I have a 100 years old grandma with many problems ( from head to toes ) though all not life threatening.
    I thought physical health is the least of ur grandma problem. She has "mental issues". Both you and her see the same psychiatrist?

Somebody is trying to say Singapore doctors are so much better quality than US! Ops! He forgot or is totally ignorant that all the top-notch Singapore doctors are either US or UK trained!

so? this doesn't negate the fact that USA's healthcare quality is still the best in the world.

Somebody is trying to say Singapore doctors are so much better quality than US! Ops! He forgot or is totally ignorant that all the top-notch Singapore doctors are either US or UK trained!
    Is there a connection btwen good doctor education and good national healthcare system?

On the other hand, us is cutting edge of research. And in research, some trial are not good, leading to death.such is the price of progress

Also, people say we learn from our failures. Us doctors are so good becos they learn from so many failures

if u fail to read.or never go to school donno how to read. let me point out to you. the article compare the system. The US system cost more and is not working. Mortality rate is higher than all developed countries!

learn to READ!!!

Is there a connection btwen good doctor education and good national healthcare system?

On the other hand, us is cutting edge of research. And in research, some trial are not good, leading to death.such is the price of progress

Also, people say we learn from our failures. Us doctors are so good becos they learn from so many failures

oh yes in the process kills people? They are not allow failures. coz they get sued!

What quality are you talking about when the patient need to wait for more than 5 hours at A&E? In the case of dengue fever patient, the result is DEATH! He could have survived if the wait is 1 hour or less right?

And by the way, US pay US$500 a year and pay nothing thereafter. Are you trying to say US medical service quality worse than Singapore? That really makes me wonder why so many Singapore specialists are US or UK trained! You are saying these doctors in Singapore trained in US & UK are much better than the place that train them?

talk cock again. $500 per year which idiot u trying to bluff?"

"Five years later, Kaiser’s 2009 survey found that employer health insurance premiums were $13,375 for a family and $4824 for a single person. About 60% of workers were receiving employer sponsored health insurance. Less than half (46%) of employees at small firms with 3 to 9 workers received coverage. As of 2008, the percentage of Americans receiving employer sponsored health insurance had declined for the eighth consecutive year, says the Kaiser Family Foundation."

u are one of those COE mentality Singaporean. expect pay $1 get served on the spot? go check out the US A&E how long u have to wait dumbo.

I am saying. I repeat SAYING!! u deaf n blind US system is high cost and produce worst results. U want to compare doctor , nurse , cleaners or wat ever shit up to u.

FACT is the result is worst off. and u pay through ur nose. and the employer have to pay through the nose too. so wat pay so much result is still the worst. u want to compare doctors? maybe u should compare the no. of zeros in the doctor and lawyer bank accounts! That I am sure US beats the Singapore counter part hands down!

oh really pls show me since u so much to say? show me pls proof.

u want to compare hospital CEO etc? U mean US doc never go upgrade specialist course? talk cock sing song.

So u say our doc so unskilled. so why our mortality rate so low? and US do high?

the result show high mortality. pls answer my question why? so good US why high mortality and high cost? dont tell me GST! ...

pls.
    eh moron, told you to look at the demographics, entire medical access/consumption chain before talking further. told you all our doctors are trained in the US and Europe for their specialist program. told you NOT to equate healthcare system as healthcare quality.

this is like giving you the answer to the exams and yet you can still fail. Epic KAM GONG.

compare hospital CEO for what?!?!??!

if our country's healthcare is so top-notched, why don't the US doctors come over here to do their specialist program???!

HINT: Singapore only has MBBS. Go look at your specialists name card and see how many more certification they have.

oh yes in the process kills people? They are not allow failures. coz they get sued!
    Wah lau, you are way out of your league - trying to debate in an area where i make my bread and butter.

HINT: Go read up on NIH

ya, can't believe how stupid can a person be. now he's trying to pretend to be an expert in front of someone who knows the workings of the system.

help me out here, what's the word to describe someone beyond the reasonable realms of stupidity? i'm lost

WHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

u guys should listen to 938Live. A top Singaporean ID expert let slip that TTSH didn't administer the dengue test early enough, and most administer too late

i.e. The 2nd guy could have been saved.

and by the time the rash appears, it's already tell-tale and may be too late.

That's is a good point you bring up.
    us doctors are not allow failures cos they get sued, so us doctors as individuals tends to be very good.
    singapore doctors don't get sued successfully, so they are more complacent, so there are more failures. so doctors individually sucks.
    is that what you are trying to say?
    Last edited by hopeful; 12-06-13 at 08:41.

WHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

u guys should listen to 938Live. A top Singaporean ID expert let slip that TTSH didn't administer the dengue test early enough, and most administer too late

i.e. The 2nd guy could have been saved.
    That might not be the case. There is no "cure" for Dengue. Even if they knew he had Dengue earlier on, they might not have been able to save him. Without knowing the full facts of the case, we should not pass judgement too easily.

One of the reasons this rarer complication of Dengue (shock) is surfacing now is because of the high number of cases, therefore statistically it is more likely to happen.

us doctors are not allow failures cos they get sued, so us doctors as individuals tends to be very good.
    singapore doctors don't get sued successfully, so they are more complacent, so there are more failures. so doctors individually sucks.
    Don't necessarily think that US or UK doctors are much better than our local grads (I am referring to Singaporean grads not the FT that trained in other countries). The healthcare system in the US and UK tends to "protect" the doctors in institutions. The doctors in private practice in Singapore don't have legions of administration to "protect" them.

I have worked in healthcare in UK and still have ex-classmates and colleagues working there and there are some disturbing stories about their healthcare system that don't see the light of day.

Don't necessarily think that US or UK doctors are much better than our local grads (I am referring to Singaporean grads not the FT that trained in other countries). The healthcare system in the US and UK tends to "protect" the doctors in institutions. The doctors in private practice in Singapore don't have legions of administration to "protect" them.

I have worked in healthcare in UK and still have ex-classmates and colleagues working there and there are some disturbing stories about their healthcare system that don't see the light of day.
    there are disturbing stories in our local system too. don't think i want to share too much

but, its undeniable that the best minds and the global opinion leaders are all in US/UK and its undeniable that's why our registrars are heading there for their HMDP

That might not be the case. There is no "cure" for Dengue. Even if they knew he had Dengue earlier on, they might not have been able to save him. Without knowing the full facts of the case, we should not pass judgement too easily.

One of the reasons this rarer complication of Dengue (shock) is surfacing now is because of the high number of cases, therefore statistically it is more likely to happen.
    i understand there is no cure. but early diagnosis and intervention would have given the man a fighting chance.

in this case, there was not even an attempt to diagnosis at the first clinical presentation. the second round, it was too late.

no. In US they are not so aggressive. they just wont do things or wont help u if u are not insured. the fact they have high mortality is also because they are over careful of feared to be sued. thus the mortality rate are higher.

to do anything outside practice us insurance wont cover. and u have to pay out of pocket plus hospital will make u sign idemidity.

http://www.democraticunderground.com...ss=389x7916251

"Philadelphia, PA (NewYorkInjuryNews.com) — A man needing urgent medical care was misdiagnosed by a doctor and denied treatment due to lack of health insurance, which led to his tragic and avoidable death. The lawsuit filed on behalf of 56-year-old Marcus Murray and his wife, versus the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, went to federal court March 2, 2010, according to the Philadelphia Inquirer."
    Last edited by minority; 12-06-13 at 12:43.

in US patience sue the doc. Doc fear being sued. end up is lawyer and insurance will make $ will be charged more insurance. Doc will have to insure against being sued. Plus that would mean they are less aggressive therapy.

Plus the lack of cost transparency becoz its billed to insurance.

who ever that cannot be insured or insured never declare full medical history and got insurance revoked. will be screwed.

Take an example u got into a car accident. u go fix urself at workshop the cost is $5000.. but when its settled by insurance how much is it? some people never even know. those who have seen the price are usually so many times higher!

that is they price u pay for settle ur issues via insurance for dispute.

So i agree US medical system is not working. the results shows. High cost High mortality.
    Last edited by minority; 12-06-13 at 12:54.

in US patience sue the doc. Doc fear being sued. end up is lawyer and insurance will make $ will be charged more insurance. Doc will have to insure against being sued. Plus that would mean they are less aggressive therapy.

Plus the lack of cost transparency becoz its billed to insurance.

who ever that cannot be insured or insured never declare full medical history and got insurance revoked. will be screwed.

Take an example u got into a car accident. u go fix urself at workshop the cost is $5000.. but when its settled by insurance how much is it? some people never even know. those who have seen the price are usually so many times higher!

that is they price u pay for settle ur issues via insurance for dispute.

So i agree US medical system is not working. the results shows. High cost High mortality.

please lah, you speak as if this is the truth. totally baseless, and without research data.

look at the aftermath of boston bombing, and see how pro and quickly the medical staff reacted. but this is also not a true indicator of the entire healthcare system

and see, warned you to look at the entire chain of healthcare consumption before kenna slapped in the face again

http://www.tremeritus.com/2013/06/12...-system-works/

please lah, you speak as if this is the truth. totally baseless, and without research data.

look at the aftermath of boston bombing, and see how pro and quickly the medical staff reacted. but this is also not a true indicator of the entire healthcare system

and see, warned you to look at the entire chain of healthcare consumption before kenna slapped in the face again

how often u get a 911 and Boston bombing ah? must get bomb then get help thats sad.

LOL of all the BS u quote Tremertius! wow tats fact? BS! u just brought baseless to a new level!

Ng Kok Lim has done a very good rebuttal, and only the carry-the-balls people will say those are bullshit. Seem like those are based on facts. Please talk facts, not without balls.

how often u get a 911 and Boston bombing ah? must get bomb then get help thats sad.

LOL of all the BS u quote Tremertius! wow tats fact? BS! u just brought baseless to a new level!

Originally Posted by eng81157