http://propertysoul.com/2015/01/30/p...in-old-houses/

The secret of profiting from old houses

January 30, 2015

The following is an abstract from my book No B.S. Guide to Property Investment, currently in its third print after it was first published nine months ago.

How a property plastic surgeon makes his fortune

My neighbor Sam runs his own family business that specializes in additions and alterations work for old houses.

Apart from his business, Sam also has a flair for property investment. Once he shared with me his secret of making money from properties.

“Everyone knows that I am a contractor. But few know that I am also a plastic surgeon.”

He continued, “And I am really good at what I do. Just look at how I’ve helped my patients to hold back the years and restore their charm and beauty … except my patients are not people but properties.” He said with a chuckle on his face.

In his spare time, Sam likes to drive around the neighborhood, looking for old and run-down properties for sale. If he identifies any old house with good potential, he will negotiate hard to buy at a bargain price.

Then he starts his ‘beauty’ project to repair, refurbish and renovate the house, before selling it for a profit.

Why few are interested in buy and fix

This ‘buy, fix and flip’ real estate investment strategy may be popular in western countries. But Sam agrees that this is not the cup of tea for property investors in Asia.

“Most people don’t have the time, budget and expertise to do it. People who are financially well-off don’t want to get their hands dirty. Why would they spend time to learn to do these unpleasant tasks if they could get a contractor, painter, plumber or electrician to do it for a small fee?”