Thread: Newbie

Default Newbie

Hi all experts in this forum, happen to drop by in this forum by accident and feel that this forum is interesting and very informative in property related issues.

Would like to seek your opinion on how to rent out a west facing property. Anyone encounter this issue before?

Quote Originally Posted by MM Lovers
    Hi all experts in this forum, happen to drop by in this forum by accident and feel that this forum is interesting and very informative in property related issues.

Would like to seek your opinion on how to rent out a west facing property. Anyone encounter this issue before?
    actually not all buyers/tenants mind west sun, personally I dun mind.
    try looking for tenants in months when there is north west wind? at least it is hot & windy

Quote Originally Posted by mermaid
    actually not all buyers/tenants mind west sun, personally I dun mind.
    try looking for tenants in months when there is north west wind? at least it is hot & windy
    Brilliant.......

Thanks for the advice.

So far the potential tenants that view the unit were local. Try to arrange viewing in the morning but most cannot make it. The sun will shine directly into the unit when around 3 pm.

Seems like the rental market has slowed down. The offer was low too.

By the way, which month has north west wind?

possible to share location ?

Quote Originally Posted by indomie
    Brilliant.......
    cos my room has direct west sun

Thanks for the advice.

So far the potential tenants that view the unit were local. Try to arrange viewing in the morning but most cannot make it. The sun will shine directly into the unit when around 3 pm.
    u can save yr efforts in coaxing ppl to view in morning/nite time cos Im sure many ppl r like me, who specifically arrange to view ard 3-5pm

since u cannot prevent west sun busters from exposing yr weakness, wat u can do is try to arrange it at say 2-3pm. the intensity of the heat is not so bad as compared to say 4-5pm.

its more windy around nov-feb lor ...

sorry to hijack your thread..My uncle looking to rent out his studio unit in Telok Kurau..but so far offer all on the low $2k side...D15 studio is it all around this range?

Quote Originally Posted by xtreme_46
    sorry to hijack your thread..My uncle looking to rent out his studio unit in Telok Kurau..but so far offer all on the low $2k side...D15 studio is it all around this range?
    if not near mrt, quite hard to fetch a gd price. I wun be surprised if a near mrt unit in ocr fetched a better price than yrs.

yield low if price bought too high? TA can be renewed is equivalent to not constant rental u are getting...restriction inflow of foreigners and so many release of new condo and TOP...rental not very good for those location not so convenient as would be expected..if interest rate goes up, bought at high price would have problem getting enough rental to serve outgoing loan....or in the first place can it be rented if demand remains constant or down while supply up? Deep pockets can hold while leave units empty...those cannot tahan will sell...expect to sell higher and earn a good profit at that time? anyone guess....

Mine is a 1 bedroom type just TOP. 4 bus stops away from Nex Shopping center. However walking distance to Bartley MRT Station, about 10 mins walk.

Seems like the rental market has slowed down. The offer was low too.
    how much was the offer?

Along Upper Paya Lebar Road? Is it The Vue?

how much was the offer?
    I heard from the agent that 1 unit accepted $2,200 partial furnished.

Mine no offer yet.

Along Upper Paya Lebar Road? Is it The Vue?
    Yes, you are right. Do you own any unit there?

Mine no offer yet.
    the 1 unit accepted got west sun?
    rental rates in this serangoon area not high, I noticed.
    2.2k seems quite low for a 1 bedder condo. Mostly I heard is at least a $2.5k.

the 1 unit accepted got west sun?
    rental rates in this serangoon area not high, I noticed.
    2.2k seems quite low for a 1 bedder condo. Mostly I heard is at least a $2.5k.
    Yes, agreed. I expected at least $2.4K for partial furnished. That unit spoil market liao.

Not sure which facing, agent didn't reveal.

Yes, you are right. Do you own any unit there?
    No. I went to view it at the VVIP launch about 2 years back

$2.2k is quite decent for that area. Try engaging more agents to market your unit.

Yes, agreed. I expected at least $2.4K for partial furnished. That unit spoil market liao.

Not sure which facing, agent didn't reveal.
    mayb the owner urgently nid to rent it out tats y willing to accept a lower than market rate.

juz now I checked other agents advertising for $2.7k. as long as the remaining owners dun spoil the market, I believe u shd not hv a prob getting 2.4k-2.5k.

juz be patient

New Virgin unit for $2.2k is very low. When someone offer low u no need to follow them.

Quote Originally Posted by star
    New Virgin unit for $2.2k is very low. When someone offer low u no need to follow them.
    precisely.

my fwen rented out his 1 bedder at west coast. very far fm mrt (at least 15mins) but is getting $3.5k under corporate lease.

regardless how bad facing/location a unit is, a condo is still a condo; there is a minimum amt as long as owners r not desperate

To TS, try not to wait too long. 见好就收。

Why? Your competitor Suites @ Paya Lebar topping soon.

How big is your unit in sq ft?

Mine no offer yet.

How big is your unit in sq ft?
    420 Sqft. 1 proper bedroom.

If u had paid $600k or below, u hv made a safe buy. Gross yield for purchase px of $600k n rental of $2500 (assuming) is 5%. Nett yield minus outgoings is 4+%.

420 Sqft. 1 proper bedroom.

Maybe you can share some pics on your rental properties?
    I am sure some tenants are ok with west facing

Not too long ago I was showing this angmoh lady my unit, telling her I have a NS facing with no west sun. She told me she loves sun tanning and prefers west facing unit

Having west sun also means you have sunset view .... 夕阳无限好,只是近黄昏

Quote Originally Posted by zeamybro
    Not too long ago I was showing this angmoh lady my unit, telling her I have a NS facing with no west sun. She told me she loves sun tanning and prefers west facing unit

Having west sun also means you have sunset view .... 夕阳无限好,只是近黄昏
    Feel encouraged by your sharing. Will continue to press on.

Don't worry too much. Just draw the curtains and turn on the air-con when viewing. I've seen your condo floorplan. It's quite nice and livable.
    Not sure whether the news from your agent about the 2.2K rent reliable or not.

Quote Originally Posted by ahchee
    Don't worry too much. Just draw the curtains and turn on the air-con when viewing. I've seen your condo floorplan. It's quite nice and livable.
    Not sure whether the news from your agent about the 2.2K rent reliable or not.
    Yes, already doing that. Intend to install sunshade to assure the tenant that the sun issue can be solved.