Thread: Investors caught in '$60m ponzi scam'

Default Investors caught in '$60m ponzi scam'

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/sin...-scam-20150524

BY JOANNA SEOW

It started out as a sweet deal involving the buying and selling of properties in Singapore's choicest districts, promising around 30 per cent returns.

Now, around 60 investors have come forward to claim they have been duped in what could be a multi-million-dollar ponzi scam.

The investors said the alleged mastermind behind the elaborate scheme, Ms Leong Lai Yee, owes investors more than $60 million in capital alone.

They also told The Sunday Times that the woman, who is in her 50s, cut off contact with them last weekend, but not before telling them that their money was gone and she wanted to take her own life.

At least 10 investors have lodged police reports. The police said in response to queries: "It is inappropriate to comment on investigations."

The scheme may have started unravelling only last year, but it has been going on some 15 years.

Through the period, Ms Leong allegedly hooked more than 100 investors with her promise of a virtually no-risk programme.

On the "advice" of a banker, she would buy distressed properties in Orchard, Tanglin and Newton, which are on the verge of being repossessed by banks, and sell them to buyers in China for a profit.

Investors who pumped in money to fund the purchase of these distressed properties were promised returns ranging from 10 per cent to 48 per cent over a period of four to eight months, they said.

They were also told that the eventual buyers would place a 40 per cent downpayment on the property, which would be forfeited if these buyers backed out. This would be enough to pay the profits promised to investors.

The Sunday Times was shown business agreements between investors and Ms Leong guaranteeing their capital and pro-rated profit. The money which investors pumped in ranged from $10,000 to more than $2 million.

Those who referred friends were also given a cut, which could be anywhere from 1 per cent to as much as half of the new funds.

One investor, who gave her name only as Madam J. Tan, said Ms Leong claimed to be marketing high-end condominiums in Singapore's Districts 9, 10 and 11, although there were never any documents to prove this.

"We just trusted her because of the testimonies of those who knew her for a long time," said the 50-year-old, who put in $1 million and introduced several friends to the programme.

Among the investors were retirees and housewives like Madam Tan.

She said Ms Leong had urged people to withdraw their Central Provident Fund savings, borrow from their insurance policies or take a second mortgage on their properties to free up cash to invest.

Several investors were with the scheme for over 10 years, while the latest joined just last month.

Ms Leong, who was known to friends as Adeline, built up trust and goodwill over the years, even inviting investors over for Chinese New Year parties at her well-decorated semi-detached house in Tanah Merah.

"She is someone who sits down together with you, laughs, goes for dinner, holidays in Thailand and Hong Kong together with you. Will you suspect anything?" said a 58-year-old businessman who gave his name only as Mr S. Goh.

He had gotten to know Ms Leong in 2001, and together with friends and relatives poured more than $2 million into the scheme. He also put returns and referral fees back in as investments.

"There were never any problems. There were even people who pulled out early and got their capital and pro-rated returns back," he said, explaining why no alarm bells went off for so many years.

It appeared to be only in the past few years that things started going wrong and Ms Leong tried to raise more funds by offering higher returns of 35 per cent for a six-month contract.

This bears the hallmark of a ponzi scheme, in which fresh funds from new investors are used to pay those who joined earlier.

Last September, several investors received a text message from Ms Leong saying she would pay them only in December, but with additional interest.

A week later, she postponed payment to March 9. She told investors then she was trying to negotiate a $70 million deal that would allow her to repay everyone.

When March 9 came, payments were pushed to May 18.

Four days before the deadline, investors were asked for their addresses so they could be sent invoices. But instead of invoices, some of them later received a letter from Ms Leong in which she said she would kill herself.

She and her husband have been uncontactable since, investors said. Attempts by The Sunday Times to call her were unsuccessful.

Ms Chan Shwe Ching, an investor, began legal proceedings against Ms Leong last month. Her lawyer Michael Chia said the courts have allowed an injunction to freeze Ms Leong's assets within Singapore.

Ms Alina Sim, who is still Ms Leong's lawyer on record, said she was not at liberty to discuss the case.

Around 30 people have also hired a lawyer to launch a civil suit against Ms Leong, said an investor who gave his name as Mr Ong.

Mr Goh said he had dinner with Ms Leong just last month. Now, he and the other investors are hoping her family and the public will help to locate her.

"This is not a Korean drama, it is real," he said ruefully. "There are real people, real families involved."

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/sin....gn4TFQIr.dpuf

A very sad story indeed. 15 years doing this. The scam might have worked fine if property prices continued to gallop.

The moral is to be wary. I will rather pay more taxes to own a small property in my or spouse name rather than the same sum with a stake in a large property but not under my name.

If it's too good to be true, it's too good to be true.
    High return, high risk.
    No free lunch in this world.

Quote Originally Posted by MrTan View Post
    If it's too good to be true, it's too good to be true.
    High return, high risk.
    No free lunch in this world.

what is interesting is :

so many people complain about property agents ... cannot be trusted etc ...

YET they can dump $$ with her when she is not even an agent ...

this is a lesson to those who choose to NOT trust agents hahah

agents have CEA to report to ...

this woman didnt have to report to any authority.. yet got stupid fools who believed her ...

Quote Originally Posted by proud owner View Post
    what is interesting is :

so many people complain about property agents ... cannot be trusted etc ...

YET they can dump $$ with her when she is not even an agent ...

this is a lesson to those who choose to NOT trust agents hahah

agents have CEA to report to ...

this woman didnt have to report to any authority.. yet got stupid fools who believed her ...
    People who complain about untrusting property agents may not be the same group of people who dump $$ with her.

Even when booked from Asia Euro or invest with Lehman Brothers also can get play out. So never say never.

Not stupid fools lah. More like gullibles temporarily blinded by greed at that point in time.

whats new. Greed trumps all logic. when they were collecting $$ for the last 15yrs they never complain. when things fall though kpkb. just like the gold scam or the sunrise scam. nothing change people want quick $$ and there are just some that never do homework and believe in unrealistic returns and continue to buy into these stories. when things fall apart they will cry foul. well they went in eyes wide open. who to blame?

Sometimes not greedy also can kenna scam.

Who never get scammed before keechiu?

More important is whether one learns after being scammed. And hopefully the amount can be earned back in time. If retiree sometimes really feel for them.

Sometimes not greedy also can kenna scam.

Who never get scammed before keechiu?

More important is whether one learns after being scammed. And hopefully the amount can be earned back in time. If retiree sometimes really feel for them.
    i dont really feel for the retiree who take out their CPF to be scam coz. They took it out to gamble on this type of get rich quick scheme.

I can never understand these people just pass the money to total strangers, .... Why can't they just invest themselves,

Quote Originally Posted by henryhk View Post
    I can never understand these people just pass the money to total strangers, .... Why can't they just invest themselves,
    Invest themselves? It's still passing money to total strangers wah. We buy property, we pass money to property agents who are total strangers, at least for the first time unless they are family or friends. We buy shares/stocks/bonds/unit trusts/options/currency/commodities/any other financial investment tools and instruments, we pass money to brokers/brokerage houses who are total strangers, at least for the first time unless they are family or friends. We buy insurance policies, we pass money to insurance agents who are total strangers, at least for the first time unless they are family or friends. U get the drift? So the key here is not about the trust on a stranger, the key here is about the trust of a black and white contract that documents what has taken place now (the investment) and what may/will happen in future (the rewards - perceived vs guaranteed).

Since trust is a subjective thing, hence laws and rules and regulations come into the picture. However different kinds on contracts are subjected to different kinds of laws and rules and regulations and a layman may not know and understand all of them. Hence they depend on an "expert" a "professional" a "specialist" to guide them and show them the way, one who is most likely a stranger in their first meeting. Hence they trust the stranger to give them a "legal" document in which they trust more. If anything runs afoul, they are under the impression that the law will protect them. If it's a criminal case, at least the state will take up the case on their behalf. If it's a civil case, then they have to invest more time and money and other resources to take up the case themselves. It's a long drawn process.

Land-Banking/Property/Crop Schemes. Virtual Currencies. Gold "Buy-Back" Schemes. Minibond Notes Programmes. Which are real? Which are scams? Perhaps it's as good as going to mbs/rws, with paperwork and on a longer time horizon. But the result is always the same. The banker always wins. The player always loses.

Invest themselves? It's still passing money to total strangers wah. We buy property, we pass money to property agents who are total strangers, at least for the first time unless they are family or friends. We buy shares/stocks/bonds/unit trusts/options/currency/commodities/any other financial investment tools and instruments, we pass money to brokers/brokerage houses who are total strangers, at least for the first time unless they are family or friends. We buy insurance policies, we pass money to insurance agents who are total strangers, at least for the first time unless they are family or friends. U get the drift? So the key here is not about the trust on a stranger, the key here is about the trust of a black and white contract that documents what has taken place now (the investment) and what may/will happen in future (the rewards - perceived vs guaranteed).

Since trust is a subjective thing, hence laws and rules and regulations come into the picture. However different kinds on contracts are subjected to different kinds of laws and rules and regulations and a layman may not know and understand all of them. Hence they depend on an "expert" a "professional" a "specialist" to guide them and show them the way, one who is most likely a stranger in their first meeting. Hence they trust the stranger to give them a "legal" document in which they trust more. If anything runs afoul, they are under the impression that the law will protect them. If it's a criminal case, at least the state will take up the case on their behalf. If it's a civil case, then they have to invest more time and money and other resources to take up the case themselves. It's a long drawn process.

Land-Banking/Property/Crop Schemes. Virtual Currencies. Gold "Buy-Back" Schemes. Minibond Notes Programmes. Which are real? Which are scams? Perhaps it's as good as going to mbs/rws, with paperwork and on a longer time horizon. But the result is always the same. The banker always wins. The player always loses.

Then better burry the $$$ in the ground.

Good idea. Just make sure it's not state land.

let me correct you ....

when one buys property, money is NEVER passed to property agents....

you may have handed the agent a cheque ... which is definitely NOT addressed to the agent...

also, as a buyer, your agent should have done the checks on the ownership of the property you are buying...and show you the proof...

so in that sense, you are not handing over money to stranger ... definitely not the agent

Quote Originally Posted by proud owner View Post
    let me correct you ....

when one buys property, money is NEVER passed to property agents....

you may have handed the agent a cheque ... which is definitely NOT addressed to the agent...

also, as a buyer, your agent should have done the checks on the ownership of the property you are buying...and show you the proof...

so in that sense, you are not handing over money to stranger ... definitely not the agent
    As you mentioned "in that sense", hence correct or not depends on the scope of the discussion and the perspective this subject is being approached...

"Pass the money to total strangers" is a phrase initiated by another forummer. It is just a general layman term description. It actually means and the right phrase is "pass the money (usually cheque, not cash, due to the transaction size) to an intermediary to pay a business entity for a good or service rendered".

Hence, business transactions, scam (eg the 60M ponzi case) or no scam (eg ur property case), is always passing the money (usually cheque, not cash, due to the transaction size) to an intermediary, a total STRANGER, to pay a business entity, another total STRANGER, if it is unheard before, or newly setup, or boutique firm.

Now the onus is not whether the intermediary and the business entity are strangers or not. The key is whether they are acting in the best interests of the consumers or not. The interests of the consumers have to be balanced with the interests of the business entity as per market practice. If the scale is tipped extremely beyond market practice in the business entity favor, then it will be deemed a scam, regardless boutique firm or mnc, newly setup or long established, unheard of or well known, strangers or not.