Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 2345678910 LastLast

Thread: Potential of Telok Kurau Area? Your Views

Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered111
    So your father paid for your unit. What a show-off Anyway, why would anyone be prepared to pay 2000psf for a place in Telok Kurau? No offence, but it is indeed overpriced with no views, no facilities, poor finishings, cramped environment etc. Singapore is so small, it doesn't hurt to look further out than be so fixated on being a daddy's boy and living so near daddy. But like you say, your family is so rich and got money to throw around. Anyway, lucky chap!
    Acutally i was trying to quote a example . Not refering to mi though. JUst wanna point out to that guy that actually there are also rich guys who are SINGAPOREANs , who love "mayb" their childhood days in TK or mayb other Places . Thats why dun always point to ang moh , ONli them can afford . Which is unfair to Us.

Sour Grapes Guest

Quote Originally Posted by jaded
    Acutally i was trying to quote a example . Not refering to mi though. JUst wanna point out to that guy that actually there are also rich guys who are SINGAPOREANs , who love "mayb" their childhood days in TK or mayb other Places . Thats why dun always point to ang moh , ONli them can afford . Which is unfair to Us.
    Hi Jaded, there are a lot of sour grapes in this forum. They are all NATO (No Action Talk Only). They like to talk big about buying units in prime districts, staying in big development condos with big pool (which in other words, not much different from a mini HDB estate).

U dun need to explain to them abt your choice and try be nice. Afterall, it is ur money, not theirs, but i doubt some of them even have the bucks to buy a HDB flat.

Love TK Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Sour Grapes
    Hi Jaded, there are a lot of sour grapes in this forum. They are all NATO (No Action Talk Only). They like to talk big about buying units in prime districts, staying in big development condos with big pool (which in other words, not much different from a mini HDB estate).

U dun need to explain to them abt your choice and try be nice. Afterall, it is ur money, not theirs, but i doubt some of them even have the bucks to buy a HDB flat.
    I agree, why bother to defend TK... Res ipsa loquitur!

Those who poured scorn may not even step into TK to be privity to the estate and its surronding yet make comments as if they lived there for the longest time.

Sports Guest

Isn't Telok Kurau with NO facilities and so tightly cramped together with poor finishing more similar to HDB? The key difference between a condo and HDB is that a condo provide superior finishing with full suite of facilities - swimming pool, tennis courts, putting green, entertainment room, function room, playground within the privacy of an estate and under security that truly belongs to you. I hope people can take both positive and negative comment. No need to call people sour grapes. People are just highlighting their preference for more space within their estate - which I think is a fair observation. And bear in mind, there are people who do sports like tennis and swimming, so tiny developments in TK with bearly any facilities probably will not appeal to them. From an owner perspective, this means your pool of potential buyers are smaller. But I note that many Singaporeans are not sporty to begin with, so well, different strokes for different folks.

Quote Originally Posted by Sour Grapes

To each his own.... Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Sports
    Isn't Telok Kurau with NO facilities and so tightly cramped together with poor finishing more similar to HDB? The key difference between a condo and HDB is that a condo provide superior finishing with full suite of facilities - swimming pool, tennis courts, putting green, entertainment room, function room, playground within the privacy of an estate and under security that truly belongs to you. I hope people can take both positive and negative comment. No need to call people sour grapes. People are just highlighting their preference for more space within their estate - which I think is a fair observation. And bear in mind, there are people who do sports like tennis and swimming, so tiny developments in TK with bearly any facilities probably will not appeal to them. From an owner perspective, this means your pool of potential buyers are smaller. But I note that many Singaporeans are not sporty to begin with, so well, different strokes for different folks.
    Res ipsa loquitur indeed!

More space = more units = more ppl

It is about the same lah.....

Unregistered1223 Guest

Many saddist here.

Pls give negative comments in a more polite manner. Do not talk lowly and degrade yourself.

Every projects deemed to have their pros n cons.

Post constructive comments and not childish ones.

I especially dislike those who talk up or down the market. They are simply losers.

Headache Guest

So a 4-storey HDB flat is more "exclusive" than a 20-storey HDB flat? If the 20-storey HDB has lots of space around it, isn't it nicer and more conducive than 4-storey HDB flats squeezed altogether? I use HDB flat as example as just like Telok Kurau condos, they have hardly any facilities. Low-lying doesn't mean exclusive - u see people rushing to buy 4 storey HDB or not? So many condos squeezed all together with not much land in between, can be quite clautrophobic there. I see Telok Kurau in the street directory also headache - how can any place be so crowded together? No breathing space at all.

Quote Originally Posted by To each his own....
    Res ipsa loquitur indeed!

More space = more units = more ppl

It is about the same lah.....

Unregistered55555 Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Headache
    So a 4-storey HDB flat is more "exclusive" than a 20-storey HDB flat? If the 20-storey HDB has lots of space around it, isn't it nicer and more conducive than 4-storey HDB flats squeezed altogether? I use HDB flat as example as just like Telok Kurau condos, they have hardly any facilities. Low-lying doesn't mean exclusive - u see people rushing to buy 4 storey HDB or not? So many condos squeezed all together with not much land in between, can be quite clautrophobic there. I see Telok Kurau in the street directory also headache - how can any place be so crowded together? No breathing space at all.
    Well, a 4 storey HDB Flat when waiting for the lift to get up or down only has 4 families using it while a 20 storey has 20 families!

Same thing, 20 storey flat may hv bigger swimming pool but more pple are using it or queueing to use it.

Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. Some view exclusivity as lesser users and more private and quiet while some view exclusivity as having more facilities but comes with the noise and waiting factor.

Lame Sports Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Sports
    I wonder how long u hv to wait in a condo in order to successfully book the tennis court. Pls dun sound like the large swimming pool or tennis court is always vacant and exclusively available for u as and when u want to use it once u buy a unit in a large condo with full facilities.

Unregistered1111 Guest

I think the main selling pt for telok kurau area is the whole area is exclusively for pte properties only...So, I think it can be 'exclusive' in such aspect. Surrounded by landed and apts can be a gd advantage.

However, the drawback is lack of facilities. Well, small apts attracts certain niche buyers who dont like crowded areas and do not need the facilities. In small developments, u tend to know ur neighbour better and u have more say on the management aspect.

It is also easier to get enbloced compare to big developments above 300units as u can see over in the newspaper whereby residents r bitching over enbloc issues.

For HDB upgradders, boutique apts in telok kurau most likely will not be your cup of tea as it is not near amenties and MRT..furthermore, usually they upgrade to condo becoz of the facilities.

To each his own Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Headache
    A 4 storey is definately more exclusive than a 12 storey flat. Any kid can tell you that. If anything, for lesser ppl around.

() Guest

all these new projects in TK only apartment status but people r payng condo price, wat is rationale? U guys shud stop fooling urselves wth district numbers coz it just aint worth the buy. U enbloc 2 or 3 semi Ds and build 10 to 20 apartments in that tiny space, so is it value for money? At least if u have facilities and pte space it is mre worthwhile
    Quote Originally Posted by To each his own
    A 4 storey is definately more exclusive than a 12 storey flat. Any kid can tell you that. If anything, for lesser ppl around.

(..) Guest

Quote Originally Posted by ()
    all these new projects in TK only apartment status but people r payng condo price, wat is rationale? U guys shud stop fooling urselves wth district numbers coz it just aint worth the buy. U enbloc 2 or 3 semi Ds and build 10 to 20 apartments in that tiny space, so is it value for money? At least if u have facilities and pte space it is mre worthwhile
    Yeah sure... go ahead and share your facility and space with the enlarged community.. no argument with that.. some ppl prefer less space and less ppl... tell me, what business is that of yours?

haves and have nots Guest

in our material world there are 2 groups, the haves and the have nots and nobody is bothered about like or don't like. Most people would rather have smethng n choose nt to use it rather than choose nt to have and when they want to use it, they dont have it.
    Quote Originally Posted by (..)
    Yeah sure... go ahead and share your facility and space with the enlarged community.. no argument with that.. some ppl prefer less space and less ppl... tell me, what business is that of yours?

haves Guest

Quote Originally Posted by haves and have nots
    in our material world there are 2 groups, the haves and the have nots and nobody is bothered about like or don't like. Most people would rather have smethng n choose nt to use it rather than choose nt to have and when they want to use it, they dont have it.
    On the contrary.. the haves does make references to likes.....

have vs have nots Guest

when u have something, u can say u dont like it and avoid criticism.
    Quote Originally Posted by haves
    On the contrary.. the haves does make references to likes.....

Wonder? Guest

Better than no facility, and got to use PUBLIC facilities shared with the whole of Singapore. That is the fact of Telok Kurau. If you want to take a stroll in a garden, you have to go public parks accessible to 4 million people, you have to use public pools share by 4 million people and public tennis courts available for 4 million people. A private condo with facilities means the tennis court is at worst shared by 300 people. Which is more exclusive? I know you're going to say not all 4 million people will use the same tennis court, but similarly not all 300 people use the condo pool. At a ratio of 300:1 and 4,000,000:1 which is more exclusive?

Quote Originally Posted by (..)

Alice in Wonderland Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Wonder?
    Better than no facility, and got to use PUBLIC facilities shared with the whole of Singapore. That is the fact of Telok Kurau. If you want to take a stroll in a garden, you have to go public parks accessible to 4 million people, you have to use public pools share by 4 million people and public tennis courts available for 4 million people. A private condo with facilities means the tennis court is at worst shared by 300 people. Which is more exclusive? I know you're going to say not all 4 million people will use the same tennis court, but similarly not all 300 people use the condo pool. At a ratio of 300:1 and 4,000,000:1 which is more exclusive?
    To be fair, one should weigh the population density within the area of development to determine exclusiveness.

Squeezing 300 families in a plot of land size of 60000 sq ft gets u 200 sq ft per family.

Whereas you may find in Telok Kurau 30 families squeezing in a plot of land size of 20000 sq ft gets u 666 sq ft per family.

What you are buying is probably air space when building gets higher up while others may get land space.

Air is free in Singapore but not land.

You are better off joining a fitness club or country club if you like facilities so much more than your entitled personal paid space.

don't fool yourself Guest

wth a land size of 2000 sf, even if u have 1 family living there, it is damn small. There is hardly anywhere to go for a stroll in the pte compound. For a hi rise condo wth 300 units n land area of 60000sf, residents can enjoy the wonderful airspace offering good views and have a gd relaxing stroll in the large compound after a meal. Some condos have hi rise observation decks wth nice views that low rise developmts never get to enjoy. U can calculate ur ratios and console urself that TK apartments offer each household a bigger area but TK apts are neither here nor there as it is neither landed property and neither does it have facilities to be calld condo.
    Quote Originally Posted by Alice in Wonderland
    To be fair, one should weigh the population density within the area of development to determine exclusiveness.

Squeezing 300 families in a plot of land size of 60000 sq ft gets u 200 sq ft per family.

Whereas you may find in Telok Kurau 30 families squeezing in a plot of land size of 20000 sq ft gets u 666 sq ft per family.

What you are buying is probably air space when building gets higher up while others may get land space.

You are better off joining a fitness club or country club if you like facilities so much more than your entitled personal paid space.

don't fool yourself Guest

wth a land size of 3 to 4000 sf, even if u have a few families living there, it is too small to even move around. There is hardly anywhere to go for a stroll in the pte compound. For a hi rise condo wth 200 units n land area of 60000sf, residents can enjoy the wonderful airspace offering good views and have a gd relaxing stroll in the large compound after a meal. Some condos have hi rise observation decks wth nice views that low rise developmts never get to enjoy. U can calculate ur ratios and console urself that TK apartments offer each household a bigger area but TK apts are neither here nor there as it is neither landed property and neither does it have facilities to be calld condo. To me TK is a waste of time.
    Quote Originally Posted by Alice in Wonderland

U fool yourself Guest

Quote Originally Posted by don't fool yourself
    wth a land size of 3 to 4000 sf, even if u have a few families living there, it is too small to even move around. There is hardly anywhere to go for a stroll in the pte compound. For a hi rise condo wth 200 units n land area of 60000sf, residents can enjoy the wonderful airspace offering good views and have a gd relaxing stroll in the large compound after a meal. Some condos have hi rise observation decks wth nice views that low rise developmts never get to enjoy. U can calculate ur ratios and console urself that TK apartments offer each household a bigger area but TK apts are neither here nor there as it is neither landed property and neither does it have facilities to be calld condo. To me TK is a waste of time.
    Firstly, for u to read and cast -ve comment on this thread, u are already wasting your time here while u should be reading at other threads which have your-so-called perceived big development projects.

TK is just a stone throw away from the beach and there you find thousands of sq ft of land with facilities for one to enjoy. The proximity to town via ECP is a definite plus.

For the same amt of dough, you may be able to find a 300 unit project with some facilities shared by 300 families but located in the suburbs many kms away and surrounded left right centre by public housing. Going to the beach and town is no go for you, and that the only thing u can possibly hope for is to use the facilities in your development during your leisure time on a wkend while many other neighbours are hoping the same too.

Of cos, u can say why located in the suburbs? But take a clear look ard the marine parade area, is there any big developments priced same as TK? One cent one quality. Period. The choice is simple and decisive. You have the dough, u can buy watever you like. U dun hv the dough and try to talk big here, pls keep the day dream and nonsense to yourself. U just fooled yourself only. Pathetic.

Probability Guest

The probability of a 300 units development hitting the swimming pool at anytime as compared to the probability of a 30 units development is 10 times more. But is the pool ten times larger in the 300 units development????

What's the probability of one able to find the pool unoccupied at all at any time in a 300 units development vs a 30 units development?

Using the whole island of Singapore as a comparison to a 300 unit development, how many public swimming pools are there in Singapore?

And as one said, people who buy TK is not bothered with the facilities it provides. So chances of anyone using them at all is very low versus another who bought a unit in a 300 units development would like to enjoy and make good use of the so called exclusive facilities more. Then wouldn't all the 300 families within the said development think the same as you and end crowd the pool at all times?

Simple no brainer mathematics :-)

not everyone jump into the pool at the same time

willing Guest

true i agree

Exclusive Guest

Quote Originally Posted by buy
    Does it make a difference? Everyone uses the lift at the same time during wkdays morning. If u stay on high floor, wait til neck long for lift to come. Or if u stay low to mid floor, every now and then the lift is full by the time it comes.

Exclusivity and Probability is measured by the number of users or by the population density per facility, not by the variety of facilities. Still dun get it? Sigh...

Sell Guest

Quote Originally Posted by buy
    Yah, 300 families - If every other family invites a group of friends and relatives over for wkend fun, u can imagine how congested the pool is. Like CBD traffic, need to implement ERP wor! Haha!

Suburbia Guest

Telok Kurau is a suburb. Not sure why you look down on suburbs? TK is not near to town or Orchard at all. Look at the Singapore map. Many other areas are closer to Orchard than Telok Kurau - D19, D20, D21, D23, D12, D13, D14 etc. So I wonder why you say going to town is a no-go for these people? Actually 300 units is not crowded at all. I'm living in a 200+ unit condo and most of the time, the pool, tennis courts and gym are empty. I don't usually swim at the beach though, I find it too polluted. Anyway, my pool is really large enough - as big as the swimming pool in Shangri La You're right in the sense that I hardly use public facilities, because my condo is quite well equipped. Anyway, as someone rightly say, Telok Kurau residents usually don't do sports, therefore the tennis courts etc. is not important. To each his own. But please do NOT look down on "suburbs" because in many ways, Telok Kurau is quite an suburb isn't it? As for disdain for HDB, I rest my case. TK property prices are quite low on a psf basis. In fact, cheaper than many so-called suburbs. So who are you to look down on them?

Quote Originally Posted by U fool yourself
    Firstly, for u to read and cast -ve comment on this thread, u are already wasting your time here while u should be reading at other threads which have your-so-called perceived big development projects.

TK is just a stone throw away from the beach and there you find thousands of sq ft of land with facilities for one to enjoy. The proximity to town via ECP is a definite plus.

For the same amt of dough, you may be able to find a 300 unit project with some facilities shared by 300 families but located in the suburbs many kms away and surrounded left right centre by public housing. Going to the beach and town is no go for you, and that the only thing u can possibly hope for is to use the facilities in your development during your leisure time on a wkend while many other neighbours are hoping the same too.

Of cos, u can say why located in the suburbs? But take a clear look ard the marine parade area, is there any big developments priced same as TK? One cent one quality. Period. The choice is simple and decisive. You have the dough, u can buy watever you like. U dun hv the dough and try to talk big here, pls keep the day dream and nonsense to yourself. U just fooled yourself only. Pathetic.

Unregistered111 Guest

Telok Kurau is at the far end of D15. It is further from town and prime districts 9 10, 11 than many other areas. Other areas closer to town would include D4, D5 etc. Actually most of Singapore residential areas are not that far out. E.g. D19 can be large, but many residentials at the lower end of D19 would be much nearer to town than Telok Kurau. Do not be fooled by the district no. when it comes to proximity to town. Bear in mind Singapore is wide. So those to the far east will be furthest from town.

Near is near Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered111
    Telok Kurau is at the far end of D15. It is further from town and prime districts 9 10, 11 than many other areas. Other areas closer to town would include D4, D5 etc. Actually most of Singapore residential areas are not that far out. E.g. D19 can be large, but many residentials at the lower end of D19 would be much nearer to town than Telok Kurau. Do not be fooled by the district no. when it comes to proximity to town. Bear in mind Singapore is wide. So those to the far east will be furthest from town.
    3 mins from TK to ECP and 10 mins later, you are at Suntec City/City Hall.

City Fringe Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Suburbia
    Telok Kurau is a suburb. Not sure why you look down on suburbs? TK is not near to town or Orchard at all. Look at the Singapore map. Many other areas are closer to Orchard than Telok Kurau - D19, D20, D21, D23, D12, D13, D14 etc. So I wonder why you say going to town is a no-go for these people? Actually 300 units is not crowded at all. I'm living in a 200+ unit condo and most of the time, the pool, tennis courts and gym are empty. I don't usually swim at the beach though, I find it too polluted. Anyway, my pool is really large enough - as big as the swimming pool in Shangri La You're right in the sense that I hardly use public facilities, because my condo is quite well equipped. Anyway, as someone rightly say, Telok Kurau residents usually don't do sports, therefore the tennis courts etc. is not important. To each his own. But please do NOT look down on "suburbs" because in many ways, Telok Kurau is quite an suburb isn't it? As for disdain for HDB, I rest my case. TK property prices are quite low on a psf basis. In fact, cheaper than many so-called suburbs. So who are you to look down on them?
    D15 is considered City Fringe, not Suburbs for your info. See the index of this forum. We can bet you that we reach town faster than u than if u r in D19 and above or watsoever suburbs. We're not looking down on suburbs but being surrounded by private housing left right centre and surrounded by public housing has totally different feel. Disdain folks come in here to cast negative comment on TK, they are the ones looking down on TK, but worst still they talk big only. Say TK small, no facilities...pls look at the mirror yourself before spurting rubbish. Can you afford it? Please state the facts right.