Page 10 of 44 FirstFirst ... 567891011121314152025303540 ... LastLast

Thread: Hundred Trees (Former Hong Leong Garden @West Coast Drive)

xebay11 is offline New Launch Project Specialist

Quote Originally Posted by Number_9z
    Well said...and will govt really implement more stringgent rulings to curb speculation/depress prices? I seriously doubt so..Singapore needs the rich china/middle east investors to invest and buy property here..Imagine how it will affect the economy if everyone starts moving their riches to Australia/china etc if it becomes too cumbersome (and no upside) to invest here.. some form of regulations are good to moderate the sharp increase in property prices but I don't think it will drive prices down significantly, probably just deter some small % of flippers. my 2 cents..cheers
    If you look at the "Telling Numbers" table posted by Mr Funny, you can see that in Q3 09 Non Landed Leasehold there were 777 new sale units and 1312 resale and 260 subsale, if you just analyse sub sale that is 33% confirmed flippers, assuming that 400 of the 1312 resale figures are also sold by flippers, just that they sold after TOP, that would mean a whopping 660 flippers in Q3 alone. And of the 777 new sale units, one can also speculate that a certain percentage are speculators as well. So how do you all work out that flippers is a small percentage?

Quote Originally Posted by xebay11
    If you look at the "Telling Numbers" table posted by Mr Funny, you can see that in Q3 09 Non Landed Leasehold there were 777 new sale units and 1312 resale and 260 subsale, if you just analyse sub sale that is 33% confirmed flippers, assuming that 400 of the 1312 resale figures are also sold by flippers, just that they sold after TOP, that would mean a whopping 660 flippers in Q3 alone. And of the 777 new sale units, one can also speculate that a certain percentage are speculators as well. So how do you all work out that flippers is a small percentage?
    if you read carefully, I meant it deters a small % of flippers and NOT flippers is a small %. Most people (personal opinion) if given a good price will flip..same with me even though I bought my prty for personal stay...anyway...I already said that moderate regulation is good, but prices are mostly driven by supply and demand...I seriously doubt the latest rulings will bring down the prices..anyway, time will tell... cheers

there were 777 new sale units and 1312 resale and 260 subsale, if you just analyse sub sale that is 33% confirmed flippers, assuming that 400 of the 1312 resale figures are also sold by flippers, just that they sold after TOP, that would mean a whopping 660 flippers in Q3 alone. And of the 777 new sale units, one can also speculate that a certain percentage are speculators as well. So how do you all work out that flippers is a small percentage?
    this is not the way to determine flipper number. you need to go into REALIS database and see the actual subsale unit and see when it's being bought and sold. I have a Morgan Stanly report, which combed through the entire transaction database of H1 09, and found only very small numbers of flippers that enter into market this year. ("Flipper" here has the strict definition of buying/selling within a short period. If you buy it and sell it 2/3 years later, that's not a flipper, that's just a normal investor) And most of the flippings concentrate on 3 projects (can't remember the names, one of them is Centris). The fact is, as the data stand now, most 2009 pty buyers are not flippers (or at least not flipping yet, and there is no way you can tell now).

better buy double bay residence at simei. got 200 trees and many swimming pools. great investment opportynuity as singapore 4th uni opening up there.

Quote Originally Posted by tanumy
    better buy double bay residence at simei. got 200 trees and many swimming pools. great investment opportynuity as singapore 4th uni opening up there.
    lets hear from you ..why you think with the 4th Uni ther will be a good investment ?

rental income ? whos the target renter ? students ? lecturer ? or ?

how is it better than NUS ? is this 4th UNi going to be bigger than NUS in terms of student intake and number of lecturers ? offering more fields of studies than NUS ?

lets hear from you ..why you think with the 4th Uni ther will be a good investment ?

rental income ? whos the target renter ? students ? lecturer ? or ?

how is it better than NUS ? is this 4th UNi going to be bigger than NUS in terms of student intake and number of lecturers ? offering more fields of studies than NUS ?
    It's got "200 trees" so it must be a "great investment opportynuity".

Quote Originally Posted by tanumy

this is not the way to determine flipper number. you need to go into REALIS database and see the actual subsale unit and see when it's being bought and sold. I have a Morgan Stanly report, which combed through the entire transaction database of H1 09, and found only very small numbers of flippers that enter into market this year. ("Flipper" here has the strict definition of buying/selling within a short period. If you buy it and sell it 2/3 years later, that's not a flipper, that's just a normal investor) And most of the flippings concentrate on 3 projects (can't remember the names, one of them is Centris). The fact is, as the data stand now, most 2009 pty buyers are not flippers (or at least not flipping yet, and there is no way you can tell now).
    How do you define the number presented in the subsales statistic? You defined people who sell at sub sales owner/occupiers?

We cannot have such a narrow and strict definition of flipper as one who sells and buys within a few months, flippers can also mean those that buy and sell it in 2/3 years, ie. buy from PRE-TOP to post TOP. IMHO I don't agree that flippers must come under a strict definition, to me a flipper is one who books a unit with no intention of staying and selling or renting it out to make a profit, in the end call them what you will but they are the ones who create artificial demand and artificial price increases.

to me a flipper is one who books a unit with no intention of staying and selling or renting it out to make a profit, in the end call them what you will but they are the ones who create artificial demand and artificial price increases.
    so to you there is no such thing as "property investment" isn't it ?

Which is my point, the flippers would decrease not because of removal of the IAS, (as you and cher point out IAS is not used by flippers) but the number of flippers would decrease because there would be a lack of buyers who have limited funds and try to buy beyond their means.

In a nutshell, if end buyers are cautious and not bite from flippers, flippers would cease to exist. So removing the IAS is like a chain effect, the results may not be direct.
    Eh... I think sub-sales don't enjoy IAS. So I don't follow your logic how, assuming IAS does not result in decrease of flippers coz they don't need or use IAS, end buyers are gonna decrease in numbers.

The way I see it, without the added benefit of 'grab now pay later' of IAS, if it indeed results in less developer sales, it can only do good for the sub-sale / resale market.

so to you there is no such thing as "property investment" isn't it ?
    Property investor is for owner occupier who makes profit. Speculator is with the only intent of buying to resale/rent.

So the showflat opening this weekend? Passed by last night, doesn't look like it's gonna be ready in a couple of days... Still see quite a few agents gathering at the side of the road feeding mozzies at ard 10pm... are they expecting potential buyers to drive by late at night???

Property investor is for owner occupier who makes profit. Speculator is with the only intent of buying to resale/rent.
    This logic is inherently flawed. "occupier" does not sell the property, where is the "profit" ? Occupier is not an investor. Property is not only for home staying. It's also a business. When you are more seasoned to the market your will start to appreciate this.
    anyway I can see where you are coming from and the line of your thinking. I think I'm done with this case. It's alright, each one has different opinion.

Wah, with your such definition, SLA, GIC, Temasek, HDB, JTC etc and all property developers also become listed under "speculators" because they bought and sold land and properties and also buy for renting out!

There many categories:

1. Owner-occupier (Class A) - a house is a home.

These people consider their house to be their home and not an invesment. It is not about money. They will oppose en bloc sales.

2. Owner-occupier (Class B) - a house is an investment.

These people consider their house to be an investment. If the right offer comes along, especially in an en bloc, they will consider.

3. Investor (Class A) - long term.

These are long term investors who buy multiple properties because they are afraid that their descendants will fall into HDB class. Will not sell and may even put their properties into a trust.

4. Investor (Class B) - medium term.

These investors buy for their retirement funding or children's university education. May sell when the time is ripe.

5. Specuvestor.

These are deep-pocketed investors who hope to make a quick buck but are able to hold in case the market turns, or vice versa. (e.g. Temasek holdings and their stake in Merrill Lynch).

6. Speculator.

Hope to make a quick buck in the short term, e.g. around a year or two.

7. Flipper.

No intention to even complete the purchase.
    Last edited by jlrx; 18-09-09 at 17:33.

Wah, with your such definition, SLA, GIC, Temasek, HDB, JTC etc and all property developers also become listed under "speculators" because they bought and sold land and properties and also buy for renting out!
    These are developers doh!

Just received email from agents.

Some stacks got thermal insulating paint.
    There is also laminated glazed ones.

Interesting. Also still have IAS.

Quote Originally Posted by echotrain

These are not going to help if the units are west facing.

For those facing west (landed view), it should be quite ok for low flooring as the 100 trees should block some heat out. For the facing east (aye view), really need to shut the balcony sliding door.

yo ur agent very efficient leh.

can share which stacks got the special thermal insulating paint and laminated glazed ones? and did ur agent tell u when is the showroom ready? and the launch date?

Which stacks are west facing?

Quote Originally Posted by W0520
    Which stacks are west facing?
    All the landed view ones are SW facing.

yo ur agent very efficient leh.

can share which stacks got the special thermal insulating paint and laminated glazed ones? and did ur agent tell u when is the showroom ready? and the launch date?
    Preview 25 sep.
    stacks 25 upward (last two blocks) have thermal paint. Not sure it is cos there is lesser shade. Anyone know y?

Can look at
    http://www.sg-launch.com/hundredtree...FZMtpAodE2TBEA

The thermal paint blocks should be the last two blocks near to tennis courts. More exposed under the west sun?

Actually IMHO, among the other possible options, the current overall layout of the blocks is the best option. As blocks are placed at the center and not the pool at the center. The pool is placed along the expressway side... so it balanced up the negative expressway view with a pool view. There's two other smaller pools. One pool near the entrance.

Blocks along the AYE are tilted to face away from the Expressway, as compared to Infiniti.. facing the expressway. Should have less sound blasting at it directly? I am not sure if it get bounced off the wall also. The back facing west side blocks gives the impression that they are at the same angel of the west sun... so less exposed?

I would think that stacks 03 07 11 15 etc facing the expressway and stacks 01, 05 09 etc facing the landed housing are the better ones. 4 bedders are mainly west sun units... so...

Preview 25 sep.
    stacks 25 upward (last two blocks) have thermal paint. Not sure it is cos there is lesser shade. Anyone know y?
    Do you know whether the preview is in the morning / afternoon / everning on 25th Sep?

Quote Originally Posted by W0520
    Do you know whether the preview is in the morning / afternoon / everning on 25th Sep?
    Juz received sms that reads: soft launch this Fri ...Time is not confirmed yet as they will be opening it to ex-residents .. like tt wor.

Default Hundred Trees at West Coast Dr. By CDL

Look very nice...

http://www.hundredtrees.sg/

These are Tabebuia rosea trees (also known as Trumpet Tree or Pink Poui). The large, trumpet-shaped flowers usually bloom after a dry spell. The flowering period lasts several days, and the entire tree is covered with a profusion of blossoms.

Quote Originally Posted by nadoey
    Look very nice...

http://www.hundredtrees.sg/

Another Infiniti... too near to the noisy expressway...

Quote Originally Posted by kEN9170
    These are Tabebuia rosea trees (also known as Trumpet Tree or Pink Poui). The large, trumpet-shaped flowers usually bloom after a dry spell. The flowering period lasts several days, and the entire tree is covered with a profusion of blossoms.
    I thought it's Mempat? (some agent confirmed that)

Just got a call from a Huttons agent. They started queuing up at the showflat liao. Thur supposed to be the preview for ex residents.

I was originally very interested in this project. Recee the area a few times, but finally decided to give it a miss after experiencing for myself the AYE noise from the nearby Clementi flats (which from the map, will be equivalent distance from AYE compared to the AYE facing Hundred trees).

All the best to bros going for this project.