Page 7 of 20 FirstFirst ... 2345678910111217 ... LastLast

Thread: Trevista (D12, 99 years leasehold, NTUC Choice Homes)

xebay11 is offline New Launch Project Specialist

how about THe Peak (HDB BTO) at Toa Payoh? Going at $500psf, that is nearly half of Trevista's avg psf.

just seems better value for $$ to me
    Yes, at least got chance to make money to springboard later.

Quote Originally Posted by xebay11
    Resale prices are atrocious, so go for new and make your own pot of gold after 5 years. If not stay put, not everyone is lucky enough to go private property. If you buy a high resale value flat make sure it is 5 yo old type, at least you have chance of making some money too.
    The sad part is both my spouse and mine combined income exceeded the HDB 8k ceiling. This is so silly that I have no choice but to take a look @ the resales, and possibly the resales condo unit...

Well guess have no choice but like I said, if buy good resale try and buy as new as possible, resale condo units also good value for money as prices not that high and bigger units, my BIL just bought a 3 bedroom FH condo at Hillview for $660k.

Hmmm ... if mid 30s & sandwiched class & not belonging to those 7k mthly income tt someone mentioned can earn if u're in those top 50 professions .... maybe can consider resale HDB or resale EC? Could be still cheaper than resale condo?

This thread is getting more interesting hor .... so any latest on Trevista huh?

Quote Originally Posted by xebay11
    Well guess have no choice but like I said, if buy good resale try and buy as new as possible, resale condo units also good value for money as prices not that high and bigger units, my BIL just bought a 3 bedroom FH condo at Hillview for $660k.
    Oh I am looking @ hillview area as well, particularly the project Merawoods, but all priced damn expensive. Btw, whats your BIL project? Any idea of its sqft/sqm size? 660k is a good buy.

Quote Originally Posted by cheerful
    Hmmm ... if mid 30s & sandwiched class & not belonging to those 7k mthly income tt someone mentioned can earn if u're in those top 50 professions .... maybe can consider resale HDB or resale EC? Could be still cheaper than resale condo?

This thread is getting more interesting hor .... so any latest on Trevista huh?
    Seriously speaking, I cannot understand how the statistics comes about. Most of the peers I know, are definitely not earning that rosy figure. We are just merely surviving.

Well, if your combine income is slightly above $8k only and you are a first timer who want a new apartment with no condo maintenance. Do what my friend did.

Buy a new DBSS due to TOP in 2 years in a matured estate with 10 min walk to MRT at $600K.
    Write in to HDB to appeal for HDB loan instead of bank loan.
    Get a 1st timer grant of $20K or $30k which reduce the price to $580k.

That way, you pay lesser for a flat with condo fittings and no maintenance to pay as there are no facilities. You get a new apartment with amenities near you and public transport is almost at your door step.

Seriously speaking, I cannot understand how the statistics comes about. Most of the peers I know, are definitely not earning that rosy figure. We are just merely surviving.
    Hi yowetan, don't be discouraged by the current hype ... surely u'll find something tt u really like & can afford .. Hillview is not too bad apart from the congestion & peak hr traffic ... DTL be there in a few years time too.

Actually, I think the dept of stats or whichever body tt came up with those numbres should oso look at the fact that these days pp marry later ... while chasing the monies, shldn't the govt oso look at the quality of life as well? Anyway ... numbers shld not bluff but it's how they are being interpreted ... but some reported stories can (as in giving skewed pictures) ...

means all this while u and spouse staying at matrimonial home or wat?

Err .. they cld be newly wed or getting to wed but already ROM liao mah ... didn't u read the discussion abt pp getting married later too? Hey, pp oso can stay with in-laws wat ... so many permutations ...

Yah, we are staying in our parent's home nowadays. Shutter between mine and my spouse parent's houses.

I did consider DBSS, but the thought of almost 600k really puts me off. With that kind of atrocious sum, I may have a chance to get a hillview FH/999 leasehold units. In addition, I dun wish to ladden myself with debts financing my home; moreover our jobs nowadays arent stable anymore with the globalization running amok in our country.

It really set me thinking if I should just stay put in my parents home instead to save all these woes.

Alternatively, you can do what my other friend did.

If you really want a place of your own now and already own a car, can consider some of the resale HDB in Punggol.

Anyway, a train ride from Punggol to Dhoby Ghaut takes you 35min include LRT ride if you have no car.

On average, a 7 year old 5 room flat is selling at $400k (almost the same price as those that are released on BTO recently)

Take a bank loan and you'll find that the monthly instalment is still well within your affordability.

Yah, we are staying in our parent's home nowadays. Shutter between mine and my spouse parent's houses.

I did consider DBSS, but the thought of almost 600k really puts me off. With that kind of atrocious sum, I may have a chance to get a hillview FH/999 leasehold units. In addition, I dun wish to ladden myself with debts financing my home; moreover our jobs nowadays arent stable anymore with the globalization running amok in our country.

It really set me thinking if I should just stay put in my parents home instead to save all these woes.
    just make sure u get something that u can really well afford lor ... not maboky's definition of "affordability" thats for sure ~

Is it possible to get a freehold/999 leasehold condo at around 600k and below?

True, but have u thought of the monthly maintenance, higher property tax, home mortgage insurance premium (?), and possibly adhoc sinking funds (if he FH property needs a facelift)?

If you want the least amount of commitment because of the insecurity in jobs or income, then, think afew time before buying private.

This is not to stop you from buying private. Just a friendly reminder on hw hard things may be for us - the sandwich class.

FH/999? a bit hard lah

but if u look hard enough u can get those older condo 99lh kind for $600-700k, over 1500sft too

RESALE Apartment status - maybe Yes ( more than 5 years) , not full condo STATUS. Also just under 1100 sqft. Look around, even city fringe have, near MRT too.

Hmm..thanks to all who responded to my queries. I am puzzled now - what is the status thingy all about? What is the impact if the status is an apartment instead full condo status?

Yah, I am really looking hard for FH/999 leasehold condo as I feel its more worthwhile since I am gona commit a considerable amount of money into this home. However, I do acknowledge that there are pitfalls owning a private home due to all hidden charges as mentioned by 5577. Sighz...recently been to other forums, it seems all couples are snapping up condo here n there, as well as HDBs!

I am not a happy sandwich class person.

Hmm..thanks to all who responded to my queries. I am puzzled now - what is the status thingy all about? What is the impact if the status is an apartment instead full condo status?

Yah, I am really looking hard for FH/999 leasehold condo as I feel its more worthwhile since I am gona commit a considerable amount of money into this home. However, I do acknowledge that there are pitfalls owning a private home due to all hidden charges as mentioned by 5577. Sighz...recently been to other forums, it seems all couples are snapping up condo here n there, as well as HDBs!

One thing to note - FH doesn't mean that u really get to keep it for generations... if government needs it back for economic reasons, they will still buy it back. Of course, the compensation rate is named by the government.

For a first home - look for something within your budget (purchase price), somewhere you are comfortable with, then consider the amount of $$ you are willing shell out for maintenance and overhead expense. That way, you won't go wrong.

well this is the thing isn't it? Be careful dont be sucked into this never ending spiraling chase with the jones ~

buy what u need and well within your means... u will be happier

well this is the thing isn't it? Be careful dont be sucked into this never ending spiraling chase with the jones ~

buy what u need and well within your means... u will be happier
    This is exactly what I mean, don't worry you miss your "boat" or "ship",
    If you are really out of job one day and can't find another so soon see what the bank will do to you and your house.

The interest now is so low and look attractive but what if the the bank increase the rate? I had experienced from 3% interest increased to 7% within a year. That cost me additional of about $1,000 per month for interest alone to service the loan.

Is ture....NO JOKE.....

I am not talking down the market, I am trying to caution the buyers to be careful...don't greed....don't get burn....plenty of "boat" coming in 2010...

[quote=xebay11]Well guess have no choice but like I said, if buy good resale try and buy as new as possible, resale condo units also good value for money as prices not that high and bigger units, my BIL just bought a 3 bedroom FH condo at Hillview for $660k.[/quote

That ture, there are plenty of good and chaep units for sales in the ST ads on Saturday.

Do your pick slowly, no need to rush for the expensive new launch.
    Like what Xebay11 said, bigger and cheaper units...

Don't follow the crazy bull...go and..cheong...and....bang on the wall...

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sub/...48046,00.html?

Published August 29, 2009

Buyers snap up flats at Trevista condo in Toa Payoh

320 of 590-unit project taken up; co-op to release more at weekend

IF it's priced attractively, it still sells. Hungry home buyers yesterday bought around 320 units at the 590-unit Trevista condo in Toa Payoh.

HOT PROPERTY
    Some agents were seen armed with blank cheques from clients who had given them authorisation to book units

By around 3pm yesterday, buyers were said to have snapped up some 190 of the total 210 units released in the first phase of the preview, resulting in developer NTUC Choice Homes Co-operative releasing a further 190 units in the early evening to satisfy demand. BT understands that the price was raised by about 2-3 per cent for the second batch from the initial phase's average price of $898 per square foot (psf). However, some of the price gain also reflects the fact that units in the second batch are on higher floors and have better orientation.

While many people will baulk at this price for a 99-year leasehold project, what has been drawing buyers to Trevista is that the psf pricing is about 20 per cent lower than the closest competition from a comparable recently launched project - Far East Organization's Centro Residences next to Ang Mo Kio Hub, which was released last month at an average price of $1,150 psf. However, Trevista's units are generally bigger than Centro's so in absolute dollar quantum per unit, the price difference between the two projects may be less.

The smallest units at Trevista - studios and apartments with one bedroom plus study - were the first to sell out yesterday. Some agents were seen armed with blank cheques from clients keen to secure the better units and who had given them authorisation to book units on their behalf.

Choice Homes CEO Margaret Goh had noted on Thursday that Trevista is the first private condo to be launched in the mature Toa Payoh estate since 1996. That was when City Developments Ltd launched the freehold Trellis Towers at an initial average price of $900 psf, according to newspaper reports at the time.

With 400 units or two-thirds of the total units in Trevista released by yesterday evening, Choice Homes stopped issuing queue numbers after 9pm and told those streaming into the showflat site to return the next day.

The co-op is expected to make further units available over the weekend to cater to demand. Trevista comprises a total of 590 units in three 39-storey towers. It is being marketed by CB Richard Ellis and ERA.

Developers sold 10,017 private homes in the first seven months of this year - more than double the 4,264 units in the whole of 2008 when home buying dried up due to the global financial crisis. The unexpectedly strong sales pick-up since February this year came about after developers cut prices. However, they have since been raising prices for some projects - and that has resulted in generally slower take-up.

Quote Originally Posted by Honesty

That ture, there are plenty of good and chaep units for sales in the ST ads on Saturday.

Do your pick slowly, no need to rush for the expensive new launch.
    Like what Xebay11 said, bigger and cheaper units...
    Not if you want a new condo in that area that you are familar with and especially near a MRT.

There are reasons why people are prepared to pay more $psf for new units. Older apartments always have some waterproofing issues, leakage, wall cracks, rusts etc. Also larger apartments 10 years ago have not good design in layout. Too many walls and not bright because of small windows. Now we have open lounge, open kitchen, dry kitchen, wet kitchen and balconies, proper aircon ledge with louvers. Even master bathrooms are see-thru. All these makes the project look better.

There are not too many 30 or 40 years old building apartments in S'pore. In fact not many buildings (apart from structure) are built to last that long because of our humid/hot weather. Check out PearlBank apartment oneof the earlier LH condos in S'pore. Now only $600psf

Singapore is a strange place. The prices for condo (space above land) depreciates with age while the land appreciates.

Quote Originally Posted by andy
    Not if you want a new condo in that area that you are familar with and especially near a MRT.

There are reasons why people are prepared to pay more $psf for new units. Older apartments always have some waterproofing issues, leakage, wall cracks, rusts etc. Also larger apartments 10 years ago have not good design in layout. Too many walls and not bright because of small windows. Now we have open lounge, open kitchen, dry kitchen, wet kitchen and balconies, proper aircon ledge with louvers. Even master bathrooms are see-thru. All these makes the project look better.

There are not too many 30 or 40 years old building apartments in S'pore. In fact not many buildings (apart from structure) are built to last that long because of our humid/hot weather. Check out PearlBank apartment oneof the earlier LH condos in S'pore. Now only $600psf

Singapore is a strange place. The prices for condo (space above land) depreciates with age while the land appreciates.
    Yes, you got your point, think better look for freehold instead.

Hi Cl0ver,

Thanks for the information. Usually such data are extracted from the iras authority. I take this information as a pinch of salt and I doubt there are many singapoeans earning that figure. All the people surrounding me, including me myself are earning much lesser than the proclaimed 7kSGD, though we are professionals armed with good university degrees.
    Perhaps you are in the younger category yowetan...i know of many who are indeed earning > than the 7k pm, so seems like the data has some truth though not 100% accurate of course.

Quote Originally Posted by Honesty
    Yes, you got your point, think better look for freehold instead.
    No actually it does not matter freehold or leasehold. 99 LH stills last longer than then building. FH is worth less if not near MRT or shops

So the project sold out liaoz?

Think so far its about 70% and got new units released over the weekend. You interested?

Quote Originally Posted by andy
    No actually it does not matter freehold or leasehold.
    Is this lip service? Or real? how come all the prospective buyers of my condo run far far the moment they found out LH.