Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Telok Kurau - Value buy?

Telok Kurau is congested, Lorong N is probably the least cluttered.It all those cars who parked along roadside. Get rid of them and the cluttered feeling will disappear.

It freehold with a decent PSF and to avoid the heat, I like Bullman idea of buying PH. It is a good choice when it kinda congested in telok kurau.

For the same PSF, it definitely better than Geylang.

telok kurau is D15 and the treehouse is in upper bukit timah D23 (near bukit panjang). So hypothetically are you telling me apartments in districts 9, 10 and 11 with hardly any facilities should be priced the same or lower compared to a full condo in jurong? For projects like Centris in jurong West to be priced higher than D15 Telok Kurau makes little sense to me when we talk about property being about location location location. I think if a luxury development like St Regis is to be located in Tuas and selling at 2000psf, you will probably be the only one to jump into it and say it is a good buy.

Yah. Agents and owners will obviously give biased views lah. I don't think it is fair to compare Telok Kurau with some of the other condos someone mentioned. Have you seen the renderings for Treehouse? How to compare right? It has full facilities with tennis courts, green building, large land area, skating rink or whatever, beautiful view of nature etc. I'm not invested but I think the comparison is ridiculous. A Treehouse person is never going to be a Telok Kurau person - they are just different. You look down on Dairy Farm as "ulu" but those people staying there like the serenity and spaciouness lah. Telok Kurau is the exact opposite - cluttered, small Fragrance-style boxy developments with no real facilities. Also, I used to own a small development in another district and the maintenance is very high and eats into your rental yield if you're looking to rent out.

As I say, I don't see any aesthetics or beauty in the developments there - the worst-looking developments in the entire Singapore are all concentrated there but if you have to stay in D15 and have no budget for anything better and don't mind the quality of the developments then go ahead and buy. Also, if you're a "new" investor with a small budget, then this is probably the only place (other than Geylang) with new launch selling at $300+k or $400k - cheaper than HDB. Go propertyguru and filter for units less than $500k and Telok Kurau will be ranked on top. I'm wary of buying areas with new launch focusing on mickey mouse units though - it just shows even developers have no confidence of selling a normal unit and have to go down the "low quantum less than $500k" route.

i share the exact same sentiments as you but some people just dont see it.

Quote Originally Posted by Property_Owner
    1 year back TK look like a ulu place to buy. Now as long as not jurong or boon lay can consider good buy.

if you look at the new launches in TK going for more than 1k psf, what does it say? human psychology is really funny. dangle something cheap you doubt and say there must be a reason why it is cheap, when prices start shooting up, you bang ur head and say why didnt buy that last time.

Actually the price speak for itself. If it is freehold and yet still command only sub $800psf, wat do u think is wrong with that area?

i would pay 800psf for D15 telok kurau than pay 900psf for JURONG WEST EXTENSION or BOON LAY anytime, full condo facilities or not. I dont think it would take a very smart investor to know why.

Quote Originally Posted by Lou
    1) largely freehold land
    2) near good schools like tao nan
    3) near east coast beach
    4) exclusive private residential area
    5) lower psf compared to full condos in that area like amber rd, tanjong rhu etc

No offense but I think all your points that you thought of are 'non' points.

1)It is largely FH definately but you are comparing with the terrace & semi-Ds which make up most of the properties there.

2)Tao Nan is not such a good school - nothing compared to schools around Bukit Timah

3)Very subjected to what is near or far

4)agreed no HDB view, but is cluttered, alot of roads no thru road.

5)Comparing apples to orange, sometime things are cheap for a reason.

Hope that helps, but guess you probably know all these already. Maybe it will give other potential telok kurau buyers something to think about.

if you look at the new launches in TK going for more than 1k psf, what does it say? human psychology is really funny. dangle something cheap you doubt and say there must be a reason why it is cheap, when prices start shooting up, you bang ur head and say why didnt buy that last time.
    but TK only got boutique apts...for investment, no boutique apts for me. i dun see any potential in condo/apts situated in predominantly landed area. mass market condo buyers usually look for MRT/amenities and rentabilities.

anyway, resale prices at 8xxpsf for TK quite safe too...low downside risk but also low upside potential IMO. it is not so simple to compare prices with other areas.

trends and priorities r ever changing...there is alot of emphasis on convenience and MRT and centris had both of them.

i would pay 800psf for D15 telok kurau than pay 900psf for JURONG WEST EXTENSION or BOON LAY anytime, full condo facilities or not. I dont think it would take a very smart investor to know why.
    nothing wrong wif tat...ur choice...tats y many sold out projects in TK too.

btw, dun tink u can get 800psf or below for fairly new resale condo in TK now especially those near to kembangan mrt side(lor g,h) or east coast(lor m,n)...treeline for eg is asking above 900psf now.

lor k cud be the cheapest.
    Last edited by devilplate; 12-05-10 at 00:58.

Actually the price speak for itself. If it is freehold and yet still command only sub $800psf, wat do u think is wrong with that area?

the first time i went to visit a friend who lived there .. i was along Still road .. and turn into the LORONG immediately .. and i got lost .. even though its a STRAIGHT LORONG .. it cuts thru many roads... and i found it extreme hard to locate the house ..

in the past 5 yrs .. i visited them only twice .. nothing fanciful .. many parts have narrow Lorongs ..
    i feel clustered ..in a landed area

due to height restrictions, the enblocs of terraces can only turn them into low rise Apts ..(NOT CONDO) ..

so the potential is limited .. unless one day govt lift the height restrictions ..

this are just my personal opinions ..

I'm not looking at the new launch pricing. I'm more like looking at the subsale/resale transactions. There are many much more profitable resale/subsale transactions than in TK region. Just check the resale caveats for Caspians/Lakeshore/Regent Groves/Centris. The resale market there is strong. Just my view.

xebay11 is offline New Launch Project Specialist

Quote Originally Posted by duckweed
    not sure about others, but i visit someone i know at TK pretty often in the last 2 years. the journey from PIE to TK through jalan eunos leading to still road (is that the name of that road?) is horrendous. the same goes for the opposite direction. it's jam both ways!

i am not travelling during peak hours, btw.
    Bro you got to know the short cut to avoid Still Road coming in to TK, cut through Jalan Ismail or Jalan Kechot

Travelling Still Road to TK is

Quote Originally Posted by Lou
    No sure what you are attempting to say, you're just being very general.
    Driving is "effortless", try taking a drive along Lorong J/Still Road. What is effortless is Tanjong Rhu, Meyer/Ford Rd exit ECP or Tanjong Katong/Amber exit ECP.5-6 min flat to Suntec/Sands.

Anyway you sound like you have been reading too many sales kits
    I never drive along Still Road to get to ECP, really .

Use Telok Kurau Road to Marine Parade road and then ECP towards the city. Really fast and no jams.

zzz..so many agts ard...
    Bro, I am RE Agent cum investor and helping others invest, find dream home only, make friends and enjoy property, don't really depend on it for income.

Not really lean and hungry, die die sales pitch type turn black to white type of agent.

Ok lah cons of TK is that it is not really classy place, compared to Frankel or Siglap. But good enough, as it is still mainly exclusive landed area.

Think about it, if TK was really very exclusive the prices would be

u vested in tk?
    No but I stay there before... for about half a year.

no core selling point in TK...used to be a nice landed enclave....enbloc craze simply spoil the whole environment. Hopefully, no boutique apts sprouting in next door Frankel.
    Won't happen in Frankel as it is designated landed property area by URA Master Plan. TK is not.

Quote Originally Posted by xebay11
    Won't happen in Frankel as it is designated landed property area by URA Master Plan. TK is not.
    ok i take back my 'zz'...anw tks for the info

No worries bro

BTW I am vested in TK and surrounding area, so my views may be biased.................or not. Healthy discussions welcome.

there r a few nice projects over there like treeline, ambrosia and verte. all of them located right beside park connector. if dun mind facing longkang: u can hf a gd unblocked view of frankel estate. Verte will be the best as some units facing park. and ambrosia nearest to east coast park. Treeline nearest to MRT

however, verte/ambrosia subsale calling for 1kpsf+ and treeline 900psf+...so is it really value buy? u decide

there r a few nice projects over there like treeline, ambrosia and verte. all of them located right beside park connector. if dun mind facing longkang: u can hf a gd unblocked view of frankel estate. Verte will be the best as some units facing park. and ambrosia nearest to east coast park. Treeline nearest to MRT
    Righto, these and those along Lor G nearest park connector are the cream of the crop.

Forgot to add there are strong followers of the South TK nearer Marine Parade side too.

the first time i went to visit a friend who lived there .. i was along Still road .. and turn into the LORONG immediately .. and i got lost .. even though its a STRAIGHT LORONG .. it cuts thru many roads... and i found it extreme hard to locate the house ..

in the past 5 yrs .. i visited them only twice .. nothing fanciful .. many parts have narrow Lorongs ..
    i feel clustered ..in a landed area

due to height restrictions, the enblocs of terraces can only turn them into low rise Apts ..(NOT CONDO) ..

so the potential is limited .. unless one day govt lift the height restrictions ..

this are just my personal opinions ..
    Actually the TK estate lanes are not very complicated.
    They run in Alphabetical order starting from G and ends at N.
    The lanes are split into half by Telok Kurau road.
    You just need to ask your friend whether he stays closer to Still Rd end or Park Connector end.

Personally, I think TK especially those along the park connector is a great place to live.

Been there many times in the morning or evening and it gives u the sense of serenity and away from the hustle and bustle.

In fact if u take a walk near TK park or along the park conector, it feels very "un-singapore" like.

That being said, if for investment purposes, people will still stick to D9,10,11.

Quote Originally Posted by xebay11
    Bro, I am RE Agent cum investor and helping others invest, find dream home only, make friends and enjoy property, don't really depend on it for income.

Not really lean and hungry, die die sales pitch type turn black to white type of agent.

Ok lah cons of TK is that it is not really classy place, compared to Frankel or Siglap. But good enough, as it is still mainly exclusive landed area.

Think about it, if TK was really very exclusive the prices would be
    Xebay11,
    I like your attitude and you sound like a honest and sincere agent.
    Actually, I've never considered D15 initially. Chanced upon it after viewing Palm Galleria ads and then drove to the showroom to check it out.
    Quite like the location for its proximity to the beach, Katong, Changi and the City.
    Actually, cluttering of the lanes is quite normal. You'll see it everywhere in Singapore in private estates, not just TK, where people own more cars than the available parking lots. I don't know why TK gets such a bad reputation for that. Go to any private estate around Sg and you'll experience it.
    I don't see people complaining about clutter lanes in private estates in Seletar, Bukit Timah, Serangoon Gardens, Kovan area etc.....

Quote Originally Posted by Autonomy
    Personally, I think TK especially those along the park connector is a great place to live.

Been there many times in the morning or evening and it gives u the sense of serenity and away from the hustle and bustle.

In fact if u take a walk near TK park or along the park conector, it feels very "un-singapore" like.

That being said, if for investment purposes, people will still stick to D9,10,11.
    Yes,
    precisely the reason why I bought the Lucent. It's just next to the park connector. It'll link me direct to East coast park for my evening runs, walk at the beach or dinner at big splash. Very safe and convenient.

Quote Originally Posted by rambo6
    Xebay11,
    Actually, I've never considered D15 initially. Chanced upon it after viewing Palm Galleria ads and then drove to the showroom to check it out.
    Quite like the location for its proximity to the beach, Katong, Changi and the City.
    Actually, cluttering of the lanes is quite normal. You'll see it everywhere in Singapore in private estates, not just TK, where people own more cars than the available parking lots. I don't know why TK gets such a bad reputation for that. Go to any private estate around Sg and you'll experience it.
    I don't see people complaining about clutter lanes in private estates in Seletar, Bukit Timah, Serangoon Gardens, Kovan area etc.....
    There are only a couple of bad sheeps lurking in this forum condemning about TK. Either they are eating sour grapes or they are vested in other suburban condos. Ask anyone on the streets and majority like TK. Dun be misled. Trust your own judgement.

It is a completely new feel and status to be staying among all private housing and the proximity to everything (town, beach, airport, eateries, shopping, schools, library) is what sells TK.

You tell someone you stay in TK (East Coast) vs Ang Mo Kio or Toa Payoh (predominantly HDB estates) - which sounds more prestigious?

There is a further enbloc upside should plot ratio increases in the near future.

Quote Originally Posted by Blue
    There are only a couple of bad sheeps lurking in this forum condemning about TK. Either they are eating sour grapes or they are vested in other suburban condos. Ask anyone on the streets and majority like TK. Dun be misled. Trust your own judgement.

It is a completely new feel and status to be staying among all private housing and the proximity to everything (town, beach, airport, eateries, shopping, schools, library) is what sells TK.

You tell someone you stay in TK (East Coast) vs Ang Mo Kio or Toa Payoh (predominantly HDB estates) - which sounds more prestigious?

There is a further enbloc upside should plot ratio increases in the near future.
    hope i am not considered as black sheeps..haha

Yes,
    precisely the reason why I bought the Lucent. It's just next to the park connector. It'll link me direct to East coast park for my evening runs, walk at the beach or dinner at big splash. Very safe and convenient.
    congrats on your lucent purchase! almost got a unit there myself.
    does your unit come along with the jacuzzi?

The designated landed areas like Bukit timah is fine. Can you imagine Serangoon Gardens where every 2 units of terraced house gets converted to 50 units ? That is exactly what happen to Telok Kurau. In fact, I know of someone who stay at the landed there and have sold the place because he cannot stand all these Fragrance/H81 developments cheapening the entire estate and the narrow lanes is not meant for such overcrowded housing. In his exact words, the overcrowding condition is like slums in Philippines. And he has probably sold to one of those Fragrance developer who will again squeeze in 50 units of 300sq ft units into a 3000 sqft land with frontage of only 3 meters. And with all the landed selling out to cheapskate developers, the construction and overcrowding will only get worse - I wonder whether URA/SLA can intervene because such stuffy living condition can be detrimental. At the end of the day, you have to ask yourself whether you want to subject yourself to that kind of squeezy living conditions. But if Tao Nan is the ONLY decent school you can get child into, then u may have no choice. And again if your budget is less than $450k as an entry investor, you can consider The Cotz. No other place can get you such cheap "private" apartments -absolute quantum lower than HDB in Marine Parade. But cheapskate for good reason lah.

Xebay11,

Don't look down on people staying in Toa Payoh or Ang Moh Kio leh. It has its heartlander charm and definitely less cluttered obviously.
    Quote Originally Posted by Blue

The designated landed areas like Bukit timah is fine. Can you imagine Serangoon Gardens where every 2 units of terraced house gets converted to 50 units ? That is exactly what happen to Telok Kurau. In fact, I know of someone who stay at the landed there and have sold the place because he cannot stand all these Fragrance/H81 developments cheapening the entire estate and the narrow lanes is not meant for such overcrowded housing. In his exact words, the overcrowding condition is like slums in Philippines. And he has probably sold to one of those Fragrance developer who will again squeeze in 50 units of 300sq ft units into a 3000 sqft land with frontage of only 3 meters. And with all the landed selling out to cheapskate developers, the construction and overcrowding will only get worse - I wonder whether URA/SLA can intervene because such stuffy living condition can be detrimental. At the end of the day, you have to ask yourself whether you want to subject yourself to that kind of squeezy living conditions. But if Tao Nan is the ONLY decent school you can get child into, then u may have no choice. And again if your budget is less than $450k as an entry investor, you can consider The Cotz. No other place can get you such cheap "private" apartments -absolute quantum lower than HDB in Marine Parade. But cheapskate for good reason lah.
    Classic example of a bad sheep

Your friend made money, so must justify his move.

Same like when you leave your job, your previous employer becomes the worst devil, but never question why one stayed there for the last 10-20 years in the first place LOL.