Page 7 of 66 FirstFirst ... 234567891011121722273237 ... LastLast

Thread: 8@Woodleigh (D13, 99 years Leasehold, Fraser Centrepoint)

Quote Originally Posted by yokoosi
    The potential for growth is there, but i doubt the appreciation will move too much. It will be good if your intention is to buy to stay. For flippers, i see trouble forward. Just look at Kovan Melody.

Personally, i felt that the psf is high for 8@WL(99). For the same price or with a slight premium, you can get One Leicester (FH), Intero, etc. The units looks affordable because now the size has been reduced.

The questions now is are we having an oversupply?
    I have been to Kovan Melody and seen a 2br. I dun think the finishings in KM are comparable to 8@W. Plus KM is a distance from city.... so can't really compare both development side by side....

Quote Originally Posted by wkang1970
    If Ascentia Sky in Redhill can go for 1000psf, this area (cityfringe) definitely has great potential. It is just waiting for some actions (revamp in potong pasir and development in woodleigh) to take place.

So if u buy for stay, capital gain for medium is possible.
    I'm praying hard for the revamps... I haven't decided but rental or stay-in are my choices now after TOP... and sell after a few years after there are sufficient capital gains.

Do take the finishings at the showroom with a pinch of salt. That is my advice

Its all in the lighting effect.

Not really spoiling the kids lah. Some conditions must be met before i will go to the lawyer office to sign over the deed in the future

The potential for growth is there, but i doubt the appreciation will move too much. It will be good if your intention is to buy to stay. For flippers, i see trouble forward. Just look at Kovan Melody.

Personally, i felt that the psf is high for 8@WL(99). For the same price or with a slight premium, you can get One Leicester (FH), Intero, etc. The units looks affordable because now the size has been reduced.

The questions now is are we having an oversupply?
    How much you think the next person will pay??? 1000 psf??? Ask yourself, will you buy.

confirm over supplied for now, unless the govt allow more immigrant by lower their expectation and requirement. And Singapore will have a very good mix of races in the future.

1k psf for smaller units would be more palatable if it is freehold or 999yr, but the fact that it is only 99yr makes it all the more not worth it...

Quote Originally Posted by Honesty
    How much you think the next person will pay??? 1000 psf??? Ask yourself, will you buy.

confirm over supplied for now, unless the govt allow more immigrant by lower their expectation and requirement. And Singapore will have a very good mix of races in the future.

Quote Originally Posted by 5577
    I have been to Kovan Melody and seen a 2br. I dun think the finishings in KM are comparable to 8@W. Plus KM is a distance from city.... so can't really compare both development side by side....
    Well, if you take the train, KM is 2 stations away. If you drive, it is 3 mins away. The comparison of closeness to the city is really irrelevant here. I personally think that 8@WL is really overhyped... Sales and marketing have done well. Once in a while there will be a few developments that are launched at the right time to capture the buying frenzy.

Go ask a valuator for an honest assessment.

Are these people valuers or valuators?

Quote Originally Posted by stanchan

Well, if you take the train, KM is 2 stations away. If you drive, it is 3 mins away. The comparison of closeness to the city is really irrelevant here. I personally think that 8@WL is really overhyped... Sales and marketing have done well. Once in a while there will be a few developments that are launched at the right time to capture the buying frenzy.

For our education, may you give us your evaluation?

There is no right or wrong lah. 2yrs ++ ago, if you buy one Leicester @ 700psf (launch price is at the range of 600psf), ppl will say u buy high, not worth it. But now how? Selling at 850psf is any time. Who can time the market? unless u are god!

If u like it, and can afford, just buy. Unless there's another big shock like last year, i believe property mkt shd be able to sustain as now.

Given me a choice, I will not buy 8@WL. All the surrounding are freehold or 999 years leasehold, I have to compete with all other development around before I can sell at a good price in future, as 8@WL is only 99 years leasehold.

So how to compete??? every development there have the same benefit as you. BIG problem !!!!!!! some more paid so high psf......never think properly before you buy......

You are absolutely right - Parc Modrain, Blossom , Euro Asia and not forgetting Avon Park which is only $6xx psf

Even the rental yield will be stiff if ones intend to rent out

http://www.straitstimes.com/Life%252...ry_398643.html

July 4, 2009

home & garden

Condo-style granny units

Frasers Centrepoint's two-room units with adjoining studios prove a big hit with buyers

By tay suan chiang

The layout of Frasers Centrepoint's "dual key" apartments at 8@Woodleigh (left) has a studio unit attached to a two-bedroom unit. CapitaLand's The Metropolitan also offers options for multi-generational living. -- PHOTO: FRASERS CENTREPOINT

View more photos

Always close, but never too close. That is the carrot dangled before extended families buying new condominium units which come with adjoining studio apartments.

Apart from the usual two-, three- or four- bedroom layout options, property developer Frasers Centrepoint Homes has introduced what it calls 'dual key' apartments at two recent two projects, Caspian at Lakeside and 8@Woodleigh.

This new layout has a studio apartment attached to a two-bedroom unit and is about 10 per cent larger than a regular three-bedroom unit.

And it has been an unqualified success.

At the recently sold out 8@Woodleigh at Potong Pasir, the 390 sq ft studio apartment comes fully equipped with its own kitchen, bathroom and dining and living areas. It also has its own entrance, which opens up to a foyer that is shared with the 682 sq ft two-bedroom unit.

Frasers' chief operating officer Cheang Kok Kheong says such units are 'specially conceptualised to promote inter-generational ties within families'.

All 30 units of this new layout at Woodleigh have been sold. Scheduled to be completed in 2013, the project has a total of 330 units, including one-, two-, three- and four-bedroom types.

Over at Caspian, a 712-unit project, all 17 such 2+1 bedroom units are also sold out.

Global investor Simon Yong, 50, bought one such unit at Woodleigh. He nows lives with his wife in a semidetached home at Braddell. When the Woodleigh project is completed, he hopes to move in with his mother, who is in her 90s. She will live in the studio apartment.

'My wife and I still have our privacy, but we can take care of my mum easily too,' he says.

CapitaLand is another developer that has offered a similar adjoining unit option to encourage multi-generational living.

Its The Metropolitan at Tanglin contains 29 single units with two entrances. In these apartments, a partition wall can be built to divide the living space.

Another option the development offers for multi-generational living are adjacent separate units. There are 14 pairs of such units, which offer buyers the option of removing the partition between the two units to create a single living and dining area.

The condominium was completed recently. At its launch in 2006, Ms Patricia Chia, chief executive of CapitaLand Residential Singapore, said: 'Many families today would like to live near to, or with, their ageing parents, while enjoying a certain amount of privacy.

'We also recognise that every family's lifestyle needs would change with time. The flexibility that we have built into the unit layouts at The Metropolitan is ideal to meet these needs.'

There is another use for 2+1 bedroom units: rental.

Frasers' Mr Cheang says: 'The new layout also gives buyers the option to finance their purchase by renting out the studio component of the unit.'

It is still about four years before they can move in, but buyers of units at Woodleigh that Life! spoke to are already thinking the same way.

Ms Teresa Kwan, a manager in a financial institution who is in her 50s, has bought a 2+1 bedroom unit at Woodleigh. She says: 'I can live in one and rent out the studio, or I can rent both units out.'

At Lippo Realty's Newton One, one of the bedrooms in its five-bedroom units comes with its own kitchenette and entrance - ideal for extended families and also rental.

Mr Chris Koh, director of Dennis Wee Properties, says these units are a good option for property hunters, particularly those who are looking to lease out the unit. 'Both the tenant and the landlord still have their privacy.'

Such apartments are a new trend in the private property sector, but HDB introduced them about two decades ago. In 1987, it launched multi-generation flats, or 'granny flats'. They comprised a four- or five-room flat with an adjoining studio apartment with a separate entrance. Around 367 units were built in Bishan, Tampines and Yishun.

However, HDB stopped building them 'as the demand then was not high. The completed multi-generational flats are still available in the resale market', says a spokesman.

Dennis Wee's Mr Koh believes that 2+1 units are a hit now because they can generate extra income.

A check with other property developers, such as UOL Group and City Developments, showed that they are not implementing these special two-in-one units in their upcoming projects.

Still, tutor Leah Teo, 35, hopes that more developers will offer such units. 'I can rent out one unit for extra income, and later on, I can have my elderly parents living next to me,' she says.

even if the government allow more FT in, how many can really buy or rent a condo? Let's take the Casino for example, how many of those so-called jobs create there are high-paying jobs?

All the marketing talks about, upcoming development, etc. are just to cloud your judgement.

Anyone here remember Bishan, etc?? Rafflesia till today is still selling. The selling point then was RI is there, near Bishan MRT, etc..blah, blah..

I have a very strong feeling that the market is going in a saturating mood soon.

There is a time when there will be no taker unless the price is realistic. Parc Seaview and the Floridian is two good example.

even if the government allow more FT in, how many can really buy or rent a condo? Let's take the Casino for example, how many of those so-called jobs create there are high-paying jobs?

All the marketing talks about, upcoming development, etc. are just to cloud your judgement.

Anyone here remember Bishan, etc?? Rafflesia till today is still selling. The selling point then was RI is there, near Bishan MRT, etc..blah, blah..

I have a very strong feeling that the market is going in a saturating mood soon.

There is a time when there will be no taker unless the price is realistic. Parc Seaview and the Floridian is two good example.
    Rafflesia & Floridian are both Fareast Projects, and it was mentioned elsewhere that they like to hold-on to some units until TOP to fetch a higher price. The same sintuation it is with the Vista Residences, otherwise, they may actually sold-out the units during launch.

Not sure about the Parc Seaview project.

Heard that the show room is closed already, is it true?

Anyone has an idea on when the ground work will start?

BTW, anyone here in this thread bot a unit?

Heard that the show room is closed already, is it true?

Anyone has an idea on when the ground work will start?

BTW, anyone here in this thread bot a unit?
    Yup, fully sold so don't need the showroom liao.

You also bought a unit?

Quote Originally Posted by sleek
    Yup, fully sold so don't need the showroom liao.

You also bought a unit?
    Yup. I bot a 3br. U bot bot one too?

Any idea when they start working on the grounds?

just curious how much psf u paid for ur unit and what attracts u to ths project being only 99yr LH? I thnk many forumers here are puzzled by the sellout success of ths proj

Quote Originally Posted by franzmark
    just curious how much psf u paid for ur unit and what attracts u to ths project being only 99yr LH? I thnk many forumers here are puzzled by the sellout success of ths proj
    I answerd that previously - see page 9 post 168.

Quote Originally Posted by franzmark
    The truth is, buying new with IAS is like buying a call option / warrant with 5 times leverage until TOP. Buying a freehold / 99LH for immediate occupany is less speculative.

Same-same on Stack 23.

Will pass by the site almost every weekday morning, so will update again once they've had start working the grounds.

at what psf did you guys pay for ur units? gfoo was saying something bout u guys buying into cemetary land, is that true?

Same-same on Stack 23.

Will pass by the site almost every weekday morning, so will update again once they've had start working the grounds.

Same-same on Stack 23.

Haha... hi hi neighbour.

I can't remember my stack no. off hand though.... My layout is C4. Yours?

Looking forward to your updates.

at what psf did you guys pay for ur units? gfoo was saying something bout u guys buying into cemetary land, is that true?
    Hehe... I'm not sure if 8@w is on cemetry land but the 'park' across the road used to be bidadari cemetry. Very famous for hauntings and black magic. But it doesn't bother me much.

Bishan used to be a big cemetry and lots of people used to say there are hauntings when MRT and new HDBs were built there. But look at that estate now... price of the property has escalated so much! I'm sure both the people and ghosts living there are having the last laugh!

Quote Originally Posted by jitkiat
    The truth is, buying new with IAS is like buying a call option / warrant with 5 times leverage until TOP. Buying a freehold / 99LH for immediate occupany is less speculative.
    Frankly, I was looking at a 999 development in Loyang/ Pasir Ris before I bot 8@W because I really like the quiet and the park/ beach. The price is slightly lower than 8@W.

In the end decided not to buy cos it may be hard to dispose later if my lifestyle changes. The surrounding at 8@W seems to be peaceful enough but at the same time close enuf to town and so I bot it instead.

Hype create in Bishan many years agao. Bishan price shot up, then came down during the last two down turns. Those who bought it high still have yet to break even. Sell now, will loose till underwear.

But the HDB resale price there still very high - between $500k to $600k for a 10 to 20 years old 5 room flat.... Those who buy direct from HDB paid a fraction of the price... very hard to bring myself to buy...

At the end of the day, everyone has different needs and place different value/ emphasis/ weightage on different things. As long as one is happy with their choice, then no need to .

agreed....

btw look at the arte, when it launch at 950psf, what ppl say? and now another one new project near it, hit 1000psf! No right or wrong lah, if price keep go high or sustain, then these buyers are really right lor.

Again look at the project launch @ pasir ris, is at 700psf.
    Anywhere near city easily go to 900psf and above, not surprise lah

Haha... hi hi neighbour.

I can't remember my stack no. off hand though.... My layout is C4. Yours?

Looking forward to your updates.
    Yeah neighbour! Mine is a type C1, facing Woodleigh Close.

And you're right too. Had gone to look at Livia but decides that there's more potential at 8@W. Also likes the surroundings and the friendly Potong Pasir neighbourhood.

As am presently staying in Bishan, guess i won't be too affected by the Bidadari site across the road.