Default How to calculate rental yield?

Can anybody enlighten me? Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by irisng View Post
    rental $ * 12 months / condo price

Quote Originally Posted by taggy View Post
    rental $ * 12 months / condo price
    Newbie here.

Current market price or previous purchased price?

Example, bought 8 years ago at 600k fully paid and current rental at 3.9k? Need to deduct off property tax and maintenance fee (x12) ?

Quote Originally Posted by mamamee88 View Post
    Newbie here.

Current market price or previous purchased price?
    shdnt yield be calculated upon yr own cost? shdnt only potential buyers will use the current market $ to ascertain their potential yield?

Gross yield = rental over a yield divide by current price.

Nett yield = rental over a yield minus all expense then divide by current price.

U take current price of condo because u can sell it and invest to get yield...

There is 1 more-
    Nett yield from your outlay = rental per year minus expense minus interest then divide by your outlay...

Depends on what u are calculating.
    Last edited by chestnut; 25-11-13 at 08:33.

more interestingly, try:

take the total net amount earned from rental (minus monthly loan repayment, maintenance, property tax, agent's fee, income tax, everything) divide by your total initial cash contribution (20% + stamp + legal fees etc) towards the purchase

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfish View Post
    more interestingly, try:

take the total net amount earned from rental (minus monthly loan repayment, maintenance, property tax, agent's fee, income tax, everything) divide by your total initial cash contribution (20% + stamp + legal fees etc) towards the purchase
    u still nid to add in interest income forgo for yr savings tat u hv used to pay yr ppty.
    stamp duty & legal fees shd be amortised over the useful life of how long the unit will be tenanted.

Easiest way is to take rental x 12 / purchase price (your purchase price).