Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: The condo carpark crunch

Default The condo carpark crunch

http://www.straitstimes.com/News/Hom...ry_516015.html

Apr 18, 2010

The condo carpark crunch

Parking woes hit condos that do not have enough parking spaces to meet the demands of car-owning residents

By Goh Chin Lian

Car-owning condominium residents can get into lots of trouble.

That happens when the number of cars owned exceeds the number of parking spaces allocated to them.

A recent dispute involved a family unhappy with new condo rules that forbid them to park all four of their cars on-site. They live in Hillington Green in Hillview Avenue.

They had faced no such limit when they moved into their penthouse in 2002, said a family member who wanted to be known as Mrs Lim.

The dispute escalated last month when security guards turned away their Mercedes S-Class. Police were called in to mediate.

Managing agents of condos said they increasingly have to find ways to accommodate residents with two or more cars.

In the past, after allocating each family a space, they still had enough for those with more than one car.

But more families became multiple car owners as the price of certificates of entitlement to own a car stayed below $20,000 in recent years.

Mr Derek Soh, a regional director at real estate firm Jones Lang LaSalle, said a common practice now is to charge residents a fee to park their second or third vehicle.

Some residents may then think twice about owning more cars, or find another place to park.

The Sunday Times understands the monthly charge can be $50 to $100. The Centris, above Jurong Point shopping centre in Boon Lay, charges $270.

Balloting was used by one condo in Bukit Timah that Mr Soh's firm previously managed. About 40 people vied for 30 spaces for their additional cars.

'We balloted every quarter but people felt there was no certainty because for one quarter they had a space; for the next quarter, they didn't,' he said.

Allowing residents to park overnight along some driveways in the estate is another solution, said Mr Chan Kok Hong, managing director of CKH Strata Management.

A handful of the 105 condominiums it manages does so.

He also proposed a device that can stack cars vertically.

He estimates one machine occupying one parking space would cost about $10,000, excluding maintenance. The cost could be recouped by charging residents a fee to use it.

However, he is not aware of any condo here doing this.

While some older condos have 15 per cent more parking spaces than homes, those built in the past five years just meet the government standard of one space for each home.

A rule change in 2005 allowed condos within 400m of an MRT or LRT station, or in the Central Business District, to have up to 20 per cent fewer spaces.

Centro Residences, near Ang Mo Kio MRT station, will have 260 spaces for 329 units.

Waterbank @ Dakota, near Dakota MRT station, will have 554 spaces for 616 units.

Both are due to be ready in the next five years.

Some industry observers question the 2005 rule: Home buyers may choose to live near an MRT station not because they do not want to own a car, but for the convenience of their children. Such projects may face parking woes in the future.

For those who want worry-free parking, Mr Chan suggests condos popular with expatriates. They tend not to own cars.

The Lims, however, are staying put in Hillington Green and have engaged a lawyer. Their condo has 480 units and 492 parking spaces.

The new rules passed internally last September allow each home to have only one space. Those who have a second car, can park it in the estate until they sell it.

Mrs Lim said her family is prepared to give up one car and pay for the additional spaces.

http://www.straitstimes.com/News/Hom...ry_516009.html

Apr 18, 2010

Resident uses visitors' parking space

Mr J. Leong, 51, owns three cars but is allotted only one parking space at his condo in Meyer Road.

The solution? The investment banker parks his Mercedes-Benz in the space given to him. His wife uses one of the spaces meant for visitors to park her BMW.

Their daughter parks her Toyota Corolla Altis by the road outside the condo when she is back from university on weekends.

Mr Leong said: 'I've been doing this for the past two years and I've never been caught by the management. My wife always parks at a different space for visitors.'

Quote Originally Posted by mr funny

Apr 18, 2010

Mr J. Leong, 51, owns three cars but is allotted only one parking space at his condo in Meyer Road.

The solution? The investment banker parks his Mercedes-Benz in the space given to him. His wife uses one of the spaces meant for visitors to park her BMW.

Their daughter parks her Toyota Corolla Altis by the road outside the condo when she is back from university on weekends.

Mr Leong said: 'I've been doing this for the past two years and I've never been caught by the management. My wife always parks at a different space for visitors.'
    Woo.. he wants everyone of his condo mates to know he's doing this? Think the condo mgmt will clamp down on him soon..ha

[quote=mr funny]http://www.straitstimes.com/News/Hom...ry_516009.html

Apr 18, 2010

Mr Leong said: 'I've been doing this for the past two years and I've never been caught by the management. My wife always parks at a different space for visitors.'[/quo

si peh sia sway ... investment banker resorts to such tactics to 'escape' extra cost ...

wonder which bank he works for ...

Apr 18, 2010

The fish will not get into trouble if it keeps e BIG mouth shut.

Time to ride motorcycle instead....

Lessons learnt:
    1) Don't buy into any condo property with number of car park lots < number of units (regardless of location. The further the condo is from CCR, the higher the number of car park lots to number of units is required as people who can afford >$1m condo definitely will want to drive for conveniency and the further away from central area the more necessary a car is).
    2) Don't buy into any condo property where you have to pay to park your car (this should already be priced into your property price) regardless of so-called "location" or "view" etc (otherwise the car park lot is not yours and things will change down the road and you are the mercy of the car park providers to charge you the parking fee - Jack up parking fee by 500% and what can you do if you have a car and need park?).

So which condo to avoid? Here is what I know:
    1) The Sail (1111 units : 800+ car park lots)
    2) UE Square (you have to pay to park your car)
    3) Centris
    4) Centro
    5) Waterbank
    6) ???... (some more please add)....

http://www.straitstimes.com/News/Hom...ry_516015.html

Apr 18, 2010

The condo carpark crunch

Parking woes hit condos that do not have enough parking spaces to meet the demands of car-owning residents

By Goh Chin Lian

Car-owning condominium residents can get into lots of trouble.

That happens when the number of cars owned exceeds the number of parking spaces allocated to them.

A recent dispute involved a family unhappy with new condo rules that forbid them to park all four of their cars on-site. They live in Hillington Green in Hillview Avenue.

They had faced no such limit when they moved into their penthouse in 2002, said a family member who wanted to be known as Mrs Lim.

The dispute escalated last month when security guards turned away their Mercedes S-Class. Police were called in to mediate.

Managing agents of condos said they increasingly have to find ways to accommodate residents with two or more cars.

In the past, after allocating each family a space, they still had enough for those with more than one car.

But more families became multiple car owners as the price of certificates of entitlement to own a car stayed below $20,000 in recent years.

Mr Derek Soh, a regional director at real estate firm Jones Lang LaSalle, said a common practice now is to charge residents a fee to park their second or third vehicle.

Some residents may then think twice about owning more cars, or find another place to park.

The Sunday Times understands the monthly charge can be $50 to $100. The Centris, above Jurong Point shopping centre in Boon Lay, charges $270.

Balloting was used by one condo in Bukit Timah that Mr Soh's firm previously managed. About 40 people vied for 30 spaces for their additional cars.

'We balloted every quarter but people felt there was no certainty because for one quarter they had a space; for the next quarter, they didn't,' he said.

Allowing residents to park overnight along some driveways in the estate is another solution, said Mr Chan Kok Hong, managing director of CKH Strata Management.

A handful of the 105 condominiums it manages does so.

He also proposed a device that can stack cars vertically.

He estimates one machine occupying one parking space would cost about $10,000, excluding maintenance. The cost could be recouped by charging residents a fee to use it.

However, he is not aware of any condo here doing this.

While some older condos have 15 per cent more parking spaces than homes, those built in the past five years just meet the government standard of one space for each home.

A rule change in 2005 allowed condos within 400m of an MRT or LRT station, or in the Central Business District, to have up to 20 per cent fewer spaces.

Centro Residences, near Ang Mo Kio MRT station, will have 260 spaces for 329 units.

Waterbank @ Dakota, near Dakota MRT station, will have 554 spaces for 616 units.

Both are due to be ready in the next five years.

Some industry observers question the 2005 rule: Home buyers may choose to live near an MRT station not because they do not want to own a car, but for the convenience of their children. Such projects may face parking woes in the future.

For those who want worry-free parking, Mr Chan suggests condos popular with expatriates. They tend not to own cars.

The Lims, however, are staying put in Hillington Green and have engaged a lawyer. Their condo has 480 units and 492 parking spaces.

The new rules passed internally last September allow each home to have only one space. Those who have a second car, can park it in the estate until they sell it.

Mrs Lim said her family is prepared to give up one car and pay for the additional spaces.

Lessons learnt:
    1) Don't buy into any condo property with number of car park lots < number of units (regardless of location. The further the condo is from CCR, the higher the number of car park lots to number of units is required as people who can afford >$1m condo definitely will want to drive for conveniency and the further away from central area the more necessary a car is).
    2) Don't buy into any condo property where you have to pay to park your car (this should already be priced into your property price) regardless of so-called "location" or "view" etc (otherwise the car park lot is not yours and things will change down the road and you are the mercy of the car park providers to charge you the parking fee - Jack up parking fee by 500% and what can you do if you have a car and need park?).

So which condo to avoid? Here is what I know:
    1) The Sail (1111 units : 800+ car park lots)
    2) UE Square (you have to pay to park your car)
    3) Centris
    4) Centro
    5) Waterbank
    6) ???... (some more please add)....
    Nah, lessons learnt:

1) Don't buy condos if you have more than one car. Buy landed which can house all your cars! Why pay so much for a condo when you have to be under the mercy of the Mgmt Committee to let you use visitor carpark?

2) Buy boutiques apartment among the landed homes - lots of free parking space for your extra cars

3) Buy condos only that have MRT within walking distance so you dun need to own cars and wun get into this kinda shit!

4) If you drive, dun stay in condos, if you stay in condos, dun drive

Lessons people didn't learn (when they should):

1) Buy landed - start to learn how to catch rats, snakes, scorpions, mosquitoes, houseflies, moths etc. Get to know more contractors so that you have to deal with the quality problems & repairs needed after 10 years.

2) Buy boutique among landed? Ha ha ha! Pay so much money for the boutique and have to see other people's face and get chase left, right, centre because you have no right to park outside their house?

3) Buy condo and can't afford cars? Better don't buy condo lah! Don't get the shit from banks!

4) If you don't know how to catch rats, snakes, scorpions, mosquitoes, houseflies, moths etc and don't know any trustworthy contractors - don't buy landed.
    If you don't have very thick skin on your face or die die must own car - don't buy boutique!

Quote Originally Posted by Blue
    Nah, lessons learnt:

1) Don't buy condos if you have more than one car. Buy landed which can house all your cars! Why pay so much for a condo when you have to be under the mercy of the Mgmt Committee to let you use visitor carpark?

2) Buy boutiques apartment among the landed homes - lots of free parking space for your extra cars

3) Buy condos only that have MRT within walking distance so you dun need to own cars and wun get into this kinda shit!

4) If you drive, dun stay in condos, if you stay in condos, dun drive

Lessons people didn't learn (when they should):

1) Buy landed - start to learn how to catch rats, snakes, scorpions, mosquitoes, houseflies, moths etc. Get to know more contractors so that you have to deal with the quality problems & repairs needed after 10 years.

2) Buy boutique among landed? Ha ha ha! Pay so much money for the boutique and have to see other people's face and get chase left, right, centre because you have no right to park outside their house?

3) Buy condo and can't afford cars? Better don't buy condo lah! Don't get the shit from banks!

4) If you don't know how to catch rats, snakes, scorpions, mosquitoes, houseflies, moths etc and don't know any trustworthy contractors - don't buy landed.
    If you don't have very thick skin on your face or die die must own car - don't buy boutique!
    There's just so much loopholes in your comments.

1) There is one thing called pest control companies - Why do it yourself? Condos got no pests? Condos no need to do repairs? More users => more wear and tear => more repairs

2) Park outside people's hses - The road is owned by LTA not by the landed owners. Who can chase you except traffic police?

3) The issue is not abt affordability, its abt availability of parking spaces.

4) U see Ah Neh's talking...just dunno what the hack he is talking abt!

1) You are going to engage the Pest control company's man to station at your landed everyday?
    The rats, snakes, scorpions, mosquitoes, houseflies, moths etc some of these landed friends will visit you everyday and some at unexpected times.
    Condo high floor don't have all these pests (but have to pay more lah!)
    Condo also need maintenance, but less than landed (because better quality) and also have a person called "estate manager" to take care of everything (except those so called "Boutique development" which don't have such person lah!).
    Condo maintenance paid by each household definitely very much cheaper than landed (because shared mah).

2) Seen too many times the landed will call LTA and traffic police and traffic police will chase these people away & issue warning. Don't listen and they will draw double yellow lines and then issue summons. People who don't believe should try.

3) It is still about affordability. Have money buy prime luxury condo where there are may be 2 car park lots to 1 unit. Very little money but still want to show-off to be living in private property will buy condo in suburbs especially those with number of car park lots <= number of units (e.g. Boutique because cheaper mah) and then cow-pay cow-bull about not having enough car park space (because people who live in suburbs have to own cars otherwise not convenient!).

4) Those who want to be "carrot" can buy what the COLOUR advocates - D15 landed and boutique!

There's just so much loopholes in your comments.

1) There is one thing called pest control companies - Why do it yourself? Condos got no pests? Condos no need to do repairs? More users => more wear and tear => more repairs

2) Park outside people's hses - The road is owned by LTA not by the landed owners. Who can chase you except traffic police?

3) The issue is not abt affordability, its abt availability of parking spaces.

4) U see Ah Neh's talking...just dunno what the hack he is talking abt!
    Last edited by teddybear; 21-04-10 at 19:47.

Lessons learnt:
    1) Don't buy into any condo property with number of car park lots < number of units (regardless of location.
    Nah, lessons learnt:

The above two statements are very valid.

Seriously, the developers are creating a time bomb.

Once all these condos TOP and people who can afford to buy million-dollar properties find that:

1. They are not allowed to own more than one car.

2. Their relatives cannot visit them during Chinese New Year unless the relatives arrive by MRT.

3. The cost of time spent playing hide and seek with the Managment Committee and Traffic Police exceeds that doing useful work for their clients/ patients/ bosses (depending on their profession) ...

Better hold on tightly to your landed properties or old condos with sprawling car parks.

A practical solution is available: follow the HK style, where parking lots are not entitlements of an apartment, but rather sold separately. about 10% of the price of an apartment. Also lots can be traded subsequently. And you can also rent from the "owner". car park lot itself becomes another investment. although there is no "mortgage" on this as there is no title.

so someone who owns 4 cars will need to pay S$400,000 for 4 lots. Plus quarterly maintenance fee.

Will SG ever come to this ?

Centro is already doing that as the Monthly Maintenance does not include parking, which will be separately charged.

Pay so much ($1200 psf) and still car park not included for free?

Quote Originally Posted by sleek
    Centro is already doing that as the Monthly Maintenance does not include parking, which will be separately charged.

Property buyers should just boycott such condo estate here before it becomes the norm. In fact, they should just boycott any condo estate wither number of car park lots < number of units!

A practical solution is available: follow the HK style, where parking lots are not entitlements of an apartment, but rather sold separately. about 10% of the price of an apartment. Also lots can be traded subsequently. And you can also rent from the "owner". car park lot itself becomes another investment. although there is no "mortgage" on this as there is no title.

so someone who owns 4 cars will need to pay S$400,000 for 4 lots. Plus quarterly maintenance fee.

Will SG ever come to this ?

Better hold on tightly to your landed properties or old condos with sprawling car parks. [/quote]

and get ready :
    1. LTA/Traffic police tel .. when condo owners start to park outside your landed house ..

2: potted plants / plastic chairs to jaga the road left and right of your landed house

Property buyers should just boycott such condo estate here before it becomes the norm. In fact, they should just boycott any condo estate wither number of car park lots < number of units!

i think its only fair if number of lots = number of units

but to boycott if lots < units will be tough ... cos the govt has been promoting that ..

Quote Originally Posted by jlrx
    Better hold on tightly to your landed properties or old condos with sprawling car parks.
    and get ready :
    1. LTA/Traffic police tel .. when condo owners start to park outside your landed house ..

2: potted plants / plastic chairs to jaga the road left and right of your landed house
    Or better still, charge them for parking.

They can buy "season parking" for $300 per month or $0.50 per half hour.

It is really up to the buyers right? Developers can follow what the govt promote but if no buyer they go ask the govt to buy from them?
    So buyers just have to wise up and open their eyes wide wide and don't be the "carrot head" of developers who follow what the govt promote instead of what the buyers want / need / best interest.

but to boycott if lots < units will be tough ... cos the govt has been promoting that ..

It is only fair if number of lots >= 110% of number of units to cater for some owners with 2 cars (big families) & visitors as well.

1) You are going to engage the Pest control company's man to station at your landed everyday?
    The rats, snakes, scorpions, mosquitoes, houseflies, moths etc some of these landed friends will visit you everyday and some at unexpected times.
    Condo high floor don't have all these pests (but have to pay more lah!)
    Condo also need maintenance, but less than landed (because better quality) and also have a person called "estate manager" to take care of everything (except those so called "Boutique development" which don't have such person lah!).
    Condo maintenance paid by each household definitely very much cheaper than landed (because shared mah).

2) Seen too many times the landed will call LTA and traffic police and traffic police will chase these people away & issue warning. Don't listen and they will draw double yellow lines and then issue summons. People who don't believe should try.

3) It is still about affordability. Have money buy prime luxury condo where there are may be 2 car park lots to 1 unit. Very little money but still want to show-off to be living in private property will buy condo in suburbs especially those with number of car park lots <= number of units (e.g. Boutique because cheaper mah) and then cow-pay cow-bull about not having enough car park space (because people who live in suburbs have to own cars otherwise not convenient!).

4) Those who want to be "carrot" can buy what the COLOUR advocates - D15 landed and boutique!
    Wahaha..you really make me laugh..

1) Which landed in Singapore see "rats, snakes, scorpions, mosquitoes, houseflies, moths" everyday? Are you living near the zoo or South Africa?

Talk abt condo maintenance - Your so called "Estate Manager" is just a Manager. He just talk and give instructions, and he doesn't do the job of catching snakes or paint the walls. He only needs to call to get contractors in. And his salary, annual increment, bonuses are all paid by your so called maintenance funds pooled by the residents. Likewise, the security guards are also paid by your pooled fund. And the utilities in the common area are all paid thru the fund. And you know what is most expensive in maintenance expenditure? It is the stupid lift & pool maintenance that 300 families are sharing everyday. So much wastage of funds in such resources and you still think maintenance of landed is higher than condos? And one day, you will get sick and tired of paying maintenance for facilities you hardly get a chance to use. Sick and tired of paying repairs for items in the common area damaged by other residents and not yourself. So think again, don't dream.

2) Nah, there are many roads not drawn using double yellow lines and anyone is free to park there. Call TP oso no use.

3) It's never abt affordability. How many condos offer 2 lots for every unit?

4) We will see who are the real carrots when market corrects. The speculators in the prime districts who paid $3000psf for mickey mouse units or the homebuyers in D15 who paid $1500 psf for double the size?

Wahaha..you really make me laugh..

1) Which landed in Singapore see "rats, snakes, scorpions, mosquitoes, houseflies, moths" everyday? Are you living near the zoo or South Africa?
    I think the only animal they keep in the zoo is "snakes", while "rats" do not intrude unless the place is really dirty like hawker centres. Scorpions also don't usually come into the house.

The last three can be found everywhere, whether landed or condos.

Trust me, if you have experienced high floor condo living, you will know these 3 - "mosquitoes, houseflies, moths" will not exist in your house (that is what I like about high floors in condos!).

Quote Originally Posted by jlrx
    I think the only animal they keep in the zoo is "snakes", while "rats" do not intrude unless the place is really dirty like hawker centres. Scorpions also don't usually come into the house.

The last three can be found everywhere, whether landed or condos.

Property buyers should just boycott such condo estate here before it becomes the norm.
    I share your sentiment on this, although I must say selling parking lots separately is not entirely without merit. In fact HK ppl accept it readily.

Think of it this way, the price of your condo includes a part for the parking lot. So if you do not drive, why should u pay for it ? And if you do drive, and you have more than 1 car, isn't it fair you pay more for what you use ? So those who want to drive 4 cars can simply pay for it, or bid for it when it becomes scarce commodity. The system is very fair. No need to argue with anyone.

I'm not advocating this. But I must say this is a very effective solution.

HK difference lah. Most of their properties there don't come with good and full facilities - may be because of their this way of thinking?
    If everyone want to calculate like that, then soon you will find all the condo common facilities must be fenced up and anybody who want to use the facility has to pay extra money because the MC also thinks: "Since my family & I don't use the tennis court, the gym, the swimming pool, the playground, the walk path, the greenery area, the BBQ pits, might as well make anybody who want to use these common facilities pay for it since why should I pay for maintenance of something other people use and wear them off while I don't?". Do we want to go down this path?

I share your sentiment on this, although I must say selling parking lots separately is not entirely without merit. In fact HK ppl accept it readily.

Think of it this way, the price of your condo includes a part for the parking lot. So if you do not drive, why should u pay for it ? And if you do drive, and you have more than 1 car, isn't it fair you pay more for what you use ? So those who want to drive 4 cars can simply pay for it, or bid for it when it becomes scarce commodity. The system is very fair. No need to argue with anyone.

I'm not advocating this. But I must say this is a very effective solution.

In HK, you have to pay to be able to swim in the pool.
    But they had very well maintained facilities. In the one i used to stay, there is a nice chinese restaurant in the clubhouse and there is an indoor heated pool.

Wah! I never know that my prediction already came true! Pay to swim in the pool?!!
    As far as I can see, numerous condos in Singapore I have seen despite don't need to pay to swim in the pool also very well maintained. Usually these have restricted number of units in the estate (not those with >200 units type). Some people will say then maintenance sure expensive right? WRONG! In fact, I found those boutique developments to have most expensive maintenance fees when there are so little facilities to maintain!
    Clubhouse in condo? Don't need lah. Buy those near shopping malls and MRTs and just walk across the road will do.

Quote Originally Posted by urban
    In HK, you have to pay to be able to swim in the pool.
    But they had very well maintained facilities. In the one i used to stay, there is a nice chinese restaurant in the clubhouse and there is an indoor heated pool.

Wah! I never know that my prediction already came true! Pay to swim in the pool?!!
    As far as I can see, numerous condos in Singapore I have seen despite don't need to pay to swim in the pool also very well maintained. Usually these have restricted number of units in the estate (not those with >200 units type). Some people will say then maintenance sure expensive right? WRONG! In fact, I found those boutique developments to have most expensive maintenance fees when there are so little facilities to maintain!
    Clubhouse in condo? Don't need lah. Buy those near shopping malls and MRTs and just walk across the road will do.
    nowadays MM unit so small .. maybe next time also dont have space for washer dryer .. and may end up like in pre war condos in US ..where one has to go to basement or a dedicated laundry room to use common washer dryer ..with coins

Like in student hostel?
    Have common toilets, kitchen & dinning area, living area, and laundry area (Only have private bedrooms)? That sure saves a lot of space! Don't have to pay so much also since all other areas shared except bedrooms? Bedrooms also can rent out at hourly rates while owners are at work during office hours?

nowadays MM unit so small .. maybe next time also dont have space for washer dryer .. and may end up like in pre war condos in US ..where one has to go to basement or a dedicated laundry room to use common washer dryer ..with coins