Page 10 of 20 FirstFirst ... 56789101112131415 ... LastLast

Thread: Trevista (D12, 99 years leasehold, NTUC Choice Homes)

Quote Originally Posted by jitkiat
    If Optima flippers are unsuccessful @ 950psf ... I wonder what is the chance of selling at 1,100psf for Trevista when they are up against flippers at The Arte / Vista Residences.
    never try never know

xebay11 is offline New Launch Project Specialist

Quote Originally Posted by wreckwrx
    Congratulations on making the right decision at each stage of your journey.

I have known people that got stuck at their very 1st or 2nd move and never recovered since.... i m sure you heard of horror stories like people paying $600k for a "Edge-Dee-Bee" flat in Tampines during those pre-97 days or buying units directly from a certain "Eff-Yee-Oh" developer at prices that remain stagnated even through the boom cycles where everyone else was making a killing....
    If get stuck stay put I have listed my 4 guidelines on property. Luckily I made it to FH, now only have to maintain or move to landed.

Quote Originally Posted by xebay11
    If get stuck stay put I have listed my 4 guidelines on property. Luckily I made it to FH, now only have to maintain or move to landed.
    You made $$ already mah so it's easy for u to say "stay put"....

Ok. Then cut loss loh!

I did not make money lah, just did not lose. LOL

It is unfortunate that property prices have gone up so much since 1990 but not the average household income of Singaporean. The next generation may want nice private properties but will be beyond their reach unless they work very hard for the bank. So! Maybe some of the investments may be for their children given the Asian Culture.
    Investing for children? I've seen enough people doing this. Unfortunately, this is not something which I'd do or encourage others to do. The younger generations have not went through much hardship. Life is a breeze from the day he/she is born. They need to be trained & learn things a little harder rather than getting it easy from the parents. Life is getting harder each day for them but they still need to earn what they desire to have in life. There is no free meal in life.

I've seen some parents who pass the ownership of their hdb or sell away their property to help their child own one. They moved in and live with their married children thinking that they will look after them. But old people tend to have the habbit of nagging and younger generation don't like it. Besides, they fall sick more often & need medical treatments. You will become a burden to them & many end up being chased out of they house or become a ball kick from one siblings to another siblings.

I even told my wife that if I happened to be the first to go, keep the properties to herself first. Make sure she is fully covered with enough insurance and cash on hand. Write a will to evenly distribute to our children or donate it to the charity if the childrens don't deserved it.

In short, never never never sell away your roof and use the money to help your child own a property. When they have what they wanted, you will become redundant and the rest will be history.

This story is happening everyday and you don't want to end up like them.

Investing for children? I've seen enough people doing this. Unfortunately, this is not something which I'd do or encourage others to do. The younger generations have not went through much hardship. Life is a breeze from the day he/she is born. They need to be trained & learn things a little harder rather than getting it easy from the parents. Life is getting harder each day for them but they still need to earn what they desire to have in life. There is no free meal in life.

I've seen some parents who pass the ownership of their hdb or sell away their property to help their child own one. They moved in and live with their married children thinking that they will look after them. But old people tend to have the habbit of nagging and younger generation don't like it. Besides, they fall sick more often & need medical treatments. You will become a burden to them & many end up being chased out of they house or become a ball kick from one siblings to another siblings.

I even told my wife that if I happened to be the first to go, keep the properties to herself first. Make sure she is fully covered with enough insurance and cash on hand. Write a will to evenly distribute to our children or donate it to the charity if the childrens don't deserved it.

In short, never never never sell away your roof and use the money to help your child own a property. When they have what they wanted, you will become redundant and the rest will be history.

I agree. When the medias like internet/newspaper/TV/radio & education system are not imparting the right values, then we are against a lot of odds to bring up the next generation who understand what is 孝道。Investing in children means give them the right values, right outlook in life ... not buying condo for them

http://www.sdtv.com.cn/lanmu/parents/

Above is a show by Shangdong TV called 天下父母 ...

Buy one and sit down with your kids to watch.

Not only that, if parents put all property in son's name, oso must be careful, later wife see him as redundant and divorce him, take away half his properties.

well to maximize profit is not the purpose of life, for me So I sleep peacefully in a million dollar property.

Seriously, different people have different objective in life. You either use money to buy life, or use life to buy money.

I feel sorry for YewTan. Being in this sandwich situation is really frustrating. Talk is easy, timing the market sometimes is not an option in your life.
    Recently I read an article on a man who bought a landed property in the 90s and before he could tear down and build a new one on that land, someone offered him a much higher price and he earned $400k just like that.

He then went on to buy a few more properties and financed them using the rental, despite advised by his financial advisor not to.

Eventually, property market crashed and those properties were forced sold by the bank at a hugh loss and he died a poor man.

Some quoted this "Assets could melt but debts would snowball."
    Just for thought.

Quote Originally Posted by wqmai
    Recently I read an article on a man who bought a landed property in the 90s and before he could tear down and build a new one on that land, someone offered him a much higher price and he earned $400k just like that.

He then went on to buy a few more properties and financed them using the rental, despite advised by his financial advisor not to.

Eventually, property market crashed and those properties were forced sold by the bank at a hugh loss and he died a poor man.

Some quoted this "Assets could melt but debts would snowball."
    Just for thought.
    He should have invested two at a time. One fully paid and another pay by rental, this way very safe. Like that oso dunno. Chey deserve to lose.

Hehe, maybe he really dun know or greed clouded his head.

Better one fully paid and the other on deferred payment. Only need to pay 20 pct upfront and can wait for 2 to 3 years.

Quote Originally Posted by moneyspinner
    Better one fully paid and the other on deferred payment. Only need to pay 20 pct upfront and can wait for 2 to 3 years.
    Exactly, now with deferred payments there are two times to sell brand new property, once by developer on paper and the second time when TOP.

I am now resting at the sides watching Trevista climb, once the market crashes at TOP I will be waiting to pick up the pieces, I am targeting the Trizon.

buying property for your children must be the most harmful thing u can do to them. Already told my wife that our son will have to be financially independent from his uni days, ie. give tuition for pocket money. No cash wedding gift, no money for his car/house. This way, he will excel over the spoilt brats and little emperors

Quote Originally Posted by ulrich76
    buying property for your children must be the most harmful thing u can do to them. Already told my wife that our son will have to be financially independent from his uni days, ie. give tuition for pocket money. No cash wedding gift, no money for his car/house. This way, he will excel over the spoilt brats and little emperors
    Really? I only child and am the only one in line for future inheritance but I ever drive lorry and work as G worker in my father's factory in my younger days, still remember working and saving for my Adidas Wimbledon shoes from my hard work, up to today I also kwai kwai working as a humble employee, never had a day in my life where I took long holidays like many of my friends after graduation, I eat company subsidised lunch $2 everyday, people laugh at me, say I drive 2l car and own private property that is why I eat $2 lunch but in reality it is the other way around but I don't care let people laugh, the world is superficial.

I was always taught to work for your money and be thrifty. You will be rewarded later in life. It is also how you bring up your kids, some people very poor and the kids way more spoilt than mine.

property is just one of the many ways to invest your money.
    if you are a cyclical investor, you can always put your money in the stock market which is more liquid.
    this is for those who does not like to leverage on debt to invest.
    if you were like me, put a substantial amount into Citi when it was hovering between 1-2 bucks, your returns would have been 400-500%.

Quote Originally Posted by ulrich76
    It is important to impart the right value to the children. There is no guarantee what they will become when they grow up given the complex environment, friends, media, etc. I agree that they should be taught how to fish and not to give them the fish. It could be their spouse who could influence them. I have seen lots of students going through their tertiary education in the University. They could be literate but may not be educated. More civic/moral education should be taught at the lower level. They are going through the motion to perform community work when they are in junior college but not from their heart. It is rather "artificial" and this will continue to practice it in their career. Our kids should not know the content of our will nor put their names in our properties. Create a trust if there is large amount of money with you.

The above is just my opinion. It may not be perfect as human is not perfect to start with.

Quote Originally Posted by cl0ver
    property is just one of the many ways to invest your money.
    if you are a cyclical investor, you can always put your money in the stock market which is more liquid.
    this is for those who does not like to leverage on debt to invest.
    if you were like me, put a substantial amount into Citi when it was hovering between 1-2 bucks, your returns would have been 400-500%.
    Stock is a good instrument to earn money faster although it is more risky. Blue chip counters pay good dividend (better than the FD in banks) and safer. However, when one accumulates substantial money, one can start to invest in real estate. Divest or be digested. I was told never be greedy in all forms of investment. Never regrets after decision is being made.

it is not risky if you know how to hedge it. there are many tools like options which alot of people does not know how to make use of.
    worse still, ppl always look at local markets when we are living in a globalised world. the US market is probably the biggest hence impossible to be manipulated by so called big players.

every investment has an objective. do you want constant returns over time or do you want to double your money in a specific time.
    some say they want to be financial freedom before a certain age.

even if i make a huge pool of profit, i would think twice about investing in properties especially in singapore. there are just other safe investments which will give you something like 20% returns pa with low risks.

it is not risky if you know how to hedge it. there are many tools like options which alot of people does not know how to make use of.
    worse still, ppl always look at local markets when we are living in a globalised world. the US market is probably the biggest hence impossible to be manipulated by so called big players.

every investment has an objective. do you want constant returns over time or do you want to double your money in a specific time.

even if i make a huge pool of profit, i would think twice about investing in properties especially in singapore. there are just other safe investments which will give you something like 20% returns pa with low risks.
    Care to share what are they? My RM told me about hedging with Currency. High risk not equate to High return? Someone shared with me the Goldbar investment recently of 24% per annum which was reported just this evening as a scam. Fortunately, I did not act as I was skeptical with that kind of returns.

20% pa return with 'low' risks wow sounds even better than Lehman minibonds ... care to share?

Property & stock each has their own pros and cons. If I have 1 million cash, I will buy 2 properties, each 1 million with leverage comfortably. If I have 1million cash, would I be so brave to throw that into Citibank shares? And how much put options I need to hedge??

there are plenty...
    just look at reits and shipping trusts.
    my fav so far is FSL. Look it up.

the yield for the past year is amazing.
    although shipping was hit badly, it is recovering.
    you can always hedge it when its going up by shorting the baltic index.

Quote Originally Posted by jitkiat
    20% pa return with 'low' risks wow sounds even better than Lehman minibonds ... care to share?

Property & stock each has their own pros and cons. If I have 1 million cash, I will buy 2 properties, each 1 million with leverage comfortably. If I have 1million cash, would I be so brave to throw that into Citibank shares? And how much put options I need to hedge??
    well, no risk no gain. when the Sail drop in price, not many bought it. those who were "astute" manage to go in.
    if u look at citi, its a global brand. almost 99% impossible to fail.
    buying at $1 is a no brainer.
    those who bought AIG at $6 or even $10 now looking at $50.
    so, if u have guts, 1mil can become 5mil right?
    for protection, always buy puts amount to 20% of your investment.

well, no risk no gain. when the Sail drop in price, not many bought it. those who were "astute" manage to go in.
    if u look at citi, its a global brand. almost 99% impossible to fail.
    buying at $1 is a no brainer.
    those who bought AIG at $6 or even $10 now looking at $50.
    so, if u have guts, 1mil can become 5mil right?
    for protection, always buy puts amount to 20% of your investment.
    Did you consider the weakening of the US$ in your returns?

yes i do, but i'm not in a hurry to convert it back. can always use it for a US holiday.

Default Getting Hot!

Business Times - 01 Sep 2009

410 units snapped up at Trevista preview

Singaporeans make up 87% of buyers; even Swiss nationals among purchasers
    NTUC Choice Homes has sold 410 of the total 460 units it released for the preview of its Trevista condo in Toa Payoh last week. The co-operative is expected to release more units in the 590-unit project this weekend when it does an official launch, accompanied by an advertising campaign, for the project.
    Singaporeans picked up 87 per cent of the total 410 units. Permanent residents made up 7 per cent and non-PR foreigners, 6 per cent, of buyers.

The majority of PRs and non-PR foreigners were from China; some were also from Indonesia and Malaysia; there were also a few Swiss nationals, an NTUC Choice Homes spokeswoman said.
    She said 70 per cent of the buyers have HDB addresses and the other 30 per cent, private addresses.
    About 80 per cent of buyers purchased on the normal progress payment scheme. The remaining 20 per cent who opted for interest absorption scheme are being charged a 2 per cent price premium, the Choice Homes spokeswoman said.

When sales in the 99-year leasehold condo began on Friday morning for the first batch of 210 units, the average price was $898 per square foot, but with two subsequent batches of additional units released, prices were adjusted marginally upwards, although this also had to do with the newer units being on higher floors and having better orientation.
    The average price currently is understood to be around $920 psf.
    What's left are a limited number of two-bedroom units, with the majority of what's available being three- and four-bedroom apartments, BT understands. The remaining 130 units in the condo are expected to be released this weekend and they include prime pool-fronting units.
    Trevista is being marketed by CB Richard Ellis and ERA.
    Over at Ridgewood Close in the Mount Sinai area, Singapore Land is understood to have sold slightly more than 100 units at its preview of Trizon, a 289-unit freehold condo.

Two of the project's three blocks have been released for sale. The units were priced between $1,250 psf and $1,550 psf and buyers are understood to be mostly Singaporeans with some foreigners (predominantly Indonesians).

A typical three-bedroom unit of 1,550 sq ft costs about $2.12 million.

SingLand is selling the 24-storey project with only the normal progress payment scheme. It will hold an official launch of Trizon this weekend.

Copyright © 2007 Singapore Press Holdings Ltd. All rights reserved.

$1000psf for a toa payah LH99 condo? wah lan eh you gotta be kidding

I agree too... but then again.. maybe this is a new benchmark... and it is quite attractive as compared to centro...

Anyway as long as there are folks buying, the rest will follow... herd instinct... even if the blind is leading the blind and leading the rest to their doom....

But then again, if the buyers can afford it... who cares right?

It is crazy now ... I wonder if 3 to 4 years down the road, are we going to experience Singapore version of Sub Prime? or is Singapore property going all the way up up up like Japan/HK?

Amen to our next generation ...

They claim that it is 3 Minutes Walk to Braddell MRT
    5 Minutes Walk to HDB Hub/Toa Payoh MRT. Is it really true? More like 5 - 6 minutes walk to Braddell MRT and longer to HDB HUB MRT stn. Unless it is breeze walk!