Thread: Dilemma - BUY OR NO BUY

Default Dilemma - BUY OR NO BUY

Wife work in the ARC Alexandar. I work in Pandan loop west coast. Household income near 10k only.

We have one 2 bedder (only 700+sqft) apartment in Jurong. We have two kids aged 4 and 5. We still have mortage loan of 450k, loan with standard chartered 1.05 base + sibor.

Now...I want to buy La Fiesta (with investment intention and of coz temporay stay) coz its affordable and price looks attractive. Wife not happy say place too far from workplace which is out of the way.

Now nid all experts comment and opinion - shld BUY or NOT?

BUY - Reason?
    NO BUY - Reason?

What is the different?

Quote Originally Posted by Thermofisher View Post
    Yo! I am new to this forum and will want to get advice from all of experience home buyers here. A little bit of our profile here. My spouse and myself have combined household income around 10k. We are both in our mid30s and currently staying in 2 bedder apartment with outstanding bank loan of 500k. Our saving is around 100k. My wife wanna change to a newer apartment or would say a bigger one. We are wondering if we should sell away the current unit in exchange for a new bigger one? Or we keep the existing one and try to get another BUC? Any idea?

Seems that your wife wants a bigger place, yet near workplace. Why not consider a not so old leasehold condo in D5? Eg blue horizon @ 1100psf?

What is the different?
    I wan to get La Fiesta for investment cum stay purpose. You think it is worthwhile?

Quote Originally Posted by Coolstuff View Post
    Seems that your wife wants a bigger place, yet near workplace. Why not consider a not so old leasehold condo in D5? Eg blue horizon @ 1100psf?
    We have limited budget. Our total savings is around 125k.

you should find a place in the same vicinity
    There's so many to choose from, why Fiesta which is far from your current place.
    But it's best you stay put as your savings is not a lot and will come useful if recession hits you.

how much is the price of 3br la fiesta?
    Ong lai ah!

I will never buy Sengkang. Go take a look at the vision. Similar PSF also.

Wife work in the ARC Alexandar. I work in Pandan loop west coast. Household income near 10k only.

We have one 2 bedder (only 700+sqft) apartment in Jurong. We have two kids aged 4 and 5. We still have mortage loan of 450k, loan with standard chartered 1.05 base + sibor.

Now...I want to buy La Fiesta (with investment intention and of coz temporay stay) coz its affordable and price looks attractive. Wife not happy say place too far from workplace which is out of the way.

BUY - Reason?
    NO BUY - Reason?

10k income and 125k savings with 450k debt is about just right. Do not load additional debt.

If space is a concern for your 2 growing kids, then ask your wife whether she is willing to stay in a 4/5 room flat in areas like queenstown, commonwealth, dover etc. with cov sliding, it is a good time shopping for resale flat and sell your condo. 2cents.

you have posted this before.
    http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=19002
    does starting a new thread will make forummers advice to you any different?

try to start a new thread with the following
    "i have savings of $500k."
    "our monthly income is $20k."
    then you will find out that the forummers advice will be different.

BUY - Reason?
    NO BUY - Reason?

BUY Reason - because wife can't wait and nags at me everyday because everyone at her workplace and her cousins has all bought a condo.

NO BUY Reason - because I can buy cheaper next 2 years.
    狮子王 (formerly blackjack21trader): READ MY LIPS: NO MORE CRASH FOR 60 YEARS.

Quote Originally Posted by sgbuyer View Post
    BUY Reason - because wife can't wait and nags at me everyday because everyone at her workplace and her cousins has all bought a condo.

NO BUY Reason - because I can buy cheaper next 2 years.
    BUY already the wife still nag everyday coz too far..
    Ong lai ah!

Ur best bet is stay put and save up. Make best use of existing space by getting space saving furniture eg desk which can convert to bed.

http://smootree.com/product.php

la fiesta is good but your jurong condo also good. Jurong got big development coming and it is near to your workplace.

Who are your target tenant profiles for La Fiesta? Is there a real demand there?

Review the performance of Compass Point. If even that which is right above the interchange is sub standard yielding where do you think La Fiesta will take you? There is no growth story in Sengkang.

I suggest you look elsewhere if you cant tahan watching your 125k sit there eroding away due to inflation.

ABSD will take half of your savings, if you are getting something around 800k.

Even if decouple, still will take about a third. You sure about this?

BUY - Reason?
    NO BUY - Reason?
    NO BUY - Your wife is right. Too far from workplace. Don't underestimate the time and effort spent in travelling back and forth. It really really eats into your quality time with the kids.

Continue to save up and wait for better opportunities. There is no rush to buy at this point in time.

Spoken from a woman/wife/mother's perspective.

Can you tolerate your wife nagging everyday if you bought it...... !!!

Spoken from a man/Husband/father's perspective

ABSD will take half of your savings, if you are getting something around 800k.

Even if decouple, still will take about a third. You sure about this?
    How does decouple works? Please share and recommend.

Your style of writing and posting reminds me of yowetan.

BUY - Reason?
    NO BUY - Reason?
    I would feel tat wif excess funds idling in the bank, buy seems to be the obvious course of action if u hv no other better way to reap a better return.

The main prob u hv now is yr proposal of La Fiesta has been rejected by yr wife.
    U can still retain yr buy option, but perhaps consider other projects.

I give u an example.
    Near mrt proj wif similar pricing as LF still hv Jewel@ buangkok & bartley ridge @ bartley.
    In terms of cheaper psf pricing
    LF > BR > J
    In terms of amenities
    LF > BR > J
    In terms of worthiness of maint fees
    BR > LF > J
    In terms of location
    BR > J > LF
    In terms of quality of furnishing
    J & BR > LF
    In terms of floor plan
    BR > J & LF

still hv T3 but I am unable to comment on it as I did not do a study.

BUY - Reason?
    NO BUY - Reason?
    listen to the wife ~

How does decouple work? Please share and recommend.
    Best solution if you want to buy is decouple, as condo less complicated.

Transfer the current condo from shared property to your wife name. Your wife will likely be happier and nag less.

Buy whatever you wish as first property. Pay stamp duty according to first property rates. Gotta check with lawyer regarding precise figures though.

Quote Originally Posted by mermaid View Post
    I would feel tat wif excess funds idling in the bank, buy seems to be the obvious course of action if u hv no other better way to reap a better return.

The main prob u hv now is yr proposal of La Fiesta has been rejected by yr wife.
    U can still retain yr buy option, but perhaps consider other projects.

I give u an example.
    Near mrt proj wif similar pricing as LF still hv Jewel@ buangkok & bartley ridge @ bartley.
    In terms of cheaper psf pricing
    LF > BR > J
    In terms of amenities
    LF > BR > J
    In terms of worthiness of maint fees
    BR > LF > J
    In terms of location
    BR > J > LF
    In terms of quality of furnishing
    J & BR > LF
    In terms of floor plan
    BR > J & LF

still hv T3 but I am unable to comment on it as I did not do a study.
    You sure amenities BR better than jewel? Location better than LF and Jewel? To me all 3 location average only.

End of the day only those who have patience n buy during a time of fear will be the ultimate winners!

GUTS n PATIENCE !!!

HERD MENTALITY just won't work lah!

CAveat emptor unless one does not have a roof over one's head!

Quote Originally Posted by invigorated View Post
    Your style of writing and posting reminds me of yowetan.
    This time I agree with you.

Quote Originally Posted by Eh View Post
    You sure amenities BR better than jewel? Location better than LF and Jewel? To me all 3 location average only.
    Of cos. Im very familar wif jewel de loc, amenities not convienent.
    BR can walk to kensington sq, future bddr mkt sq or take 1 mrt ride to nex.
    BR more centralised.
    of cos definitely got better loc, but got tis type of $?
    Mayb u give me suggestion lor.

Quote Originally Posted by mermaid View Post
    Of cos. Im very familar wif jewel de loc, amenities not convienent.
    BR can walk to kensington sq, future bddr mkt sq or take 1 mrt ride to nex.
    BR more centralised.
    of cos definitely got better loc, but got tis type of $?
    Mayb u give me suggestion lor.
    I guess you don't drive coz you didn't mention anything about the traffic condition.

I am surprised that you said you are very familiar with jewel the location? You stay nearby is it? I thought you are more familiar with BR than jewel location, since you bought a unit there.

Quote Originally Posted by Eh View Post
    I guess you don't drive coz you didn't mention anything about the traffic condition.

I am surprised that you said you are very familiar with jewel the location? You stay nearby is it? I thought you are more familiar with BR than jewel location, since you bought a unit there.
    Cos last time I always go to the quartz mah nope, I stay in the east. Yes, I dun drive so traffic condition is quite irrelavant to me.
    BR de loc I oso quite familar coz last time always go eden grove