Thread: Cooling measures not enough?!

Exclamation Cooling measures not enough?!

Singaporeans are not feeling cooling measures' impact on affordability survey

Houses are still very costly.

According to the latest PropertyGuru Property Sentiment Survey, while most survey respondents agree with the government’s latest attempts to further curb price increase across property categories, Singaporeans still feel that the latest cooling measures installed in H1 2013 has little impact in addressing overall property affordability issues.

In short, home prices in Singapore are still considered expensive.

According to the latest survey findings, negative public sentiment towards perceived government effort peaked at 66% this quarter. This increase has been rising at a faster rate in each quarter after the respective cooling measures were announced – 13% in Q2 following the imposition of a higher Additional Buyers’ Stamp Duty (ABSD) in January 2013 and 6% in Q3 in response to the introduction of the new framework for Total Debt Servicing Ratio (TDSR) in June 2013.

Perception is felt most acutely among property upgraders, in particular among those who currently stay in 1-5 room flats (47%) and HDB households earning less than $10,000 a month (68%). This cluster of aspirational home owners who intend to purchase private property or a bigger HDB unit in the near future are looking to the government to rein in high sale prices.

http://sbr.com.sg/residential-proper....ShtQCeb3.dpuf

So after they have bought, they will complain loud loud that govt should leave private property market to "market" forces and not interfere because if govt really wants to make property affordable they should concentrate on HDB flats which cater to 85% of residents?

Quote Originally Posted by mermaid View Post
    Singaporeans are not feeling cooling measures' impact on affordability survey

Houses are still very costly.

According to the latest PropertyGuru Property Sentiment Survey, while most survey respondents agree with the government’s latest attempts to further curb price increase across property categories, Singaporeans still feel that the latest cooling measures installed in H1 2013 has little impact in addressing overall property affordability issues.

In short, home prices in Singapore are still considered expensive.

According to the latest survey findings, negative public sentiment towards perceived government effort peaked at 66% this quarter. This increase has been rising at a faster rate in each quarter after the respective cooling measures were announced – 13% in Q2 following the imposition of a higher Additional Buyers’ Stamp Duty (ABSD) in January 2013 and 6% in Q3 in response to the introduction of the new framework for Total Debt Servicing Ratio (TDSR) in June 2013.

Perception is felt most acutely among property upgraders, in particular among those who currently stay in 1-5 room flats (47%) and HDB households earning less than $10,000 a month (68%). This cluster of aspirational home owners who intend to purchase private property or a bigger HDB unit in the near future are looking to the government to rein in high sale prices.

http://sbr.com.sg/residential-proper....ShtQCeb3.dpuf

So after they have bought, they will complain loud loud that govt should leave private property market to "market" forces and not interfere because if govt really wants to make property affordable they should concentrate on HDB flats which cater to 85% of residents?
    I tink tis category of kpkb hdb dwellers r hit by the lower selling price of their hdb which indirectly affects their ability to upgrade to pc.

I assumed they r not cash rich in the 1st place.
    since the report says tat 2/3 of them de combined incomes is < $10k, tis group is precisely oso the category which govt wan to deter fm entering the pte market

they can always gun for ECs, no need to take such a big leap forward.

They hopping to buy marina bay area condos 4 bedder for under 800,000

Cos buying ec没面子

prices though still high, hv stabilised.
    since ppl r still kpkb-ing, do u tink more CMs expected or CMs will be lifted?

current situation is bad for us .... basically besides tcss here we can do nothing now. still not cheap enuff to buy yet unable to sell.

I rather they put in more CM for prices to drop further or remove all so tat we can action ... stagnant is very jialat ......

That why garme http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking...-sale-20131118

today just release more ec sites in cck and paya lebar

ec also condo

compare average joe holding power vs the lich, who can last longer
    Last edited by relax88; 18-11-13 at 12:28.

Quote Originally Posted by relax88 View Post
    That why garmen today just release more ec sites in cck and paya lebar
    dun be happy too early ...
    gd show coming up if u see some ECs land bid higher den PC sites

Then too bad lor, miss the 船

They overly greedy. What can we expect?

Quote Originally Posted by thomastansb View Post
    They overly greedy. What can we expect?
    I doubt is the same category of hdb dwellers.

current situation is bad for us .... basically besides tcss here we can do nothing now. still not cheap enuff to buy yet unable to sell.

I rather they put in more CM for prices to drop further or remove all so tat we can action ... stagnant is very jialat ......
    then the CMs have achieved their intended purposes - to stabilize market prices and prevent them from running away.

hence, CMs won't be lifted or introduced (for the residential sector) as the government has never intended to crash the market

Quote Originally Posted by eng81157 View Post
    then the CMs have achieved their intended purposes - to stabilize market prices and prevent them from running away.

hence, CMs won't be lifted or introduced (for the residential sector) as the government has never intended to crash the market

no doubt tat they do not intend to crash the market, but they do feel tat the current price is still too high tats y they r engineering a soft landing.
    soft landing means they r planning for a price drop, juz a gentler gradient.

no doubt tat they do not intend to crash the market, but they do feel tat the current price is still too high tats y they r engineering a soft landing.
    soft landing means they r planning for a price drop, juz a gentler gradient.

until we start seeing URA accepting land bids below market valuation and selling these land parcels, i am of the opinion that what you suggested will not come to pass.

Quote Originally Posted by eng81157 View Post
    until we start seeing URA accepting land bids below market valuation and selling these land parcels, i am of the opinion that what you suggested will not come to pass.
    heard fm a forummer who is working wif one of the developers. he said tat his coy, tgt wif other developers r planning for lower bids gg fwd. however as to how low it will go, no one will noe. juz wait for new land bids results lor. anyway got decent land bids coming soon...

For a money inc, to accept below market bid......hmmmm,................got chance, sure got chance...........can wait, will happen one

it important to keep hope alive

For a money inc, to accept below market bid......hmmmm,................got chance, sure got chance...........can wait, will happen one

it important to keep hope alive
    wah, wah, wah ... how come u r implying tat Im cherishing a false hope liddat?

wif tdsr & hdb having lower/zero COVs, many sandwiched class will find it harder to upgrade. demand for mass condo is definitely much much lower now. if developers cont'd to bid high, they r juz asking for trouble.

juz look at glades. the land is more exp den urban vista but no choice hv to match the selling price. margin alrdy compromised. to make the matter worse, glades only managed to sell less den 20% since launch.

so wat's the use of bidding high n get the land but ended up unable to move yr stocks? developers r accountable to their shareholders, mind u!

Hoping they remove the ABSD by end of this year cause this stamp duty money is not registered in the caveats but will be eventually passed down when a buyer sells it. Stagnant is no good for ppl like me
    Senior Marketing Consultant
    Huttons New Launches

Quote Originally Posted by Trevortan View Post
    Hoping they remove the ABSD by end of this year cause this stamp duty money is not registered in the caveats but will be eventually passed down when a buyer sells it. Stagnant is no good for ppl like me
    remove absd by tis yr end 1000% unlikely leh ... earliest oso nid another 1/2 to 1 yr ...

but price haven really come down yet ... so next yr oso quite hard ...

I tink tis category of kpkb hdb dwellers r hit by the lower selling price of their hdb which indirectly affects their ability to upgrade to pc.

I assumed they r not cash rich in the 1st place.
    since the report says tat 2/3 of them de combined incomes is < $10k, tis group is precisely oso the category which govt wan to deter fm entering the pte market
    They asked for it anyway… they think by making it hard for other people to buy will means they can upgrade?

think again. the engine must move along in sync. want the whole cake and don't want other people to eat too.. lol won't work.

like those who wished market crash 1. well when crash interest rate spike high high but quantum drop still don't mean they can buy.

Quote Originally Posted by Trevortan View Post

well drop is not good for some people also. go up also not good for some people. stagnant not you.

So how? can't please every single one of the people.

like those who wished market crash 1. well when crash interest rate spike high high but quantum drop still don't mean they can buy.
    Im one of those who wish for a market crash
    Im willing to accept a higher int rate, no issue.
    like someone told me if ppty market correct by 10%, most likely salary will cut 10%.
    well, Im fine wif tat too

They think they can buy low, then sell their HDB flats high high then buy private low again. You need like 10 to 15 years, a lot of research and a bit of luck to engineer this kind of scenario. Anyway, for those who ask for private to drop, their HDB value will slide also. Doesn't make sense that HDB can be higher than a Condo in the same area and all things similar. Like this, who want to buy HDB?

They asked for it anyway… they think by making it hard for other people to buy will means they can upgrade?

think again. the engine must move along in sync. want the whole cake and don't want other people to eat too.. lol won't work.

Quote Originally Posted by thomastansb View Post
    They think they can buy low, then sell their HDB flats high high then buy private low again. You need like 10 to 15 years, a lot of research and a bit of luck to engineer this kind of scenario. Anyway, for those who ask for private to drop, their HDB value will slide also. Doesn't make sense that HDB can be higher than a Condo in the same area and all things similar. Like this, who want to buy HDB?
    Just do a relative comparison, let’s say PC drops 10% and HBD drops 10%, up-graders will still be happy, except us who own few PCs.

Now if u observe only kpkb people spoke out most often why no condo people spoke out?? All quiet leh... To let govt hear u u need to speak out or write in to strait times forum, survey or hong lim park.

That why garme http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking...-sale-20131118

today just release more ec sites in cck and paya lebar

ec also condo

compare average joe holding power vs the lich, who can last longer
    And some of the newly launched ECs look better than condos!

Quote Originally Posted by walkthetiger View Post
    Just do a relative comparison, let’s say PC drops 10% and HBD drops 10%, up-graders will still be happy, except us who own few PCs.
    since where it will be linear? wat if HDB drop and PC still goes up? Coz investor will always rush to assets when singapore increase in value. As singapore grow in world economy so will all the assets in Singapore. suppressing HDB resale prices so people feel they got good deal ( which they already have from BTO!) .Is that what the people really want? So blind kpkb price expensive ( Resale).

the only way is dooming the country as a whole. destroy singapore value in the region so all will go down. but will that help ? is that wat the people want?

means weaker sing dollar. means no more traveling means import will be more expensive. means less mobility for the people.

So people are asking for something the they want but really eventually realized they don't want.

Quote Originally Posted by star View Post
    Now if u observe only kpkb people spoke out most often why no condo people spoke out?? All quiet leh... To let govt hear u u need to speak out or write in to strait times forum, survey or hong lim park.
    most kept quiet cos they r waiting for a crash

tink most condo ppl wanna say:

"accept lower land bids!"

Quote Originally Posted by star View Post
    Condo pple also kpkb le. Kp about the govt step in, kp about those missed the boats/ no condo pple of their kpkb resulting in cms le.

Haha. Interesting isn't it

Quote Originally Posted by jwong71 View Post
    Condo pple also kpkb le. Kp about the govt step in, kp about those missed the boats/ no condo pple of their kpkb resulting in cms le.

Haha. Interesting isn't it
    But they never protest in hong lim park, write in to strait times, or take part in my national conversation.