• Bullish

38 50.67%
  • Bearish

37 49.33%
Page 12 of 61 FirstFirst ... 278910111213141516172227323742 ... LastLast

Thread: Property market sentiments?

Quote Originally Posted by firec
    Why aren't you as bullish as jitkiat? You have 2 good reasons to be bullish
    I believe in sustainability, and I want my children to have a good future. I have seen my American, Japaneses and soon, british business partners went bankrupt due to speculation in properties in their countries and now their children have to pay for it. I do not wish to see my singaporean friends suffer the same fate. And 2 of my staffs almost went bust earlier this year.

Quote Originally Posted by jitkiat
    My friend, what is wrong with betting with calculated risk? Isn't doing business a betting as well? SG government bets big on genetic research ... now casino. Even you choose to hold all your money in SGD at 0.X% interest, it is still a form of betting
    Since you call me a friend, i will return in kind. My friend, if you choose to gamble, go ahead, be my guest. But please do not try to convince others to join in your game in the pretence of justifying your actions (after purchasing a condo) with first your TA and now more charts and indices and positive reports. Somehow, I havent seen you posting -ve reports or charts. Why? Is there no more bad news?

Quote Originally Posted by HP65
    Since you call me a friend, i will return in kind. My friend, if you choose to gamble, go ahead, be my guest. But please do not try to convince others to join in your game in the pretence of justifying your actions (after purchasing a condo) with first your TA and now more charts and indices and positive reports. Somehow, I havent seen you posting -ve reports or charts. Why? Is there no more bad news?
    I will start posting -ve report if the chart tells me so. But seriously I don't think you can call an HDB upgrader a gambler by purchasing a tiny 2br OCR condo TOP in 2013 when private residential index is at 140. If I want to gamble, I would have bought studio in Devonshire or Marina area.

Wow, so bullish How many properties do you have on hand? Do you want more and buy mine? I have 2 units in prime districts for sale. While my yield now is excellent, I'm not confident I will be able to get the same high yield, unlike you. Thus I'm quite keen to sell, would you be interested?

I'm interested. Give more details. Thanks.

I will start posting -ve report if the chart tells me so. But seriously I don't think you can call an HDB upgrader a gambler by purchasing a tiny 2br OCR condo TOP in 2013 when private residential index is at 140. If I want to gamble, I would have bought studio in Devonshire or Marina area.
    Jk, pls do not be irresponsible and lead unsophisticated potential buyers here to think everything is rosy - TAs are just about as accurate as fortune telling in today's market environment. The fundamentals do not support it, and all the data out there is manipulated.

Here i am thanking my lucky stars for this upturn in property price so that when the downtrend comes again, hopefully another 30-40% drop down the road will put me at breakeven so i won't have to top up anything. Paying $1100-1200psf for a locality in the new downtown 100m away from billions in infrastructure, tpt, recreation and entertainment is a calculated risk. Paying $700-800psf for the boondocks, cemetary facing or heartland property is much more of a gamble and leap of faith.

Stop misleading pls.

But i do agree with you. Those devonshire stuff at $1400-1600psf is silly. Should the orchard stretch be overridden as the commercial and entertainment heart of Singapore, there will be nothing there to hold things up except for nice memories.

Those devonshire stuff at $1400-1600psf is silly. Should the orchard stretch be overridden as the commercial and entertainment heart of Singapore, there will be nothing there to hold things up except for nice memories.
    news from agents: upcoming devonshire launches will be 1800psf

i think a bubble is forming lol

news from agents: upcoming devonshire launches will be 1800psf

i think a bubble is forming lol
    $1800psf!!!!!

My god, the number of nouveau poore that will be created in Singapore soon. Good also lah, at least there will be a constant supply of cut-price gallardos for me to choose from. i've always like gunmetal grey - which color would you go for?

$1800psf!!!!!

My god, the number of nouveau poore that will be created in Singapore soon. Good also lah, at least there will be a constant supply of cut-price gallardos for me to choose from. i've always like gunmetal grey - which color would you go for?
    gunmetal grey? sounds cool sia...
    metallic silver my current ride, but always kena bird shit one ..

gunmetal grey? sounds cool sia...
    metallic silver my current ride, but always kena bird shit one ..
    dun worry, with the number of 2nd hand gallardos flooding the market soon, bird shit on one, change to another gallardo. bird shit on it too, change to a 911 carrera or something.

$1800psf..sheesh... even Kumar is nowhere as hilarious.

Quote Originally Posted by Property_Owner
    I'm interested. Give more details. Thanks.
    1 is at Sommerville Park, Mais, asking $4.0 mio. Another is at Ridgewood, 1600 sqf asking $3.0 mio. For these 2 properties, if you buy, you will make many friends, especially if you join the majority in voting for enbloc. At Ridgewood, I'm one of the 23% who voted nay.

So if you are prepared to meet my asking px, drop me a pm. Somebody will contact you. Thx for interest.

Let the properties prices go higher so that there will be more launches and more people taking the plunge. Else, when the next correction comes, it will not crash. The higher it climb in the shortest period of time, the better. People need to have the feeling that they might miss the boat if they dun plunge to go out and purchase one. And to have that kind of sentiments, prices must run up way beyond fundamental.

A bit on TA, every morning during our usual morning conference call, there will be some colleagues asking our "Chief Technical Analyst" on a currency pair or market that he did not cover. What he do is he will say "Give me a min while I pull out the chart" after a couple of mins, he will be able to give you a whole story of that paticular market, w/o knowing any story behind the recent move of the drivers behind it. (Actually this point is cover in the book 'A Random Walk' down Wall Street')

However, think our bro JK here is not so "pure" TA cos as my company "Cheif TA" mention many times, he's a TA, he only look at chart and he do not read news as all the info is reflected in the charts. But our bro JK is at least better in the sense that he read a lot of news, abit mostly bulish ones though.

Give me a break lah. You consider these 2 properties prime? Mt Sinai is too ulu and Farrer Road is still too far from the City. I thought you have any in MarQ@Paterson or Paterson Suites or Orchard Residences or Scotts (these are the real prime to me) - Only these are really worth $2000 psf & above. The rest? Hai! I don't belive that Farrer Road or Mt Sinai can reach $2k psf in the next 5 years even when economy recovers. (Ops! Shouldn't point out so obvously because the carrot-heads that you want to chop will run away!).

1 is at Sommerville Park, Mais, asking $4.0 mio. Another is at Ridgewood, 1600 sqf asking $3.0 mio. For these 2 properties, if you buy, you will make many friends, especially if you join the majority in voting for enbloc. At Ridgewood, I'm one of the 23% who voted nay.

So if you are prepared to meet my asking px, drop me a pm. Somebody will contact you. Thx for interest.

$1800psf!!!!!

gunmetal grey, I like your taste. I´ll have mine with dark brown leather. Although I am more into wiesmann GT.

The worst part about these high prices is that these people who buy and are not rich enough to hold several properties are going to have less disposible income in the upcoming years. The only ones who get fat are developers and the government. Less disposible income will impact the economy in the next few years, and if tourism/business travel does not recover with in 2 years (who knows what will happen until than, I dont like these 2010 predictions as if each recession follows the exact same time frame) than we will see an impact on small business owners. That is when the real hurting may start.

To comment on rental, rental does not go down, and than suddenly go up swiftly again (V shape). At one point rental will hopefully buttom out and remain more or less flat (stable for a while). I expect this period to last 12-24 months maybe longer. Companies dont suddenly go on a re-hiring frenzy after a recession, unless you are in a growth industry (green tech). They start slowly and then eventually pick up momentum. When rentals are stable or close to stabilizing I will seriously consider going in. Right now I am focused on Vietnam, and Thailand for property investment. Eventually, I need a place for my self in Singapore, so sooner or later I have to bite the bullet.

Give me a break lah. You consider these 2 properties prime? Mt Sinai is too ulu and Farrer Road is still too far from the City. I thought you have any in MarQ@Paterson or Paterson Suites or Orchard Residences or Scotts (these are the real prime to me) - Only these are really worth $2000 psf & above. The rest? Hai! I don't belive that Farrer Road or Mt Sinai can reach $2k psf in the next 5 years even when economy recovers. (Ops! Shouldn't point out so obvously because the carrot-heads that you want to chop will run away!).

Well, I said prime district, didnt say prime location. I'm just learning from the developers who call condos in Toa Payoh `D11' and Balestier condos `Thomson/ Novena'.

But I'm glad you see the craziness in the way property prices has shot up in recent weeks. So if I were to sell now, I'm just pricing in the replacement costs by the time the deal is completed. Afterall, so many agents has the audicity to tell me buy 1 Devonshire sure can flip. I said, `I'll pass'

But 1 thing i do agree with you, Paterson area is nice, that's why it was so difficult for me to flip my unit at Paterson Residence in 2007. But I can't resist the lure of the mainland yuan who bought over my unit. But i guess, you wouldn't be able to compete with him either. So i conceded defeat, sold it to a mainland chinese. But i feel better coz its foreign $ flowing into Sg. Tell me, how to resist 100%/ $2mio capital appreciation in just under 2 years?

But I found something even more rewarding these past couple of months, which took me by a greater surprise coz I wasn't expecting it and which I have been telling people since end 2008 that there are other valued investments out there than Sg properties. The RoI, be it in absolute terms or PA surpasses my gain in Paterson Residences easily by a few times.

to each his own .. Orchard rd and Scotts rd ..not prime enuff

have you ever taken a nice evening walk after dinner ? enjoy the peace and quiet ?

thanks but to me, i rather walk my dog after dinner in nice quiet environment than to share my walk way with hundreds of people , filthy air, cars honking, etc etc ..

sommervile park to me is not a bad location ... even my pet dog thinks so too ...

Well, I said prime district, didnt say prime location. I'm just learning from the developers who call condos in Toa Payoh `D11' and Balestier condos `Thomson/ Novena'.

But I'm glad you see the craziness in the way property prices has shot up in recent weeks. So if I were to sell now, I'm just pricing in the replacement costs by the time the deal is completed. Afterall, so many agents has the audicity to tell me buy 1 Devonshire sure can flip. I said, `I'll pass'

But 1 thing i do agree with you, Paterson area is nice, that's why it was so difficult for me to flip my unit at Paterson Residence in 2007. But I can't resist the lure of the mainland yuan who bought over my unit. But i guess, you wouldn't be able to compete with him either. So i conceded defeat, sold it to a mainland chinese. But i feel better coz its foreign $ flowing into Sg. Tell me, how to resist 100%/ $2mio capital appreciation in just under 2 years?

But I found something even more rewarding these past couple of months, which took me by a greater surprise coz I wasn't expecting it and which I have been telling people since end 2008 that there are other valued investments out there than Sg properties. The RoI, be it in absolute terms or PA surpasses my gain in Paterson Residences easily by a few times.

hahha so so true ... i said it many times in other thread ...Sky@11 is a real cheat ... there are many many more ...

Quote Originally Posted by kalumder
    gunmetal grey, I like your taste. I´ll have mine with dark brown leather. Although I am more into wiesmann GT.

The worst part about these high prices is that these people who buy and are not rich enough to hold several properties are going to have less disposible income in the upcoming years. The only ones who get fat are developers and the government. Less disposible income will impact the economy in the next few years, and if tourism/business travel does not recover with in 2 years (who knows what will happen until than, I dont like these 2010 predictions as if each recession follows the exact same time frame) than we will see an impact on small business owners. That is when the real hurting may start.

To comment on rental, rental does not go down, and than suddenly go up swiftly again (V shape). At one point rental will hopefully buttom out and remain more or less flat (stable for a while). I expect this period to last 12-24 months maybe longer. Companies dont suddenly go on a re-hiring frenzy after a recession, unless you are in a growth industry (green tech). They start slowly and then eventually pick up momentum. When rentals are stable or close to stabilizing I will seriously consider going in. Right now I am focused on Vietnam, and Thailand for property investment. Eventually, I need a place for my self in Singapore, so sooner or later I have to bite the bullet.
    You should also consider UK properties. I made a detour to London after watching Man U lost to Barca, gosh, it looks like GSS started in London. Couldnt resist, bought 2 units in Canary Wharves to hedge against my boys' future education. The potential capital and exchg gain is just too compelling.

I also made some $ in HCM by buying District 7, got out fortunately before the big crash last year. But hated the flip-flop policy of the Viet govt. Very hard to keep up to date. As for thailand, avoid bkk. Too much unrest and the land doesnt seem too stable. But I like Hua Hin and Chiangmai. There is an increasing expat community (Korea and Angmo) in Chiangmai but i do hope they reduce/ stop the slash/ burn. Even their King prefers Huahin than Chiangmai due to air pollution from the slash/ burn. if i ever want to have a holiday home outside Sg, it will be at Hua Hin

You should also consider UK properties. I made a detour to London after watching Man U lost to Barca, gosh, it looks like GSS started in London. Couldnt resist, bought 2 units in Canary Wharves to hedge against my boys' future education. The potential capital and exchg gain is just too compelling.

I also made some $ in HCM by buying District 7, got out fortunately before the big crash last year. But hated the flip-flop policy of the Viet govt. Very hard to keep up to date. As for thailand, avoid bkk. Too much unrest and the land doesnt seem too stable. But I like Hua Hin and Chiangmai. There is an increasing expat community (Korea and Angmo) in Chiangmai but i do hope they reduce/ stop the slash/ burn. Even their King prefers Huahin than Chiangmai due to air pollution from the slash/ burn. if i ever want to have a holiday home outside Sg, it will be at Hua Hin

i am considering properties in Manhattan ... what say you?

Somehow the prices in Manhattan hasnt dropped much (vs other parts of NY) but depending on which currency you are using to finance the purchase, and what currency you are changing back too, if its SGD, I wouldnt touch it with a 10-ft pole. Unless I know my kids are going to US to study.

But pls take my comments with a pinch of salt. Sometimes you just dun know. With the hugh amount of fiat money in the system, you never know. To some, that is a `calculated' risk but to me, its as good as crystal ball man.

Default Jitkiat please answer the call.

May I have Mr Kiat attention please.

Wait till STI to break 2283 resistance with good volume 1st, then June will be even better.
    Yes, TA does use old data in order to plot to moving average, resistance and support lines. A pure fundamentalist, will dismiss anything technical i.e. he/she will think TA is bullshit in helping to make/time an investment decision. For example, in TA, 200 day moving average is widely regarded as a divider between bull & bear and used by lots of analysts for their calls for long/short. A pure fundamentalist will never believe in that.

In general, a professional fundementalist will be better in predicting long term trend. For example, bcos Singapore governement is good, clean and Singaporeans has high saving rate, limited land, so must be good idea to buy property for long term in SG .. this is pure fundamental analysis. Whereas in TA, we will seek to predict the market direction in the short term (typically no more than 2 weeks) by reading bullish or bearsh signal. For example, if CityDev breaks down below 200d MA, immediately start selling your properties in Singapore and vice versa. So far, we have already 2 bullish signals ...1st is the STI breaking above 1,950, 2nd is today, breaking above 2,283 (same for CityDev & other property stocks).
    Yah, market already priced in all the negative fundementals you & the bears in this forum keep repeating. How do you explain property stocks are up 10% today on average with confirmed 1st H1NI case in Singapore? Are the funds who bought up large number of shares in Hong Kong, India and Singapore nuts?

I do not believe in any publicly known fundamental news as a guidance of future movement becos they are simply outdated and priced into the market. On the contrary, the market may have already priced in something that you have yet to know.... we will soon find out.

And to answer your question, the market trend for next 2 weeks is bullish because STI closed above 2,283 with good volume today. Of course, if H1NI suddenly kills half of Singaporeans next 2 weeks ...
    Pal, 2 weeks back after our fierce exchange, I posted a question on the market movement of the next 2 weeks to you. And as usual, I ticked off your bullish view while you did the same to my sideway-neutral view. Allow me to publish the results now, STI closing of the past 2 weeks;

12-Jun 2,377
    11-Jun 2,381
    10-Jun 2,391
    09-Jun 2,349
    08-Jun 2,333

05-Jun 2,396
    04-Jun 2,362
    03-Jun 2,383
    02-Jun 2,375
    01-Jun 2,380

The market don't seem to suggest anything close to your massive BULLISH TA at all, so to speak. Not to mention H1N1 did not kill half of Singaporean as well. So much for all the bullish indicators you have handpicked for us. Care to comment? How about something not parroting from other site?

I am German so I already own properties in Europe (Croatia "Rovinj, Berg "outside Munich", and Geneva). I might at one point add a property from Barcelona, when it reaches a good level at which I think the valuation is good. I dont buy property in regions I am not interested in. As I find it more cumbersome to do the neccessary research. Dont get me wrong, London is a great city, but I would never want to live there. I try to be rational with my investments, but I need enough motivation to follow the market for a period of 6-12 months. I am not someone who jumps into such investments.

Hua Hin is interesting, as is Koh Samui. I like Koh Samui, because islands are ussually able to isolate themselves from mainland problems. How ever I have to admit that I am intrigued by the Met in Bangkok. It is a building which polarizes (imo, a landmark building), so I might buy a condo there. With Koh Samui, and Hua Hin I would be more interested in landed property. How ever what I have read up on Thai property laws, does make me a bit hesitant to get into landed. Vietnam seems to be more transparent. Ask me again in 4 months when I am in the region again, and have looked at more properties. I might also buy just across Singapore in Malaysia. The nice thing about these regions compared to Singapore is that I for 3-5 million singapore dollars I can buy several nice properties in countries which have a much greater potential for GDP percentage gain over a period of 10 years or more. So even if a country goes bananas (economically or politically), you still have other properties in the portfolio to balance it out. AS opposed to betting on one horse with a nice Singapore proeperty. So we will see. I like to use the forum to ping pong ideas, as it is a good way to be self-critical. As successful as flippers may be, or speculators in the stock market, I have decided a long time ago that I will not invest that way. I am quite fond of a good nights sleep. So my investment strategy is more based on value-invesment.

Wow, so bullish How many properties do you have on hand? Do you want more and buy mine? I have 2 units in prime districts for sale. While my yield now is excellent, I'm not confident I will be able to get the same high yield, unlike you. Thus I'm quite keen to sell, would you be interested?
    Please pm me with details....keen to add to my portfolio if fit & potential is right.

sky@11 was carved out just to fit into D11 since its owned by SPH/govt linked. Right at the boundary of CCR, everywhere else was bounded by PIE and otherwise known as Toa Payoh. Suppose to have a glam celebreties club beside it but Mr. Lim went missing already...

hahha so so true ... i said it many times in other thread ...Sky@11 is a real cheat ... there are many many more ...

Quote Originally Posted by apple3
    May I have Mr Kiat attention please.

Pal, 2 weeks back after our fierce exchange, I posted a question on the market movement of the next 2 weeks to you. And as usual, I ticked off your bullish view while you did the same to my sideway-neutral view. Allow me to publish the results now, STI closing of the past 2 weeks;

12-Jun 2,377
    11-Jun 2,381
    10-Jun 2,391
    09-Jun 2,349
    08-Jun 2,333

05-Jun 2,396
    04-Jun 2,362
    03-Jun 2,383
    02-Jun 2,375
    01-Jun 2,380

The market don't seem to suggest anything close to your massive BULLISH TA at all, so to speak. Not to mention H1N1 did not kill half of Singaporean as well. So much for all the bullish indicators you have handpicked for us. Care to comment? How about something not parroting from other site?
    We are 4% above 2,283 now and the resistance at 2,400 was tested a few times within the past week. From TA angle, this is bullish. STI will need to wait for S&P500 to move through the 946-950 resistance before it will move beyond 2,400. If you are interested in TA, I suggest you read the TA on STI published by The Edge Singapore weekly.
    Last edited by jitkiat; 14-06-09 at 11:12.

gallop gable would hv been a better buy at 1400psf, and for those who got it at 1200psf back in Mar ~

You are saying that if you can take a nice evening walk in peace and quiet then it is prime? May be you can buy a property near Seletar Reservior, then sell it at >$3000 psf because your consider that is prime (but I doubt even a goondu will buy from you at $1000psf. Surprisely, a lot people are willing pay >$3000psf for Orchard rd - maybe these are goondu to you?).

to each his own .. Orchard rd and Scotts rd ..not prime enuff

have you ever taken a nice evening walk after dinner ? enjoy the peace and quiet ?

thanks but to me, i rather walk my dog after dinner in nice quiet environment than to share my walk way with hundreds of people , filthy air, cars honking, etc etc ..

sommervile park to me is not a bad location ... even my pet dog thinks so too ...

Quote Originally Posted by kalumder
    I like Koh Samui, because islands are ussually able to isolate themselves from mainland problems. How ever I have to admit that I am intrigued by the Met in Bangkok. It is a building which polarizes (imo, a landmark building), so I might buy a condo there. With Koh Samui, and Hua Hin I would be more interested in landed property. How ever what I have read up on Thai property laws, does make me a bit hesitant to get into landed.
    It is actually easy , you would have to set up a thai company where you owe 49% of shares and then other 3 thai nomenees own another 51% , then you get them to presign transfer of their shares paper , so in case of any hanky-panky you can reassign the shares to any other nominees, they normally do not even know each other and what they own , so it pretty safe . On top of that you lease the same land out of your own company to yourself for 30+30+30 years. For 100% bullettproofness ..
    I have 7000m2 of prime land in Samui 300m from the best beach with 240 degree panaramic ocean view in the best area of Samui if you are interested. Surrounded by nice infrastructure, Mango trees, Rocky formations e.t.c. If really interested PM me I will email you the photos.

So true. Any way, congratulations on your gains on that other investments.

Quote Originally Posted by blackswan
    Let the properties prices go higher so that there will be more launches and more people taking the plunge. Else, when the next correction comes, it will not crash. The higher it climb in the shortest period of time, the better. People need to have the feeling that they might miss the boat if they dun plunge to go out and purchase one. And to have that kind of sentiments, prices must run up way beyond fundamental.

A bit on TA, every morning during our usual morning conference call, there will be some colleagues asking our "Chief Technical Analyst" on a currency pair or market that he did not cover. What he do is he will say "Give me a min while I pull out the chart" after a couple of mins, he will be able to give you a whole story of that paticular market, w/o knowing any story behind the recent move of the drivers behind it. (Actually this point is cover in the book 'A Random Walk' down Wall Street')

However, think our bro JK here is not so "pure" TA cos as my company "Cheif TA" mention many times, he's a TA, he only look at chart and he do not read news as all the info is reflected in the charts. But our bro JK is at least better in the sense that he read a lot of news, abit mostly bulish ones though.
    If news is within the expectation (i.e priced in) of the market, it is natural that market will not react to it. If news is not within expectation of the market, then whether the news is negative/positive is less important, it is the market reaction to the news that matter. For example, when the Swine Flu breakout in Mexico was known to the press, the market completely ignored it. In TA, it is a very bullish signal. Similarly, if newspaper everyday is full of negative headlines yet the stock/property market is hot, it is also a very bullish signal. Look at how many people here are interested in HP65's prime properties you can feel it already.
    Last edited by jitkiat; 14-06-09 at 14:07.

gallop gable would hv been a better buy at 1400psf, and for those who got it at 1200psf back in Mar ~
    Judging from hp65 quoted price, I think he is asking above the enbloc price. Guess unless somebody is willing to 'buy him out' of the wait until the next enbloc craze, he seems willing to just keep it.