Thread: Flood Prone Condos

Default Flood Prone Condos

Gentle Reflections and Tessarina in Bukit Timah had their basement carparks filled with waters that comes once in fifty years.

For Tessarina, time flies, and "fifty years" went by in less than 2 human years.

Once a car is totally submerged, probably need to scrap. Unless one wants to strip the car to its carcass, and rebuild...may not be worth it. Insurance will probably declare "Act of God". Condo management will point to sign board telling motorists they park "at own risk".

Perhaps, we shud keep track of those condos with history of flooding, and allow us to follow old adage of CAVEAT EMPTOR.

These are the PUB identified flood prone low lying areas in Singapore:

i) Chinatown/ City area
    (Mosque Street, Pagoda Street, Temple Street, Trengganu Street, Upper Pickering Street (between South Bridge Road and New Bridge Road), South Bridge Road, Upper Hokien Street (between South Bridge Road and New Bridge Road), Chulia Street (beside UOB Plaza), Circular Road and McCallum Street / Boon Tat Link.

ii) Tanjong Katong area
    (Dakota Crescent, Meyer Place, Meyer Road, Dunman Road, Fort Road, Rose Lane and Stadium Road)

iii) Geylang area
    (Guillemard Road (between Lor 26 to 32 Geylang), Lor 4 to Lor 22, Geylang, Lor 101 to 106, Changi Road and Langsat Road)

iv) Area off Jalan Besar (between Weld Road and Kitchener Road)
    v) Lorong Buangkok

Cluny Court?
    Telok Kurau?
    Opera Estate?

All these place kena this time round also.

Perhaps areas near reservoirs are safe from floods.

HAHAHA!
    How to explain floods in Thomson area?
    Got MacRitchie and Pierce next door, still flood!

Quote Originally Posted by sfwoo
    HAHAHA!
    How to explain floods in Thomson area?
    Got MacRitchie and Pierce next door, still flood!
    That true. But perhaps areas nearer are ok. eg I suppose the waterfront series fronting the bedok reservoirs should be quite safe. Usually areas immediately surrounding reservoirs have very large drainage, some could even run through the development.

all the condos on Pasir panjang hill .. pepys hill , kent ridge mid hill all safe

notice the flood areas are central and east ... ?

In Dec 2006, after days of heavy rain, the thomson nurseries were badly flooded by surging waters from MacRitchie Reservoir.

http://www.wildsingapore.com/news/20...1220-1.htm#to1

Freak weather do happen, in 2001, a typhoon hit Johor and affected Singapore as well.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tropical_Storm_Vamei

...but orchard road was not flooded...

Come to think of it....projects near reservoirs need to "worry" of possibility of surging water from the reservoir, I can also imagine that the ground could be softer, possibly from the water seeping through the ground from reservoir....are projects near reservoirs required to design and build with such risks considered?

Cluny Court?
    Telok Kurau?
    Opera Estate?

All these place kena this time round also.
    Anyone know which lorong in TK floods?

Saying it is act of god is an insult to god. This is clear cut gross negligence. They get some idiot foreign workers who sweep litters into drains - so long nobody sees it, his job is done. And of course, no checks and balances from relevant departments - the ultimate failure I feel. They are the managers but they failed to supervise.

If everything can be attributed to god, there shouldn't be insurance company around. And no need to court. Because everything is act of god. What kind of nonsense is that. If a tree falls during heavy rain, it is the lack of maintenance. It is a joke to see highly educated people sprouting nonsense.

Gentle Reflections and Tessarina in Bukit Timah had their basement carparks filled with waters that comes once in fifty years.

For Tessarina, time flies, and "fifty years" went by in less than 2 human years.

Once a car is totally submerged, probably need to scrap. Unless one wants to strip the car to its carcass, and rebuild...may not be worth it. Insurance will probably declare "Act of God". Condo management will point to sign board telling motorists they park "at own risk".

Perhaps, we shud keep track of those condos with history of flooding, and allow us to follow old adage of CAVEAT EMPTOR.

opera estate
    Jalan Ma'mor (balestier)
    some landed hses around Coronation and King's rd
    thomson rd (shop houses)
    changi rd (shop houses)
    cluny court
    the tessarina
    gentle reflections (bt timah)
    norma terrace (bedok)

p.s. an owner of a prosche car (king's rd) was furious.. car just repaired in the last flood, now kena again

opera estate
    Jalan Ma'mor (balestier)
    thomson rd (shop houses)
    changi rd (shop houses)
    cluny court
    the tessarina
    norma terrace (bedok)

p.s. an owner of a prosche car (king's rd) was furious.. car just repaired in the last flood, now kena again
    He should buy the duck tour amphibious vehicle instead haa haa...prosche is useless in singapore.

same as those tessarina owners.

These are the PUB identified flood prone low lying areas in Singapore:

i) Chinatown/ City area
    (Mosque Street, Pagoda Street, Temple Street, Trengganu Street, Upper Pickering Street (between South Bridge Road and New Bridge Road), South Bridge Road, Upper Hokien Street (between South Bridge Road and New Bridge Road), Chulia Street (beside UOB Plaza), Circular Road and McCallum Street / Boon Tat Link.

ii) Tanjong Katong area
    (Dakota Crescent, Meyer Place, Meyer Road, Dunman Road, Fort Road, Rose Lane and Stadium Road)

iii) Geylang area
    (Guillemard Road (between Lor 26 to 32 Geylang), Lor 4 to Lor 22, Geylang, Lor 101 to 106, Changi Road and Langsat Road)

iv) Area off Jalan Besar (between Weld Road and Kitchener Road)
    v) Lorong Buangkok
    Don't scare me leh.. Dakota Crescent got flood??
    These 2 recent floods have been nearer to the old airport road and further down dakota mrt.. Think Dakota Crescent road area don't have...

Wahlau. hope PUB is wrong as they have always been

Don't scare me leh.. Dakota Crescent got flood??
    These 2 recent floods have been nearer to the old airport road and further down dakota mrt.. Think Dakota Crescent road area don't have...

Wahlau. hope PUB is wrong as they have always been
    jump ship to WB lor...multi storey carpark...

Add to list:-

opera estate
    Jalan Ma'mor (balestier)
    thomson rd (shop houses)
    changi rd (shop houses)
    cluny court
    the tessarina (Bukit Timah)
    norma terrace (bedok)
    Goodman Road landed (Meyer)
    Tanjong Katong landed
    Joo Chiat
    Telok Kurau

Safe areas are those on high ground lor, like Telok Blangah Hill, Astrid Hill, Hillview etc.

jump ship to WB lor...multi storey carpark...

I just did a google and found Dakota Crescent flood last year but it never reached the rented flats..
    http://www.channelnewsasia.com/yourn...=523&vidid=704

So .. if it reach the grass patch, WB and DR all ground floor units Gone..

But then.. i remember that DR itself is on higher grounds coz I walked by the footpath along the canal, the ground level of DR is around my shoulder level.

Dunno how.. must stay to know

I just did a google and found Dakota Crescent flood last year but it never reached the rented flats..

But then.. i remember that DR itself is on higher grounds coz I walked by the footpath along the canal, the ground level of DR is around my shoulder level.

u r right...footpath along canal lower by about 1m...so even canal flooded...ground flr units quite safe...only worry is ur precious cars in basement carpark

I think if designed well, basement carpark should be ok. So many basement carparks but only Tessarina and one other condo kena jialat jialat.

aiyo u are on high floor u scared wat?

u r right...footpath along canal lower by about 1m...so even canal flooded...ground flr units quite safe...only worry is ur precious cars in basement carpark
    Haha.. Hopefully the architect got the sense not to have any ventillation vents facing the river.. My cars not precious.. the condo more precious... Imagine the price fall if everyone knows Dakota Crescent condos are like Tessarina...

aiyo u are on high floor u scared wat?
    Still ..it is inside my area mah.. still mentally disturbing when you sleep at night and hear heavy downpour.. donno must wake up to shift cars or not.. keke

Devilplate happy that he got multistorey carpark..

大雨大雨,大雨不愁
    我有multi-storey carpark, 你有大头。。

Correction - It should be "Upper Thomson Road (shop houses)".

Add to list:-

opera estate
    Jalan Ma'mor (balestier)
    thomson rd (shop houses)
    changi rd (shop houses)
    cluny court
    the tessarina (Bukit Timah)
    norma terrace (bedok)
    Goodman Road landed (Meyer)
    Tanjong Katong landed
    Joo Chiat
    Telok Kurau

Safe areas are those on high ground lor, like Telok Blangah Hill, Astrid Hill, Hillview etc.

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring...0523-8123.html
    i was also in the middle of this flood outside Delta Hse, few cars mati trying to cheong thru the knee high depth towards RV.

here's a list
    http://www.pub.gov.sg/products/drain...spx?Print2=yes

seems like Waterfront living everywhere.

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring...0523-8123.html
    i was also in the middle of this flood outside Delta Hse, few cars mati trying to cheong thru the knee high depth towards RV.

here's a list
    http://www.pub.gov.sg/products/drain...spx?Print2=yes

seems like Waterfront living everywhere.
    based on the list...cannot see dakota crescent...meaning we r safe?

Unless the water breaks its bank which will be really serious.

MSP still has its advantage ...can sleep soundly even there is a storm outside...