Thread: Impact of MCE on D15

Quote Originally Posted by propertyguru View Post
    The closure of the Fort Road exits will inconvenience those living along Meyer Road who would ordinarily use them. While Amber Road residents would still be served by the Tanjong Katong exits, those may become overloaded if Meyer Road residents also begin using them. Not sure the MCE will actually have a positive impact in terms of traffic, though the further development of the Marina area may have a positive impact on D15 given its proximity.
    Yes I agree with u. Watch out for that district called Amber Road which seem to have the best of everything - walking distance to the best part of east coast beach through an underground tunnel, walking distance to major shopping malls like Parkway Parade, Katong I12 etc, walking distance to major eating establishments along East Coast Road, Freehold Status, Easy access to Changi Airport and to Town (Marina Bay and West) through the newly constructed MCE line, location of the proposed new underground mrt station entrance which will be near Silversea roundabout area, proximity to major clubs (Chinese Swimming Club & Kallang Sports Hub) and above all the best seaview in the whole of Singapore as the sea around Amber Road is the closest to the mainland buildings.

Hi zeamybro, of course i am up for a nice and fair discussion about TR and meyer!! especially with u having vested interest in both i think u might jsut be the right person to offer honest opinions on these 2 areas.

Pertaining to the information u provided indicating that some meyer projects, namely Makena and Atria are transacting at lower prices than other TR ones, in my humble opinion, these 2 projects are seriously way underpriced compared to the rest of meyer road. in other words, they are hidden gems. well, of course, not so hidden now that ive mentioned them. But put aside all prior ideas and opinions and what not about Makena and Atria, they are both high rise condos, on a large piece of land particularly the former, very well maintained, and have fairly good layouts and enjoy fairly good views. Good facilities too, as we should know all old condos have. I always prefer larger condo projects with open space to walk about as compared to those single block ones (an example along meyer would be the Meier, behind Equatorial Apts). The Makena especially, is located along a good section of meyer road, facing a quiet well maintained park, and closer to a wider, more spacious section of meyer road. Easy access to mountbatten road for buses via crescent road - a straight non fussy road about 300m long? plus the fact that the government is now upgrading all the drainage work for Jln Seaview/Sedap and Amber, this atas-ness of this area will only rise.

As for Tanjong Rhu, i honestly do not have anything against the area. I think its a nice place very close to the city (geographically), and residents there can enjoy amazing views. Pity the expressway noise for some. And pity the west sun for those facing the city. But if ur really into good views, TR is just the place to be. My biggest minus point about TR is accessibility. Without a car, I guess u cant live there. Buses - only 1 serves it. But ur right, when the sports hub is built, accessibility will improve my leaps and bounds- for those with cars. Sadly, I'm not sure I can say the same for public transportation in the area.

Regarding rental amongst both areas, I agree, Meyer rd projects are notoriously hard to rent and command not-so-high rental, relatively to how atas an area it is. Ive always found it intriguing, and struggled (still struggling) to understand why it is so. I think that the number one reason is, again, accessibility. Those who want shopping/eating places will rent close to Parkway, ie Amber/Marine Parade area. Those who want city views will go for TR, which as u mentioned, has access to Kallang Leisure Park too. So where does that leave meyer? In between. But not to fret, with the introduction of the eastern region line at some point during the next 10 yrs, i believe the meyer will stand to gain significantly, making it a prime-ish area very close to the city, with easy access to the city, as well as lifestyle choices like East Coast Park and Katong. No doubt, TR will also stand to gain

I've said too much here. I only hope for the best for both Meyer and TR. All the way, D15!!

Quote Originally Posted by zeamybro View Post
    Hi clemdale

Yeps, I agree that Meyer is more atas. In fact, I have vested interested in both areas, but I thought i would like to defend Tj Rhu a little this evening, hope you dont mind.

Tanjong Rhu has always been very popular with expats for rental. Projects like Sanctuary Green and WaterPlace are constantly fetching much better rental rates than projects of similar age at Meyer like Makena and Atria @ Meyer ($42 psm vs $32 psm). Reason being its more accessible to amenities with walking distance (~10min) to Stadium MRT and Kallang Leisure Park where u get the supermarket, restaurants, cinemas etc. The tenants are also attracted to the tranquil environment with very spacious parks by the water basin, and more recently the Gardens By the Bay East. Its pretty much a lifestyle thingie staying at Tj Rhu.

On the other hand, I agree Meyer, being near to the landed properties, give me a much more atas and high class feel. As I drive, I really appreciate the convenience as i get to hit the highway pretty fast and could reach suntec city in less than 10 min. Tj Rhu, on the other hand, is a pain to drive all the way in/out. But once the stadium is completed, it will be a breeze for the residents there to travel to town via Stadium Road/Nicoll Highway.

As for the prices, Meyer has newer projects like Seafront, Belvedere and Meyerise whereas Tj Rhu does not have any new projects for an apple to apple comparison. The newer projects at Meyer are really fetching at very good prices, and i wonder how would a new project (if any) at Tj Rhu be priced at? But if you were to compare the older projects of similar age, you will be surprised to find that most Tj Rhu projects (despite being LH) are transacting at almost similar psfs, if not better, than those FH projects at Meyer.

(1998, FH)
    THE MAKENA 1,500,000 1,152 1,302 Sep-13
    THE MAKENA 2,500,000 1,744 1,434 Sep-13
    THE MAKENA 1,450,000 1,152 1,259 Aug-13
    THE MAKENA 1,338,000 926 1,445 Aug-13
    THE MAKENA 1,921,000 1,507 1,275 Jul-13

(1996 FH)

THE ATRIA AT MEYER 1,450,000 1,044 1,389 Sep-13
    THE ATRIA AT MEYER 4,600,000 3,261 1,410 Aug-13
    THE ATRIA AT MEYER 1,880,000 1,346 1,397 Apr-13
    THE ATRIA AT MEYER 2,050,000 1,475 1,390 Mar-13

(1998 LH)
    WATER PLACE 1,290,000 904 1,427 Sep-13
    WATER PLACE 1,600,000 1,227 1,304 Sep-13
    WATER PLACE 1,690,000 1,227 1,377 Jun-13
    WATER PLACE 1,770,000 1,281 1,382 May-13

(1993 LH)
    PEBBLE BAY 2,820,000 2,336 1,207 Oct-13
    PEBBLE BAY 2,940,000 1,894 1,552 Sep-13
    PEBBLE BAY 4,350,000 2,745 1,585 Sep-13
    PEBBLE BAY 2,500,000 1,894 1,320 Sep-13
    PEBBLE BAY 3,200,000 2,336 1,370 Jun-13

(1996 LH)
    CAMELOT BY-THE-WATER 4,830,000 3,294 1,466 Aug-13
    CAMELOT BY-THE-WATER 4,688,000 3,035 1,544 Jan-13
    CAMELOT BY-THE-WATER 4,552,500 3,035 1,500 Dec-12

(1997 LH)

SANCTUARY GREEN 1,050,000 775 1,355 Oct-13
    SANCTUARY GREEN 1,680,000 1,399 1,201 Oct-13
    SANCTUARY GREEN 1,630,000 1,356 1,202 Oct-13
    SANCTUARY GREEN 1,428,888 1,184 1,207 Oct-13
    SANCTUARY GREEN 1,138,000 850 1,338 Jul-13
    I've had enough. I'm done!!!

Whats your logic behind tearing sheares bridge down and then replace with what?
    replace with a teleportation road with no ERP to a land where everything is free and people do not need to work , pay taxes and government will suck the toe of every citizens . i heard from the hearsay.

Hi clemdale

Yeps, I agree that Meyer is more atas. In fact, I have vested interested in both areas, but I thought i would like to defend Tj Rhu a little this evening, hope you dont mind.

Tanjong Rhu has always been very popular with expats for rental. Projects like Sanctuary Green and WaterPlace are constantly fetching much better rental rates than projects of similar age at Meyer like Makena and Atria @ Meyer ($42 psm vs $32 psm). Reason being its more accessible to amenities with walking distance (~10min) to Stadium MRT and Kallang Leisure Park where u get the supermarket, restaurants, cinemas etc. The tenants are also attracted to the tranquil environment with very spacious parks by the water basin, and more recently the Gardens By the Bay East. Its pretty much a lifestyle thingie staying at Tj Rhu.

On the other hand, I agree Meyer, being near to the landed properties, give me a much more atas and high class feel. As I drive, I really appreciate the convenience as i get to hit the highway pretty fast and could reach suntec city in less than 10 min. Tj Rhu, on the other hand, is a pain to drive all the way in/out. But once the stadium is completed, it will be a breeze for the residents there to travel to town via Stadium Road/Nicoll Highway.

As for the prices, Meyer has newer projects like Seafront, Belvedere and Meyerise whereas Tj Rhu does not have any new projects for an apple to apple comparison. The newer projects at Meyer are really fetching at very good prices, and i wonder how would a new project (if any) at Tj Rhu be priced at? But if you were to compare the older projects of similar age, you will be surprised to find that most Tj Rhu projects (despite being LH) are transacting at almost similar psfs, if not better, than those FH projects at Meyer.

(1998, FH)
    THE MAKENA 1,500,000 1,152 1,302 Sep-13
    THE MAKENA 2,500,000 1,744 1,434 Sep-13
    THE MAKENA 1,450,000 1,152 1,259 Aug-13
    THE MAKENA 1,338,000 926 1,445 Aug-13
    THE MAKENA 1,921,000 1,507 1,275 Jul-13

(1996 FH)

THE ATRIA AT MEYER 1,450,000 1,044 1,389 Sep-13
    THE ATRIA AT MEYER 4,600,000 3,261 1,410 Aug-13
    THE ATRIA AT MEYER 1,880,000 1,346 1,397 Apr-13
    THE ATRIA AT MEYER 2,050,000 1,475 1,390 Mar-13

(1998 LH)
    WATER PLACE 1,290,000 904 1,427 Sep-13
    WATER PLACE 1,600,000 1,227 1,304 Sep-13
    WATER PLACE 1,690,000 1,227 1,377 Jun-13
    WATER PLACE 1,770,000 1,281 1,382 May-13

(1993 LH)
    PEBBLE BAY 2,820,000 2,336 1,207 Oct-13
    PEBBLE BAY 2,940,000 1,894 1,552 Sep-13
    PEBBLE BAY 4,350,000 2,745 1,585 Sep-13
    PEBBLE BAY 2,500,000 1,894 1,320 Sep-13
    PEBBLE BAY 3,200,000 2,336 1,370 Jun-13

(1996 LH)
    CAMELOT BY-THE-WATER 4,830,000 3,294 1,466 Aug-13
    CAMELOT BY-THE-WATER 4,688,000 3,035 1,544 Jan-13
    CAMELOT BY-THE-WATER 4,552,500 3,035 1,500 Dec-12

(1997 LH)

SANCTUARY GREEN 1,050,000 775 1,355 Oct-13
    SANCTUARY GREEN 1,680,000 1,399 1,201 Oct-13
    SANCTUARY GREEN 1,630,000 1,356 1,202 Oct-13
    SANCTUARY GREEN 1,428,888 1,184 1,207 Oct-13
    SANCTUARY GREEN 1,138,000 850 1,338 Jul-13
    I will say tanjong rhu is had the rub on effect of gardens by the bay. without that.. it use to be lagging behind meyer.

when the new ERL Mrt is announced and done there are a couple pieces of land parcles in Tanjong Rhu area which likly will be launch. It would be interesting to see the price then. if it could be launched FH it would be a gem.

Meyer have it value. currently is much better accessibility than Tanjong Rhu yet minus the crowd from Parkway.

So depends how some see it. You can say its the in between the Tanjong Rhu n Parkway benefits. which is connectivity and yet have the peace n quite.

Tanjong Rhu cannot is a long walk to beach. for the beach goers.

How about amber road? Will properties in amber road be affected? Amber/Meyer/Tg Rhu, Which is most atas?

Quote Originally Posted by doufei View Post
    How about amber road? Will properties in amber road be affected? Amber/Meyer/Tg Rhu, Which is most atas?
    Amber is overcrowded. Congested.

But everyone has their own preference.

I think Tanjong Rhu are most likely to benefit most from development project in the Kallang area, reason is because they are mostly LH sites which will generate future income for the government and its located on the better size or upmarket side of the kallang river, away from Geylang and the HDB estate.

Quote Originally Posted by doufei View Post
    IMHO, it goes like this: Meyer > Amber > Tanjong rhu

Meyer:
    upside - atas area, all high end developments, close to high end landed property, easy access to east coast park
    downside - not so accessible to public transport (as amber), no shopping centre close by

Amber:
    upside - close to parkway, close to public transport, easy access to east coast park
    downside - getting too crowded in recent years, mix of small boutique developments as well as high end ones

Tanjong Rhu:
    upside - v close to city (geographically), amazing views for some units facing either kallang river or golf course/ sea, I guess one can walk to Kallang Leisure park from TR
    downside - non existent public transport, rather inaccessible/troublesome by car, condos are less atas and mostly LH99, cant access east coast park easily

Quote Originally Posted by clemdale24 View Post
    Tanjong Rhu:
    upside - v close to city (geographically), amazing views for some units facing either kallang river or golf course/ sea, I guess one can walk to Kallang Leisure park from TR
    downside - non existent public transport, rather inaccessible/troublesome by car, condos are less atas and mostly LH99, cant access east coast park easily
    Can walk to stadium mrt. Also have very frequent internal shuttle service that ply around the area serving the Tj rhu community to town and mrt. Can't access to east coast park but it's a stone throw to Gardens By The Bay east and can walk all the way to marina barrage.

I thought the Costa Rhu and Pebble Bay condos are rather iconic... Always got featured (the photos) on tv or papers whenever there are news on Singapore ppties..
    Last edited by zeamybro; 19-11-13 at 10:53.

Quote Originally Posted by iridrium View Post
    Amber is overcrowded. Congested.

But everyone has their own preference.
    Yeps, tenants with budget are shifting away from Meyer/ Fort road area to either Tj Rhu or Amber area due to the proximity to amenities....

Looks like there will no longer be land reclamation of east coast park. I think this will be good for the area. Apartments can still enjoy their sea view and residents can continue to emjoy the beach area.

Quote Originally Posted by square View Post
    Looks like there will no longer be land reclamation of east coast park. I think this will be good for the area. Apartments can still enjoy their sea view and residents can continue to emjoy the beach area.

eh, there was never a certain plan to reclaim areas along east coast in the first place. don't get conned by some gunslinging morons

Ya. There is only Marina East which is already there. Even if there is any land reclamation, how old will you be already? It takes 20 years to reclaim and another 10 to 20 years for the soil to get settled. Then GLS is not guaranteed as well. I will be 70 years old by then.

Quote Originally Posted by eng81157 View Post
    eh, there was never a certain plan to reclaim areas along east coast in the first place. don't get conned by some gunslinging morons

Thanks. I am not sure where I get the impression that there will be reclamation at East Coast Park. From the Masterplan, it is very clear now!

Quote Originally Posted by square View Post
    Thanks. I am not sure where I get the impression that there will be reclamation at East Coast Park. From the Masterplan, it is very clear now!

there's only one moron who claims, without a tinge of doubt, that reclamation will happen

p.s. user nick starts with a certain "R"

Quote Originally Posted by eng81157 View Post
    there's only one moron who claims, without a tinge of doubt, that reclamation will happen

p.s. user nick starts with a certain "R"
    Just say it, RINGO

you can eat ur words now. they mean nothing. east coast >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> J gateway hahaha

Now, to get back on track/topic...

putting the whole reclamation of east coast aside, what does the development of new residential projects on marina south mean for D15/east coast? I have no idea how high they will be pricing these condos, cos the location is indeed very ideal.

Besides, it was also mentioned at a 800m pedestrian walkway/ underground shopping mall will be developed btw marina south station and gardens by the bay station. Surely, with the ERL, this will benefit D15 due to its close proximity and replace suntec as the place to go?

Ideally, the stations would go like this:
    marine terrace --> marine parade --> amber/ tanjong katong --> meyer/ fort road --> tanjong rhu --> marina east --> gardens by the bay

D15 huat ar!!

Now awaiting the explosive good news of confirm MRT stations patiently.... Akan datang....

Quote Originally Posted by pod View Post
    D15 huat ar!!

Now awaiting the explosive good news of confirm MRT stations patiently.... Akan datang....
    Road turning into ecp (towards city) from fort road will be closed....

i will say tanjong rhu side will benefit. I am watching for them to launch GLC once ERL is firm up.

Marina South will carnivalise D15/east coast lor, so simple..................

Because both cater for people who like to live at the coastal area, Marina South more central, don't need to get traffic jam on ECP, and D15 Meyer and Amber areas now is like Little India-2, so those who don't like such congregation there will shift to Marina South..................

Now, to get back on track/topic...

putting the whole reclamation of east coast aside, what does the development of new residential projects on marina south mean for D15/east coast? I have no idea how high they will be pricing these condos, cos the location is indeed very ideal.

Besides, it was also mentioned at a 800m pedestrian walkway/ underground shopping mall will be developed btw marina south station and gardens by the bay station. Surely, with the ERL, this will benefit D15 due to its close proximity and replace suntec as the place to go?

Ideally, the stations would go like this:
    marine terrace --> marine parade --> amber/ tanjong katong --> meyer/ fort road --> tanjong rhu --> marina east --> gardens by the bay

Marina South will carnivalise D15/east coast lor, so simple..................

Because both cater for people who like to live at the coastal area, Marina South more central, don't need to get traffic jam on ECP, and D15 Meyer and Amber areas now is like Little India-2, so those who don't like such congregation there will shift to Marina South..................
    Haha if Meyer/Amber become like Little India, then Telok Kurau/Bedok/Tanah Merah will be like rubbish chute area...u got to be kidding.

Amber/Meyer area are freehold properties with sea facing. In addition, these are quiet districts with walking distance to East Coast Park where u have a real beach (sea/sand). Marina South is leasehold and though u have the sea u cant swim cause the sea is not swimable and there is no beach and sand. Its all together a different ballgame.

Amber/Meyer will remain a favourite spot for people who love freehold at the same time the serenity to live in a peaceful, quiet environment and where the sea and the beach is a walking distance. In fact Amber/Meyer with the announcement of an ERL mrt line will make it as equally prime as Marina South in the years to come.

By 2020, where can u find freehold, the beach, shopping, eating, good schools, mrt, greenery and near to airport all combined together - its D15 Prime (Meyer/Amber)

The fact is Meyer/Amber will remain a favorite district for the rich n famous, whereas Marina South are mainly for office/people on the run who prefer mickey mouse units.

D9 and 10 are for the rich. Not D15. 1.5k psf very highly sought after meh? D9 already hit pass 6k already. I like D15 also but to say it is for the rich and famous, it sounded like crap.

Quote Originally Posted by Shawn View Post
    Haha if Meyer/Amber become like Little India, then Telok Kurau/Bedok/Tanah Merah will be like rubbish chute area...u got to be kidding.

Amber/Meyer area are freehold properties with sea facing. In addition, these are quiet districts with walking distance to East Coast Park where u have a real beach (sea/sand). Marina South is leasehold and though u have the sea u cant swim cause the sea is not swimable and there is no beach and sand. Its all together a different ballgame.

Amber/Meyer will remain a favourite spot for people who love freehold at the same time the serenity to live in a peaceful, quiet environment and where the sea and the beach is a walking distance. In fact Amber/Meyer with the announcement of an ERL mrt line will make it as equally prime as Marina South in the years to come.

By 2020, where can u find freehold, the beach, shopping, eating, good schools, mrt, greenery and near to airport all combined together - its D15 Prime (Meyer/Amber)

The fact is Meyer/Amber will remain a favorite district for the rich n famous, whereas Marina South are mainly for office/people on the run who prefer mickey mouse units.

Quote Originally Posted by thomastansb View Post
    D9 and 10 are for the rich. Not D15. 1.5k psf very highly sought after meh? D9 already hit pass 6k already. I like D15 also but to say it is for the rich and famous, it sounded like crap.
    ok la i think shawn exaggerated a bit.
    D9/10 are prime, no doubt, no one can argue. drive down holland road and look at those GCBs from afar and its clear to see those guys are the big shots, the king of kings.

but one must also admit that D15 has its fair share of rich individuals. have a look at goodman/branksome/wilkinson roads. those guys are rich. down meyer road and its side lanes, those ppl are rich too! big sprawling landed properties with multiple luxury cars. the term "rich" is all relative. for me, D15 is already amazing. well, D9/10 is of a different league altogether, but how many such ppl are there in singapore? even frankel estate (where lui tuck yew our transport minister lives) is rather atas.. im not quite a fan of frankel cos i find it a bit far out from the cbd, but surely a transport minister can't quite go wrong :P

now comparing that to neighbouring D16, ie bedok, tanah merah. yes landed properties there are, but no, the feel and exclusivity is not the same. down Jalan pari dedap/ burong, even amongst the semi-ds and bungalows, somehow u dont feel as impressed as if u were in meyer/goodman.

im not too familiar with D10 as ive never had the priviledge of living there. but surely it must be one of the most amazing places to live in in singapore. D15 meyer where i was born and bred, has been v kind too.

I am curious why goodman road is often singled out .. How come not the neighbouring lanes like Crescent, Branksome, Wilkinson, Poole, Swanage, Arthur road etc? I thought wilkinson road has got the largest bungalows around the vicinity, Goodman ones have become smaller and smaller over the years .. And the ones nearer to the Katong pool tend to maintain the land size whereas those nearer to Tj Katong road has been divided into smaller units

You guys seriously screw up big time up there. D9 or D10 or D15, most living there are already top 20% of Singapore population. Dont argue too much on this. It is obvious they are different league from yishun, sembawang, punggol etc. Chill!

ok la i think shawn exaggerated a bit.
    D9/10 are prime, no doubt, no one can argue. drive down holland road and look at those GCBs from afar and its clear to see those guys are the big shots, the king of kings.

but one must also admit that D15 has its fair share of rich individuals. have a look at goodman/branksome/wilkinson roads. those guys are rich. down meyer road and its side lanes, those ppl are rich too! big sprawling landed properties with multiple luxury cars. the term "rich" is all relative. for me, D15 is already amazing. well, D9/10 is of a different league altogether, but how many such ppl are there in singapore? even frankel estate (where lui tuck yew our transport minister lives) is rather atas.. im not quite a fan of frankel cos i find it a bit far out from the cbd, but surely a transport minister can't quite go wrong :P

now comparing that to neighbouring D16, ie bedok, tanah merah. yes landed properties there are, but no, the feel and exclusivity is not the same. down Jalan pari dedap/ burong, even amongst the semi-ds and bungalows, somehow u dont feel as impressed as if u were in meyer/goodman.

im not too familiar with D10 as ive never had the priviledge of living there. but surely it must be one of the most amazing places to live in in singapore. D15 meyer where i was born and bred, has been v kind too.
    Actually mountbatten side have a lot of big landed. some are also very artas. there are some with very grand entrance.

I am curious why goodman road is often singled out .. How come not the neighbouring lanes like Crescent, Branksome, Wilkinson, Poole, Swanage, Arthur road etc? I thought wilkinson road has got the largest bungalows around the vicinity, Goodman ones have become smaller and smaller over the years .. And the ones nearer to the Katong pool tend to maintain the land size whereas those nearer to Tj Katong road has been divided into smaller units
    IMHO i think goodman is often singled out cos its easy to remember! haha. i agree, whether its goodman/branksome/bournemouth/wilkinson.. doesnt matter. they are all in the same league. we use goodman cos its rather easy to rmb and to rolls of the tongue more easily than the rest.

crescent on the other hand runs perpendicular to those roads mentioned above. apparently crescent road divides the bungalows on one side, from the semi-ds on the other side. of course i dont think this is totally the case cos theres a mixture of both on both sides of crescent rd, but it largely remains true. so yes ur right in that those nearer katong pool are mainly bungalows. closer to TK road are mainly semi-ds.

as for those smaller/shorter road closer to dunman road (i cant rmb their name.. but i think one of it is Poole road), i feel those are less prestigious as they are almost bordering D14? but still.. bungalows are bungalows.

not forgetting those off meyer road ie margate road, broadrick road. they are quite awesome too. and of course, those off mountbatten road such as walton road... such HUGE houses.

Quote Originally Posted by leesg123 View Post
    You guys seriously screw up big time up there. D9 or D10 or D15, most living there are already top 20% of Singapore population. Dont argue too much on this. It is obvious they are different league from yishun, sembawang, punggol etc. Chill!
    top 20% only? not good enough la.
    those in D10 are definitely top 5%. come on..

of course D9/10/15 are not in the same league as jurong, clementi, tampines, woodlands, yishun, amk, bishan, bedok, loyang, even west coast la. but must compare good with better. no point comparing with something worse. as with everything in life