Thread: Hillford retirement resort - all 281 units - snapped up

Default Hillford retirement resort - all 281 units - snapped up

Bt Timah project sold out in 5 hours, at an average of $1,100 psf

ALL 281 units at what is billed as Singapore's first retirement resort were snapped up within five hours yesterday. About 1,000 prospective buyers, who had earlier indicated their interest in the 60-year leasehold The Hillford, thronged the launch hoping to secure a unit.
    Prospective buyers that BT spoke to cited affordability as the main driver for their decision to purchase a unit. Fifty-five year old Desmond Tan, who was the first in line to get a unit, opted for a pool-facing two-room unit (506 square feet). He paid $601,000 for his unit.
    "The lease is only for 60 years, but the main consideration is affordability," said Mr Tan, who is self-employed. While his four children live with him, he hopes to live at The Hillford with his wife when his unit is ready. The project is expected to get its Temporary Occupation Permit in November 2017.
    Units at The Hillford were sold at an average of $1,100 per square foot. The majority of the units - 186 - are in one-bedroom configurations (398-431 sq ft) and had a starting price of $388,000. The 52 two-bedroom units (506-560 sq ft) had starting prices of $498,000 and the remaining 40 two-bedroom dual key units (657 sq ft) had starting prices of $648,000.
    The theme of affordability was echoed by another buyer who picked up a one-bedroom unit, stressing it was the price quantum, and not so much the facilities provided by The Hillford, that drew him to the project. A mix of middle-aged buyers as well as younger buyers in their 20s were seen at the showflat yesterday morning.
    According to the developer, World Class Land, a substantial proportion of buyers were over 50 years of age. "We are very excited that The Hillford has sold out within the first day of sales," said Koh Wee Seng, chief executive officer of World Class Land. "The response to Singapore's first retirement resort has been spectacular, with many buyers responding very positively to The Hillford's wide range of elder-friendly features, services and facilities specially introduced to serve their needs."
    The project promises elder-friendly features such as non-slip floor finishes, wider corridors and doorways for wheelchairs, and grab bars in common areas and in the units as an option. It also boasts a 24-hour concierge service and a dedicated, full-time resort manager to take care of residents' well-being. The Hillford is located on Jalan Jurong Kechil, in Bukit Timah.

Amongst the potential buyers were young PRs who face obstacles buying their first home, like a 29 yrs old Malaysian PR...hmmm...never too young to plan for "retirement" I guess...60 yrs lease should be enough unless longevity sabotages them.

This blows away the 60 yr leased boggey man. Come TOP, only 55 years left.

So fully sold, next thing is for MND to tell us how many units were bought by people over 50 years old and meant for retiring? Otherwise it just doesn't make sense that MND/URA approve it as "retirement homes" full of MMs (bypassing previous no super small MM law) but yet this project can be full of MMs and bought by many younger people! Otherwise what is that "no MM" law for?!

Bt Timah project sold out in 5 hours, at an average of $1,100 psf

ALL 281 units at what is billed as Singapore's first retirement resort were snapped up within five hours yesterday. About 1,000 prospective buyers, who had earlier indicated their interest in the 60-year leasehold The Hillford, thronged the launch hoping to secure a unit.
    Prospective buyers that BT spoke to cited affordability as the main driver for their decision to purchase a unit. Fifty-five year old Desmond Tan, who was the first in line to get a unit, opted for a pool-facing two-room unit (506 square feet). He paid $601,000 for his unit.
    "The lease is only for 60 years, but the main consideration is affordability," said Mr Tan, who is self-employed. While his four children live with him, he hopes to live at The Hillford with his wife when his unit is ready. The project is expected to get its Temporary Occupation Permit in November 2017.
    Units at The Hillford were sold at an average of $1,100 per square foot. The majority of the units - 186 - are in one-bedroom configurations (398-431 sq ft) and had a starting price of $388,000. The 52 two-bedroom units (506-560 sq ft) had starting prices of $498,000 and the remaining 40 two-bedroom dual key units (657 sq ft) had starting prices of $648,000.
    The theme of affordability was echoed by another buyer who picked up a one-bedroom unit, stressing it was the price quantum, and not so much the facilities provided by The Hillford, that drew him to the project. A mix of middle-aged buyers as well as younger buyers in their 20s were seen at the showflat yesterday morning.
    According to the developer, World Class Land, a substantial proportion of buyers were over 50 years of age. "We are very excited that The Hillford has sold out within the first day of sales," said Koh Wee Seng, chief executive officer of World Class Land. "The response to Singapore's first retirement resort has been spectacular, with many buyers responding very positively to The Hillford's wide range of elder-friendly features, services and facilities specially introduced to serve their needs."
    The project promises elder-friendly features such as non-slip floor finishes, wider corridors and doorways for wheelchairs, and grab bars in common areas and in the units as an option. It also boasts a 24-hour concierge service and a dedicated, full-time resort manager to take care of residents' well-being. The Hillford is located on Jalan Jurong Kechil, in Bukit Timah.

Quote Originally Posted by matrix0405 View Post
    This blows away the 60 yr leased boggey man. Come TOP, only 55 years left.
    In 40 years it will get en block anyway. Quantum is king now.

Quote Originally Posted by indomie View Post
    Unlikely that it will get lease top up from SLA. This is not HDB flat.

quantum is indeed king.
    anything between $450k-$600k can be sold out in 1 day ... huat ah!
    $600k is indeed peanut in today property context!

When property can be so cheap, you know they are of lousy value...
    Good things never will be cheap, ........................
    especially when there are already so many restrictions to discourage these people to buy but only this one exceptional still can build super small MMs, like 2bedrooms only 495 sqft!

Quote Originally Posted by wt_know View Post
    quantum is indeed king.
    anything between $450k-$600k can be sold out in 1 day ... huat ah!
    $600k is indeed peanut in today property context!

I am indeed humbled by the sale performance. My logical head tells me that any logical person will not buy this underdeveloped concept, over priced, under tenure development.

Indeed I'm proven wrong, but is this a viable investment? Only time will tell.

I think it's a good buy.
    For 2 bedder cost 500k.
    Rental 3k per year and for 20 years . It cost 600k.
    That is to say for next 35 year you enjoy free rental. If construction time take 5 years to build.

So fully sold, next thing is for MND to tell us how many units were bought by people over 50 years old and meant for retiring? Otherwise it just doesn't make sense that MND/URA approve it as "retirement homes" full of MMs (bypassing previous no super small MM law) but yet this project can be full of MMs and bought by many younger people! Otherwise what is that "no MM" law for?!
    aiyo, why you like to kpkb about others are buying? Just because you cant afford it or dont like it, that doesnt mean it must be bad right?

Why you buy property? For consumption? If so, you may just buy those very old ones, with lease running down, much cheaper.

2bedders 495 sqft can rent $3k per month continuously for 20 years? I doubt it very much. And you forget to add in much higher maintenance fees (because of "retirement old people" features and services), property taxes, repairs and maintenance due to wear and tear etc if you own it (vs renting).

Quote Originally Posted by WhoAmI? View Post
    I think it's a good buy.
    For 2 bedder cost 500k.
    That is to say for next 35 year you enjoy free rental. If construction time take 5 years to build.

Large units ccr cannot make money now. Every month large units in ccr price is dropping. MM is the king, quantum is the king.

This development is going to have the HIGHEST death rate as there are so many old folks staying there. Clubhouse can be used to host funeral or not?

I think it's a good buy.
    For 2 bedder cost 500k.

like that (assuming no interest as above and maintenance sinking fee assumeing fixed which is unlikely and that depend how many units in one estate..the more the lesser, the lesser the more to pay )Let say if an OCR at east 470sqft 99LH selling $4XXK, loan let say worst case, 30 yrs...3 yrs to build, enjoy free rental 66 yrs....further more capital appreciation not taken into account if let go after 5yrs...

Quote Originally Posted by leesg123 View Post
    This development is going to have the HIGHEST death rate as there are so many old folks staying there. Clubhouse can be used to host funeral or not?
    That is a good question!

Quote Originally Posted by leesg123 View Post
    if can use.. just keep the funeral setting and use plastic flowers ... then pple just need to change photo... no need install dismantle install dismantle so mafan...

Ong lai ah!

AGM will be exciting and the composition of retirees and young owners will be interesting.
    I think it's a good buy.
    For 2 bedder cost 500k.

I think developers love to hear that coz they make more money from people with such mentality

Quote Originally Posted by star View Post
    MM is the king, quantum is the king.

Who still think large size ccr can make money go ahead and buy. Stamp duty is a large sum. Large size ccr will only chiong when absd for foreigners r remove. But they won't do it because foreigners got to pay absd if not singaporeans will make noise.

Large units ccr cannot make money now. Every month large units in ccr price is dropping. MM is the king, quantum is the king.
    missed the retirement boat? nvm, still got 玉格格 sanpan
    my offer to sell u my mm after 39yrs is still valid

Who still think large size ccr can make money go ahead and buy. Stamp duty is a large sum. Large size ccr will only chiong when absd for foreigners r remove. But they won't do it because foreigners got to pay absd if not singaporeans will make noise.
    I am sure we all know who is the one in this forum who is desperately hoping that old CCR property in the wrong side of CCR will become star performance again.

Affordability is key now with all the restrictions. Guys i ve a brilliant plan. Lets pool our money together, bid for a 30 years lease estate, and sell 100 square feet "retirement homes" at $200k each!! Cheap cheap!!! Sure sell out within half an hour.

I am not certain that in 40 years time, it will be enbloc. Old forks dun need the money, they will prefer the company.

Quote Originally Posted by mosaic View Post
    Affordability is key now with all the restrictions. Guys i ve a brilliant plan. Lets pool our money together, bid for a 30 years lease estate, and sell 100 square feet "retirement homes" at $200k each!! Cheap cheap!!! Sure sell out within half an hour.
    100sf is not a retirement home, but a hospital bed...

Ong lai ah!

Hkg is the land of super MM, but big units command super high psf.... I dare say we will move towards that direction in due time

Personally, I wont buy ...........but if others see values and potential in it, who am I to comment

perhaps, they might indeed be having the last laugh.

Quote Originally Posted by mosaic View Post

Good idea leh let others go and buy and we just see, don't touch and earn their money...sama as industry..60 yrs price shoots up introduce 30 yrs ...companies ok just buy to do business still want them but heard from agents those who bought shorter LH just for investment only now want to let go very difficult...have to hold for good with rental or without rental..

office and commercial usually 99 yrs or FH or 999(esp upp Bukit timah near jurong kencil hor) ....again retirement village 60yrs first for commercial...??

personally it is an adoption of the same strategy from the industry area to residential area but with a more charitable name' retirement resort'...

I wonder will there be developer, holding a long term view of SG property market, start bidding for 99LH land then sell as 60LH?

Quote Originally Posted by taggy View Post
    I wonder will there be developer, holding a long term view of SG property market, start bidding for 99LH land then sell as 60LH?

to maximise the chopping carrot, 30 yrs LH chop 3 times... ma...