Thread: Who are the future buyers for Mass market PC/EC?

Default Who are the future buyers for Mass market PC/EC?

Notice more foreigners are gaining PR and citizenship. Will this increase prime location hdb buyers pool? Foreigners will mostly buy invest grade PC near or city area condo so who are the future carrot head for mass market PC/EC?

Quote Originally Posted by oops View Post
    Notice more foreigners are gaining PR and citizenship. Will this increase prime location hdb buyers pool? Foreigners will mostly buy invest grade PC near or city area condo so who are the future carrot head for mass market PC/EC?

since when did government reopen the flood gate for foreigners?

The gate is still open. 533,100 PR from now to 3 years going to buy HDB apartment.

http://www.singstat.gov.sg/publicati...t/mdsmar14.pdf

Some say these will become PR to support HDB. Others say these will only support PC in prime location. I say its all round support. We are getting PRs and foreigners at all levels. Moreover, for many OCR PCs or ECs it serves upgrading aspirations by locals.

There isn't a problem anywhere - cannot anyhow use the term carrothead.

Location location.

Location also means different things to different people. For e.g. best location for a retiree is different from singles from married couples with kids. It's just not the same thing.

If you ask the Chinese the whole of SG is just 1 location.

Wonder why newer flats are slashing price while older flat in prime location price still holding.

As you said, the newer flats are in lousier OCR location which is over-priced in the first place..........

Wonder why newer flats are slashing price while older flat in prime location price still holding.

There are at least a few more angles to try to understand this.

1. Larger supply versus smaller supply.

2. Lower entry point means lesser interests incurred means can afford to let go at lower price points.

3. Opting to live near parents in matured estates who tend to have entered at lower price points way earlier.

It's not that I don't subscribe to location at all. It's all about cost benefit analysis.

Location location.
    The paradigm has shifted..... Today's location, location, location is different from yesteryears...

And by the way, please look at the ppi (property price index) over the pass 15 years in each location (CCR, RCR, OCR)... All the % increase and decreases are the same leh????

But in each region, some specific sites grow more than others...

HAHAHAHAHAHA

Tell me if rcr and OCR did not grow at same pace, % wise, as CCR???? Hahahahahaha

The fact is price has narrowed. If there is any appreciation, prime location that has absorb the most demand will lead.

Singapore is now selecting higher quality foreigners... it is good for our country.. so I guess city centre will have higher demands....condo will have higher demand than hdb.. my 1 cent

Quote Originally Posted by chestnut View Post
    The paradigm has shifted..... Today's location, location, location is different from yesteryears...

And by the way, please look at the ppi (property price index) over the pass 15 years in each location (CCR, RCR, OCR)... All the % increase and decreases are the same leh????

But in each region, some specific sites grow more than others...

HAHAHAHAHAHA

Tell me if rcr and OCR did not grow at same pace, % wise, as CCR???? Hahahahahaha
    You're beginning to sound like blackjack with all the hahahhahaha (less the big red fonts)

Has the animosity not subsided since the last sparring?

The fact is price has narrowed. If there is any appreciation, prime location that has absorb the most demand will lead.
    This sounds logical.

But do consider that prime prices are still out of reach of the average Joe.

Personally, will consider prime areas for investment and not for living. It's too much of a headache driving in such conditions plus ERP, and it can only get worse by 2030. I avoid Prime areas seven days a week if possible.

Even public transport is tricky in my opinion here.

Quote Originally Posted by Allthepies View Post
    Singapore is now selecting higher quality foreigners... it is good for our country... so I guess city centre will have higher demands....condo will have higher demand than hdb.. my 1 cent
    Actually many of the highly qualified PRs and foreigners I know prefer HDB near workplace. So personally I am not entirely convinced. To run the economy well we definitely need a distribution of different niches and different quality.

When you say price has narrowed are you comparing the highest price of one region against lowest price of another region?

Perhaps a more accurate way to compare will be to compare the price band from different region.

e.g.

CCR could be $4000psf (highest) + $1400psf (lowest) / 2 = $2200psf

OCR could be $1900psf (highest) + $700psf (lowest) / 2 = $1300psf

From my observation, you have finally shown positive interest in the property after quite sometime in negativity.
    Possibly its a sign of market bottom in general

Double post
    Last edited by chestnut; 19-04-14 at 10:51.

Quote Originally Posted by GIG View Post
    From my observation, you have finally shown positive interest in the property after quite sometime in negativity.
    Possibly its a sign of market bottom in general
    Domt scare me leh.... When the pessimistic become optimistic, I scared leh

When everyone is optimistic, it's time for me to take cover....

I am always at ease when I see quite a fair bit of pessimistic people in the forum..... At least I know we have not reached the peak of the 'bubble'. Hahahaha

When everyone is optimistic, I believe we reached euphoria.

Quote Originally Posted by chestnut View Post
    Domt scare me leh.... When the pessimistic become optimistic, I scared leh

When everyone is optimistic, it's time for me to take cover....

I am always at ease when I see quite a fair bit of pessimistic people in the forum..... At least I know we have not reached the peak of the 'bubble'. Hahahaha

When everyone is optimistic, I believe we reached euphoria.
    Dun worry, i m still pessimistic. I will inform you once i feel otherwise.

Ha im always optimistics... im a positive person p

Quote Originally Posted by Pro888 View Post
    Dun worry, i m still pessimistic. I will inform you once i feel otherwise.
    Kum Sia.... You will be first warning defense....

Quote Originally Posted by Allthepies View Post
    Ha im always optimistics... im a positive person p
    Read this if you are an optimistic person

http://voxxi.com/2013/04/12/optimist...affect-health/

Read this if you are a pessimist

http://voxxi.com/2013/04/12/optimist...affect-health/

PR or not PR ... who want to be "carrot head"?

Quote Originally Posted by wt_know View Post
    PR or not PR ... who want to be "carrot head"?
    I sense bro Minority's presence here..

So far, all the expensive $1m HDB flats I know are bought by Singaporeas not PR, so my guess is that most PR will continue to buy affordable HDB in outskirt and mass market condo.

Any property in Singapore that offer good yield and capital appreciation are investment grades.

So far, all the expensive $1m HDB flats I know are bought by Singaporeas not PR, so my guess is that most PR will continue to buy affordable HDB in outskirt and mass market condo.

Any property in Singapore that offer good yield and capital appreciation are investment grades.
    I agree that PR will go for PC/EC with $1m budget. Their reasoning is they still can keep the property when they lost their PR and they can use it as Passive income source in the future/their retirement.

Pawnshop , maxi-cash -> they might be potential white knights for these property types

Quote Originally Posted by Molotov View Post
    I sense bro Minority's presence here..
    looking for Muah?