Thread: which area will u buy

Smile which area will u buy

Hi all senior, which area will you buy if you have
    - 500k (cash)
    - First time buyer
    - buying for own stay
    - 2 bedded

Thanks for all your kind input and advice .

Not a senior but for buying for own stay, it really depends on yourself....

For investment, I would recommend resale MM in CBD area....

Quote Originally Posted by Allthepies View Post
    Not a senior but for buying for own stay, it really depends on yourself....

For investment, I would recommend resale MM in CBD area....
    i would recommend Geylang.....it would only take 10 mins to reach CBD by taking MRT....

CCR or RCR.

Buy redhill area...

Since is for own stay, 500k wont get you anything decent for pte properties. better stick with hdb.

xebay11 is offline New Launch Project Specialist

Quote Originally Posted by leesg123 View Post
    Since is for own stay, 500k wont get you anything decent for pte properties. better stick with hdb.
    Even then $500 k can barely even get a decent HDB.

Quote Originally Posted by leesg123 View Post
    He said 500k cash, take 60 to 70% loan becomes 1.2 to 1.6m budget.

Quote Originally Posted by xebay11 View Post
    Even then $500 k can barely even get a decent HDB.
    Can still get a 3 room resale HDB flat. First time buyer, buy direct from HDB is cheaper. I think still can get a 4 or 5 rooms HDB flat depending on the locations.

Do you have CPF? If you have, no problem, can use part of your $500k as down payment and the rest from bank loan, then use your CPF to pay your monthly instalments but if you only have $500k, then it might be a bit tough to get a decent pte ppty especially in CCR. Maybe still can get a mm unit in RCR or OCR.

Quote Originally Posted by irisng View Post
    Can still get a 3 room resale HDB flat. First time buyer, buy direct from HDB is cheaper. I think still can get a 4 or 5 rooms HDB flat depending on the locations.

Do you have CPF? If you have, no problem, can use part of your $500k as down payment and the rest from bank loan, then use your CPF to pay your monthly instalments but if you only have $500k, then it might be a bit tough to get a decent pte ppty especially in CCR. Maybe still can get a mm unit in RCR or OCR.
    Im not qualify to buy hdb as I'm currently single. Hopefully i can get a gd city fringe condo, but im unsure which area will be gd? Toa payoh, bishan, redhill, tiong bahru, habour front? And should i go for 99 lease hold or free hold.

Thanks for all the input. It really help me, keep it coming

$500k probably can only get 1bedder (< 500sqft) private condo (2bedder, impossible) and forget about city fringe.

unless you are talking about $500k cash + $500k loan, then probably can get a private condo 2bedder that is slightly below $1M. and again, forget city fringe.

Quote Originally Posted by bacteria View Post
    Im not qualify to buy hdb as I'm currently single. Hopefully i can get a gd city fringe condo, but im unsure which area will be gd? Toa payoh, bishan, redhill, tiong bahru, habour front? And should i go for 99 lease hold or free hold.

Those areas that you mentioned are good locations but it is very unlikely that you can get a unit there with just $500k cash unless you have CPF and a decent salary to back you up. You need to calculate your budget before you commit.

yalor ... the hdb at those areas already selling above $500k ...

Quote Originally Posted by irisng View Post
    Those areas that you mentioned are good locations but it is very unlikely that you can get a unit there with just $500k cash unless you have CPF and a decent salary to back you up. You need to calculate your budget before you commit.

I think my budget is around 1.3mil (inclusive of bank loan + cash). I do not have CPF to further back me up.

seem like its a bit hard to purchase city fring ppty with what i have.

appreciate everyone for the advice, am i over stretching myself?

I think my budget is around 1.3mil (inclusive of bank loan + cash). I do not have CPF to further back me up.

1.3mil budget means you are taking about 60% loan, right? After factoring stamp duty, i say your actual budget is probably around 1.25mil.
    60% loan is quite safe, you are not over stretching.

Just saw Eight@ riversuits ura Aprils trxn. There is a $800k 936sqf 3 bedder super low floor unit transacted. if u dun mind blocked view, can check it out.
    Just Do It! 要拼才会赢!

Ok, with 1.2-1.3m budget, you can go for freehold CCR development at prime river valley area, compact 2 bedder such as RV Edge, Loft@Nathan, RV Residences.

Thanks august for assurance.

I did checkout eight riversuit before. I like its location and its really quite fair price, only concern is the number of unit to facilities and new condo do have limited parking lots.

I intend to stay with my parents we have two cars, so that maybe a problem.

Alex residences, 2 bedder, think should be 1.2mil or less.

Personally i still prefer resale, new launches these days suffer from "shrinkage", and have lesser facilities and car lots.

If there is no rush, i will give it another 6 mths before buying.

Yup no rush. I Belong to the MTB grp , already waited for couple of yrs already, dun mind to wait for another 6- 12mths

Hi all senior, which area will you buy if you have
    - 500k (cash)
    - First time buyer
    - buying for own stay
    - 2 bedded

Thanks for all your kind input and advice .
    Got two car better to buy Malaysia FH landed.

sky habitat la, got discount cum new layout

Yup no rush. I Belong to the MTB grp , already waited for couple of yrs already, dun mind to wait for another 6- 12mths
    U should start looking asap...it especially a good time for first timers to buy... most of the CMs r beneficial to first time buyers... there r sufficient fears in the market to ensure u r not buying at the peak... wait no longer...

Quote Originally Posted by Cyberknight View Post
    Just saw Eight@ riversuits ura Aprils trxn. There is a $800k 936sqf 3 bedder super low floor unit transacted. if u dun mind blocked view, can check it out.
    The one transacted is for a 1 bedder, first floor loft unit with pes.

Can consider Commonwealth Towers. Superb location and sheltered link to MRT. It just like living in a section of the MRT sation but fully luxurious at the same time .

if you are planning to stay with your parents, which is a very good thought, you need 900 sf and abv 2 bedder, hopefully w/o bomb shelter, bay window, big balcony.

RCR older condos should be able to find.

where to buy is very subjective when it comes to own stay, esp. for older folks. my folks come what may must stay east for eg.

but bro, assuming your parents still can sort of take care of themselves, and you are still young and eventually will be taking care of them, I strongly suggest you move out on your own, and enjoy a nice fark pad for a few years....

Thanks for the input seniors, seem like only new launch price is coming down, resales market still holding. Personally i prefer resale due to the bigger useable space

I hope to be able to move in within 12-16mths time so not looking at those very new projects which will not TOP so soon

I have screen down to the following few can give me some advice on the following.

Goldenhill park condo
    Trellis tower
    Luma
    Rv residence
    Zenith @zion
    Harbourlight

Which one will be a better buy

if freehold, city fringe and affordable than other freehold city fringe....try Geylang.

personally i feel which district isnt tat impt, but near mrt is perceived as far more impt in sg.
    I hardly take mrt but i will nvr consider a project > 5 mins fm the mrt.

LH or FH de $ will differ around $150k hence it is really how much u hv.

i dun conclude if a particular area is gd or bad. it is the amt of $ u pay tat determines if the ppty is gd value onot.
    say u paid a 30% premium (for no gd reason) for a prime district proj, no doubt the area is gd. but ppl will still find u stupid rite?
    Last edited by 玉格格; 18-05-14 at 14:44.

Your choices are FH in good locations.

Prices for resale should be coming down over the next 12 months with new launches price now at close to the asking prices of resale units. Give the resale market sometime to adjust because property price is inelastic.

Since you plan to move in 12 to 16 months later, next year maybe a better time to look at resales.

Thanks for the input seniors, seem like only new launch price is coming down, resales market still holding. Personally i prefer resale due to the bigger useable space

I hope to be able to move in within 12-16mths time so not looking at those very new projects which will not TOP so soon

I have screen down to the following few can give me some advice on the following.

Goldenhill park condo
    Trellis tower
    Luma
    Rv residence
    Zenith @zion
    Harbourlight

Which one will be a better buy