Page 12 of 66 FirstFirst ... 278910111213141516172227323742 ... LastLast

Thread: 8@Woodleigh (D13, 99 years Leasehold, Fraser Centrepoint)

ya if really regret the purchase try to flip it this 2 wks ...
    Saw property guru people selling 450k to 500k for this studio!

Yah...seeing my bank account level drop big time heart pain....
    Why I bought this unit:
    1) was aiming at that stack during the vip preview, its got unblocked pool view of blossoms and away from main road, but sold out before my turn.
    2) my agent called me on thursday say got one never exercise option ask if i want or not, they will open the showroom for me.
    3) went to the showroom with my agent and fraser rep, see see look look then sign paper liaoz. Although only got 7% off the list price as compared to 10% during preview, but tts like super vvip like that. haa haa.

Hopefully this project got high potential....
    Pay by cash should be ok. Borrow 80% then may not make $. So save enough money b4 TOP & borrow as little as possible... unless u able to flip b4 TOP.

Quote Originally Posted by jitkiat
    Pay by cash should be ok. Borrow 80% then may not make $. So save enough money b4 TOP & borrow as little as possible... unless u able to flip b4 TOP.
    If I have signed up for 80% loan, I can reduce the loan amount at a later stage? Or maybe lump sum pay out without penalty? Mine is the uob SOR + 1.25% loan, no lock-in period.

Think some of the posts are just agents trying to get your contacts and don't think they actually marketing 8@W. Also, it may attracts those who had bought a unit to be tempted to sell at those price.

If I have signed up for 80% loan, I can reduce the loan amount at a later stage? Or maybe lump sum pay out without penalty? Mine is the uob SOR + 1.25% loan, no lock-in period.
    your 80% loan gives you a buffer against a 20% fall in property values. ie if psf falls to $800psf and below, banks have a right to ask for topups. in jan 09, prices for FH one amber in d15 for studios was $810psf thereabouts.

only you can decide your risk appetite and buffer capacity

i'm not familiar with this project, for me the 400sft size maybe a bit small .. but thankfully there is no balcony bcos that can make the studio even more disproportionately small e.g. parc imperial (oops! hehe).. i dun like west facing but thats just me

if u dont need rental income to finance ur loan (depending on ur %LTV) & has say 1 yr worth of reserves to service loan in the event of mkt downturn den not much to worry..
    i reckon u could be young-ish (say 30yo or less?) & this could be ur 1st pty buy, always a 1st time so why not ~

personal opinion: not a bad location in the immediate vicinity compared to say one leicester or woodsville28.. certainly u are paying more compared to say further condos at kovan, but i would take this than say boon keng/st michael area one station down ~

Why do you said it is better than one leicester?

I am not an agent or owner of one leicester. This is just my observation:

The $psf paid by azeoprop can get you a freehold unit on the 15th floor at one leicester with a pool view, facing the north with a view to the park, 6 minutes to Potong Pasir MRT stn, 8 minutes walk to St Andrew's village, with amenitites like wet market, food court, ... If azeoprop is going to rent it to students of the future international school, it may be a wrong move. If you look at the American School, most of the students are fetched by their parents or take (AS) school bus. They do not stay near there as most of them are on expatriate pay package. The parents or their companies have to pay a large sum of money just to secure a place in those schools. In fact, it may be more prone to attacks these days given the recent incidents in Indonesia. Hence, the properties around that area is not hot and did not go upmuch.

The above is just my observation.

Just realized from the ura website, I've paid the highest psf in the whole of 8@woodleigh!

So far its only 2 out of 30 studio units and yours is high floor as compared to the the other published unit to date; #03-10 $927 psf 398 sqf $369k 29 Jun 09. And looking at the date the caveat is lodged, it could be an internal sale unit.

The $psf paid by azeoprop can get you a freehold unit on the 15th floor at one leicester with a pool view, facing the north with a view to the park, 6 minutes to Potong Pasir MRT stn, 8 minutes walk to St Andrew's village, with amenitites like wet market, food court, ... If azeoprop is going to rent it to students of the future international school, it may be a wrong move. If you look at the American School, most of the students are fetched by their parents or take (AS) school bus. They do not stay near there as most of them are on expatriate pay package. The parents or their companies have to pay a large sum of money just to secure a place in those schools. In fact, it may be more prone to attacks these days given the recent incidents in Indonesia. Hence, the properties around that area is not hot and did not go upmuch.

relax bro, better or worse is up to individual mah..

American sch at woodlands rite? not so relevant bcos it is really outside outside furthest from CCR liao, how to go up much?

Most recent transaction at One Leicester :-
    1 Leicester Road #03-09
    $825psf
    1152sqf
    $950k
    16 Jun 09

And this is the lowest price unit within the last 12 months.
    1 Leicester Road #05-04
    $763psf
    904sqf
    $690k
    21 May 09

Last edited by sleek; 02-08-09 at 10:42.

An advert on the Straits Times today asking for $455K on the 11 floor for a similar unit of 398sqf.

Yah saw also, lets hope somebody buy, then I won't be the one who bought at the highest psf .... haa haa.

As long as yours is bought direct from developer and not subsale, then it won't be the highest psf.

if u have not exercised yr option and havent taken a bank loan, i would qyit while i'm ahead and cancel the purchase.

relax bro, better or worse is up to individual mah..

American sch at woodlands rite? not so relevant bcos it is really outside outside furthest from CCR liao, how to go up much?
    My question is what will be the upside of 8 Woodleigh? What is the rental yield given the high $psf if everyone is hoping to get good rental demand from the expatriate family at the International School? There is no news about the opening of the Woodleigh MRT stn and it is quite a walk from there.

Quote Originally Posted by sleek
    Most recent transaction at One Leicester :-
    1 Leicester Road #03-09
    $825psf
    1152sqf
    $950k
    16 Jun 09

And this is the lowest price unit within the last 12 months.
    1 Leicester Road #05-04
    $763psf
    904sqf
    $690k
    21 May 09

This means that azeoprop can get a larger unit for what he pays for Woodleigh at One leicester plus all the additional benefits.

My question is what will be the upside of 8 Woodleigh? What is the rental yield given the high $psf if everyone is hoping to get good rental demand from the expatriate family at the International School? There is no news about the opening of the Woodleigh MRT stn and it is quite a walk from there.
    'upside' as compared to???? D20? D9? where?

safe to say not 'everyone' is buying for rental ~

mrt is a matter of time, & this project isnt going to TOP for at least 2 yrs ~

anyway u shld ask those who r vested in this project, they likely can tell u more~

This means that azeoprop can get a larger unit for what he pays for Woodleigh at One leicester plus all the additional benefits.
    Dun like that lah, depends on absolute budget oso lah....

...if like that see in pure $psf, I would say buy landed.....$400+ psf oso have -but absolute amt will set u back like a couple of millions....

Wink

'upside' as compared to???? D20? D9? where?

safe to say not 'everyone' is buying for rental ~

mrt is a matter of time, & this project isnt going to TOP for at least 2 yrs ~

anyway u shld ask those who r vested in this project, they likely can tell u more~
    You do not need to go far. Just compare to those condos that are near Potong Pasir MRT stn. BTW, I am staying at the Sennet Estate area and not far from this place. The park (Cemetry site) opposite Woodleigh is year marked for HDBs flats and maybe more condos. The reason for not opening the station is because it is not economically viable due to the low population around that region. The Serangoon MRT station (one station before Woodleigh) will have large shopping malls and anchor tenant like Isetan, NTUC, etc. One of the planning strategies includes alternative station with business centre and malls. So! there will not be any at Woodleigh for now. So it is a better bet at Potong Pasir MRT stn as there is a large site infront of the station next to Woodsville 28.

When do you think the HDB flats will be built? 10 years or 20 years later. The 99 LH development will only left with 89 or 79 years and with competing new condos and HDB. Do you think there will still be upside to it?

You do not need to go far. Just compare to those condos that are near Potong Pasir MRT stn. BTW, I am staying at the Sennet Estate area and not far from this place. The park (Cemetry site) opposite Woodleigh is year marked for HDBs flats and maybe more condos. The reason for not opening the station is because it is not economically viable due to the low population around that region. The Serangoon MRT station (one station before Woodleigh) will have large shopping malls and anchor tenant like Isetan, NTUC, etc. One of the planning strategies includes alternative station with business centre and malls. So! there will not be any at Woodleigh for now. So it is a better bet at Potong Pasir MRT stn as there is a large site infront of the station next to Woodsville 28.

When do you think the HDB flats will be built? 10 years or 20 years later. The 99 LH development will only left with 89 or 79 years and with competing new condos and HDB. Do you think there will still be upside to it?
    well i gave the one leicester, woodsville 28, and surrounding area a cursory recce last yr.. suffice to say the entire area does not appeal to me ~

but i'm sure wat u said arent irrelevant

well i gave the one leicester, woodsville 28, and surrounding area a cursory recce last yr.. suffice to say the entire area does not appeal to me ~

but i'm sure wat u said arent irrelevant
    Given everything being equal, it make more sense if people go for Euro Asia Condo (not far from Woodleigh) which is quite a old development and wait for enblock. A qualifier: A do not have a unit there. It is rather disheartened to see people follow the herd and have not done enough research before going in for the kill but to be slaughtered instead and work hard for the bank for the rest of their life.

Think the problem with resale is that the bank valuation is lower than the selling price, so you will need more cash upfront.

Also, I've had been inside Euro Asia Condo recently and the layouts are quite cramps and amenities is only a tiny pool, which probably explains it lower value.

Quote Originally Posted by southpark2000
    Dun like that lah, depends on absolute budget oso lah....

...if like that see in pure $psf, I would say buy landed.....$400+ psf oso have -but absolute amt will set u back like a couple of millions....
    Yah, at 427k, this is the cheapest quantum i can find for new launch liao. (should have woke up more early on that preview day last time to get that 10% off ha ha). Even optima studios start from 470k on 2nd floor, and fully blocked view.

Likewise its the absolute quantum that makes me decides on 8@W.

And also its situated within a Private development cluster, had good space utilisation and walking distance to MRT and amenities.

Think the problem with resale is that the bank valuation is lower than the selling price, so you will need more cash upfront.

Also, I've had been inside Euro Asia Condo recently and the layouts are quite cramps and amenities is only a tiny pool, which probably explains it lower value.

Euro Asia has the potential for enbloc... it was 4 or 5 storey high only and that area can build up to 15th storey... freehold land somemore.

rumor that the address is actually, 4, woodleigh.. Can anyone verify? Smart of developer to name it 8@w.

Quote Originally Posted by Pizza88
    Euro Asia has the potential for enbloc... it was 4 or 5 storey high only and that area can build up to 15th storey... freehold land somemore.
    Yup, but only when all the available land there are taken up. How long will that take then?

Quote Originally Posted by hovivi
    rumor that the address is actually, 4, woodleigh.. Can anyone verify? Smart of developer to name it 8@w.
    The 3 towers are No. 2, 6 & 8 Woodleigh Close respectively and the Clubhouse(MC office?) is No. 4.

actually in SG, land is so scare, no problem lah, 10 yrs later when u want to sell, u be surprise, price may be higher than what u buy. Look at the HDB pricing, example, north bridge road. 20 over yrs ago, definitely less than 100k. 10 yrs ago was around 300k, 5 yrs ago was around 400k, now worth 600k. Buying ppty in SG can't be wrong, if u can hold.

The 3 towers are No. 2, 6 & 8 Woodleigh Close respectively and the Clubhouse(MC office?) is No. 4.
    very smart..