Thread: Donation needed for "Poor Family"

Default Donation needed for "Poor Family"

Any kind soul.

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/sin...broke-20140608

$1m gone in one year: Widow of killed Changi Airport worker is now broke.

Any kind soul.

I can pay for the child school fee.
    But I wun trust my $ with the mother again.

Any kind soul.

This is why we need cpf. People just don't know how to manage their money.

that is what i am most afraid of..

which is the reason i ask the experts around on how best to protect from praying vulture.

sad day for the kids, could have had a decent future

how can give away money to brother to buy lorry and then go zero in return? Worst case sell their lorry also can get back 50% of the value.

Perhaps she and her brother cooking this up and hope for another round of donation?

how can give away money to brother to buy lorry and then go zero in return? Worst case sell their lorry also can get back 50% of the value.

Perhaps she and her brother cooking this up and hope for another round of donation?
    Bro malaysia lorry don't cost so much. Maybe money gone in gaming in genting as they went holiday there.

Remind me of Huang Na mom...but at least she smarter and build a 3 storey house if I remem correctly...

Quote Originally Posted by star View Post
    Bro malaysia lorry don't cost so much. Maybe money gone in gaming in genting as they went holiday there.
    depending what type of lorry. if its those imported tipper truck or trailer, it is possible.

but what about the last $400k that she withdrew which lasted her only 5 months?

surely she doesn't spend RM > 200k a month? how did she spend it all?

Based on what she said in the news
    "My expenses came up to RM5,000 to RM6,000. Where do I find the money?" -

For ease of calculation make it S$3K/mth. S$400K can last her family for more than 10yrs but she spent it all in 5 months.

And her answer is "I also don't know how I finished (using) the money," she said.

dont deserved help. she need to go work.

Quote Originally Posted by PN View Post
    Based on what she said in the news
    "My expenses came up to RM5,000 to RM6,000. Where do I find the money?" -

For ease of calculation make it S$3K/mth. S$400K can last her family for more than 10yrs but she spent it all in 5 months.

And her answer is "I also don't know how I finished (using) the money," she said.
    That's why there are a lot of ambiguities

In business you don't buy 3 lorries using all cash (S$400k) which I doubt
    lorry are so expensive
    Even if used cash for the lorries
    after 1 year when company fold, 3 lorries depreciate to ZERO ?

so much discrepancies

She gave some of it away to relatives when she returned to her hometown in Kedah, then spent a portion of it on a holiday in Genting Highlands with her family. She also lost a chunk of it to a bad business investment - all in the span of a year.
    I think that's the main culprit- bad business investment.

Abt Rm 2M gone in a yr....

Why she did not buy a house for roof?

Still paying rm 1k monthly for rental....

Mindset stuck in POOR thinking, will alway squander any excess money.

Wonder since she is ashamed to face her donors in Singapore, why posts in paper again? Seeking for 2nd chance ???

Worth helping? ???

Think deeper.....who can really HELP them?
    Just Do It! 要拼才会赢!

Quote Originally Posted by Cyberknight View Post
    Worth helping? ???

Many philanthropists in Spore. One of them is Peter Lim who gives a lot to charity.

Whether he thinks this case is worth helping? that's another matter.
    Last edited by condoviewer; 09-06-14 at 09:11.

Worth helping? ???
    The children are innocent and definitely worth helping.
    Giving huge cash donation is not a solution.
    The mother has emotional needs and will need counselling and good community support to help her rebuild the future.

Send her to a financial education boot camp. Even if donate again, 1 year later still all gone.

Sometimes its the relatives who want a share of the money

alot of discrepancies there... i hate to say this, but i tink it could be a scam to 'cheat' singaporean's donations..

imagine she spent a big chunk of monies and realised finishing soon.... den maybe her so called 'brother' advise her to come back sg to tell a sad stories and hope for more donations..

if she's alone, most pple will not donate, but if she come with 4 kids.. pple will feel differently...
    Ong lai ah!

What was she thinking? If her living expenses is RM6k a month, that money could have last her 40 years.. And didnt even use that money to buy a roof over her head?

I agree is that her mindset is that she does not know how to manage her money as she has been living paycheque to paycheque throughout her life.

Not worth helping lah. She deserve to be poor. One million dollars. How many ppl can have one million cash but she spent in one year. Why she need 5k mthly in Msia? And she spent 400k in half year. Well done!

Quote Originally Posted by OLY99 View Post
    Not worth helping lah. She deserve to be poor. One million dollars. How many ppl can have one million cash but she spent in one year. Why she need 5k mthly in Msia? And she spent 400k in half year. Well done!
    There are honestly more Singaporeans out there deserving of help, esp those with ailments and those on financial assistance schemes. This lady needs to be taught to fish, not be given one..

Having too much cash is too much temptation. Its not because we are dumb, its just human nature. Money by nature is neutral. However it amplified what we really are, good or bad. That is one reason why I bought properties. To safe me from myself.

Quote Originally Posted by star View Post
    This is why we need cpf. People just don't know how to manage their money.
    She is malaysian lor.

What does she got to do with our cpf?

Quote Originally Posted by darkseed73 View Post
    She is malaysian lor.

What does she got to do with our cpf?
    be it msian, singaporean, angmo or watever, the tendency is to spend first whenever some one is given a big sum of money...
    Ong lai ah!

$1mil can be used to help many poor Singapore families.

Give 5k each that will be 200 families benefited

I believe these 200 families will appreciate the 5k help they gotten and use them carefully and more wisely.

Quote Originally Posted by PN View Post
    $1mil can be used to help many poor Singapore families.

Give 5k each that will be 200 families benefited

I believe these 200 families will appreciate the 5k help they gotten and use them carefully and more wisely.
    not necessary. usually $ that is not from hard work most people treat it as windfall. must reward one self a bit. if not the $5000 stare at it sit in bank can be very itchy.. can get nightmare for some .

My father got money in the Bank will fall sick.

So poor thing. I can offer my help by giving him a bank account# to transfer the money over.

It is well documented that if you have a sudden windfall, you will get yourself into a lot of trouble. There are cases of people striking lotteries and then becoming paupers in a short span of time.

Which goes back to the question. There are so many cases where Singaporeans donate generously to hardship / tragic cases highlighted in the papers. The Indian worker who died in the Serangoon riot; the China lady who was dismembered (Liu Hong Mei) etc. No one holds them accountable for the money donated to them.

Abt Rm 2M gone in a yr....

Why she did not buy a house for roof?

Still paying rm 1k monthly for rental....

Mindset stuck in POOR thinking, will alway squander any excess money.

Wonder since she is ashamed to face her donors in Singapore, why posts in paper again? Seeking for 2nd chance ???

Worth helping? ???

If buying a house didn't come to her mind, she can always place part of the sum into fixed deposit, though interest is low.

I thought her brother also has a share in the business? Looks like she is the one who paid everything and when winding up, her brother took everything.