Thread: Why property so cheap?

Cheap when OCR private property price is near historical peak, the peak price that we know ever since Singapore come into existence?

Car park price also at peak. Median salary peak.

There will be newer and newer peaks and even more peaks I think. Logical?

Cheap when OCR private property price is near historical peak, the peak price that we know ever since Singapore come into existence?

And are you telling us that:
    1) "car park price also at peak" is CHEAP?

2) "Median salary peak" is CHEAP? If so most of the Singaporeans must have been under-paid and cheated since their salary is too CHEAP?

Car park price also at peak. Median salary peak.

There will be newer and newer peaks and even more peaks I think. Logical?

Why does new graduate pay keep going up?

Why does median salary keep going up?

Why?

2) "Median salary peak" is CHEAP? If so most of the Singaporeans must have been under-paid and cheated since their salary is too CHEAP?

Ok, so your opinion is that their pay and salary going up because they are too cheap to begin with?

Ok, using the same reasoning put forward by you, you are also telling us that since the Prime Minister and Ministers salaries have not gone up for past many years, means that their salary are too expensive to begin with hence no increase for many years???

Why does new graduate pay keep going up?

Why does median salary keep going up?

Why?

I am merely trying to correlate two variables (salary and affordability) along with other interfering variables such as CMs.

No value judgement at my end.

Ok, so your opinion is that their pay and salary going up because they are too cheap to begin with?

Ok, using the same reasoning put forward by you, you are also telling us that since the Prime Minister and Ministers salaries have not gone up for past many years, means that their salary are too expensive to begin with hence no increase for many years???

Ok, so if Prime Minister and Ministers salaries have not gone up for past many years DO NOT mean that their salary are too expensive to begin, then your attempt to correlate that median salary are going up because they are cheap and hence OCR property prices going up and are at their historical peak means they are CHEAP had failed terribly!

So we can now conclude that OCR property prices now near their historical peak (a price that is highest since Singapore come into existence) cannot be considered "CHEAP" (and as we know, near peak means PEAK, means VERY VERY EXPENSIVE)!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am merely trying to correlate two variables (salary and affordability) along with other interfering variables such as CMs.

http://sprs.parl.gov.sg/search/resou...HA-0410097.htm

Table 1
    SELLING PRICE OF HDB FLATS

Type of Flat New Town Suburban Urban

Wef 1971

3-Room Improved $ 7,800 $ 9,500 $13,500

4-Room Improved $12,500 $15,500 $20,000

5-Room Standard $22,000 $27,500 $33,000

Wef 1 January 74

3-Room Improved $11,800 $13,500 $17,500

4-Room Improved $18,500 $21,500 $26,000

5-Room Standard $30,000 $35,500 $41,000

Wef 1 July 75

3-Room New Generation $15,800 $17,500 $19,500

4-Room New Generation $24,500 $27,500 $32,000

5-Room Improved $35,000 $40,500 $46,000

Wef 1 July 79

3-Room New Generation $18,200 $20,200 $22,500

4-Room New Generation $28,100 $31,500 $36,700

5-Room Improved $40,300 $46,600 $52,900

Wef 1 July 80

3-Room New Generation $21,900 $24,300 $27,000

4-Room New Generation $33,600 $37,600 $43,900

5-Room Improved $48,200 $55,800 $63,300

Appendix

Table 2

NEW SELLING PRICES OF HDB FLATS

EFFECTIVE FROM 1 JUNE 1981

3-room 4-room 5-room

ZONE New Model New Model Model

Generation 'A' Generation 'A' Improved 'A'

New Town 26,700 32,800 39,500 50,600 58,500 72,900

Outer Suburban 29,400 36,100 43,500 55,700 64,200 80,200

Inner Suburban 33,000 40,500 48,800 62,400 71,800 89,900

Outer Urban 37,000 45,400 54,700 69,900 79,700 100,700

Inner Urban 41,500 50,900 61,300 78,300 89,200 112,800

Central Core 46,500 57,100 68,700 87,700 99,900 126,400

Long Long Time ago, Singapore HDB pricing iaw the above.

Now Mature and Non-Mature Town.

CCR OCR RCR are a thing of the past. If enough HDB upgrader buy condo so what it is OCR, they like they pay iaw to Mature, Non Mature.

Singapore is so........ small.

I am very interested, and serious in looking to buy a resale 4 room HDB flat in a mature housing estate, but I am curious to find some of HDB flats built in the 70s cost more than S$400,000, some even asked for S$500,000.

Likewise, 3 room HDB flats that are already 45 years old and yet, the sellers are asking for more than $350,000.

The reality is I am not sure how it is possible a HDB flat that is already 40 years old could cost so much, and what is an ordinary HDB buyer like myself is paying for, though the amenity as well as transportation connection are excellent, the interior of some old HDB flat are in an appalling state.

If property agents as well as their sellers kept trying to sell these flats at such an elevated price, imaging if they keep waiting and these HDB flat approach 50 or 60 years old, it will become much harder to sell.

Frankly speaking, both 1st time and 2nd time HDB flats buyer should not profit by buying and selling these flats, and all profits should revert back to HDB as subsidies to lower the price of all HDB flats. If HDB can do that then everyone would be able to afford a flat and not worry about how to pay for it.

https://www.reach.gov.sg/participate...ice-and-tenure

http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/in...85691.145;wap2

Wait till they revisit what is the price of resale HDB now at 769 psf.

This 卖购 好人 is the steady to make such suggestion...

If selling HDB only at price when it's bought and profit goes to Cheng Hoo, then the interest rate and also the inflation (Present Value of Money) how to calculate?

If this really happens, who will be willing to sell HDB?

Majority of non-landed private properties have purchases by people with HDB address, if they don' sell, where to get money to upgrade?

If no upgrades, will there be enough buying of condos to support the also sky high condos?

If buying drops, condo over supplies, what's next?

Yes, condo price will fall like waterfall.

Not like that meh?

Quote Originally Posted by CondoInterested View Post

If selling HDB only at price when it's bought and profit goes to Cheng Hoo, then the interest rate and also the inflation (Present Value of Money) how to calculate?

Majority of non-landed private properties have purchases by people with HDB address, if they don' sell, where to get money to upgrade?

If no upgrades, will there be enough buying of condos to support the also sky high condos?

Not like that meh?
    Nope.

First the price of condo will never drop below the cost of the land.

GLS will be the first to stop.

Before it has chance to fall that low, overseas buyers would have bought everything they can get their hands on.

Quote Originally Posted by CondoInterested View Post

Not like that meh?

what else can you expect from a CRAP. what every comes he see is crap what ever comes out of the mouth is even more CRAP.

Before it has chance to fall that low, overseas buyers would have bought everything they can get their hands on.
    Agree

If property agents as well as their sellers kept trying to sell these flats at such an elevated price, imaging if they keep waiting and these HDB flat approach 50 or 60 years old, it will become much harder to sell.

Frankly speaking, both 1st time and 2nd time HDB flats buyer should not profit by buying and selling these flats, and all profits should revert back to HDB as subsidies to lower the price of all HDB flats. If HDB can do that then everyone would be able to afford a flat and not worry about how to pay for it.

I agree.. oh.. If only this is possible.

I am very interested, and serious in looking to buy a resale 4 room HDB flat in a mature housing estate, but I am curious to find some of HDB flats built in the 70s cost more than S$400,000, some even asked for S$500,000.

Likewise, 3 room HDB flats that are already 45 years old and yet, the sellers are asking for more than $350,000.

The reality is I am not sure how it is possible a HDB flat that is already 40 years old could cost so much, and what is an ordinary HDB buyer like myself is paying for, though the amenity as well as transportation connection are excellent, the interior of some old HDB flat are in an appalling state.

Selling price is determined by seller .... not many agents are able to influence the price lah ....

Quote Originally Posted by Dave-Phils View Post
    I agree.. oh.. If only this is possible.

1stly how is the possible? coz if there are not profit i.e. not inline with inflation then means the HDB in effective is a deprecating assest. Then how would the citizen be participating in the growth of the country? The rich will be richer coz thier assest increase in value and the general population will be holding deperciating assest and get pooerer. the rich poor gap will be even much bigger. and if HDB price are never appreciated inline with the value of the country or in the works no profit possible then the owner are no different from renters paying rent for the place to stay.

And like all asset if its perceived as depreciating in value people will never take care of it.

minority,
    The rich are already getting richer because they are able to buy more CCR private properties at prices that had already crashed 30% or even 40%, thanks to the screwed "property cooling measures"!

Does the average people (HDB upgraders) have a chance to buy OCR private properties at a cheap price (to make money and become rich)?
    The answer is obvious: Nah!
    Nobody cares when the OCR private property prices is NOW around the HISTORICAL PEAK price, the peakish price that we know ever since Singapore come into existence, i.e. highest price ever in a few centuries!

1stly how is the possible? coz if there are not profit i.e. not inline with inflation then means the HDB in effective is a deprecating assest. Then how would the citizen be participating in the growth of the country? The rich will be richer coz thier assest increase in value and the general population will be holding deperciating assest and get pooerer. the rich poor gap will be even much bigger. and if HDB price are never appreciated inline with the value of the country or in the works no profit possible then the owner are no different from renters paying rent for the place to stay.

And like all asset if its perceived as depreciating in value people will never take care of it.

minority,
    The rich are already getting richer because they are able to buy more CCR private properties at prices that had already crashed 30% or even 40%, thanks to the screwed "property cooling measures"!

Does the average people (HDB upgraders) have a chance to buy OCR private properties at a cheap price (to make money and become rich)?
    The answer is obvious: Nah!
    Nobody cares when the OCR private property prices is NOW around the HISTORICAL PEAK price, the peakish price that we know ever since Singapore come into existence, i.e. highest price ever in a few centuries!
    The same can be seen in HDB BTO prices which is at historical peak price, and is expected to continue to be so going forward. Prices have never dropped.
    Conclusion, the rich gets richer than the rest.

HDB BTO price really at historical peak price now?

That means the average HDB-residenting ordinary folks always have to pay through their nose for their first HDB properties, and then pay through their nose again if they want to upgrade to a OCR private property???

While the rich get to buy cheap CCR private properties (which has crashed to cheap price thanks to the government property cooling measures (but not the OCR private property prices))?

Quote Originally Posted by august View Post
    The same can be seen in HDB BTO prices which is at historical peak price, and is expected to continue to be so going forward. Prices have never dropped.
    Conclusion, the rich gets richer than the rest.

Last time you want to go shopping you go Orchard Road. You want to change money you go, Change Alley. You were to do Banking you go CBD.

Over the years thing has changed, we now have the regional centre, shopping is just a few bus stop away. Some even do on-line shopping.

OCR, CCR is all in the mind, for those who cannot change from the old to the new OCR and CCR are two different location, for those who can they are in a little red dot call Singapore.

You pay for what you want, not what others want you to think you should pay for.

There are people who pay thousands for a black stone, a promise, a dream, a photo, etc.

Rich and the smart rich will always get richer. Thats the nature of things.

Last time if you want to buy and eat expensive things, you go shopping in CCR Orchard Road and CBD.......

Last time If you want to buy and eat cheap things, you go OCR regional shopping malls....
    You really "You pay for what you want, not what others want you to think you should pay for."

Now you go OCR regional centre shopping malls, you pay as much as going CCR Orchard Road!!!!!!
    You have no choice, you can't pay what you want, you just have to pay what others want you to pay!!!!!!!!
    (Because now OCR shopping malls prime retail space is almost same rental rate as CCR Orchard Road.............)

There are people who pay a premium to be in central locations, to be in atas shopping malls, to be in atas company.........
    But there are also people who pay a premium to be in ulu locations, to be with opposite of all the above...........

Last time you want to go shopping you go Orchard Road. You want to change money you go, Change Alley. You were to do Banking you go CBD.

Over the years thing has changed, we now have the regional centre, shopping is just a few bus stop away. Some even do on-line shopping.

OCR, CCR is all in the mind, for those who cannot change from the old to the new OCR and CCR are two different location, for those who can they are in a little red dot call Singapore.

You pay for what you want, not what others want you to think you should pay for.

There are people who pay thousands for a black stone, a promise, a dream, a photo, etc.

So next time if I go buy a laptop or handphone from any CCR shop, I expect to be chopped carrot head for the same brand, same specifications, same everything, and pay 50% more just for that???

Only difference is Orchard Road so I have to pay more? Will you buy that?

Last time if you want to buy and eat expensive things, you go shopping in CCR Orchard Road and CBD.......

Last time If you want to buy and eat cheap things, you go OCR regional shopping malls....
    You really "You pay for what you want, not what others want you to think you should pay for."

Now you go OCR regional centre shopping malls, you pay as much as going CCR Orchard Road!!!!!!
    You have no choice, you can't pay what you want, you just have to pay what others want you to pay!!!!!!!!
    (Because now OCR shopping malls prime retail space is almost same rental rate as CCR Orchard Road.............)

There are people who pay a premium to be in central locations, to be in atas shopping malls, to be in atas company.........
    But there are also people who pay a premium to be in ulu locations, to be with opposite of all the above...........