Page 7 of 97 FirstFirst ... 234567891011121722273237 ... LastLast

Thread: The Estuary

aiyoh this Shaughnessy is at such a godforsaken location, it's a "3 min drive" into no man's land. The MCL's plot is at a far better location lah. At least MRT and market are walkable. For HDB upgraders who are used to the close proximity of these things, being near to markets and MRT is far more important. I think those 3/4 bds should have a decent reservoir view. And it's not surrounded by HDB blocks, so should have a lot of demand from the ppl staying near by. This is the 1st condo project in Yishun in the last 10yrs , the last being the Saphine/Emerald project right ?

btw Shaughnessy's 3000 sft area is made of 3 levels. Each level itself is very small. You have to walk down/up very frequently (to go to the bedrooms, toilets, etc). This is extremely old-folks-unfriendly. You can't even install a lift inside as there is no provision.

Quote Originally Posted by tokbooncheng
    My 2 cents is that if you willing pay 1 million for the 1200sqft 3 bedroom unit
    in Estuary why dun you consider ~ 1.2million for a 3000sqft cluster house in 3 year old ' The Shaughnessy ' which is 3mins car ride away but of course no reservoir view la but again who will everyday stand at the windows/ balcony & see the reservoir....

THE SHAUGHNESSY MILTONIA CLOSE Terrace House 1 1,205,000 3,305 Strata 365 Dec-09
    THE SHAUGHNESSY MILTONIA CLOSE Terrace House 1 1,150,000 3,283 Strata 350 Nov-09
    THE SHAUGHNESSY MILTONIA CLOSE Terrace House 1 1,300,000 3,498 Strata 372 Nov-09
    Smart choice...

If someone likes the reserviour, they will be near it, jogging, fishing at the grounds etc and not from their balcony. You forget to mention those huge white color dishes... can be seen clearly....

If you are looking for big units, I would suggest to wait for the land parcel released next to it and see the developer's tentative pricing. These elephants are last to be sold out.

If you are looking for 1 bedders.. no need to think much as they sell out very fast.

Personally, I feel that even for big units costing 1 million and above.. you might want to top up your budget to 1.5 million to 2 million and get a FH landed/cluster as is a better choice.

Was at the launch of THE SHAUGHNESSY a few years ago, if i remember the price was around 800k. But we found that the units are very packed together so did not buy.

Quote Originally Posted by Condorich
    Smart choice...

If someone likes the reserviour, they will be near it, jogging, fishing at the grounds etc and not from their balcony. You forget to mention those huge white color dishes... can be seen clearly....

If you are looking for big units, I would suggest to wait for the land parcel released next to it and see the developer's tentative pricing. These elephants are last to be sold out.

If you are looking for 1 bedders.. no need to think much as they sell out very fast.

Personally, I feel that even for big units costing 1 million and above.. you might want to top up your budget to 1.5 million to 2 million and get a FH landed/cluster as is a better choice.

Free hold landed/cluster at 1.5mil? I think you can only get it at sembawang, you can even see Malaysia infront of your house.

Was at the launch of THE SHAUGHNESSY a few years ago, if i remember the price was around 800k. But we found that the units are very packed together so did not buy.
    Shaughnessy was launched 3-4 years ago, selling at 800K to 950K. Now no more such price already. I bought it over a mil. But no regret as the unit is facing country club golf course...more privacy and nice greenery. Will still go for Shaughnessy instead of Estuary because the price is similar but size is twice of Estuary 4-bedder. There's a big roof terrace for you to hold functions and BBQs.

Quote Originally Posted by Moo2010
    Free hold landed/cluster at 1.5mil? I think you can only get it at sembawang, you can even see Malaysia infront of your house.
    Not exactly, just giving you an example in the North.... do you research.... alamak!!!

PRIVATE Terrace
    $1,290k
    ($560psf)
    THONG SOON ROAD
    07 Jan
    Add

Thong Soon Road
    Asking Price
    $1,290k
    District
    Bedrooms
    Built-up Area
    214 sqm / 2303 sqft
    Landed Area
    167sqm
    Remarks
    Terraced House(Freehold).
    Posted Date
    07 Jan

Spring Leaf Villas
    PRIVATE Terrace
    $1,450k
    ($414psf)
    Springleaf Villas, 73
    03 Jan
    Add

Asking Price
    $1,450k
    District
    Bedrooms
    Built-up Area
    325 sqm / 3498 sqft
    Landed Area
    83sqm
    Remarks
    Cluster House(999-year Leasehold).
    Posted Date
    03 Jan

Quote Originally Posted by Condorich
    Not exactly, just giving you an example in the North.... do you research.... alamak!!!

PRIVATE Terrace
    $1,290k
    ($560psf)
    THONG SOON ROAD
    07 Jan
    Add

Thong Soon Road
    Asking Price
    $1,290k
    District
    Bedrooms
    Built-up Area
    214 sqm / 2303 sqft
    Landed Area
    167sqm
    Remarks
    Terraced House(Freehold).
    Posted Date
    07 Jan

Spring Leaf Villas
    PRIVATE Terrace
    $1,450k
    ($414psf)
    Springleaf Villas, 73
    03 Jan
    Add

Asking Price
    $1,450k
    District
    Bedrooms
    Built-up Area
    325 sqm / 3498 sqft
    Landed Area
    83sqm
    Remarks
    Cluster House(999-year Leasehold).
    Posted Date
    03 Jan
    Now I know why they under 1.5mil, they are located in such ulu location so that you can see monkeys more often.

nevermind, at least now you know..

anyway you pay for what you get.

your first point about them being only available at sembawang is clearly wrong.

There are lots available listings at other areas... with or without monkeys...

If you want them real cheap, try across the causeway.

The only problem is CTE is forever jammed.
    It is much better now with the expansion unless you are always travelling at super peak.

My 2 cents is that if you willing pay 1 million for the 1200sqft 3 bedroom unit
    in Estuary why dun you consider ~ 1.2million for a 3000sqft cluster house in 3 year old ' The Shaughnessy ' which is 3mins car ride away but of course no reservoir view la but again who will everyday stand at the windows/ balcony & see the reservoir....

THE SHAUGHNESSY MILTONIA CLOSE Terrace House 1 1,205,000 3,305 Strata 365 Dec-09
    THE SHAUGHNESSY MILTONIA CLOSE Terrace House 1 1,150,000 3,283 Strata 350 Nov-09
    THE SHAUGHNESSY MILTONIA CLOSE Terrace House 1 1,300,000 3,498 Strata 372 Nov-09
    This I will agree. If your kids or yourself don't depend on public transport, then Shaughnessy is very good value for money even though you have to keep climbing up and down with each floor having only 1-2 rooms. 1.2million for 3300sq ft is relatively cheap.

I have the best reservoir/golf course view me in front of me at my Orchid Park Condo penthouse but I hardly look out of the window and admire the view nowdays. Got immune to it.

Quote Originally Posted by nav14
    Are you staying at Yishun Emerald/Sapphire. Must be a case of sour grapes. It takes 10 mins longer going from Yishun Emerald to Orchard as it does from The Estuary. The Estuary is located at the edge of Yishun and 10 mins is a lot. In fact from The Estuary to Orchard would take about the same time as from the Central project by FEO to Orchard and this is priced at 1200psf. So The Estuary is a steal at 800psf relatively speaking. I stay at Orchid Park and it takes me 7 minutes to walk to Khatib MRT and 6 minutes to Sheng Song, NTUC etc From teh Estuary it should be at the most 8 to the shops and Khatib MRT. From here to Orchard on a Sunday morning in low traffic takes me 19 minutes which is faster than many otehr areas seemingly closer to Orchard. There is only one manually operated traffic light at a pedestrian crossing which is green most of the time between The Estuary and the CTE exit to Cairnhill.
    Quite amused to read the responses Nope, I am not at Sapphire nor Emerald. Living in one of the Blk 800+ flats. Passed by the Estuary site a few days ago and still clocked around 15mins with the stroll. Orchid Park is much nearer as u can "cut through" the HDB blks. Not sure where the Estuary's entrance would be located but the fail-safe route would be the main road pavement along Khatib and The Estuary. Btw, also cannot compare the FEO project as its location is far better with much more amenities. $800+ PSF is ....well difficult to describe when the freehold Northwoods (near chongpang & maybe Northpoint) and the premium Rosewood Suites (outside BKE) in Woodlands is only in the sub 600+. Oh, and when it is a Sunday morning, everywhere is faster, near or far, unless u happen to live near a Church

Oh, and The Shaungessey and the Springhill are value for $$ when it comes to size Especially the Springhill as it is so near to Sembawang Shopping Centre

Elevated pool to have reservoir view??

Quote Originally Posted by jitkiat

Elevated pool to have reservoir view??
    MSC again?

Yes MSC... plus basement carparks as reported earlier in the news.

I was hoping that the blocks are better placed so that those facing reserviour will not face the statelite dishes as much...

Imagine the spikes at the other side.... if u look at them everyday out of your bed room, like a dagger to the heart after buying.

It looks like the clubhouse by the pool might offer a possible free "season ticket" to the stadium. A bit like the exclusive viewing galleries for the VIP in the EPL.

I think a better bet are the units facing it and on higher floors..

Anyway I have a thought/wish about the stadium being demolised and moved completely... which could be easily done by demolishing the stupid and odd looking structure. Pure speculation at this point in time.

Many possible area in the north for the new stadium should it be moved.

Latest Updates on Estuary/Another sell out Project

Est. Launch date / 25 and 26 Feb!!!

Cheques keep coming in !!

Secure ur choice units now!!

For Booking via cheque/

Please sms at 90686016!

Quote Originally Posted by kinko123
    Quite amused to read the responses Nope, I am not at Sapphire nor Emerald. Living in one of the Blk 800+ flats. Passed by the Estuary site a few days ago and still clocked around 15mins with the stroll. Orchid Park is much nearer as u can "cut through" the HDB blks. Not sure where the Estuary's entrance would be located but the fail-safe route would be the main road pavement along Khatib and The Estuary. Btw, also cannot compare the FEO project as its location is far better with much more amenities. $800+ PSF is ....well difficult to describe when the freehold Northwoods (near chongpang & maybe Northpoint) and the premium Rosewood Suites (outside BKE) in Woodlands is only in the sub 600+. Oh, and when it is a Sunday morning, everywhere is faster, near or far, unless u happen to live near a Church
    There will be a gate at the back of The Estuary next to Stadium From that area to Khatib MRT is no more than 8 minutes . Orchid Park is not much nearer especially to MRT though 2 minutes shorter walk to shops maybe. How is FEO project much better other than shopping centre. The MRT ride from Khatib to AMK is only 5-6 minutes. It is next to a smoky bus interchange. It is blocked from all sides and no open water view where he nearest building in front is 3-4 km away unlike Estuary. So 50% higher price justified or not. At the most 20% higher. 800psf is now the norm everywhere - it is the minimum for all new projects. If Rosewood Suites and Nortwood which are in inferior locations were launched today they will also be at least 750psf - 800psf.
    From Rosewood to Orchard even of you are the only persson driving on CTE will take you at least 30-35 minutes lah. From Tampines or Tanah Merah on Sunday morning where can reach Orchard in 19 minutes even if the police escort you all the way?

Oh, and The Shaungessey and the Springhill are value for $$ when it comes to size Especially the Springhill as it is so near to Sembawang Shopping Centre
    Springhill is one room one floor and there are 5 flights of stairs. Shaughnessy is much better designed. No use staying next to shopping centre like Sembawang Shpg Centre. Just as good as not having a shpg centre. Have you seen the variety of shops? 5 minutes I will finish walking around all the floors.

The person drive only on Sunday? Only off-peak hours? Own off-peak cars? Otherwise why never consider driving everyday conditions, especially peak hours kids go to school, ownself go to work or carry out own business dealing etc?

Springhill is one room one floor and there are 5 flights of stairs. Shaughnessy is much better designed. No use staying next to shopping centre like Sembawang Shpg Centre. Just as good as not having a shpg centre. Have you seen the variety of shops? 5 minutes I will finish walking around all the floors.
    I agree with Nav14 not because I'm staying in Shaughnessy but I feel that shaughnessy is quite spaciously designed and the best part is my unit is facing the country club golfcourse directly infront. No west sun, but very windy. The shaughnessy has a very spacious roof top where I can hold BBQ and gatherings. It is sure a better buy than springhill or Estuary 4 bedder due to its price and also proximity to the main expressway like SLE. Very convenient esp when we drive.

There will be a gate at the back of The Estuary next to Stadium From that area to Khatib MRT is no more than 8 minutes . Orchid Park is not much nearer especially to MRT though 2 minutes shorter walk to shops maybe. How is FEO project much better other than shopping centre. The MRT ride from Khatib to AMK is only 5-6 minutes. It is next to a smoky bus interchange. It is blocked from all sides and no open water view where he nearest building in front is 3-4 km away unlike Estuary. So 50% higher price justified or not. At the most 20% higher. 800psf is now the norm everywhere - it is the minimum for all new projects. If Rosewood Suites and Nortwood which are in inferior locations were launched today they will also be at least 750psf - 800psf.
    From Rosewood to Orchard even of you are the only persson driving on CTE will take you at least 30-35 minutes lah. From Tampines or Tanah Merah on Sunday morning where can reach Orchard in 19 minutes even if the police escort you all the way?
    Man! U sure sounds eager to sell The Estuary

Try taking the PIE next time from Tampines. exit either CTE or Stevens. Hope u are able to get to town pretty fast in future . and from for Rosewood Drive, enter the Woodlands exit and drive a little bit faster than u normally do, say about 100kph (still within "legal" limits ). Think u can reach town pretty fast too since it is only say 4-5 mins away from the Lentor exit.

"From here to Orchard on a Sunday morning in low traffic takes me 19 minutes which is faster than many otehr areas seemingly closer to Orchard."
    I just can't see how living in Yishun or anywhere else that is so far away from Orchard can arrive in Orchard faster than the so-called "other areas seemingly closer to Orchard". What areas are these?
    If even on Sunday morning it takes 19 minutes, then during weekdays peak hours must need probably an hour? (I have been through this before and I know what it is like between peak and off-peak hours).

Are you staying at Yishun Emerald/Sapphire. Must be a case of sour grapes. It takes 10 mins longer going from Yishun Emerald to Orchard as it does from The Estuary. The Estuary is located at the edge of Yishun and 10 mins is a lot. In fact from The Estuary to Orchard would take about the same time as from the Central project by FEO to Orchard and this is priced at 1200psf. So The Estuary is a steal at 800psf relatively speaking. I stay at Orchid Park and it takes me 7 minutes to walk to Khatib MRT and 6 minutes to Sheng Song, NTUC etc From teh Estuary it should be at the most 8 to the shops and Khatib MRT. From here to Orchard on a Sunday morning in low traffic takes me 19 minutes which is faster than many otehr areas seemingly closer to Orchard. There is only one manually operated traffic light at a pedestrian crossing which is green most of the time between The Estuary and the CTE exit to Cairnhill.

aiyoh this Shaughnessy is at such a godforsaken location, it's a "3 min drive" into no man's land. The MCL's plot is at a far better location lah. At least MRT and market are walkable. For HDB upgraders who are used to the close proximity of these things, being near to markets and MRT is far more important. I think those 3/4 bds should have a decent reservoir view. And it's not surrounded by HDB blocks, so should have a lot of demand from the ppl staying near by. This is the 1st condo project in Yishun in the last 10yrs , the last being the Saphine/Emerald project right ?

btw Shaughnessy's 3000 sft area is made of 3 levels. Each level itself is very small. You have to walk down/up very frequently (to go to the bedrooms, toilets, etc). This is extremely old-folks-unfriendly. You can't even install a lift inside as there is no provision.
    Anyway think Shaughnessy got shuttle bus service to Yishun MRT... correct me if i am wrong & walkable distance to market but its blk 400plus la.
    Old folks unfriendly is very true la...

Anyway think Shaughnessy got shuttle bus service to Yishun MRT... correct me if i am wrong & walkable distance to market but its blk 400plus la.
    Old folks unfriendly is very true la...
    Shaughnessy got shuttle to Yishun MRT and khatib, not quite sure bacuse I don't take the shuttle bus as often as I drive. One thing I must say is though I stayed in Shaughnessy, but location wise Estuary still better I think as it is nearer to the expressway and mrt. However, nearer also mean noisier. Shuaghnessy is nearer to country club, more peaceful and serene.

I heard some units in Shuaghnessy are makeshift temples? Is that true?

I think Orchid Park has the best of both world. Near and yet not too near ( facinating right! ) to both the expressway and MRT.

Quote Originally Posted by patricia
    I think Orchid Park has the best of both world. Near and yet not too near ( facinating right! ) to both the expressway and MRT.
    But a bit third world standards?

a bit?? think is a generation apart