Thread: Driving to Citysquare Mall a bloody nightmare

Default Driving to Citysquare Mall a bloody nightmare

Yesterday was the first time I visited Citysquare mall. Finding a parking lot when I arrived at 8 plus was relatively easy, but when I was making my way out of the place at 10pm, The jam was bloody horrendous, all the way to B4 . I decided to leave me car at B4 until the jam was eased so took a walk around outside. Guess what (actually quite obvious), parapundeks here there and everywhere, and crossing the road to the other side makes my wife grip on to her bag tightly and there is this feeling of getting mobbed by those parapundeks . We adventurously took a walk to mustafa and even at the entrance, people's bags have to be checked, so imagine the security in that area . I tell myself this is the last time I am going to that god-forsaken area if there is no compelling reason to be there.

Guess that's why the mrt exit/entrance opens directly into the park right in front of the mall to avoid the road congestion. (Don't think it is conducive to drive anywhere starting from Tekka side right up to Woodsville interchange.) The last time I was there, the security guard was actively chasing people away from the common walkway around the building who were either smoking or loitering - regardless of race.

I was there last weekend, I mean I also wanted to go for dinner at CS mall but traffic doesn't seem to be moving so in e end go somewhere else. I thought what happened. So it's due to ''parapundeks''

vivocity and orchard road are all having jams. I think you are more concern about the parapundeks then been caught in a jam.
    I like shopping at mustafa to get my cheap sports stuff. Mustafa has security to seal up our bags to prevent shoplifters not because it's dangerous.

xebay11 is offline New Launch Project Specialist

Quote Originally Posted by shespawn
    vivocity and orchard road are all having jams. I think you are more concern about the parapundeks then been caught in a jam.
    I like shopping at mustafa to get my cheap sports stuff. Mustafa has security to seal up our bags to prevent shoplifters not because it's dangerous.
    People who shoplift are also laible to be pickpockets, so that is dangerous.

Whether parapundeks or heavy traffic.. people are more than happy to pay big sums to stay in their nice comfy CS condo:

City Square Residences resale prices above $1,000 psf

Since June this year, transaction prices of apartments at the 910-unit City Square Residences in the secondary market have increasingly crossed $1,000 psf, hitting a high of $1,271 psf in August, when a 570 sq ft studio apartment on the 26th floor of one of the two 30-storey towers was sold for $725,000. Since October, however, more units have been changing hands in the resale market at prices above the $1,000 to $1,100 psf range.

There has also been an increase in transactions last month. In November, up to the latest caveat lodged on Nov 18 — for a three bedroom 1,518 sq ft unit that changed hands for $1.49 million — there were already eight transactions at City Square Residences, compared with seven recorded in October, according to the URA Realis database of caveats. The buoyant prices at City Square Residences can be attributed to the launch of the 40-unit boutique-apartment project City Loft on Race Course Road by Oxley (Ascend Capital Pte Ltd) in late October, where units were sold at $999 to $1,154 psf, according to caveats lodged. The development is made up of 34 units of studio apartments ranging from 322 to 419 sq ft and six two-bedroom “penthouses” of 742 to 904 sq ft.

In contrast, the massive City Square Residences, easily one of the largest condominiums in the vicinity (if not the largest), has a wide mix of larger units catering to families, with two-bedroom apartments of 840 to 1,302 sq ft, three-bedroom apartments of 1,195 to 1,830 sq ft and four-bedroom apartments starting from about 1,500 sq ft. Even the studio apartments are around 570 sq ft.

Another reason for City Square Residences being on the radar of homebuyers of late could also be the opening of City Square Mall, with over 700,000 sq ft of retail space and 300 shops, in November. Among the many shops and F&B outlets in the building are an NTUC Fairprice supermarket, a Metro department store and a KopiTiam food court. Developed by City Developments Ltd (CDL), the developer for City Square Residences, the mall is conveniently located right next to the condominium project and linked underground to the nearby Farrer Park MRT station.

The freehold condo project was launched in April 2005 at an initial average selling price of $560 psf, and given its location on the fringe of the city and next to the MRT station as well as a shopping mall, the project had attracted the interest of both owner-occupiers and investors. The project was sold out within months of its launch. Prices have certainly appreciated in the last four years, and transaction prices in recent months have even exceeded the levels seen from 3Q2007 to 1Q2008, at the peak of the property boom. From Nov 13 to 20, three units changed hands in the resale market at $982 to $1,121 psf.

For instance, a three-bedroom, 1,216 sq ft fifth-storey unit in one of the two towers changed hands in a resale at $1.23 million, or $1,011 psf, according to a caveat lodged on Nov 17. This was the second time the unit has changed hands in the secondary market. The first time was just a year ago, when the previous owner paid $899,800, or $740 psf, for it. Thus, he enjoyed a capital upside of 36.7% in just a year. The original owner purchased it from the developer in August 2005 for $782,100, or $643 psf, a 15% appreciation.

Meanwhile, a two-bedroom, 861 sq ft unit on the 23rd floor of one of the twin towers was sold for $965,000, or $1,121 psf. The previous owner had purchased it for $720,000, or $836 psf, in January when the project was close to completion, enjoying a 34% gain in less than 12 months. The first owner bought the unit when it was launched, for $576,000, or $669 psf, enjoying a 25% capital gain. With amenities like shopping mall and MRT in place, and just a short walk from vibrant Little India, it’s no wonder that prices at City Square Residences have been on the rise.

go on weekdays, traffic and crowd definitely better.

xebay11 is offline New Launch Project Specialist

Whether parapundeks or heavy traffic.. people are more than happy to pay big sums to stay in their nice comfy CS condo:

City Square Residences resale prices above $1,000 psf

Since June this year, transaction prices of apartments at the 910-unit City Square Residences in the secondary market have increasingly crossed $1,000 psf, hitting a high of $1,271 psf in August, when a 570 sq ft studio apartment on the 26th floor of one of the two 30-storey towers was sold for $725,000. Since October, however, more units have been changing hands in the resale market at prices above the $1,000 to $1,100 psf range.

There has also been an increase in transactions last month. In November, up to the latest caveat lodged on Nov 18 — for a three bedroom 1,518 sq ft unit that changed hands for $1.49 million — there were already eight transactions at City Square Residences, compared with seven recorded in October, according to the URA Realis database of caveats. The buoyant prices at City Square Residences can be attributed to the launch of the 40-unit boutique-apartment project City Loft on Race Course Road by Oxley (Ascend Capital Pte Ltd) in late October, where units were sold at $999 to $1,154 psf, according to caveats lodged. The development is made up of 34 units of studio apartments ranging from 322 to 419 sq ft and six two-bedroom “penthouses” of 742 to 904 sq ft.

In contrast, the massive City Square Residences, easily one of the largest condominiums in the vicinity (if not the largest), has a wide mix of larger units catering to families, with two-bedroom apartments of 840 to 1,302 sq ft, three-bedroom apartments of 1,195 to 1,830 sq ft and four-bedroom apartments starting from about 1,500 sq ft. Even the studio apartments are around 570 sq ft.

Another reason for City Square Residences being on the radar of homebuyers of late could also be the opening of City Square Mall, with over 700,000 sq ft of retail space and 300 shops, in November. Among the many shops and F&B outlets in the building are an NTUC Fairprice supermarket, a Metro department store and a KopiTiam food court. Developed by City Developments Ltd (CDL), the developer for City Square Residences, the mall is conveniently located right next to the condominium project and linked underground to the nearby Farrer Park MRT station.

The freehold condo project was launched in April 2005 at an initial average selling price of $560 psf, and given its location on the fringe of the city and next to the MRT station as well as a shopping mall, the project had attracted the interest of both owner-occupiers and investors. The project was sold out within months of its launch. Prices have certainly appreciated in the last four years, and transaction prices in recent months have even exceeded the levels seen from 3Q2007 to 1Q2008, at the peak of the property boom. From Nov 13 to 20, three units changed hands in the resale market at $982 to $1,121 psf.

For instance, a three-bedroom, 1,216 sq ft fifth-storey unit in one of the two towers changed hands in a resale at $1.23 million, or $1,011 psf, according to a caveat lodged on Nov 17. This was the second time the unit has changed hands in the secondary market. The first time was just a year ago, when the previous owner paid $899,800, or $740 psf, for it. Thus, he enjoyed a capital upside of 36.7% in just a year. The original owner purchased it from the developer in August 2005 for $782,100, or $643 psf, a 15% appreciation.

Meanwhile, a two-bedroom, 861 sq ft unit on the 23rd floor of one of the twin towers was sold for $965,000, or $1,121 psf. The previous owner had purchased it for $720,000, or $836 psf, in January when the project was close to completion, enjoying a 34% gain in less than 12 months. The first owner bought the unit when it was launched, for $576,000, or $669 psf, enjoying a 25% capital gain. With amenities like shopping mall and MRT in place, and just a short walk from vibrant Little India, it’s no wonder that prices at City Square Residences have been on the rise.
    I will avoid these types of developments as they do not age well, case in point, People's Park complex, the apts there now like a slum to all the PRCs. 20 years from now CS will be the same, except that it will be a slum for the slumdogs.

Quote Originally Posted by terence
    go on weekdays, traffic and crowd definitely better.
    Yes agreed. For emergency stuff, i go there on weekdays or PH after 10pm.. the only hassle is finding where is the stuff located ... haha..

The problem is that area will not change in the next 100years and the infestations of certain groups will still be prevalent. If residents there don't mind the feeling that they might get mobbed anytime, then by all means they can live there. The feeling I get being around heartland malls is very different from being around Citysquare Mall. There are cops patrolling around that area all the time and just outside Mustafa (a few steps from CS Mall) so what can you say about the area?

Quote Originally Posted by xebay11
    I will avoid these types of developments as they do not age well, case in point, People's Park complex, the apts there now like a slum to all the PRCs. 20 years from now CS will be the same, except that it will be a slum for the slumdogs.

Also, seeing hoards of parapundeks squatting and standing by the roads and alleys around that area is damn intimidating. Worst part is they all look alike. If you get attacked by them at night and they run into a dense crowd, you won't be able to make out who is the criminal. Differentiaing them in broad daylight is already quite tough, what more about night

Thats why City Square is not a good place for investment.
    U just need to visit the area on sat and sunday evenings, u will know what i meant.

yup, agree with u on the security but that's common in any other countries where large foreign contract workers gather. For me to go there, I rather not bring my gal along & dun flash any exp Rolex or thick stack of cash.

I know it is a culture shock for typical Sporean (who are used to safety environment) and come to Little India at peak hours. Well it is the same mentality for Londoners to go Chinatown at peak hours or any dark alleys.

Juz stay alert or avoid at all cost.

For me, Little India Mustafa is a convenient place to get things at abnormal times.

The pty there will appeal to different group of population.

Rental yield sucks as well..

2.2k rental for a 700k+ studio. Barely breakeven. If interest go up, still need to top up cash

Quote Originally Posted by xebay11

Quote Originally Posted by Squall8888

2.2k rental for a 700k+ studio. Barely breakeven. If interest go up, still need to top up cash

not just CSR lah ..

a lot of condos in prime districts also the same .. barely breakeven ..

owners all argue .. small loss short term .. wait for capital appreciation ..

everyone got a reason to buy at what seems the high ..

negative rental return ..say wait for long term gain
    mkt dont move, say they LOVE the location ..or for own stay ..

make 1k a mth , say good enuff ..better than keep in bank .. (actually they havent added maintenance, property tax, etc) ..

cant beat them all ...

as long as can afford, and not having to cut back on daily necessary expenses ok leow

i think rental yield for any unit in TS bought at above 2.5k psf must be among the worst. Imagine paying 1.5mil for a studio and renting it out for 3k a month, that converts to just 2.4% rental yield. A 350k 4rm flat in the suburbs renting out at 2k plus a month has a rental yield of more than 7%.

not just CSR lah ..

a lot of condos in prime districts also the same .. barely breakeven ..

owners all argue .. small loss short term .. wait for capital appreciation ..

everyone got a reason to buy at what seems the high ..

negative rental return ..say wait for long term gain
    mkt dont move, say they LOVE the location ..or for own stay ..

make 1k a mth , say good enuff ..better than keep in bank .. (actually they havent added maintenance, property tax, etc) ..

cant beat them all ...

as long as can afford, and not having to cut back on daily necessary expenses ok leow

i think rental yield for any unit in TS bought at above 2.5k psf must be among the worst. Imagine paying 1.5mil for a studio and renting it out for 3k a month, that converts to just 2.4% rental yield. A 350k 4rm flat in the suburbs renting out at 2k plus a month has a rental yield of more than 7%.
    where is TS ?

in fact .. look at some landed houses at dist 10/11

say 6th ave ..namly, coronation ... say pay 3 - 4 mio ..ave 3.5 mio
    mortgage on 2.8 mio easily 8-9k a mth .. but i see alot asking 10k and above but in most cases .. they rent out 7.5-8.5k ish

as oppose to say a corner terrace in west coast .. maybe cost 2.5 mio mortgage on 1.95 mio ..morgage maybe 6k a mth .. yet they can rent out at 6-7k .. in some cases even 9k

i know of a inter terrace ..rent out for 9.5k ...

from an investment point of view .. i agree that many condos simply cannot generate the desired return

can only wait for capital appreciation ..

That is because HDB didn't rise as much as TS. Boom time or bear time. Of course, TS drop more than HDB during bear time. Risk vs returns. I don't think anyone buy sail for rental yield. And rental is not as bad as you think. Now, unfurnished already asking 3.6k. Furnished some transacted around 4k.

For a 1.3 million studio with a 4k rental, works out to be 3.7% yield. Not so bad after all. And I fully agree with your 2.5k psf. Then again, they are not ordinary buyers. They are the same group of buyers who will buy Ardmore, Nassim, Orchard residences etc who will not look at rental yield.

They are the same group of buyers who will buy Ardmore, Nassim, Orchard residences etc who will not look at rental yield.
    Some Ardmore units are rented out 13k to 15k, rental sucks too.

If you go on Sunday night then of course many parapundeks workers around (outside the mall) but the inside of the mall is all filled with cheenaquis. THis is what surprised me because before the mall was completed all the morons here were saying that CS Mall will be a failure because no cheenaquis will go there. What happened?
    On weekdays and even on Saturdays it was a breeze when I went. You mean Orchard Rd malls parking no problem on weekends. No jam? Those who paid millions for their 99yr lease Orchard Resdience will be spending 30-45 minutes just to aprk their car.
    Anyway don't worry your wife not going to get raped in the open by these parapunderks. Not that I have heard of any. It is all in the mind of the racist cheenaquis like you

Quote Originally Posted by Squall8888

2.2k was the lowest rent for partially furnished studios in early 2009 when the market was at its worst and prices of the studio were averaging around 480-500k. Those fully furnished were going for around 2.5k. Now the same partially furnished studio is going for a around 2.6k - 2.7k and those fully furnished and high floors up to 3k. IN terms of rental yield no worst than many other well located condos and in fact better than many Dist 9-11 condos. Even better than The Sail. What else you want

Next time do more research and use whatever grey matter you have before coming here and misleading people and making yourself look stupid.

Quote Originally Posted by nav14
    If you go on Sunday night then of course many parapundeks workers around (outside the mall) but the inside of the mall is all filled with cheenaquis. THis is what surprised me because before the mall was completed all the morons here were saying that CS Mall will be a failure because no cheenaquis will go there. What happened?
    On weekdays and even on Saturdays it was a breeze when I went. You mean Orchard Rd malls parking no problem on weekends. No jam? Those who paid millions for their 99yr lease Orchard Resdience will be spending 30-45 minutes just to aprk their car.
    Anyway don't worry your wife not going to get raped in the open by these parapunderks. Not that I have heard of any. It is all in the mind of the racist cheenaquis like you
    second to that.
    if you go there wear skimpily, of course you get lots of stares. it's free show for them mah. just like if you go JB, you won't want to drive your flashy car for risk of stolen. just be street smart loh. they already work so hard and only get sunday off to relax there, and yet people still want to comment about their colour look and their behaviour. give them a break lah, no need to put your nose up above.

Using rental yield as a yardstick to decide on whether a property is worth paying that price for is a good measure. For private properties, I think anything between 3-4% rental yield is considered reasonable and anything at 5% or more is a bonus. I am also not sure what is the takeup rate for studios at TS going for 4k per month and I believe 3k is more achievable and likely to be the norm.

That is because HDB didn't rise as much as TS. Boom time or bear time. Of course, TS drop more than HDB during bear time. Risk vs returns. I don't think anyone buy sail for rental yield. And rental is not as bad as you think. Now, unfurnished already asking 3.6k. Furnished some transacted around 4k.

For a 1.3 million studio with a 4k rental, works out to be 3.7% yield. Not so bad after all. And I fully agree with your 2.5k psf. Then again, they are not ordinary buyers. They are the same group of buyers who will buy Ardmore, Nassim, Orchard residences etc who will not look at rental yield.

I did not say that no ch would visit CS Mall and my only problem with Cs Mall is the carpark. My main problem is the surrounding area and the unfettered infestations around the mall. Parapundeks use the outside as a meeting place and I see hoards of them gathering outside the mall like some motley crew. They enjoy orgling at women walking past or anything female, giving carefree shoppers the impression of some imminent threat. There is nothing racist about such comments which are real feelings by real people from their experiences.

Quote Originally Posted by nav14

second to that.
    if you go there wear skimpily, of course you get lots of stares. it's free show for them mah. just like if you go JB, you won't want to drive your flashy car for risk of stolen. just be street smart loh. they already work so hard and only get sunday off to relax there, and yet people still want to comment about their colour look and their behaviour. give them a break lah, no need to put your nose up above.
    LEEporter will wear his g-string and low cut tight white pants there!

they orgle at ANYTHING FEMALE whether a dog, cat, a young or old lady

second to that.

not true. i bet NAV14 will ogle my ass if i wore g-string with tight white pants! when i play billiards i always give my partner a "bayee snook"

Do you need a G-string to reveal the shape of ur ass? My wife just needs a pair of jeans

Quote Originally Posted by LEEporter
    not true. i bet NAV14 will ogle my ass if i wore g-string with tight white pants! when i play billiards i always give my partner a "bayee snook"

yes, no need to put your nose up above...
    so what if you own some properties...
    you can come out with this kind of statement, and yet say you are not being racist...

I grew up in that area. It's just a shame that this generation Singaporean who grew up in a multi-racial society still passes unfriendly remarks about other nationalities there. Why do you feel people ogle at you? You too, dun you? Else how do you know they look at you? If you want others to treat you like normal, then treat others like normal too. Jam is part of Singapore. Esp on weekends. So why highlight that place? Jam in Orchard is not much better on weekends, and there are so many foreigners there too...but wait, they are not dark skinned so you feel safer right?