Thread: should one buy if he has the downpayment?

Default should one buy if he has the downpayment?

Someone asked me today this question. Should he buy? What If int rates rise and nett cashflow is negative?

Buy only on positive cash flow and capital appreciation with some spare cash for min 6 months of rental income.

It's not easy to find positive cashflow with 80% ltv and 30 years loan.

buy buy buy if one do the math and it's highly likely profitable
    if it's risky, why take the risk unless there is a reason to do so like prc/indian/indonesia/etc buyers want to park their money in spore

instead of just asking point blank question, use a spreadsheet to project the cash flow commitment in the next 10 years. from there, it will be quite clear whether to buy or not and this will also project the earnings at the end of 10 years (rental income minus property tax)

if it is a new launch, then there is no rental income for the next 5 years.

Quote Originally Posted by VS View Post
    if it is a new launch, then there is no rental income for the next 5 years.

ever since they removed DPS ... I stopped buying new launch ...

friends who wanted to buy for investment .. I always advise them to hit the resale market ... you get income straight away by renting it out ..

for new comer .. I always feel its wise and logical to get apply for a HDB ...

that's the ONLY freebie from our GOVT ...take it ...

why wait till your salary jump too high and u no longer qualify to buy brand new from HDB .. ?

Quote Originally Posted by newbie11 View Post
    Someone asked me today this question. Should he buy? What If int rates rise and nett cashflow is negative?
    go Casino. Tamba 1 Big or 1 Small.... one time

come out either Hero will have more cashflow. or ZERO dont have the probem should buy or not.

nett win win.

Mai tu liao!!!!! HUAT AH!

Quote Originally Posted by proud owner View Post
    ever since they removed DPS ... I stopped buying new launch ...

friends who wanted to buy for investment .. I always advise them to hit the resale market ... you get income straight away by renting it out ..

for new comer .. I always feel its wise and logical to get apply for a HDB ...

that's the ONLY freebie from our GOVT ...take it ...

why wait till your salary jump too high and u no longer qualify to buy brand new from HDB .. ?
    very sound advice. This is tested n proven!

Thanks all.. I asked my fren to read this thread.

Agree With proud owner. I missed interest only. Haha