Page 3 of 36 FirstFirst 123456781318232833 ... LastLast

Thread: Reflections at Keppel Bay (D4, 99 Years, Keppel Land)

caveat Guest

Default Re: Reflections at Keppel Bay (D4, 99 Years, Keppel Land)

Quote Originally Posted by sian
    I checked the URA caveat website for ONE SHENTON . Based on what i see there , Only 81 units there have exercised the option . ONE SHENTON has how many units there ????
    Check the URA CAVEATS . You guys will be shocked .

http://spring.ura.gov.sg/lad/ore/rea...n.cfm?survey=1
    Some buyers do not bother to lodge caveats because they intend to sell before TOP.

Unregistered Guest

Quote Originally Posted by caveat
    Some buyers do not bother to lodge caveats because they intend to sell before TOP.
    If that is the case, it is scary as this would show there are just too many speculators out there.

Only when folks with deep pockets can sustain the "push up" effect. There are plenty of folks out there with deep pockets, but these are the folks who invest heavily during the SARS and 911 time. No wonder "rich gets richer and poor gets poorer"

Unregistered Guest

After the newspaper reported that some people did not exercise their options for One Shenton (because unable to find buyers), I guess the level of speculative activity has probably decreased.

With the high psf prices for Reflections and the huge number of units, I think speculators would be deterred from trying. Of course there would still be some amount of speculation activity, because these speculators are super bullish about the property market and think that prices will go up.

camelot Guest

Was just at the showroom earlier. A lot of people but many were like me... just to look see. A lot of agents idling around too...Pricing is definitely on the high side. Developer is still holding back some blocks. It will definitely take a while to sell out. Risk/reward ratio is pretty high at this juncture. If you are looking to flip in the short term, pls stay out... you need min 2yrs to make money (provided the market is still healthy by then).

hello Guest

Hi Camelot,

While you were at the showflat, did they say how many units have been sold? Or how many units have sold today?

camelot Guest

Quote Originally Posted by hello
    Hi Camelot,

While you were at the showflat, did they say how many units have been sold? Or how many units have sold today?
    Agent said moe than 50% of what was launched. So we are potentially looking at maybe 300+ units?

Art Garfunkel Guest

Quote Originally Posted by camelot
    Agent said moe than 50% of what was launched. So we are potentially looking at maybe 300+ units?
    Some crazy people are actually thinking of flipping the Reflections units that they bought! They are asking $2500psf for low floors. This is absolutely ridiculous! 1000 over units and they think they can flip... oh my god..

reflections overhyped Guest

Thumbs down Re: Reflections at Keppel Bay (D4, 99 Years, Keppel Land)

Hi Camelot,

Apparently on sat number of units sold were less then 20 based on reliable property agents there who said the truth . Looks like speculation has its limit , even flipper know you cannot flip up at the asking prices , only to lose money .

property BOOMED !!! Guest

Exclamation Re: Reflections at Keppel Bay (D4, 99 Years, Keppel Land)

Quote Originally Posted by wat a joke
    Saw some buyers walking in from the main road , if they can't even pay for a cab fare into reflections showroom , how the hell can they afford to buy reflections ? Too many wasting time people in the reflections showroom , must be the advertising , those that cannot afford still want to look at it .
    Some with hdb addresses somemore , what a joke . Must have mistaken reflections or lakeshore .
    Yes , he is right , because smart investors or flippers know that reflections have no upside potential . So , they are staying out ! One shenton is the best example of overhyped and kena stuck , i checked the caveats for one shenton , only 81 units exercised . But the media said that all sold ? WTF???
    After that said 10% withdrawn ??? WTF??? 81 consitutes what percentage of One shenton ? I think with need to speak to CASE to protect buyer's interest . This country getting a bit dangerous for wat i see . Very Scary .

camelot Guest

Quote Originally Posted by reflections overhyped
    Apparently on sat number of units sold were less then 20 based on reliable property agents there who said the truth . Looks like speculation has its limit , even flipper know you cannot flip up at the asking prices , only to lose money .
    Possibily. As I said earlier... most whom were thr today didnt hv the intention to buy. However, I believe they have sold at least 200-300 units so far coz there were long queues during the private previews (acc to friends who went). Many bot then thinking this will be another easy money... NOT!

Elvis 99 Guest

Talking Re: Reflections at Keppel Bay (D4, 99 Years, Keppel Land)

CAVEAT EMPTOR , Buyers beware .
    This is the new age , the new age of
    The rich to be richer and the poor , poorer .
    If you do not want to be the latter , be smart .
    Use your brains , not your greed .
    Use your knowledge , not your impulsiveness .
    Finally and foremost , Wise men said , only fools rush in .

Elvis 99 Guest

Possibily. As I said earlier... most whom were thr today didnt hv the intention to buy. However, I believe they have sold at least 200-300 units so far coz there were long queues during the private previews (acc to friends who went). Many bot then thinking this will be another easy money... NOT!
    Wonder if keppels' own people can buy and transfer back to keppel later on ? Can it be done and if it is done , is it illegel ? Many questions nowadays in consumers mindsets . We live in dangerous times .

Unregistered Guest

Quote Originally Posted by property BOOMED !!!
    Yes , he is right , because smart investors or flippers know that reflections have no upside potential . So , they are staying out ! One shenton is the best example of overhyped and kena stuck , i checked the caveats for one shenton , only 81 units exercised . But the media said that all sold ? WTF???
    After that said 10% withdrawn ??? WTF??? 81 consitutes what percentage of One shenton ? I think with need to speak to CASE to protect buyer's interest . This country getting a bit dangerous for wat i see . Very Scary .
    Lodging a caveat is optional. Some buyers choose not to lodge caveats because they are hoping to see the units before TOP.

hello Guest

300 units sold within a few days is a good achievement, considering that this project has over 1000 units.

botak james Guest

Wink Re: Reflections at Keppel Bay (D4, 99 Years, Keppel Land)

Quote Originally Posted by Elvis 99
    Wonder if keppels' own people can buy and transfer back to keppel later on ? Can it be done and if it is done , is it illegel ? Many questions nowadays in consumers mindsets . We live in dangerous times .
    Wonder if there is an association to look into and protect the rights of consumers for high end products like property in SG ? Nowadays too much artificial hype and too much lies and deceit around , we consumers are getting a bit sick of this .

camelot Guest

300 units sold within a few days is a good achievement, considering that this project has over 1000 units.
    Don't expect the proj to sell out in days. It has over 1000 units and pricing is not cheap too. There'll be buyers... slowly but surely. Just don't expect to make a killing in a short period. If you hv the stomach for a min 2-yr wait... then can take a plunge otherwise stay out.

property BOOMED !!! Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered
    Lodging a caveat is optional. Some buyers choose not to lodge caveats because they are hoping to see the units before TOP.
    Pls lah , only small percentage of buyers whether to invest or sell will not lodge caveat . Caveat lodge is very important to show that you are the owner . The true picture is not rosy , you just do not dare to admit it . You definately are an agent .

Unregistered Guest

Quote Originally Posted by botak james
    Wonder if there is an association to look into and protect the rights of consumers for high end products like property in SG ? Nowadays too much artificial hype and too much lies and deceit around , we consumers are getting a bit sick of this .
    The Consumer Association of Singapore (CASE).

botak james Guest

Don't expect the proj to sell out in days. It has over 1000 units and pricing is not cheap too. There'll be buyers... slowly but surely. Just don't expect to make a killing in a short period. If you hv the stomach for a min 2-yr wait... then can take a plunge otherwise stay out.
    Camelot , you an agent in reflections is it ? haha . You sound like a financial adviser for reflections . People believe in your shit , will burn like a pizza in an oven . The price launched is based on the believe that 2 years later this will be the price . I rather believe in GOD .

Unregistered Guest

Buyers of luxury projects slow to lodge caveats

February 6th, 2007

Buyers of luxury apartments launched of late are not rushing to stake legal claim on the properties by lodging caveats on them, official data shows.

Figures from the Urban Redevelopment Authority’s (URA) Realis website shows that in some instances, fewer than a quarter of the units sold have seen caveats lodged on them even a few months after the launch.

Industry players attribute this to a variety of reasons, including speculators looking to sell their properties quickly, the newly introduced deferred payment scheme, and good buyer-developer relationships.

At Marina Bay Residences, for example, just 75 caveats for new sales had been filed as of Jan 31, although the 428-unit development was fully sold by mid-December last year. The project is by a consortium comprising Keppel Land, Cheung Kong Holdings and Hongkong Land.

Similarly, only 66 new sale caveats have been lodged for the 111 apartments sold in Wheelock Properties’ Ardmore II. The project has 118 units. Other recently launched developments where the number of new sale caveats lodged falls short of the number of units sold include City Developments’ St Regis Residences (87 new sale caveats lodged for around 128 units sold) and Tribeca By The Waterfront (29 caveats for more than 112 units sold) and Ho Bee’s The Coast at Sentosa Cove (98 caveats for more than 240 units), among others.

Lawyers BT spoke to said that while lodging a caveat when acquiring a new property is not mandated by law, new owners are usually advised to do so to stake their claims on their properties. One reason for this new trend could be due to buyers looking to resell their apartments soon after buying them.

Nowadays, there are a number of people who don’t lodge caveats when they buy,’ said DTZ Debenham Tie Leung executive director Ong Choon Fah. We suspect the caveats are popping up in the subsale market instead.

URA classifies caveats for new projects as either those for new sales or those for subsales.

Mrs Ong said she first started noticing the trend about 1-2 years ago. While historically, for every development, there have always been some buyers who choose not to lodge caveats, the proportion has increased over the past couple of years, she says.

Another reason is the deferred payment schemes offered by developers, which means there is no immediate need to get financing.

Deferred payment schemes have been a popular option for property buyers, accounting for more than 90 per cent of transactions in recent new Marina Bay and downtown projects, according to Citigroup. Such arrangements also favour buyers looking to resell their properties on the subsale market.

The deferred scheme may be encouraging the entry of speculators and fuelling stronger price increases in the primary residential market,’ said Citigroup economist Chua Hak Bin. Sub-sale transactions have quadrupled from two years ago. Median prices of uncompleted projects have risen by about 20 per cent from their recent lows, double that of the 10 per cent for completed projects.’ The scheme allows buyers to fork out only a 10 per cent or 20 per cent downpayment on a property, with the rest due upon completion - sometimes as much as three years later. Buyers need not worry about further payments during the construction phase and the ample period of three years also allows the buyer time to resell the property for a profit.

Buyers could also simply be letting the task of lodging caveats slide, since they are secure in the knowledge that big-name developers are not likely to sell the same unit twice, said Norman Ho, senior real estate partner with law firm Rodyk & Davidson. This is especially likely, he said, considering the volume and speed of recent high-end property launches.

They (buyers of new properties) are buying directly from the developers, so they are very, very safe - the developer is not going to sell the same property twice,’ said Mr Ho.

Despite this, lawyers will always advise clients to file caveats just to cover all bases.

More caveats for newly launched upmarket developments are likely to be filed in the coming weeks. Mr Ho explained that in every transaction, there is a time lag of about five weeks between the time the option-to-purchase is granted by the developer and the time the sale-and-purchase agreement is signed by both parties. The sale-and-purchase agreement is needed before a caveat can be filed.

However, with the high levels of resale and subsale activity on the market now - aided in part by the deferred payment scheme - the proportion of new sale caveats lodged is unlikely to climb by too much, market watchers said. Source: The Business Times, 06

CASE Guest

Thumbs down Re: Reflections at Keppel Bay (D4, 99 Years, Keppel Land)

The Consumer Association of Singapore (CASE).
    Sorry to say but based on many incidents that i see , CASE is very ineffective even in handling small cases < $5000 . As a very forward , open and clean country , looking at consumer rights ....... i can say , we ...are ....truly .......XXXXed !!!!

camelot Guest

Camelot , you an agent in reflections is it ? haha . You sound like a financial adviser for reflections . People believe in your shit , will burn like a pizza in an oven . The price launched is based on the believe that 2 years later this will be the price . I rather believe in GOD .
    Botak! I am no agent. Not a buyer of this proj too. Just an investor who happens to make a lot of money in buying the right properties

Remember the time when The Sail was launched at close to S$1000psf? Many then said... crazy to pay so much for 99yr leasehold... look at it now.

WoW Guest

Lightbulb Re: Reflections at Keppel Bay (D4, 99 Years, Keppel Land)

Buyers of luxury projects slow to lodge caveats

February 6th, 2007

Buyers of luxury apartments launched of late are not rushing to stake legal claim on the properties by lodging caveats on them, official data shows.

Figures from the Urban Redevelopment Authority’s (URA) Realis website shows that in some instances, fewer than a quarter of the units sold have seen caveats lodged on them even a few months after the launch.

Industry players attribute this to a variety of reasons, including speculators looking to sell their properties quickly, the newly introduced deferred payment scheme, and good buyer-developer relationships.

At Marina Bay Residences, for example, just 75 caveats for new sales had been filed as of Jan 31, although the 428-unit development was fully sold by mid-December last year. The project is by a consortium comprising Keppel Land, Cheung Kong Holdings and Hongkong Land.

Similarly, only 66 new sale caveats have been lodged for the 111 apartments sold in Wheelock Properties’ Ardmore II. The project has 118 units. Other recently launched developments where the number of new sale caveats lodged falls short of the number of units sold include City Developments’ St Regis Residences (87 new sale caveats lodged for around 128 units sold) and Tribeca By The Waterfront (29 caveats for more than 112 units sold) and Ho Bee’s The Coast at Sentosa Cove (98 caveats for more than 240 units), among others.

Lawyers BT spoke to said that while lodging a caveat when acquiring a new property is not mandated by law, new owners are usually advised to do so to stake their claims on their properties. One reason for this new trend could be due to buyers looking to resell their apartments soon after buying them.

Nowadays, there are a number of people who don’t lodge caveats when they buy,’ said DTZ Debenham Tie Leung executive director Ong Choon Fah. We suspect the caveats are popping up in the subsale market instead.

URA classifies caveats for new projects as either those for new sales or those for subsales.

Mrs Ong said she first started noticing the trend about 1-2 years ago. While historically, for every development, there have always been some buyers who choose not to lodge caveats, the proportion has increased over the past couple of years, she says.

Another reason is the deferred payment schemes offered by developers, which means there is no immediate need to get financing.

Deferred payment schemes have been a popular option for property buyers, accounting for more than 90 per cent of transactions in recent new Marina Bay and downtown projects, according to Citigroup. Such arrangements also favour buyers looking to resell their properties on the subsale market.

The deferred scheme may be encouraging the entry of speculators and fuelling stronger price increases in the primary residential market,’ said Citigroup economist Chua Hak Bin. Sub-sale transactions have quadrupled from two years ago. Median prices of uncompleted projects have risen by about 20 per cent from their recent lows, double that of the 10 per cent for completed projects.’ The scheme allows buyers to fork out only a 10 per cent or 20 per cent downpayment on a property, with the rest due upon completion - sometimes as much as three years later. Buyers need not worry about further payments during the construction phase and the ample period of three years also allows the buyer time to resell the property for a profit.

Buyers could also simply be letting the task of lodging caveats slide, since they are secure in the knowledge that big-name developers are not likely to sell the same unit twice, said Norman Ho, senior real estate partner with law firm Rodyk &amp; Davidson. This is especially likely, he said, considering the volume and speed of recent high-end property launches.

They (buyers of new properties) are buying directly from the developers, so they are very, very safe - the developer is not going to sell the same property twice,’ said Mr Ho.

Despite this, lawyers will always advise clients to file caveats just to cover all bases.

More caveats for newly launched upmarket developments are likely to be filed in the coming weeks. Mr Ho explained that in every transaction, there is a time lag of about five weeks between the time the option-to-purchase is granted by the developer and the time the sale-and-purchase agreement is signed by both parties. The sale-and-purchase agreement is needed before a caveat can be filed.

However, with the high levels of resale and subsale activity on the market now - aided in part by the deferred payment scheme - the proportion of new sale caveats lodged is unlikely to climb by too much, market watchers said. Source: The Business Times, 06
    IF this article is true , in other words , this whole market right now is based on speculation and not investment or staying . Wow , when the shit hits the fan , i will see where the foreigners run to . Rampant speculation = Super big bubble .

botak james Guest

Botak! I am no agent. Not a buyer of this proj too. Just an investor who happens to make a lot of money in buying the right properties

Remember the time when The Sail was launched at close to S$1000psf? Many then said... crazy to pay so much for 99yr leasehold... look at it now.
    Ahhhh... yes but that is $1,000psf , this is $1,700-2500psf . Don't tell me there is no diff ?

botak james Guest

Ahhhh... yes but that is $1,000psf , this is $1,700-2500psf . Don't tell me there is no diff ?
    I have been playing this game already with profits , that is why i become botak , hahaha , overthink , but , now the prices cannot be supported anymore . All pure and simple speculation . If Indonesians do not touch it , i will also not touch it , even with a long stick .

camelot Guest

I didn't say that it's cheap. Pricing is rich... but if the economy keeps growing and foreigners keep coming in. With the new IRs.... Hey, a few yrs from now, we may look back and say... this proj is not so expensive after all Just like now you wud say of The Sail Right?

botak james Guest

I didn't say that it's cheap. Pricing is rich... but if the economy keeps growing and foreigners keep coming in. With the new IRs.... Hey, a few yrs from now, we may look back and say... this proj is not so expensive after all Just like now you wud say of The Sail Right?
    Nope , i do not agree with you . Go ahead and buy i dare you , haha . That is unless you are a property agent in reflections , haha , then i say , go ahead and sell .

camelot Guest

Nope , i do not agree with you . Go ahead and buy i dare you , haha . That is unless you are a property agent in reflections , haha , then i say , go ahead and sell .
    Nope! I won't buy coz I find the risk/reward ratio is not worth the while. Having said that, am not saying that those who bought hv made the wrong move. They are simply betting that the market will go higher.... This is just like stock market.... A year ago, Keppel Land was just at $3+... last Thur, it closed at $9.30. Will you still buy at this level?

botak james Guest

Nope! I won't buy coz I find the risk/reward ratio is not worth the while. Having said that, am not saying that those who bought hv made the wrong move. They are simply betting that the market will go higher.... This is just like stock market.... A year ago, Keppel Land was just at $3+... last Thur, it closed at $9.30. Will you still buy at this level?
    What do you think ? hahaha , i am still thinking of when to sell 10 lots of $4.20 which i bought , hahaha .

SouthBeach Miami Florida Guest

What do you think ? hahaha , i am still thinking of when to sell 10 lots of $4.20 which i bought , hahaha .

Market will prove that you are wrong to say Reflection price has no potential to move higher. Let's wait 6 months and see.

Market will prove you that there will be sufficient buyers for Reflection. Let's wait and see.

It's Market vs Botak James. Cool!