Page 2 of 17 FirstFirst 123456712 ... LastLast

Thread: The Glades Next to Tanah Merah MRT (D16, 99 Years Leasehold, by Keppel Land)

at 580sqft for a 2 bedder, it feels like it's more of a 1+S rather.

so called 2 bedder likely both single beds

even if it's 2 single beds, there still needs to be space for walkway, doorway, cupboard. unless its a 1BR and developer converts the storeroom into a makeshift bedroom........

Default Is the Tender out in the URA Website ?

Quote Originally Posted by bakasa2002
    Developer did pay a lot for this plot, to the tune of 8xx ppr? I guess avg will be >$1400psf. Keppel product finishes std shd b quite high...
    Is the Tender out in the URA Website ?

even if it's 2 single beds, there still needs to be space for walkway, doorway, cupboard. unless its a 1BR and developer converts the storeroom into a makeshift bedroom........
    and no specific dining table, just the kitchen top for dining perhaps...

at 580sqft for a 2 bedder, it feels like it's more of a 1+S rather.
    Most probably it is.
    2 bedrooms, with 1 toilet in-between and an open kitchen. Similar size and design to most of the recent far east soho apartments seen in eco, hillsta, hillier, and watertown.

Soho 1 bedder and 2 bedders are liveable.

wat's the big hoo ha of a 580sqft 2 bedder? if hdb can built 36sqm 2 room flat, wat's so surprising of a pte developer to built a 54sqm 2 bedder?

Quote Originally Posted by mermaid
    wat's the big hoo ha of a 580sqft 2 bedder? if hdb can built 36sqm 2 room flat, wat's so surprising of a pte developer to built a 54sqm 2 bedder?
    Bro, you never buy hdb before right ? 2room flat equals 1bedder condo
    Ride or Die

Quote Originally Posted by Autumnwinds
    2room flat equals 1bedder condo
    so??

so??
    So you are comparing a one bedroom size to a two bedroom, that's an apple vs a pear
    Ride or Die

Quote Originally Posted by Autumnwinds
    So you are comparing a one bedroom size to a two bedroom, that's an apple vs a pear
    nope, I am merely extrapolating

hdb 2 rm flat 36sqm. add 1 more common room nids oni abt 12sqm. 1 more common toilet 5sqm, total = 36+12+5 = 53sqm = 570sqft, easily doable.

so now can tell me wats the big hoo ha of a 580sqft 2 bedder le mah?

Default Space is the most valuable thing in Singapore

hdb 2 rm flat 36sqm. add 1 more common room nids oni abt 12sqm. 1 more common toilet 5sqm, total = 36+12+5 = 53sqm = 570sqft, easily doable.

Many People do not realize that Space is the most valuable thing in Singapore. If I have to choose between 120sqm HDB and 53sqm Condo with the same price then I will choose the HDB. I am quite lucky that I can leave in 115sqm Condo in Singapore even the condo is already more than 10 years old.

Quote Originally Posted by Sandiwara
    Many People do not realize that Space is the most valuable thing in Singapore. If I have to choose between 120sqm HDB and 53sqm Condo with the same price then I will choose the HDB. I am quite lucky that I can leave in 115sqm Condo in Singapore even the condo is already more than 10 years old.
    how abt if u r given a choice to buy either a 2rm hdb at $100k vs a $600k 1 bedder condo? assume same size same loc.

Maybe condo is more towards luxurious living and HDB is more for public housing. So luxurious means big nice house.

I definitely need space and although I stay in a studio, my studio is close to 700 sq ft. And it is without balcony . So 2 bedder at 580 sq ft is crap IMO. Too small and uncomfortable to be considered as a "condo". Maybe nowadays, people have low expectation of space.

Maybe condo is more towards luxurious living and HDB is more for public housing. So luxurious means big nice house.

I definitely need space and although I stay in a studio, my studio is close to 700 sq ft. And it is without balcony . So 2 bedder at 580 sq ft is crap IMO. Too small and uncomfortable to be considered as a "condo". Maybe nowadays, people have low expectation of space.
    I feel tat in the next 10 yrs to come, yr 700sqft studio will be hard to sell due to the unaffordable high quantum.

how abt if u r given a choice to buy either a 2rm hdb at $100k vs a $600k 1 bedder condo? assume same size same loc.
    If I can afford to spend 600k, I will not buy 2rm HDB, but I will buy at least 4rm HDB.

there is no such option in my qn!

Buy the 2rm hdb. if possible full payment. Then safe the balance for condo down payment

if is me I wun consider 2 rm bto at all. not rentable n hard to sell in the future. in the total 8 yrs of lock in period, I can flip 2 condos liao

It is okay la. I don't intend to sell anyway. And I bought it during March 2009 so I can sell, I can rent or I can keep . Doesn't matter.

I feel tat in the next 10 yrs to come, yr 700sqft studio will be hard to sell due to the unaffordable high quantum.

wait for the floor plan to be out. i'll put my bet that the condo will have a huge AC ledge for BBQing in mid-air and a huge balcony to enjoy the rumbling raucous from the MRT tracks

depends on a person's budget, needs/wants, lifestyle preferences, etc

wait for the floor plan to be out. i'll put my bet that the condo will have a huge AC ledge for BBQing in mid-air and a huge balcony to enjoy the rumbling raucous from the MRT tracks
    oh, I feel otherwise. if the sqft is smaller, they r promoting efficient layout, no?

hdb 2r can never be the same good location under kbw

after I analyze cpf min sum, I realize why hdb resale 3r must be above 300k

half of that is 148k lol so retirees at 55 can pawn their hdbs to meet min sum

once min sum hits 300k resale hdb must rise even higher

min sum has been the QE of sg since decades ago!

oh, I feel otherwise. if the sqft is smaller, they r promoting efficient layout, no?
    what i'm saying is even though the PC has a larger sqft area on paper, the actual livable space could be even smaller than a HDB 2Rm flat, after minusing the AC ledge and balcony.

I predict another J Gateway in the making,

1650psf into 430 sqft = from 700k
    1550psf into 580 sqft = from 888k

huat ah
    i think cannot be so cheap for small units

what i'm saying is even though the PC has a larger sqft area on paper, the actual livable space could be even smaller than a HDB 2Rm flat, after minusing the AC ledge and balcony.
    really depends on the layout lah ... I hv seem smaller units having more livable space den bigger units

thanks for echoing my sentiments - wait for the floorplans and we discuss further