Page 11 of 15 FirstFirst ... 6789101112131415 LastLast

Thread: The Scala - 99 years leasehold by Hong Leong Holdings

Thumbs down

visited the show flat
    plot ratio of 2.8 at 17 storey height, it is much worst than Esta of same plot ratio at 25 storey. No need to swim at all over the weekend. For BBQ, every weekend will be packed.
    The project / flat layout is just so, so. The only selling point is next to the Chuan station, not a big deal.
    If u want to buy a bread, u need to take a train. haha

for that price....

visited the show flat
    plot ratio of 2.8 at 17 storey height, it is much worst than Esta of same plot ratio at 25 storey. No need to swim at all over the weekend. For BBQ, every weekend will be packed.
    The project / flat layout is just so, so. The only selling point is next to the Chuan station, not a big deal.
    If u want to buy a bread, u need to take a train. haha

for that price....
    but luckily they managed to sell so well

imagine developer r selling at 800psf....meaning smthing is very wrong...ppty prices r crashing

Just visited Centro showflat on weekend. Was told that our beloved developer is going to increase their price today.

The lowest two bedroom available is selling around 1350psf. Furthermore, there is a company just brought 20+ units recently...

Hopefully this kind of buying interest will continue for another few years... Then can retire liaw...

Quote Originally Posted by isaaclim
    Just visited Centro showflat on weekend. Was told that our beloved developer is going to increase their price today.

The lowest two bedroom available is selling around 1350psf. Furthermore, there is a company just brought 20+ units recently...

Hopefully this kind of buying interest will continue for another few years... Then can retire liaw...
    cool update there

i am contented with just another 30% price increase from here

STI broke 3000pts again! hope it can stay above it

visited the show flat
    I think my understanding of plot ratio is incorrect, wondering if someone can help. With the same plot ratio and lower storey height, other things being equal, shouldn't it mean the it's less crowded than something else with higher storey height?

Quote Originally Posted by jencrs
    I think my understanding of plot ratio is incorrect, wondering if someone can help. With the same plot ratio and lower storey height, other things being equal, shouldn't it mean the it's less crowded than something else with higher storey height?
    gross flr area allowable= plot ratio X land size + i tink 10% bonus balcony

so basically if same plot ratio and same land size....the whole project will feels more cramped when only allowed to build 10 storey high vs 30 storey high

Ah ok thanks. It's cuz since it doesn't go higher, the units/blocks must squeeze closer to maximise the gross floor area.

But why does laguna say that the pool and bbq area will be crowded? Is it because there's less room for the pool, fewer bbq pits, and not because there are more units built right?

gross flr area allowable= plot ratio X land size + i tink 10% bonus balcony

so basically if same plot ratio and same land size....the whole project will feels more cramped when only allowed to build 10 storey high vs 30 storey high
    GFA = land size x plot ratio. I don't think garment is so nice to give bonus. They have a big family to feed leh.

Gross Floor Area - All covered floor areas of a building, except otherwise exempted, and uncovered areas for commercial uses are deemed the gross floor area of the building for purposes of plot ratio control and development charge. The gross floor area is the total area of the covered floor space measured between the centre line of party walls, including the thickness of external walls but excluding voids. Accessibility and usability are not criteria for exclusion from GFA.

In that sense is it also always better to max out the number of stories in a project as far as the plot ratio allows?

Quote Originally Posted by jencrs
    In that sense is it also always better to max out the number of stories in a project as far as the plot ratio allows?
    For developer??? OF COURSE!!!

Higher floor => higher psf leh...

That is the reason for some projects that don't have units in the first few floors.

Not so much thinking abt the developer, but the buyer. Better to stay in a place that has maxed out the number of stories limited by plot ratio, all other things being equal, since there was that comparison between scala and esta?

wow...u noe wat an agt from scala told me....take train from Lor Chuan can hit citihall within 15mins!!! den i say if tat the case, i take train from simei aso can hit citihall within 15mins....and u noe wat tat agt told me...from simei will take 25-30mins!! haha....telling lies without a blink...can sue them for misrepresentation? haha

mabe tats y many investors kena conned into buying scala.
    The truth is here:-
    http://www.smrt.com.sg/trains/train_timings.asp

It's 21 min of train time.
    Plus maybe 2-3 min waiting time, the agent is right.
    The truth hurts

Isnt it the about the same time from Serangoon to City Hall and from Simei to City hall? Serangoon will take 19 min, Simei will take 21 min to City Hall. From the chart, Clementi will take 20min to reach City Hall and Ang Mo Kio will take 18 min to reach City Hall. So it seems Simei new plot near Simei Mrt station can sell at 1000psf after all with land cost at 523psf... considering Scala sell at 1150psf for being near serangoon mrt station.

Maybe Tanumy is right after all that DBR has a lot of upside for having a launch price of 650psf.

GFA = land size x plot ratio. I don't think garment is so nice to give bonus. They have a big family to feed leh.

Gross Floor Area - All covered floor areas of a building, except otherwise exempted, and uncovered areas for commercial uses are deemed the gross floor area of the building for purposes of plot ratio control and development charge. The gross floor area is the total area of the covered floor space measured between the centre line of party walls, including the thickness of external walls but excluding voids. Accessibility and usability are not criteria for exclusion from GFA.
    i rmb reading smwhr about 10% extra for balconies...tink was implemented after they remove the free GFA for baywindows and planter box.

anyway, i prefer balconies den useless planter boxes...so happy no more planter boxes!

Quote Originally Posted by louisebrown
    The truth is here:-
    http://www.smrt.com.sg/trains/train_timings.asp

It's 21 min of train time.
    Plus maybe 2-3 min waiting time, the agent is right.
    The truth hurts
    my point of argument : if it take 15min to hit from lor chuan to citihall...den simei shd be roughly the same....but tat agent say from simei to citihall wud takes 25-30mins

so if based on the time taken to hit town via MRT...it doesnt make sense to pay so much more compared to DBR or even caspian

afterall, they r all mass market product.

If one reads the SMRT chart well, the truth is stark.
    Much of the discussion abt "time" is ridiculous. 2 to 3 min diff in train time is not the key. The critical issue is the proximity of the property to a station. Not the ride.

If one reads the SMRT chart well, the truth is stark.
    Much of the discussion abt "time" is ridiculous. 2 to 3 min diff in train time is not the key. The critical issue is the proximity of the property to a station. Not the ride.
    den we can also say kovan melody or kovan residences more value for $$??

A newbie defers to a senior. It's your pedestal.

actually my english quite bad...i just check the dictionary on pedestal

u mean smthing like pull seniority rank? aiyo....dun be personal...lets stick to ppty discussion....i oredi got entangled with tat blackfire...dunwan another one

Raise your hand those who have never visited showflats where agents tell you that developer will either increase the price today or tomorrow.

i rmb reading smwhr about 10% extra for balconies...tink was implemented after they remove the free GFA for baywindows and planter box.

anyway, i prefer balconies den useless planter boxes...so happy no more planter boxes!
    yes, ur right on the 10% bonus, it was removed I think two years back.

As such, all the units have a smaller build in areas, to retain the same quantum of price. Now 3-bedder is around 1100 sq ft...before with the 10% GFA, it was around 1300 sq ft

Default http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporebusinessnews/view/1072899/1/.html

Lian Beng clinches contract for The Scala condo at Serangoon
    By Jonathan Peeris | Posted: 02 August 2010 2033 hrs

SINGAPORE : Homegrown building construction company Lian Beng has clinched a S$119.5 million contract to build The Scala - a 99-year leasehold condominium development located at Serangoon Avenue 3.

The contract was awarded by the Hong Leong Group and covers the construction of five 17- to 18-storey blocks.

It also covers the construction of podium and basement carparks, clubhouse, and other recreational and communal facilities.

Work on the development is expected to commence in October and be completed by the fourth quarter of 2013.

This is the second building contract Lian Beng has secured since the beginning of its financial year in June and this brings its order book to approximately S$965 million.

In late June, the group was awarded an S$88.3 million contract by UOL Development to build a 36-storey residential development at Spottiswoode Park Road. - CNA /ls

Quote Originally Posted by sleek
    Lian Beng clinches contract for The Scala condo at Serangoon
    By Jonathan Peeris | Posted: 02 August 2010 2033 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting**************2010 2033******end_of_the_skype_highlighting hrs

SINGAPORE : Homegrown building construction company Lian Beng has clinched a S$119.5 million contract to build The Scala - a 99-year leasehold condominium development located at Serangoon Avenue 3.

The contract was awarded by the Hong Leong Group and covers the construction of five 17- to 18-storey blocks.

It also covers the construction of podium and basement carparks, clubhouse, and other recreational and communal facilities.

Work on the development is expected to commence in October and be completed by the fourth quarter of 2013.

This is the second building contract Lian Beng has secured since the beginning of its financial year in June and this brings its order book to approximately S$965 million.

In late June, the group was awarded an S$88.3 million contract by UOL Development to build a 36-storey residential development at Spottiswoode Park Road. - CNA /ls
    Wah... Big profit for HL.

230mil for the land. 120mil for the construction. Around 100mil go to pocket!

Hopefully they do a good job for this project.

how u derive the 100mil profit?

GFA for The Scala is around 380000sf. 380000x1200psf is around 450mil.
    450mil - 230mil - 120mil is around 100mil lol

This is just a very rough calculation.

When they sell high, they still award the construction to the cheapest construction company. In short, expensive does not equate to better quality. Expensive means more $$ goes into developers pocket.

Most company award to lowest tender... not meh?
    Same goes to land bidding auction... Highest win..

Every developer will try to squeeze as much.. Quality or not depends on the project or product positioning..

Quote Originally Posted by scsc

Every developer will try to squeeze as much.. Quality or not depends on the project or product positioning..
    Also depends on the developer's skills in supervising the main con. And main con in supervising the sub-con.

Materials and branded fittings if installed badly can also result in poor quality.

Quote Originally Posted by scsc

for mass market projects, definitely. this is the business bottom line. For real luxury projects (aka Ardmore, Orchard Residence), developer will be more careful on the builder, because there is a reputation at stake.

For example Estuary contract went to China Construction South Pacific for US$89m, abt the same value as this Lian Beng job. This is real cheap.

On the other hand, Lian Beng also got the contract for Centro for S$78M. Considering the size of the condo, the Centro job is considered "more expensive".

Over the last one year, it seems the construction cost for mass market condos did not really "go up" as some analyst claimed. In fact it went down compared to 2007/2008. So developer is making more profits from these projects now.