Thread: Property cooling measures to stay for now

Default Property cooling measures to stay for now

http://www.straitstimes.com/archive/...y-now-20140222

NO SINGAPOREAN LEFT BEHIND: HELP FOR FIRMS

Property cooling measures to stay for now

Published on Feb 22, 2014

By Melissa Tan

PROPERTY market cooling measures are staying put for now despite calls by industry players for some relief amid softening prices and sales volumes.

"Given the run-up in prices in the last four years, it is too early to start relaxing our measures," Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam said.

He added that the measures were imposed "to prevent property prices from getting too far out of line with incomes".

"We are not engineering a hard landing," he said.

"But neither are we able to eliminate cycles in the property market, with upswings in prices in some years followed by corrections."

Developers and analysts said they were disappointed.

However, they noted that buyers who were sitting on the fence awaiting a possible Budget announcement might now jump back into the market.

Mr Tharman said the property curbs were working, with both Housing Board resale and private home prices "stabilising".

The Government will continue to monitor the market and adjust measures "when necessary".

The housing market slowed on all fronts late last year.

HDB resale prices slid last year from 2012, posting their first annual decline since 2005.

Private home prices also fell in the final quarter last year compared with the previous three months - the first such decline in nearly two years. Even so, they are still relatively elevated, at 61 per cent above the trough in the second quarter of 2009.

Mr Lim Yew Soon, managing director of boutique developer EL Development, said yesterday that although most developers had hoped for an easing of the additional buyer's stamp duty, it was "also good that he (Mr Tharman) gave a clear signal".

"There were rumours that there would be tweaks. Now that he has taken a firm position, it can put buyers' minds at rest and, if they want to buy now, they don't have to wait."

Chesterton Singapore managing director Donald Han said it would probably take several consecutive quarters of price drops for the Government to consider loosening curbs.

"It is probably too early because we're now at the beginning of a correction," he said. "While the industry had been hoping for some measures to be relaxed, it is also realistic."

Several property industry players have been suggesting that the time was ripe for some curbs to be eased.

City Developments executive chairman Kwek Leng Beng said earlier this month that the Government could consider reviewing some measures in the light of concern over the global economy.

There are also worries about oversupply. From this year to 2016, the private home segment will add another 77,000 units.

Expected....things may change perhaps in 2016 when there is an oversupply of property units.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/arch...e-now-20140222

Published February 22, 2014

BUDGET 2014: PROPERTY

Cooling measures to stay in place for now

Property players won't see a scaleback of seven rounds of cooling measures just yet

By Kalpana Rashiwala [email protected]

‘The Budget addresses key concerns of the general population particularly in terms of healthcare, education and housing. There are also support for businesses that are facing the pressures of restructuring their operations, and the constraints of the labour market. SMF is pleased to note the extension of Productivity and Innovation Credit (PIC) scheme and the introduction of the PIC+ scheme. Singapore will continue to experience a tight labour market and a high cost environment. As such, SMF welcomes the incentives for SMEs to increase productivity and improve the adoption of technology. However, we see that increasing productivity based on technology alone may not be sufficient for some companies. They may have to re-visit their business models.’
    The Singapore Manufacturing Federation (SMF)

‘The government has responded to the appeal of the business community to continue helping the SMEs in their business transformation for long-term sustainability. We are also greatly encouraged by the government’s initiative in crafting a special healthcare package to acknowledge the contributions of the pioneer generation towards nationbuilding. Taking centrestage in Budget 2014 is the laudable package put together to honour the pioneer generation for their contributions in creating the Singapore of today. We appreciate the government’s special effort to look after the pioneer generation of Singaporeans responsible for building up our nation in the early years of its history. All things considered, the Pioneer Generation Package is a national gesture of honour and respect, in keeping with the Chinese tradition of honouring one’s predecessors whose contributions to the earlier chapters of history deserve a fitting tribute.’
    Thomas Chua, president, Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce & Industry (SCCCI)

‘The Singapore International Chamber of Commerce (SICC) is impressed with Budget 2014’s focus on quality growth and the continued steps to enhance social mobility and inclusiveness. It is no surprise that the government is forging ahead by enhancing measures to encourage increased productivity, innovation and the internationalisation of Singapore companies. This is a necessity for Singapore companies to remain competitive. SICC welcomes the extension of the Productivity and Innovation Credit (PIC) scheme for another three years. SICC agrees with the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance’s comment that productivity is not just about dollars and cents. It is about changing mindsets sector by sector, discarding outdated practices and innovating for a sustainable future. However, as recent pre-Budget surveys have shown, companies continue to struggle with higher business costs and a shortage of manpower. These lead to inflationary pressures which need to be carefully monitored. On the question of manpower, SICC still believes that sector specific calibration of the manpower policy will help companies progress in their productivity journey.’
    SICC

PROPERTY developers and consultants didn't get the rolling back or tweaking of property cooling measures they were hoping for but took things in their stride, after Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam declared: "Given the run-up in prices in the last four years, it is too early to start relaxing our measures. The government will continue to monitor the property market in the coming quarters and adjust our measures when necessary.

"We are not engineering a hard landing. But neither are we able to eliminate cycles in the property market, with upswings in prices in some years followed by corrections."

Property industry players had called for a scaleback of the seven rounds of property cooling since 2009, which rolled out measures such as the seller's stamp duty (to discourage short-term trading in property), additional buyer's stamp duty (targeting property investors and foreign buyers) and lower loan-to-value limits for those taking their second or subsequent home mortgages.

Frasers Centrepoint Homes CEO Cheang Kok Kheong said last night: "I guess they will let the measures run for a couple more quarters before deciding what to do. Right now, the market still has depth. People are still investing. The economy's doing well and there's liquidity."

The group has collected 585 cheques for its 495-unit Rivertrees Residences condo in Sengkang, where sales begin today. The average price is $1,050 psf, compared with slightly over $1,000 psf for the next-door Riverbank@Fernvale released last week.

Chesterton Singapore managing director Donald Han reckons it will take a few consecutive quarters of price contractions before the government scales back cooling measures. The official private home price index has posted only its first quarter-on-quarter drop, of 0.9 per cent, in Q4 2013 since Q1 2012.

The Real Estate Developers' Association of Singapore said it "noted that the government is not engineering a hard landing and will continue to monitor the property market and adjust the cooling measures when necessary".

Addressing the issue of rising rentals for businesses, Mr Tharman noted that "a very large quantity of industrial and shop space is entering the market, and should have a moderating influence over the next few years".

New industrial spaces clustering companies within the same industry will also help SMEs reduce costs through consolidating operations, pooling resources and aggregating demand for delivery and other services.

"For instance, JTC's Food Hub concept will feature an integrated cold room-warehouse shared facility operated by a third party provider who will also provide logistics services. This will not only lower the capital investments needed by SMEs - as they no longer need to invest in their own cold rooms - but also enable them to benefit from more efficient supply chains," said Mr Tharman.

Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce & Industry said: "We are glad that government agencies like JTC and HDB are taking steps to create a pipeline of industrial/commercial space for business. We would hope that some of this space could be extended to SMEs at an affordable rate."

To encourage businesses to maximise land use, the Land Intensification Allowance (LIA), due to expire next year, will be renewed for five years to June 30, 2020. The scheme will also be extended to the logistics sector and businesses carrying out qualifying activities on airport and port land. "When you look at these three new areas joining the LIA scheme, you can see the government's ambition to enhance Singapore's competitiveness as a regional transportation hub," said KPMG tax partner Gan Kwee Lian.

Introduced in Budget 2010 to promote industrial land productivity and higher value-added activities, it allows companies to claim for capital expenditure incurred to construct a qualifying building or structure over 15 years.

From today, the government is streamlining the stamp duty rate structure. Tang Woon Ee, partner, Rodyk & Davidson, said this has only a marginal impact on the amount of stamp duty payable for property purchases, share transfers and mortgage instruments.

As for property leases, there are stamp duty savings for short-term leases of under a year. However, for leases that are over two years but not exceeding three years, there is a significant increase in stamp duty payable. For instance, a three-year lease for an apartment at $3,000 monthly rent attracts $432 stamp duty - 50 per cent more than the $288 under the old system. "Leases beyond three years do not seem to have much difference in stamp duty payable," she added.

The Ministry of Finance noted that currently the stamp duty on a property lease is assessed on the annualised rental amount, regardless of the actual lease period. This means that a one-month lease will bear the same stamp duty amount as a one-year lease, where the monthly rent is the same for both leases. "To ensure consistency in stamp duty treatment across leases of varying tenures", leases up to four years will attract stamp duty of 0.4 per cent of the total rent for the entire lease period. For leases exceeding four years or for any indefinite term, the stamp duty rate is 0.4 per cent of four times the average annual rent for the entire lease period.

Leung Yew Kwong, principal tax consultant at KMPG, said: "The new system uses a percentage of the consideration eg rent or purchase price, which simplifies the computation, whereas the old system was a more complicated way of counting. In fact, many people were already using a decimal system for ease of calculation."

For the Approved Building Project Scheme, a review date, March 31, 2017, has been set. The scheme accords exemption from property tax on land under development, for up to three years, to big industrial building projects supported by the EDB. Typically such projects involve spending of at least $500 million (excluding land costs).

KEY POINTS

Too early to start relaxing property cooling measures

New industrial spaces to cluster SMEs in same industry to help them lower costs by consolidating ops, pooling resources

Land Intensification Allowance Scheme to be renewed, and extended to the logistics sector and businesses carrying out qualifying activities on airport and port land

Streamlining of stamp duty

Review date for Approved Building Project Scheme

many commented both are aimed for 2016 election

1. govt will not allow property price down as much as 20% ... this is suicidal
    2. govt must ensure healthy supply of bto and keep property price check

how to hold the market and yet keep property affordable (aka cheaper than now)
    isn't 1 & 2 is mutually exclusive

Quote Originally Posted by Royston8H View Post
    Expected....things may change perhaps in 2016 when there is an oversupply of property units.

Quote Originally Posted by wt_know View Post
    many commented both are aimed for 2016 election

1. govt will not allow property price down as much as 20% ... this is suicidal
    2. govt must ensure healthy supply of bto and keep property price check

how to hold the market and yet keep property affordable (aka cheaper than now)
    isn't 1 & 2 is mutually exclusive
    initially pple say won't drop, due to 99.999% owners and ge 2016..

now dip, and now say not more than 20%..

it goes on...

owner/seller wants $100 cov
    buyer wants $0 cov

i guess 2011 GE, there are more buyer voters than seller voters ... lol

Quote Originally Posted by jwong71 View Post

it goes on...

Quote Originally Posted by wt_know View Post
    owner/seller wants $100 cov
    buyer wants $0 cov

i guess 2011 GE, there are more buyer voters than seller voters ... lol
    u read papers recently on cuv= cash under valuation..

propertyguru can read up in case u didn't realized.

2012 GE, more buyers than sellers/owners (80-85%) on this island.

sure.?

ok lolx

If don't remove CMs, may crash this year!

But come GE-2016, price will go up again because Owners make up of 90% of citizens!

Quote Originally Posted by jwong71 View Post

it goes on...

vocal minority will decide the day.

(SINGAPORE) Facing steady demand for public housing, the Housing and Development Board (HDB) has almost cleared its stock of unsold flats. The agency also offered more units in the last financial year, incurring a larger deficit in the process.

'We have largely cleared our unsold stock,' said HDB chief executive Tay Kim Poh at a briefing on the board's annual report for FY08/09 ended March. 'We still have some balance units here and there . . . the number is a very small number.'

Based on past reports, HDB held about 1,500 completed units last year, and some 3,500 units in 2007.

http://www.stproperty.sg/articles-pr...red-ceo/a/5154

The property market has a history of repeating itself. I guess that is why they call it the property cycle. There is a huge clamour for flats today, and we can’t seem to build flats fast enough to satisfy demand. Yet, when I became Minister for National Development in 1999, one of my first challenges was to deal with an overhang of more than 31,000 unsold flats.

Almost every year, until 2006, MPs expressed their concerns in Parliament about the unsold stock, and asked what steps HDB was taking to clear it. The Auditor-General’s Office, too, urged HDB to reduce its unsold stock, highlighting the high cost of holding vacant flats. HDB had to come up with all sorts of ways to clear the flats – converting 5-room and executive flats into smaller 2- and 3-room ones, organising roadshows, implementing walk-in selection of the ready flats, and engaging managing agents to rent out unsold flats temporarily.

http://www.mnd.gov.sg/reflections_housing/article3.htm
    Last edited by Arcachon; 28-02-14 at 00:38.

http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/sin...160000618.html

For Private Property

Increased ABSD (Additional Buyer Stamp Duty)
    Higher Cash Down Payment and Tighter LTV (Loan-to-Value)

For Public Housing (HDB/DBSS)

New Mortgage Servicing Ratio (MSR) Cap
    Subletting Restrictions for PRs
    Ownership Restriction for PRs

For Executive Condominiums

Restrictions on Size
    Restrictions on Sale of Dual-Key units

Tharman is very smart. If you withdraw measures now, the market will crash because the foreign funds will leave SG.

Most Foreigners not coming in already after ABSD, how to leave?
    Somehow, my personal feeling is all these ABSD are just short-sighted measures...
    For those foreigners buying, they are only buying OCR condos, pushing up the prices to unsustainable levels, OCR crashing is just a matter of time!

Quote Originally Posted by ecimbew View Post
    Tharman is very smart. If you withdraw measures now, the market will crash because the foreign funds will leave SG.

Most Foreigners not coming in already after ABSD, how to leave?
    Somehow, my personal feeling is all these ABSD are just short-sighted measures...
    For those foreigners buying, they are only buying OCR condos, pushing up the prices to unsustainable levels, OCR crashing is just a matter of time!
    talk cock. OCR are all local KS people go cheong it. as usual everything blame foreigners.

foreign buyers already left Singapore market long ago. all went US n London long ago. wat crap u sprewing

Don't need to deny, I got sources telling me many foreigners now when they buy, mostly buying OCR condos, is it any wonder J Gateway can sell at $1700 psf?

talk cock. OCR are all local KS people go cheong it. as usual everything blame foreigners.

foreign buyers already left Singapore market long ago. all went US n London long ago. wat crap u sprewing

Don't need to deny, I got sources telling me many foreigners now when they buy, mostly buying OCR condos, is it any wonder J Gateway can sell at $1700 psf?

Oh really? Can you show us proof of your sources? Talk is cheap. For ur JGatway I see caveats showing close to 70% are Singaporean buyers. So base on what you say its Push up by foreigners? Pls show ur facts coz talk is so cheap.

u say OCR Foreigners push up price. let me show u another one Urban Vista. 84% Singaporean buyers.

So u mean the 20-30% foregeiners can push up price for 70-80+% Singaporean buyers? WOW.. I did know the price are set by minority buyers!!!! Wow ! wow!
    Last edited by minority; 02-03-14 at 23:42.

Your definition of "Singaporeans" is "Citizens + PRs" right?
    I know that Newspapers usually like to use this definition.

If PRs are not foreigners with respect to "Citizens", then what are they?!
    Otherwise, tell us, PRs can vote in Singapore General Election or not?

Oh really? Can you show us proof of your sources? Talk is cheap. For ur JGatway I see caveats showing close to 70% are Singaporean buyers. So base on what you say its Push up by foreigners? Pls show ur facts coz talk is so cheap.

u say OCR Foreigners push up price. let me show u another one Urban Vista. 84% Singaporean buyers.

So u mean the 20-30% foregeiners can push up price for 70-80+% Singaporean buyers? WOW.. I did know the price are set by minority buyers!!!! Wow ! wow!

Your definition of "Singaporeans" is "Citizens + PRs" right?
    I know that Newspapers usually like to use this definition.

If PRs are not foreigners with respect to "Citizens", then what are they?!
    Otherwise, tell us, PRs can vote in Singapore General Election or not?

XENOPHOBIC Again. So typical.

Why I am not surprised with ur narrow view where u cannot justify is blame some one else as foreign. Shallow , narrow kindness.

So I guess next u will brand me as foreign too ? Wat a joke.

You should just change your sources. They really let you down. Extremely inaccurate I would say. In fact, most OCR are bought by Singaporeans. 75 to 85%. Those properties in CCR are having lesser Singaporeans. Like La Fiesta, 80% Singaporeans. V on Shenton, 62%. Altez I think is like 48%?

Quote Originally Posted by thomastansb View Post
    You should just change your sources. They really let you down. Extremely inaccurate I would say. In fact, most OCR are bought by Singaporeans. 75 to 85%. Those properties in CCR are having lesser Singaporeans. Like La Fiesta, 80% Singaporeans. V on Shenton, 62%. Altez I think is like 48%?
    And like CCR river gate is 32%. CCR are mostly Foreign. OCR are all singaporean cheong it.

What you knew is already outdated, ever since ABSD has been introduced!
    What you are quoting is HISTORY.....
    What I am telling is the CURRENT TREND......
    So simple you also don't understand?

oh really???? WOW...... why am i looking at urban vista with 84% Singaporean ah? That one not OCR???

Even u KPKB J gateway its 70% Singaporean. how u explain that? :bang head: the 30% control the market? LOL.!!!!! wat a joke.

Its so simple to understand u are BULL SHITTING.

What I am telling is the CURRENT TREND...... It will take some time before you see it...
    So simple you also don't understand? You so stupid I have nothing to say!

oh really???? WOW...... why am i looking at urban vista with 84% Singaporean ah? That one not OCR???

Even u KPKB J gateway its 70% Singaporean. how u explain that? :bang head: the 30% control the market? LOL.!!!!! wat a joke.

Its so simple to understand u are BULL SHITTING.

What I am telling is the CURRENT TREND...... It will take some time before you see it...
    So simple you also don't understand? You so stupid I have nothing to say!
    SHOW ME PROOF! Caveats are CURRENT!

YeaH I cannot understand ur BULL. Coz its BULL SHIT.

Caveat will tell you the buyer is citizen or PR or foreigner? Say you are stupid you won't admit?!

SHOW ME PROOF! Caveats are CURRENT!

YeaH I cannot understand ur BULL. Coz its BULL SHIT.

Caveat will tell you the buyer is citizen or PR or foreigner? Say you are stupid you won't admit?!
    BULL SHIT is BULL SHIT. now want to blame foreigners again? XENOPHOBIC!:bang head:

Any yes caveat can tell u SC, PR, Companies buyers. u bay hiao say bay hiao. hao siao say hao siao.

anything cannot explain blame some boogie man.

La Feista outdated? Hmm... I don't know what else to say.

Maybe you can show us your data. Empty talk again?

Some people just like to kpkb without any substantial proof. Let him be la. He can talk and talk but let's just ignore him. Might as well say he is the prime minister. Say only mah.

BULL SHIT is BULL SHIT. now want to blame foreigners again? XENOPHOBIC!:bang head:

Any yes caveat can tell u SC, PR, Companies buyers. u bay hiao say bay hiao. hao siao say hao siao.

anything cannot explain blame some boogie man.

If you so ignorant there is nothing I can say.
    You go to those OCR condos, go find out how many foreigners & PRs living in there vs citizens?
    What you need is for the govt to provide you the necessary data because they have all the data on hand.
    What I can say is what my sources see on the ground. As usual, when it is not good to show, nobody with the real data will show you the data or they will just say "Singaporeans" which is used to mean citizens + PRs......

Some people just like to kpkb without any substantial proof. Let him be la. He can talk and talk but let's just ignore him. Might as well say he is the prime minister. Say only mah.

If you so ignorant there is nothing I can say.
    You go to those OCR condos, go find out how many foreigners & PRs living in there vs citizens?
    thought the discussion was foreigners/PRs buyers of OCR condos, now shifted to foreigners/PRs living in OCR condos?

so foreigner living in OCR = foreigner bought that property in OCR?