Thread: Impact of New Measures

Default Impact of New Measures

With the recent announcement by PM.

Please give your comments here on

1. Property prices in 3 to 6 months time (will it go up or down)
    2. What should those granted options and had not exercised them do.
    Investment deals.
    a) Exercise them anyway,
    b) Don't exercise them

Down!

Investment deals.
    a) Exercise them anyway,
    b) Don't exercise them

DONT Exercise them.

It doesn't matter, look at the broader picture! Prices will go down in about 1yr but not all due to the measures.

Investment deals.
    a) Exercise them anyway,
    b) Don't exercise them

If term of investment is longer than 5yrs, (a), otherwise if you are looking to do a quick flip i.e. speculator, (b) and run for your life!

there are other forums...survey. a buyer/seller? local/foreigner?
    look at the ppl surrounding u. then u know the market outlook

Quote Originally Posted by pmet

It doesn't matter, look at the broader picture! Prices will go down in about 1yr but not all due to the measures.

Investment deals.
    a) Exercise them anyway,
    b) Don't exercise them

If term of investment is longer than 5yrs, (a), otherwise if you are looking to do a quick flip i.e. speculator, (b) and run for your life!
    Note that for investment units for holding for 5yrs pls choose the new ones. Cos a old condo of 12yrs old, in time will be 17yrs old. Designwise and capital appreciation, thr will be nthing to speak of. Even for a new condo might not have much of capital appreciation if bgt overprice wf all
    the hidden cost to be factor in

Add in maintenance and repair costs due to damage or wear and tear, tenant vacancy periods, additional or funds to be taken out of sinking funds for building re-painting ($150k++) every 5 to 7 years

Note that for investment units for holding for 5yrs pls choose the new ones. Cos a old condo of 12yrs old, in time will be 17yrs old. Designwise and capital appreciation, thr will be nthing to speak of. Even for a new condo might not have much of capital appreciation if bgt overprice wf all
    the hidden cost to be factor in

hard to say..look at mayspring ...10 yrs plus...but once the news of mrt built first surface..price jumps up so much...when mrt completd in 2014 plus present amenities around...hard to predict what is the price then...so location still counts...of cos in terms of capital appreciation, 2 condo at a good lcoations, the newer one will fetch a better price...

so we betting new mrts and 3rd casino? I dnt gamble ,I buy whn I have high hit rates especially if I bgt low prices. Hw many forex or stock traders bgt wfout knowing just purely on betting?? Just buy to hope and bet on new mrts?

I should say those those who already bought a place and later with mrt building up is blessed with good luck...so luck counts...but to begin with...location is important when come to buying property..not only for future price appreciation but also for convenience...i guess you know what I mean, there are many condo around ,some near mrt and amenites while some take "MINS" to walk to mrt and not near amenities,, these are the ones I avoid at all costs...just to play safe...although for these tpe of lcation price may appreciate eg savanah...but I dont take too much risk as pty investment involve hundred of Ks...so beter be safe...
    ANd those who buy early in low prices have gd luck. And those buying now in this price,gd luck

I remember Mayspring. In 2005-6 the prices were going for about $380k for a 2 bedder and $460k for a 3 bedder

parents hdb 60k only. hw much more can rises,from this point of time??
    50%?

dont kena burnt,is lucky liao.. dnt hope for sudden surge again from now

ANd those who buy early in low prices have gd luck. And those buying now in this price,gd luck
    u are rite, i belong to former and later but all at good location...

sudden surge from 2007, $380-$600k.

So any chance for another sudden surge again from now?? 600k-??? XXXk

u are rite, i belong to former and later but all at good location...
    when market plunges, all location follows. differences is only by the prices fall,by hw much between gd location or a soso location.

End of the day,sitting on negative losses

when market plunges, all location follows. differences is only by the prices fall,by hw much between gd location or a soso location.

End of the day,sitting on negative losses
    ...as usual...

yeap ths old condo 2 bedder around at least 600K above now...if the worst case with 10% drop with this new ruling still 500K plus...unles ecnomy no good, if not, with more FT and no bad news economically...price may be able to sustain and move up gradually in tandem with economy unlike now....

will garmen benefit if the pty market crashes? esp at this time when e**ction may be coming...

beware water ghosts r everywhr

yeah true...be careful dont go deep water

Usually, the ones who lugi are the ones who bought the new condos. They are the ones who contributed MOST to the sinking fund and if you sell your new condo within 5 years, I can assure you that you will NEVER EVER get to use your sinking fund. Your monthly contribution to the sinking fund will be utilised by people who bought the condo on the 6th/7th year. This person buys the units from you, don't have to foot a single cent into the sinking fund, and yet benefit from the upside of upgrades and repainting etc. I recall buying into a condo into the 7th year. Guess what, this condo has close the $3 million of sinking fund which is used for repainting and upgrading. After the upgrade, condo looks much better with any round of capital appreciation.

Buildings are made to last hundreds of years. New designs which are mainly glass are not necessarily better. In fact, concrete should work better in our hot and humid climate. Just don't chase new designs blindly.

Add in maintenance and repair costs due to damage or wear and tear, tenant vacancy periods, additional or funds to be taken out of sinking funds for building re-painting ($150k++) every 5 to 7 years

Usually, the ones who lugi are the ones who bought the new condos. They are the ones who contributed MOST to the sinking fund and if you sell your new condo within 5 years, I can assure you that you will NEVER EVER get to use your sinking fund. Your monthly contribution to the sinking fund will be utilised by people who bought the condo on the 6th/7th year. This person buys the units from you, don't have to foot a single cent into the sinking fund, and yet benefit from the upside of upgrades and repainting etc. I recall buying into a condo into the 7th year. Guess what, this condo has close the $3 million of sinking fund which is used for repainting and upgrading. After the upgrade, condo looks much better with any round of capital appreciation.

Buildings are made to last hundreds of years. New designs which are mainly glass are not necessarily better. In fact, concrete should work better in our hot and humid climate. Just don't chase new designs blindly.

you are spot on...why buy the highest and usually the highest are new launch at this period of time when the moods are bullish...
    Last edited by peterng8; 04-09-10 at 17:18.

Just treat sinking fund as donation. It does not matter much if there is substantial capital gain. Just like somebody said the rich not ask maintenance fee.

Betting is different from investing. If you invest in a property due to its future potential, e.g. new MRT station, new developments etc., you have conducted your due diligence and concluded the said property has potential. Betting and gambling is purely based on luck, e.g. betting toto and 4D. There is a difference. If one buys a property based on "foreign investors coming to town" without other basis, you can say that is "betting" but if one looks at masterplan, comparison of prices against peers, MRT stations etc, you can't call that betting - that is called investing. Of course one can make wrong investment decision, but there is a difference between pure betting and investing.

sudden surge from 2007, $380-$600k.

So any chance for another sudden surge again from now?? 600k-??? XXXk

Hard to say...but definitely I will not buy at close to 700k plus for this mayspring 2 bedders now...

As usual, the usual comment "Rich don't care". Well, let's put it this way, maybe I'm not as rich as some of you in this forum, but if everyone goes on the "rich don't care" logic, there is nothing to discuss or debate isn't it? Rich just buy buy buy and contribute to maintenance fund because they're so rich. What is there to debate?

And do you really believe there are that many "rich" people in Singapore? In the few times I was lucky to be upgraded to first class, I have NEVER seen a Singaporean family of 5 travelling on first class. But I see lots of wealthy PRCs, Indian, Filipinos etc. travelling whole family on first class cabin. Singaporeans are mainly middle class - let's face it.

What I'm trying to say is, people complain if they buy "old properties"", they have to pay higher sinking fund. That thinking is SO WRONG. The sinking fund is usually contributed by the first-time buyers. Those who bought the older properties benefited significantly.

Just treat sinking fund as donation. It does not matter much if there is substantial capital gain. Just like somebody said the rich not ask maintenance fee.

It really depends timing of the purchase of the "old" unit, ie. when is the use of sinking fund for a major overhaul. However, sinking fund is not a large chuck of the total maintenance fee (about 10-15%). Sinking fund does not change much unless it is not properly managed or when there is a large ticket item to be replaced.
    As usual, the usual comment "Rich don't care". Well, let's put it this way, maybe I'm not as rich as some of you in this forum, but if everyone goes on the "rich don't care" logic, there is nothing to discuss or debate isn't it? Rich just buy buy buy and contribute to maintenance fund because they're so rich. What is there to debate?

And do you really believe there are that many "rich" people in Singapore? In the few times I was lucky to be upgraded to first class, I have NEVER seen a Singaporean family of 5 travelling on first class. But I see lots of wealthy PRCs, Indian, Filipinos etc. travelling whole family on first class cabin. Singaporeans are mainly middle class - let's face it.

What I'm trying to say is, people complain if they buy "old properties"", they have to pay higher sinking fund. That thinking is SO WRONG. The sinking fund is usually contributed by the first-time buyers. Those who bought the older properties benefited significantly.

It really depends timing of the purchase of the "old" unit, ie. when is the use of sinking fund for a major overhaul. However, sinking fund is not a large chuck of the total maintenance fee (about 10-15%). Sinking fund does not change much unless it is not properly managed or when there is a large ticket item to be replaced.

I guess when buy an old unit or rather resale pte pty at a location that you like...the condition of the whole estate and unit should fall into the factors that are under one of the considerations.... some of the so called old condo are very well maintained by the managememt office n their comittee members...as long as the price is not exorbitantly high, it is worth buying, sinking fund should not be the primary consideration in the first place but it is good that sufficeint fund is maintained...

Some older condos have more space which new condos are lacking. Whether it is green space, parking space, etc.

yeah agree....that is why I prefer old unit...it give you a sense of relaxation and comfort when you look around the place as it is big not clam up...if it a small place, when go back home after one stressful day, take a look at the surroundings, dont think will feel relax as the place is too smalland give you a feelings of hard to breathe...

One thing is for sure

New Lauches Dead except for a few exceptions, can launch anytime category (in boom and bleak times)

Resale Mass Market Condo.. hotter than resale HDB. Resale Mass Market as
    1. Owners liquidating
    2. Private buyers picking up bargains.
    3. HDB owners who can affording to upgrader

Rental Market goes up due to people forced to sell their property.

No up side at all for the next 1 year..